We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Living Place 1

Hostel | 2/2 Thapae Road Soi 2, Muang Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai, Thailand 50300

83.4% Overall Rating

108 out of 119 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/08/2014)

Mhairi Mactier thinks…

"Fantastic stay at The Living Place. Aree is so lovely, making a conscious effort to introduce all the guests to each other and organise hostel outings! Would definitely stay here again!"

Read all The Living Place 1 reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.55
  • Towel USD 1.55

What's Included

  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Chiang Mai?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Chiang Mai

Sixty House
5.89 USD

Apartment 84.9% 10 reviews
Finlays Cottage
9.30 USD

Guesthouse 94.4% 162 reviews
Living House
8.68 USD

Hostel 91.7% 11 reviews
The Small Hotel Chiangmai
27.12 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Chiang Mai Travel Lodge
6.20 USD

Hotel 3 star 78.3% 28 reviews
MD House
10.85 USD

Guesthouse 74.5% 183 reviews
House No.11
6.82 USD

Hostel 76.1% 49 reviews
New Mitrapap Hotel
5.27 USD

Hostel 68.2% 25 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.4%

Overall Rating

108 out of 119 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Living Place 1'

Atmosphere
86.4%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
75.2%
Cleanliness
74.4%
Staff
91.2%
Value
88.0%
Safety
84.0%
Refine your results Showing 105 of 119 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Felix Rey

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 February 2014 Felix would recommend this property

Liked: Well... If I could recommend only one hostel in Thailand, it is the Living Place in Chiang Mai. Its like family. Especially for single travellers. Just book this one and you'll be happy ;) p.s.: If you play an instrument you will love it even more!

Disliked: Felix left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Phillip Connolly

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 February 2014 Phillip would recommend this property

Liked: Aree is a an exceptionally friendly host that makes everyone feel welcome. She also goes out of her way to introduce people to each other. A great place to meet other travellers.

Disliked: Wireless was a bit slow when everyone was using it at once. It would have been nice to have flyscreens on the door and window in Dorm 3.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It had a great atmosphere. It was Chinese New Year, they cooked food for us and people were playing music. The owners were friendly and helped me book my bus ticket at the last minute. They introduce new people so that you make friends immediately and there are games to play in the communal area. The washrooms and dorms were clean and spacious. My favourite hostel so far, I wish I could have stayed longer.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Catherine Bergeron

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 January 2014 Catherine would recommend this property

Liked: The host Aree; she is lovely and very friendly! The place is just amazing. This hostel was our first in Thailand and one of the best in Asia! We booked all our activities/tours over there, and all of them were great! We even hired motorbikes, and they brought them at the hostel door... just for us! People were fun and sociable. I totally love this place!

Disliked: Nothing! Everything's perfect!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 January 2014

Liked: The common area is nice and the beds are very comfortable with warm blankets and nice pillows, even a long body pillow! The staff, Ari and Vee, are very friendly people, they make you feel welcome, they learn your name introduce you to everyone right away. The location was alright, it was quiet at least and there is a great little restaurant down the street called Suni's and it is the absolute best. So much food for so cheap and Suni is such a sweet lady.

Disliked: It was under construction while we were there so the place was quite messy and very dirty. They were trying to have it done in time for the Yi Peng lantern festival. I think maybe it should have been saved for a less busy time and maybe close the hostel for a few days to get it done. There weren't enough bathrooms so we were always waiting in line or running to get in next after someone came out. It was fairly clean but there were ants all over the walls in the bathroom. Didn't really bother me but it might bother some people. While Ari and Vee are amazingly nice people, they are not always the most helpful. They struggled to tell us where and when we had to go for the Yi Peng lantern festival which is a HUGE event. I feel like they should have at least been able to give us SOME information. Also, they sent us on a trek that went horrible wrong and they charged us double what other people on our trek paid at their hostels. And they didn't do much to make it better after we told them. Don't book your treks through them and make sure you do your research!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Simon Hilson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 January 2014 Simon would recommend this property

Liked: For the first time, I want to return to a place so I can stay again at the same Hostel. There are more things to me to see and do in and around Chiang Mai but it will be so good to visit again and return to the Living Place. I decided to stay there because the reviews were very good but the experience of staying there was so much better than i could have expected. Vi and Aree are very warm and welcoming and made me feel like i was at home. When I arrived, I was introduced to everyone in the communal area. This made it so easy to make new friends. I'm travelling on my own but there were always people to go out with in the evenings. New travellers arriving at the hostel often asked if a group of us were travelling together when we had all just met 24 hours earlier. I felt like we had known each other much longer. Vi and Aree create a friendly warm and fun atmosphere and no one is sitting on their own for long - unless they want to catch up with Facebook :) Whether you want to organise a trip, find a place to stay at your next stop, go to a good and cheap place to eat or to party or learn more about Thai Culture, Vi and Aree are always there to help. The Living Place s a special place. It is like home to me and I cannot wait to go back.

Disliked: Simon left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Sophie Oostelbos

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 January 2014 Sophie would recommend this property

Liked: The beds were sqeaky, the floors were dirty, but all of this was nothing compared to the atmosphere which was more than amazing. The owner, Aree, has to be the best host I have encountered yet and I would go back just to see her again. There is a great little common area and the staff introduces you to anyone and everyone when you check-in or when you're just hanging out. All in all I had a great stay and I felt sad to leave :).

Disliked: Cleanliness could have been a bit better...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! I cannot begin to articulate how incredible this hostel is. Not only was it clean, comfortable and in a good location (just a ten minute stroll from the Tha Pae gates) it was run by the most gorgeous people that I have ever met. Vi and Aree went above and beyond the call of duty to make everyone in the hostel feel like they were in a home away from home. There were hugs all round when I left and I will confess to almost shedding a tear!! They had good knowledge of the area and were so helpful booking activities as well as offering tips on Thai language/culture. Please please go!!

Disliked: That I can't live there forever!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Zara Woolley

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 January 2014

Liked: Very clean and good wifi. Friendly and helpful staff, well when they are around.

Disliked: For the price there are much better places to be found closer to the old town. Had to wait about 30 to 45 minutes in reception on arrival before anyone showed up! REALLY REALLY HARD BEDS!!!! Small cramped dorm rooms.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owners are great! Introduce you to every new person that comes into the door. Made loads of friends, defiantly the place to meet people.

Disliked: Showers are pretty cold, but very clean.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Gemmel Soussi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 January 2014 Gemmel would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. The social atmosphere is amazing, and the owners are great.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ian Jenkins

Alone

Relaxation/spa

30 December 2013 Ian would recommend this property

Liked: So good I had to come back...and review it again,...still amazing and brought some friends from Pai along with me!

Disliked: Ian left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ian Jenkins

Alone

Relaxation/spa

30 December 2013 Ian would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful place, wonderful people staying, wonderful owners. Everybody is introduced to each other when they arrive and the place really feels like home. Someone to chat to at any hour of the day (or night) in the common room.

Disliked: Ian left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Karthikeyan Manivasagam

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

18 December 2013 Karthikeyan would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to meet other travellers. Loved the folks who run the hostel.

Disliked: Karthikeyan left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

chris chattaway

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 December 2013 chris would recommend this property

Liked: Best Hostel I have ever stayed at! Literally created a Hostelbookers account just to review them. If you stay in Chiang Mai stay here. Great atmosphere, friendliest staff, cool people and relaxed environment. If your looking for a quiet, sterile hotel this place isn't for you. But if you're looking for a great crowd and fun times it is.

Disliked: One elephant

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

10 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect for those that want to make friends, a very communal hostel. More suited for the young backpackers.

Disliked: I would not recommend the hostel if you want to keep to yourself, do your own thing or chill. The walls are paper thin so you can hear someone turning over in the next room, okay if your in a dorm but I booked a private room hoping for a good nights sleep.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is by far the best hostel I've ever stayed in. I cannot emphasise enough how friendly and welcoming the hosts, V and Aree, are. I'm genuinely sad that I have to leave this place and could almost see myself staying here for weeks.

Disliked: Nothing, any remote niggle I've had was so far outweighed by the atmosphere of this place that it rendered them moot.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Grace Chessell

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 December 2013 Grace would recommend this property

Liked: Everything, best staff I could have wished for. As a solo traveller it usually takes at least afew hours to make friends but I'd been introduced to new people in minutes by the owners and they always made sure all travellers were happy. Great social area and lots to do.

Disliked: Nothing, cannot fault it

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 December 2013

Liked: The hostel is in a pretty good location, and I suppose it does have a certain character to it, mainly provided by the eccentric owner. The shower is pretty good

Disliked: The owners dog, called Wee-wee, pees and poos' everywhere. The walls are paper thin, so everyone can hear what's going on in other rooms. The bed was ridiculously hard, I ended up with a bad back for a couple of days after staying there. We saw a few people sleeping in the tents on offer, what a joke! They are one man tents on the floor between the dorm rooms and bathroom. I can't honestly believe anyone would be that desperate to pay to stay in them. We checked out pretty early, 7am and the owner wasn't about so we couldn't get our key deposit back, even though we mentioned that we would be leaving at that time.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

alannah mccabe

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 December 2013 alannah would recommend this property

Liked: The Living Place is brilliant-it was so good I stayed there twice! V and Aree go out of their way to make everyone feel welcome and really encourage all the guests mix. They're also so accommodating, they'll help with anything you need. The hostel itself is in a great location between the centre of town and the night markets and is clean with everything you need such as lockers, hairdryer and a communal area. !

Disliked: alannah left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

30 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff vi and ari are amazing!!! Super nice place... Loads of friends and good people!! Super pleasant common area!!! Best place in chiang mai!

Disliked: As a guesthouse... Dorms and all this... Sometimes could be noisy... Depending on the other guests!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owners are great, and the common area is very social

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Chloe Avery

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

14 November 2013 Chloe would recommend this property

Liked: Aree the lady in charge was amazing, really helpful and funny and ensured that everyone socialised with one another and had a really good time. Originally booked 3 nights but ended up staying 6 as we loved it so much! beds are really comfy, air con in rooms really good, as is the free wifi. Best hostel we stayed at in Thailand, would definitely recommend.

Disliked: Chloe left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Alejandro Moreno

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 November 2013 Alejandro would recommend this property

Liked: The living place was the best hostel in which i stayed during my two months-trip along SE Asia. The owners are really lovely and there is that nice backpacker athmosphere. Defenitly recommended.

Disliked: Toilet was kind of small, but nothing to sorry about.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It has a nice living area and the beds are comfortable and there are lockers for your valuable. You have a key to lock your room as well as your own locker.

Disliked: The owners English is a little broken and she has a little dog that nips at the back of your legs when you walk up and down the stairs. She just laughs and calls it away but it is unpleasant. I like dogs but this one was very annoying.