HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Living Place-Chiang Mai

Hostel | 2/2 Thapae Road Soi 2, Muang Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai, Thailand 50300

89.6% Overall Rating

93 out of 100 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/04/2014)

"Nice, large common area on the first floor, and a variety of musical instruments available for anyone to play! Even a didgeridoo and a cello! The free coffee also means free hot water, so you can make instant noodles if…"

Read all The Living Place-Chiang Mai reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • ATM / cash machine
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.55
  • Towel USD 1.55

What's Included

  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Chiang Mai?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Chiang Mai

Sixty House
5.87 USD

Apartment 83.5% 9 reviews
Finlays Cottage
9.27 USD

Guesthouse 93.9% 152 reviews
Living House
4.64 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
The Small Hotel Chiangmai
27.04 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Chiang Mai Travel Lodge
6.18 USD

Hotel 3 star 78.3% 28 reviews
MD House
10.82 USD

Guesthouse 71.9% 181 reviews
House No.11
7.42 USD

Hostel 76.9% 45 reviews
New Mitrapap Hotel
5.25 USD

Hostel 70.2% 24 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.6%

Overall Rating

93 out of 100 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Living Place-Chiang Mai'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
85.6%
Staff
95.2%
Value
89.6%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 93 of 101 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ian Jenkins

Alone

Relaxation/spa

30 December 2013 Ian would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful place, wonderful people staying, wonderful owners. Everybody is introduced to each other when they arrive and the place really feels like home. Someone to chat to at any hour of the day (or night) in the common room.

Disliked: Ian left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Karthikeyan Manivasagam

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

18 December 2013 Karthikeyan would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to meet other travellers. Loved the folks who run the hostel.

Disliked: Karthikeyan left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

chris chattaway

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 December 2013 chris would recommend this property

Liked: Best Hostel I have ever stayed at! Literally created a Hostelbookers account just to review them. If you stay in Chiang Mai stay here. Great atmosphere, friendliest staff, cool people and relaxed environment. If your looking for a quiet, sterile hotel this place isn't for you. But if you're looking for a great crowd and fun times it is.

Disliked: One elephant

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

10 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect for those that want to make friends, a very communal hostel. More suited for the young backpackers.

Disliked: I would not recommend the hostel if you want to keep to yourself, do your own thing or chill. The walls are paper thin so you can hear someone turning over in the next room, okay if your in a dorm but I booked a private room hoping for a good nights sleep.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is by far the best hostel I've ever stayed in. I cannot emphasise enough how friendly and welcoming the hosts, V and Aree, are. I'm genuinely sad that I have to leave this place and could almost see myself staying here for weeks.

Disliked: Nothing, any remote niggle I've had was so far outweighed by the atmosphere of this place that it rendered them moot.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Grace Chessell

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 December 2013 Grace would recommend this property

Liked: Everything, best staff I could have wished for. As a solo traveller it usually takes at least afew hours to make friends but I'd been introduced to new people in minutes by the owners and they always made sure all travellers were happy. Great social area and lots to do.

Disliked: Nothing, cannot fault it

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 December 2013

Liked: The hostel is in a pretty good location, and I suppose it does have a certain character to it, mainly provided by the eccentric owner. The shower is pretty good

Disliked: The owners dog, called Wee-wee, pees and poos' everywhere. The walls are paper thin, so everyone can hear what's going on in other rooms. The bed was ridiculously hard, I ended up with a bad back for a couple of days after staying there. We saw a few people sleeping in the tents on offer, what a joke! They are one man tents on the floor between the dorm rooms and bathroom. I can't honestly believe anyone would be that desperate to pay to stay in them. We checked out pretty early, 7am and the owner wasn't about so we couldn't get our key deposit back, even though we mentioned that we would be leaving at that time.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

alannah mccabe

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 December 2013 alannah would recommend this property

Liked: The Living Place is brilliant-it was so good I stayed there twice! V and Aree go out of their way to make everyone feel welcome and really encourage all the guests mix. They're also so accommodating, they'll help with anything you need. The hostel itself is in a great location between the centre of town and the night markets and is clean with everything you need such as lockers, hairdryer and a communal area. !

Disliked: alannah left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

30 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff vi and ari are amazing!!! Super nice place... Loads of friends and good people!! Super pleasant common area!!! Best place in chiang mai!

Disliked: As a guesthouse... Dorms and all this... Sometimes could be noisy... Depending on the other guests!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owners are great, and the common area is very social

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Chloe Avery

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

14 November 2013 Chloe would recommend this property

Liked: Aree the lady in charge was amazing, really helpful and funny and ensured that everyone socialised with one another and had a really good time. Originally booked 3 nights but ended up staying 6 as we loved it so much! beds are really comfy, air con in rooms really good, as is the free wifi. Best hostel we stayed at in Thailand, would definitely recommend.

Disliked: Chloe left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Alejandro Moreno

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 November 2013 Alejandro would recommend this property

Liked: The living place was the best hostel in which i stayed during my two months-trip along SE Asia. The owners are really lovely and there is that nice backpacker athmosphere. Defenitly recommended.

Disliked: Toilet was kind of small, but nothing to sorry about.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It has a nice living area and the beds are comfortable and there are lockers for your valuable. You have a key to lock your room as well as your own locker.

Disliked: The owners English is a little broken and she has a little dog that nips at the back of your legs when you walk up and down the stairs. She just laughs and calls it away but it is unpleasant. I like dogs but this one was very annoying.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Frank Vodopiutz

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 September 2013 Frank would recommend this property

Liked: To stay at the living place with these friendly and warm people were a feeling Iike home. It's like a quiet peaceful oasis in a big loud city.

Disliked: Frank left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

barbara hrdlickova

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 September 2013 barbara would recommend this property

Liked: this place is AMAZING and specially because of the owners Aree & V who are so friendly&lovely! the whole hostel is clean and close to the center, temples or restaurants. I booked only 2 nights at the beginning but extended for 1 week afterwards. The common area/room is great place where to meet other people from the hostel and plan trips together. Every Friday there is a dinner together followed with jam session- ABSOLUTELY AMAZING PLACE! highly recommended :)

Disliked: nothing at all!

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 September 2013

Liked: This hostel is very good hostel for the price. The location is decent, it's about a 10-20 minute walk to the old city and a majority of the most popular attractions within the city. The rooms are nice enough. We had the private room which was just a basic queen mattress on the floor in our own room, it was nothing fancy but fair enough for the price. This is a social hostel and a good place to meet people. The staff Aree and Vi do a great job of organizing group outings such as a frequent caboret showing at the night bizarre and a home cooked social dinner one night a week. Vi has his own art displayed through the entire hostel which adds a unique vibe as the art is very good. Aree was very friendly and welcoming.

Disliked: That being said, this hostel also has a lot of downsides. Vi is very pushy and in your face about wanting you to buy all tourists outing such as trekking etc through the hostel which I did not appreciate, especially since he was rude when asking why I didn't ask to book through him first. Vi also walked into our private room multiple times without being invited in, which was both rude and inappropriate. We stayed in a private room for the *privacy and it was extremely annoying that Vi felt he could walk in at his leisure. Rude, rude, rude. There was a lot of mosquitos everywhere in the hostel. We got more mosquito bites in one day just using the hostels bathroom, hanging out in the hostels lobby, and sleeping in our room then we did through the entire rest of our trip. Ridiculous. They also list several amenities online which they do NOT actually have. They do NOT have: Luggage room, Bar, Game Room, Restaurant, Safety Deposit, Washing Machines, ATM/cash advance, BBQ area, Cafe, OR onsite shops.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Derrick Eddleston

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 August 2013 Derrick would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic place to stay, truly. The owners/operators are so welcoming and warm and will basically force you to meet all of the other guests and go have fun. They will talk your ear off if you let them, sketch you if you allow, and feed you at random times. I went back and stayed there again for four more nights after my initial stay, didn't even really consider another place. All that said, if you're looking to relax and read, that's cool with them too.

Disliked: Derrick left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jaime Escudero

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2013 Jaime would recommend this property

Liked: The best hostel I've been in, not because of the facilities (which are perfect anyways) but because of the atmosphere and the staff. Arie and Vi are two amazing souls that just make your stay the best. They introduce you to the rest of the guests, making you feel at home. They can also book activities, bus tickets, bikes... Seriously I can't explain how incredible this place is, just go and check it out for yourself. The vibe of this place really made me a better person. I'll definitely stop by whenever I'm back in Asia.

Disliked: Having to leave.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Jorge REY

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 August 2013 Jorge would recommend this property

Liked: Arri and VB are so nice! They are always willing to help you and to introduce you to the rest of the people of the hostel.

Disliked: Jorge left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

myrthe van Santen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

03 August 2013 myrthe would recommend this property

Liked: The lady that runs the hostel is so nice! She makes your stay there.. its a good place when you wil be travelling by yourself! The place is close yo the nightmarket and bot to far away from the old city where the tempels and the bars are!

Disliked: If there where dislikes there bot worth telling because the overal experience os zo good!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yee Kai Poo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 July 2013 Yee Kai would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent place, met some of the friendliest travellers around, spacious nice and great place to meet fellow like minded and nice people. This place is going to be an institution in Chiangmai. The owners will go out of her way to help you in your travelling needs.

Disliked: None, I can't ask for more!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lucy Pilgrim

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

31 July 2013 Lucy would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely friendly hosts, amazing atmosphere. They will do anything they can to help you.

Disliked: Only 2 showers, so you need to shower before/after popular times.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Cornforth

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 July 2013 David would recommend this property

Liked: Where to start with The Living Place - the warmest and most welcoming hostel you could wish to find. Aree and Vi, the owners, are so lovely and friendly - they're always willing to sort trips, nights out, hosting family dinners. If you do one thing, make sure to join in the almost daily trips to the Cabaret club… you won't be disappointed - such a fun night!! Great location, great place to meet people - had a brilliant week and really enjoyed my stay in Chiang Mai!

Disliked: David left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

charlotte wauters

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2013 charlotte would recommend this property

Liked: The owners, Vi and Aree, are the most welcoming people ever! They are very helpful, warm and fun! We enjoyed our stay so much, we decided to stay there for additional nights. The owners gave excellent advise on what to do, where to go and helped us a lot . Very nice atmosphere, clean rooms and very good value for your money. Good to meet other people as well. Perfect location and if you're looking for home away from home, this is the place to be! Would recommend to everyone!

Disliked: Nothing to dislike

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owners of this hostel are incredible - they make you feel like family (including a family dinner every Friday night!) They are also extremely helpful and knowledgeable when it comes to booking excursions etc. This hostel attracts an outgoing group of all types of travelers - those on short vacations to those traveling indefinitely and staying for months . The best hostel of my whole trip in terms of atmosphere.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.