HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Living Place-Chiang Mai

Hostel | 2/2 Thapae Road Soi 2, Muang Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai, Thailand 50300

90.3% Overall Rating

95 out of 102 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/04/2014)

Nazmi Yazid thinks…

"The owners are wonderful, A lovely couple that'll have the information you need, very knowledgeable, They never fail to ask how you're doing, and make sure everyone feels comfortable by introducing…"

Read all The Living Place-Chiang Mai reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • ATM / cash machine
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.55
  • Towel USD 1.55

What's Included

  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Chiang Mai?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Chiang Mai

Sixty House
5.87 USD

Apartment 83.5% 9 reviews
Finlays Cottage
9.27 USD

Guesthouse 93.9% 152 reviews
Living House
3.71 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
The Small Hotel Chiangmai
27.04 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Chiang Mai Travel Lodge
6.18 USD

Hotel 3 star 78.3% 28 reviews
MD House
10.82 USD

Guesthouse 73.4% 182 reviews
House No.11
6.80 USD

Hostel 76.9% 45 reviews
New Mitrapap Hotel
5.25 USD

Hostel 68.2% 25 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.3%

Overall Rating

95 out of 102 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Living Place-Chiang Mai'

Atmosphere
92.8%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
84.8%
Cleanliness
84.8%
Staff
96.0%
Value
92.0%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 94 of 102 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Nazmi Yazid

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 April 2014 Nazmi would recommend this property

Liked: The owners are wonderful, A lovely couple that'll have the information you need, very knowledgeable, They never fail to ask how you're doing, and make sure everyone feels comfortable by introducing other travellers, Probably the perfect hosts i've met.

Disliked: Nazmi left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice, large common area on the first floor, and a variety of musical instruments available for anyone to play! Even a didgeridoo and a cello! The free coffee also means free hot water, so you can make instant noodles if you come in late and all the restaurants are closed.

Disliked: Mosquitoes on the ground floor can be bothersome if you're not near a fan.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: V and Aree who run the place are absolutely lovely. They definitely made our stay! They'll help with anything and find the perfect trips for you if you're a bit confused!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: .

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 March 2014

Liked: Room itself was fine

Disliked: The dog in reception is CONSTANTLY barking. It makes being in the lounge close to unbearable. It also poops in there, and it bites the Thai workers that go in and out. Construction nearby means you listen to a lot of jackhammers. The free coffee is awful and the re is no tea. Also no laundry facilities in house.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Graham Moore

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 March 2014 Graham would recommend this property

Liked: Insanely cheap, nice staff who cooked a buffet for the guests and took us to a cabaret show just because it was a guest's birthday, great restaurant (Ratana Kitchen) nearby, cute and friendly chihuahua called Weewee at the hostel

Disliked: The toilet/showers were always wet, there were a lot of mosquitoes throughout the hostel, limited power points in the rooms. Recently moved so hard to find (even for taxi drivers and people doing pickups).

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The friendliness of staff introducing me to others set the tone and everyone wqs very freindly and chatted.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike. Would like tea as an option as well as free coffee.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniele Besana

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 March 2014 Daniele would recommend this property

Liked: The Living Place is a lovely hostel run by the most amazing owners I met in this trip. Aree and V are very warm, helpful and down to heart people. One of the guests had the birthday and they organized an evening with food and jam music all together! Great atmosphere and great shared area.

Disliked: The matrasses are hard but that's common in many hostels in Thailand. Nothing else to report.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

suzette bishop

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 March 2014 suzette would recommend this property

Liked: Vee and Ari are the friendliest, loveliest hostel owners ever. Had a lovely time staying with them. The second I walked in Vee came over and gave me a big old hug and introduced me to as many people as possible. He even found someone going out to Tiger Kingdom for the day and sorted us out to go together. The hostel itself is a five minute walk from Taepae gate and close to all the markets. It's a tiny bit away from the regular backpacker streets so it's also got that bit of peace and quiet. The vibe in the hostel is great, everyone hangs out in the common area. Really good!

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Francesca Andrews

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 March 2014 Francesca would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice chill out area downstairs, great for meeting people. Rooms were great with loads of cushions and blankets. The owners dog is so cute!! (and didn't mess inside like the review below says)

Disliked: Francesca left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Aree and Vee are the most helpful and nice hostel owners I have ever come across. I would defiantly recommend this hostel to anyone!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joseph McKee

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 February 2014 Joseph would recommend this property

Liked: Vi and Aree; the owners are without a doubt the most welcoming and lovely people I have ever met. As soon as you arrive they're straight in with introducing you to EVERYONE in the hostel. As a lone traveller this social atmosphere helped make this hostel the best I've stayed in in Thailand. It was my birthday whilst staying at The Living Place and Vi and Aree threw the nicest party for me. It was really touching. I 100% recommend if you are in Chiang Mai to stay here. You will not regret it.

Disliked: Joseph left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 February 2014

Liked: living place = living room. lots of friendly people, including staff.

Disliked: internet is sometimes slow (mostly in the evening when everybody is on their phone / laptop), hard mattresses

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Philip Jones

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 February 2014 Philip would recommend this property

Liked: It has a very homely & community atmosphere - the owners ennable this to happen

Disliked: the street although convenient for many things was not the prettiest street in Chiang Mai

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Felix Rey

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 February 2014 Felix would recommend this property

Liked: Well... If I could recommend only one hostel in Thailand, it is the Living Place in Chiang Mai. Its like family. Especially for single travellers. Just book this one and you'll be happy ;) p.s.: If you play an instrument you will love it even more!

Disliked: Felix left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Phillip Connolly

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 February 2014 Phillip would recommend this property

Liked: Aree is a an exceptionally friendly host that makes everyone feel welcome. She also goes out of her way to introduce people to each other. A great place to meet other travellers.

Disliked: Wireless was a bit slow when everyone was using it at once. It would have been nice to have flyscreens on the door and window in Dorm 3.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It had a great atmosphere. It was Chinese New Year, they cooked food for us and people were playing music. The owners were friendly and helped me book my bus ticket at the last minute. They introduce new people so that you make friends immediately and there are games to play in the communal area. The washrooms and dorms were clean and spacious. My favourite hostel so far, I wish I could have stayed longer.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Catherine Bergeron

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 January 2014 Catherine would recommend this property

Liked: The host Aree; she is lovely and very friendly! The place is just amazing. This hostel was our first in Thailand and one of the best in Asia! We booked all our activities/tours over there, and all of them were great! We even hired motorbikes, and they brought them at the hostel door... just for us! People were fun and sociable. I totally love this place!

Disliked: Nothing! Everything's perfect!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 January 2014

Liked: The common area is nice and the beds are very comfortable with warm blankets and nice pillows, even a long body pillow! The staff, Ari and Vee, are very friendly people, they make you feel welcome, they learn your name introduce you to everyone right away. The location was alright, it was quiet at least and there is a great little restaurant down the street called Suni's and it is the absolute best. So much food for so cheap and Suni is such a sweet lady.

Disliked: It was under construction while we were there so the place was quite messy and very dirty. They were trying to have it done in time for the Yi Peng lantern festival. I think maybe it should have been saved for a less busy time and maybe close the hostel for a few days to get it done. There weren't enough bathrooms so we were always waiting in line or running to get in next after someone came out. It was fairly clean but there were ants all over the walls in the bathroom. Didn't really bother me but it might bother some people. While Ari and Vee are amazingly nice people, they are not always the most helpful. They struggled to tell us where and when we had to go for the Yi Peng lantern festival which is a HUGE event. I feel like they should have at least been able to give us SOME information. Also, they sent us on a trek that went horrible wrong and they charged us double what other people on our trek paid at their hostels. And they didn't do much to make it better after we told them. Don't book your treks through them and make sure you do your research!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Simon Hilson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 January 2014 Simon would recommend this property

Liked: For the first time, I want to return to a place so I can stay again at the same Hostel. There are more things to me to see and do in and around Chiang Mai but it will be so good to visit again and return to the Living Place. I decided to stay there because the reviews were very good but the experience of staying there was so much better than i could have expected. Vi and Aree are very warm and welcoming and made me feel like i was at home. When I arrived, I was introduced to everyone in the communal area. This made it so easy to make new friends. I'm travelling on my own but there were always people to go out with in the evenings. New travellers arriving at the hostel often asked if a group of us were travelling together when we had all just met 24 hours earlier. I felt like we had known each other much longer. Vi and Aree create a friendly warm and fun atmosphere and no one is sitting on their own for long - unless they want to catch up with Facebook :) Whether you want to organise a trip, find a place to stay at your next stop, go to a good and cheap place to eat or to party or learn more about Thai Culture, Vi and Aree are always there to help. The Living Place s a special place. It is like home to me and I cannot wait to go back.

Disliked: Simon left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Sophie Oostelbos

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 January 2014 Sophie would recommend this property

Liked: The beds were sqeaky, the floors were dirty, but all of this was nothing compared to the atmosphere which was more than amazing. The owner, Aree, has to be the best host I have encountered yet and I would go back just to see her again. There is a great little common area and the staff introduces you to anyone and everyone when you check-in or when you're just hanging out. All in all I had a great stay and I felt sad to leave :).

Disliked: Cleanliness could have been a bit better...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! I cannot begin to articulate how incredible this hostel is. Not only was it clean, comfortable and in a good location (just a ten minute stroll from the Tha Pae gates) it was run by the most gorgeous people that I have ever met. Vi and Aree went above and beyond the call of duty to make everyone in the hostel feel like they were in a home away from home. There were hugs all round when I left and I will confess to almost shedding a tear!! They had good knowledge of the area and were so helpful booking activities as well as offering tips on Thai language/culture. Please please go!!

Disliked: That I can't live there forever!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Zara Woolley

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 January 2014

Liked: Very clean and good wifi. Friendly and helpful staff, well when they are around.

Disliked: For the price there are much better places to be found closer to the old town. Had to wait about 30 to 45 minutes in reception on arrival before anyone showed up! REALLY REALLY HARD BEDS!!!! Small cramped dorm rooms.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owners are great! Introduce you to every new person that comes into the door. Made loads of friends, defiantly the place to meet people.

Disliked: Showers are pretty cold, but very clean.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Gemmel Soussi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 January 2014 Gemmel would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. The social atmosphere is amazing, and the owners are great.

Disliked: Nothing