We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Green Tulip House

Hostel | 85 Samlan Road, Chiang Mai, Thailand 50200

86.6% Overall Rating

616 out of 644 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (27/09/2014)

"The Green Tulip ist a typical guesthouse full of backpackers. Stella and her staff have been super friendly, giving you any recommendations for the city and things to do around that you need. The double room with A/C is…"

Read all Green Tulip House reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Café
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 0.31

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

notice: Please be advice and aware that we do not accept infant or child under the age of 4 year old,since we are a hostel and we do not have the facilities to accommodate them,sorry for the inconvenience caused.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Chiang Mai?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Chiang Mai

Baan Arlhan
4.62 USD

Hostel 92.6% 22 reviews
Thailandwow
6.78 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Deejai Backpackers
3.70 USD

Hostel 85.1% 50 reviews
Sirikamsan House
7.70 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Parasol Inn Hotel
19.64 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
T-Room Guesthouse
5.39 USD

Guesthouse 78.4% 35 reviews
Thailand Guesthouse
5.39 USD

Guesthouse 82.3% 31 reviews
Khaosan in Chaing Mai
7.70 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.6%

Overall Rating

616 out of 644 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Green Tulip House'

Atmosphere
80.0%
Location
81.6%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
92.8%
Staff
84.0%
Value
91.2%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 569 of 612 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 22 | 23   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Green Tulip ist a typical guesthouse full of backpackers. Stella and her staff have been super friendly, giving you any recommendations for the city and things to do around that you need. The double room with A/C is spacious and very clean as well as the own bathroom. The A/C wasn't noisy and worked very well. The bar is connected with the lobby where you sit outside under a roof. Smoking is permitted on two tables and on the roof top. If you book an A/C room the breakfast is included: 2 toasts, coffee or tea, fresh fruits or a fruit juice. Wifi is free of charge, works properly and really fast compared two a lot of other guesthouses in Thailand. If you don't bring your own laptop or mobile device there are two computer in the lobby/bar.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 September 2014

Liked: location

Disliked: I was made to feel extremely uncomfortable for booking a tour outside of the hostel (as Stella was not there when I arrived) she obviously get commission for the tours and seemed very annoyed I had booked them by myself without speaking to her first! I was refered to as a 'silly girl' and that I should 'learn from my mistakes'! Very patronising and intimidating for a solo traveller!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Louise Knipe

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 September 2014 Louise would recommend this property

Liked: This is a welcoming, warm and very clean hostel. We had a large private double. Very spacious and clean. Good communal areas. Stella the owner is very friendly, welcoming and offers great advice and ways not to get ripped off. Breakfast was good and bar prices are reasonable.

Disliked: No

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthew Gibson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

31 August 2014 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were so so so helpful! I would say the nicest anywhere I've been across the world. The rooms are nice and everything is very clean. I would recommend this to anyone staying in Chiang Mai

Disliked: Matthew left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Timothy Erwich

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 August 2014 Timothy would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, and saved us from spending a lot of money we didn't need to by booking us cheap transport to places we wanted to go, offering a lot of alternatives for stuff to see and do, etc. The common area of the hostel feels very friendly and the room we had was clean and well maintained.

Disliked: Nothing. In a 3 month round-the-world trip, Green Tulip was definitely my favorite accommodation.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Serena Patel

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 August 2014 Serena would recommend this property

Liked: On arrival at the train station we hoped in a red taxi which knew where the hostel was. Nice staff, a lady called Stella was very friendly and smiley, and gave a few pointers to where things were that we wewere looking good for, like street food stalls. The rooms were clean and the bathroom was clean too, with a wall separating the toilet and shower! We extended our stay here and thought it was great. It's about 15 minute walk to a street of bars, and in walking distance to the temples, markets and night market too. All which Stella showed us on the map.

Disliked: MINOR thing: Breakfast bit pricey for what we wanted. 120B for set menu, when we didn't want the coffee or orange juice. Got caught out the first morning, but afterwards we just said no set menu, just two egg and toast, and that's all I was charged for. I'm sure you could do the same for other items on the menu.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alana Farmer

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 July 2014 Alana would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was very friendly and helpful, especially Stella (owner). Very clean and rooms were made up everyday. This guest house was by far my favorite in all of Thailand.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexander Brooks-Sykes

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 June 2014 Alexander would recommend this property

Liked: Stella, front of house and owner, was incredible. The rooms were exactly as described too, one of the best places we have stayed so far.

Disliked: Nothing

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

tony cheng

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 June 2014

Liked: Easy to meet other travelers

Disliked: Rude staff, location was far away, ant problems. They packed more people into our room than initially stated, which for a perch where you shared 6 beds with other people, it was difficult to sleep

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, nice rooms rooms. Very friendly staff who had a lot of information regarding activities and tours if you wanted.

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Michael Fowlie

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 May 2014 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were great

Disliked: The beds in the mixed dorm are too close together. I shouldn't be able to touch the person next to me when laying in the middle of the bed.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Get what you pay for. If you're on a budget, this place is great. Stella is the one of the bosses. Really helpful but likes to push certain things. She'll go above and beyond for you though if you literally have no plans.

Disliked: Roaches

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and clean dorm !

Disliked: The owner is way toooooo sticky, she always wants to sell you trips and tours and permanently asks where you are going and what you are doing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Zane Rhodes

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

24 May 2014 Zane would recommend this property

Liked: Nina is the Mama San who will take care of all of your needs and comfort during your stay. Stella is the chef who prepares excellent food. Together, they both know everyones name and ensure that you feel welcomed and valued as a guest in their hotel. The best experience in all of SE Asia.

Disliked: Everything was perfect

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I was recommended this hostel by a fellow traveler as 'the only place to stay in Chaing Mai' and it did not dissapoint!! Stella, the manager, is simply brilliant...no question or request is too much troubles NCS he makes you feel like you're the most important guest around!! If you're looking for a hostel with helpful and fun staff who genuinely want you to enjoy your stay, this is a brilliant choice!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Large double room with a spacious bathroom and separate shower (rare find). Lady in charge can be a bit stern but very helpful, although a little pushy selling tours.

Disliked: The hostel is a little far from the main area of the town. To get in after 10pm, the owner has to let you in - it feels a bit rude at 2am!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: really clean!

Disliked: no common area! Not a good place to meet people.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful and very helpful staff, felt like at home! I very much enjoyed my stay at the green tulip and definitely recommend it to anyone staying in Chiang Mai.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Incredibly friendly and helpful staff and great social area. The rooms were cleaned daily and the bathrooms were spotless with 2 toilets and one shower per 6 bed dorm. Definitely would recommend this hostel!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are really friendly, remembering everyone's names and full of information- to the point of being a little overwhelming after a 12 hour bus journey from Bangkok. Having said that their recommendations and knowledge of getting around everywhere were invaluable. Stella and Nina run an organised hostel and I almost felt adopted during my stay!

Disliked: Dorm room has very little space to put rucksacks and still walk around

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

casey nolin

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2014 casey would recommend this property

Liked: I absolutely loved everything about my stay here andi would absolutely stay here again!!

Disliked: It was a tiny bit off the main drag but it makes up for it in so many other ways.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Agn? Jagminait?

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2014 Agn? would recommend this property

Liked: Clear, quite cozy room. Quite good location. Really good price. Good wifi. Hot water. Simple but you get everything you need for not luxury stay.

Disliked: One lady from stuff (looks like she in charge) was very pushy to choose tours. We even cant have calm dinner because she came every 5min to suggest something. So we decide never eat here again. But it was only small anoying detail. We found driver for day tour but that witch force him to leave when he cane to pick us... She told him that we must buy tours from her. Some kind of tourism mafia... So all day was.destroyed for us.. we woke up early for nothong and need to organize something else and spent much time to find othegood deal for day tour.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexander Szygowski

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 March 2014 Alexander would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was clean and th staff were very helpful. A

Disliked: Food they served wasn't that great or a little expensive compared to surrounding areas.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It nice, clean and quiet place. Very very beautiful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christoph Smrz

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 March 2014 Christoph would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly and helpful staff, clean and big rooms, great shower!

Disliked: Christoph left no negative feedback.