We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Tanita House

Hostel | Charoenrat Road, Chiang Mai, Thailand ....

97.3% Overall Rating

47 out of 47 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/08/2014)

Louise Thiele thinks…

"We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Tanita House. The tranquil garden setting, squirrels "flying" from tree to tree, beautiful traditional bungalows with wonderfully comfortable beds, lovely breakfast,…"

Read all Tanita House reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Chiang Mai?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Chiang Mai

Parami Guesthouse
7.70 USD

Guesthouse 89.4% 108 reviews
Star hotel Chiang Mai
47.92 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
New Mitrapap Hotel
5.24 USD

Hostel 68.2% 25 reviews
The Small Hotel Chiangmai
53.93 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Living House
3.70 USD

Hostel 91.7% 11 reviews
Eco Resort Chiang Mai Hotel
11.16 USD

Hostel 84.8% 25 reviews
Hollanda Montri Guesthouse
5.39 USD

Guesthouse 85.7% 61 reviews
Chiang Mai Travel Lodge
6.16 USD

Hotel 3 star 78.3% 28 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
97.3%

Overall Rating

47 out of 47 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Tanita House'

Atmosphere
100.0%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
92.0%
Cleanliness
100.0%
Staff
100.0%
Value
98.4%
Safety
96.8%
Refine your results Showing 38 of 47 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Louise Thiele

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

04 August 2014 Louise would recommend this property

Liked: We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Tanita House. The tranquil garden setting, squirrels "flying" from tree to tree, beautiful traditional bungalows with wonderfully comfortable beds, lovely breakfast, great coffee, tea and water available all day, lovely cafe on the premises, Aor, the delightful and helpful owner, walking distance to restaurants and town as well as the night market - all helped make our stay in Chiang Mai perfect and so very memorable. We highly recommend Tanita House and will most definitely stay here again if/when we next visit Chiang Mai.

Disliked: Nothing - it was absolutely fantastic.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Andrew Russell

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

13 July 2014 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Ahn, the proprietor, could not have been sweeter or more helpful. The property itself is a green, private gem surrounded by city and industry. It was wonderful to wake up in this environment, breakfast was an excellent blend of bacon and eggs and wonderfully fresh fruit.

Disliked: Make sure this is the tye of destination you want. We did not have television and did not miss it for one moment. We stayed in a traditional one room Thai guest house- one room with an added bathroom, and tons of atmosphere. We loved every minute here, but if you are looking of the Hyatt experience, stay at the Hyatt.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Simon Guilfoyle

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 April 2014 Simon would recommend this property

Liked: Location - a green space in a busy city. Ambience and architecture - traditional wooden buildings of generous proportions. Friendliness of staff. Aor, the owner, speaks good English and is very helpful. Tea/coffee and cool water available throughout the day

Disliked: Nothing. Could do with a bit more variety at breakfast perhaps

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

24 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The tranquility of the gardens and the beautifully restored cabins make this a very peaceful location. Also the host and her staff are all very kind.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

25 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Character was great and the owner was very friendly and helpful

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

22 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely comfortable, excellent staff (including a very caring owner who lives on premises), very "homely", great breakfast, a very calm and peaceful surroundings.

Disliked: Just a slight bit of a walk to the town centre (~10 min.), nothing too bad.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

clare barry

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 October 2013 clare would recommend this property

Liked: We had a great stay, very welcoming, and helpfull, breakfast was good, aoi was a lovely lady, we would recommend to others definitely! Great stay!

Disliked: No safe in the lodge and that's the only bad point!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

20 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Tanita House is so peaceful, calm, inviting & beautiful. The teak villas are just wonderful. Each villa faces a different direction so you can sit on your large porch and you feel secluded & private. The setting is amongst beautiful gardens and a showroom full of wonderful wood piece & antiques. The breakfast included was amazing for the price of the the stay...many fresh options & the lovely girls will freshly cook up bacon, eggs & tomato if you want. There is an endless help your self supply of bottled water, great brewed coffee & many different choices of tea! ...& free wifi! Aor, the owner is fantastic....so helpful but not intrusive al all. Will help with whatever you need. The room is simple and very clean...room was serviced daily with clean fresh towels. We felt like we really were in Chiang Mai & not just another big holiday resort without the thai feeling.

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Business / conference
Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We loved the teak architecture and the atmosphere, with the antiques. It was family and kid friendly. I was worried that bungalows (as opposed to a traditional hotel where everything is in one building) might not be ideal for rainy season, but first of all there is a large covered area under the main house where you can hang out if it does rain and second, the bungalows are very close to the main house (breakfast area, lounge area and reception). The staff were very helpful in booking activities, giving advice, calling tuk tuks or taxis, etc. and went out of their way to be helpful, for example when I was packing some shorts were still damp and they ironed them dry. There is a desktop computer with printer and internet for guests to use in the breakfast area and also wi fi (free). The breakfast was simple but enough variety for us, eggs and bacon cooked to order, and serve yourself from the yogurt, muesli, two fruits (different each day), wholemeal bread, butter and jam, teas, coffee, juice boxes,milk and soy milk. (no pastries, cheese, ham, peanut butter or vegemite in case you are wondering). About the location if you want to go out to the center of old town every night to eat it is about 15 to 20 min, which was fine with us because we wouldnt have wanted to stay in the center. It is close 5 min. to the tourist night market and you could walk.

Disliked: I liked everything, and my only suggestion for improvement would be there could be some umbrellas available for guests use to get from the main area to the bungalow if you get caught in the rain!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: An amazing oasis in the middle of Chiang Mai. We stayed here for three nights and honestly do not have a bad word to say. The owner was fantastic and helped to book trips, taxi's and provided recommendations for eating. Really friendly and would drop everything to help. A quiet and peaceful place however close enough to the centre of town so you can easily walk to the bars restaurants and Night Bazaar. Very relaxing and highly recommended. Try the massage place next door, really cheap and the massage was pretty good!

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

17 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very welcoming and helpful staff and the hostess particularly made us feel at home. A comfortable place of cottage taste to stay for days. My No1. recommendation in Chiang Mai.

Disliked: Cannot find one!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful teak buildings, very friendly,helpful staff, location close to centre, simple but well prepared breakfast, lovely gardens

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Louise Goodman

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

02 February 2013 Louise would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful teak bungalows, super peaceful and relaxing. Aor is fabulous and helpful host, tea (fabulous selection of twinings), coffee and bottled water available all day, very nice breakfast. Excellent comfy bed.

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andreas Siebenfoercher

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 January 2013 Andreas would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly owner, reasonable price, good (and free) coffee free water

Disliked: Andreas left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ian Dacre

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Romantic getaway

12 December 2012 Ian would recommend this property

Liked: The property consists of 5 or 6 Self contained units, all wooden lanna style buildings set around a larger communal building in which breakfast is served. Free tea and coffee day or night was a welcome touch. The owner, Aor, is personable, friendly and has good English. She is happy to give advice for tours and book them on your behalf. I liked the fact that the room was without TV and fridge ( one in the communal area). It helped the tranquil atmosphere of the location. Large bed was very comfy. Good a/c.

Disliked: water pressure in shower not great but that is nit picking. Mosquitoes a problem in evening but coils provided.Any problems minor given the good quality of accommodation overall. Location approx 30 minute walk from old town or 60 baht in tuktuk

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Braithwaite

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

10 December 2012 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! Perfect oasis, lovely accommodation and the host is wonderful

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Su Wang

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Relaxation/spa

15 September 2012 Su would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hotel. Beautiful, clean and quiet. The bed is very comfortable. The more important is the staff is very friendly and helpful! Btw, nice breakfast~

Disliked: Weak water pressure in the shower.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Stuart Robertson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 June 2012 Stuart would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were more than helpful, there is huge kitchen with water and juice available, and the rooms are cleaned out daily. Very peaceful, relaxing place to stay and the property grounds were very beautiful.

Disliked: The location was out of the way of everythng which is good if thats what you want, however to walk into the old city it takes around 20mins and costs around 100bht one way in a tuk tuk.. Its ok walk during the day, hwever at night the walk is long, dark and some people may find it unsafe. The guesthouse itself was amazing so dont let the location put you off too much.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Caroline Esmeraldo

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 April 2012 Caroline would recommend this property

Liked: Incredibly place! I have to say that I was looking forward to make this review because I was never so well treated in a place before. The owner is like a real mother for the guests, by the time we get there my friend was pretty sick and she took care of us, I will never forget her! The place is really beautiful, very clean and comfortable. The breakfast really good, the best bread I have ever tasted! Very quiet spot, just beside one of the most beautiful temples in Chiang Mai and you can also have fun with good restaurants and bars just a few meters from the house. They offer many maps for free and you can also book one day trips which will pick you up there. I recommend this place for any sort of person but specially for families, couples and small group of friends who are looking for some fun but wanting to go back for the hostel and have a family like place to rest. Thank you very much to have such a place in your list of hostels!

Disliked: Absolutely nothing!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely setting. Peaceful place to be. The lady who owns it is very helpful.

Disliked: Bit of a walk into the old city but it would not put me off staying here again or recommending it.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: breakfast

Disliked: nothing in mind

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rowena Lavender

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 November 2011 Rowena would recommend this property

Liked: This Guest House is amazing just what I needed after a long haul Hostess fantasic, friendly, accommodating. She bokked my trips and took me to my next Guest House as she was fully booked . Great location lovely restaurants art and close to old city-easy to walk in

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tracey Maligalig

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

31 July 2011 Tracey would recommend this property

Liked: Aor from Tanita was such a wonderful hostess. If I could rate all of the above as EXELLENT I would. I can't tell you how wonderful this place is...you must see it to believe it and tell Aor that Tracey and Julia from California sent you.... So amazing this place.

Disliked: That we couldn't stay longer.... :)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Tanita House was amazing! The property was a beautiful original Thai style house and outbuildings (some 155 years old!) The atmosphere was really peaceful and it was only a stones throw from the heart of chang mai. The owner of the property was friendly and helpful, always happy to do whatever she could to make our stay even better. The breakfast was great too! I cannot recommend this place more highly, it was definitely value for money with added extras of atmosphere and friendliness.

Disliked: N/A

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aimee Atkinson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 June 2011 Aimee would recommend this property

Liked: Tanita house is a lovely little retreat away from the busy Chiang Mai. The wooden bungalows are very traditional in style and are a lovely place to chill out and relax in. The staff are very helpful and always friendly. Orr was fantastic in booking all our tours and was a lovely friendly face to greet us everyday.

Disliked: Nothing.