HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Tanita House Chiang Mai Hostel

152 Charoenrat Road, T. Wat Kate, A. Muang, Chiang Mai, Thailand

Atmosphere 99%

Cleanliness 100%

Facilities 96%

Location 95%

Safety 97%

Staff 100%

Value 98%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Common Room
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Reading Light
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Chiang Mai?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 99%

Cleanliness 100%

Facilities 96%

Location 95%

Safety 97%

Staff 100%

Value 98%

Showing 1-10 of 11 reviews

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. It's quiet, peaceful and beautiful. Staff were very helpful offering us rides around town and they thankful had a ready supply of electrolytes and charcoal tablets after a dodgy meal out. Would definitely stay again! Also the bread at breakky was super tasty.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Authentic teak guesthouse which had peace and quiet away from the hustle bustle of the street

Disliked: Shower did not drain that well

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: I stayed in a private room at Tanita House. Loved my gorgeous teak cottage with queen size bed and air conditioning! Aoi (the owner, pronounced "awe") is friendly and knowledgable. Loved how she provides bottled water in a fridge for guests. Tanita House is best for couples, but I was fine as a solo traveler. She's created something special, I would return the next time I'm in Chiang Mai.

Disliked: Tanita House is about a 15-20 minute walk from the Old City, including a bridge crossing over the river. Definitely something to be aware of. However, the area around Tanita House has a number of cool cafes, restaurants, bars and galleries/boutiques.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Tanita House. The tranquil garden setting, squirrels "flying" from tree to tree, beautiful traditional bungalows with wonderfully comfortable beds, lovely breakfast, great coffee, tea and water available all day, lovely cafe on the premises, Aor, the delightful and helpful owner, walking distance to restaurants and town as well as the night market - all helped make our stay in Chiang Mai perfect and so very memorable. We highly recommend Tanita House and will most definitely stay here again if/when we next visit Chiang Mai.

Disliked: Nothing - it was absolutely fantastic.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: Ahn, the proprietor, could not have been sweeter or more helpful. The property itself is a green, private gem surrounded by city and industry. It was wonderful to wake up in this environment, breakfast was an excellent blend of bacon and eggs and wonderfully fresh fruit.

Disliked: Make sure this is the tye of destination you want. We did not have television and did not miss it for one moment. We stayed in a traditional one room Thai guest house- one room with an added bathroom, and tons of atmosphere. We loved every minute here, but if you are looking of the Hyatt experience, stay at the Hyatt.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location - a green space in a busy city. Ambience and architecture - traditional wooden buildings of generous proportions. Friendliness of staff. Aor, the owner, speaks good English and is very helpful.Tea/coffee and cool water available throughout the day

Disliked: Nothing. Could do with a bit more variety at breakfast perhaps

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The tranquility of the gardens and the beautifully restored cabins make this a very peaceful location. Also the host and her staff are all very kind.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Character was great and the owner was very friendly and helpful

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Romantic getaway, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: We had a great stay, very welcoming, and helpfull, breakfast was good, aoi was a lovely lady, we would recommend to others definitely! Great stay!

Disliked: No safe in the lodge and that's the only bad point!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Tanita House is so peaceful, calm, inviting & beautiful. The teak villas are just wonderful. Each villa faces a different direction so you can sit on your large porch and you feel secluded & private. The setting is amongst beautiful gardens and a showroom full of wonderful wood piece & antiques.The breakfast included was amazing for the price of the the stay...many fresh options & the lovely girls will freshly cook up bacon, eggs & tomato if you want. There is an endless help your self supply of bottled water, great brewed coffee & many different choices of tea! ...& free wifi!Aor, the owner is fantastic....so helpful but not intrusive al all. Will help with whatever you need.The room is simple and very clean...room was serviced daily with clean fresh towels. We felt like we really were in Chiang Mai & not just another big holiday resort without the thai feeling.

Disliked: Nothing!

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability