We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Green Tulip House

Hostel | 85 Samlan Road, Chiang Mai, Thailand 50200

91.0% Overall Rating

636 out of 666 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/01/2015)

Felix Schultze thinks…

"Cleanest Hostel I've ever stayed in. Stella is an amazing host and the food is great. Try the pad thai!"

Read all Green Tulip House reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Café
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 0.31

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

notice: Please be advice and aware that we do not accept infant or child under the age of 4 year old,since we are a hostel and we do not have the facilities to accommodate them,sorry for the inconvenience caused.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Chiang Mai?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Chiang Mai

Non@Chiang Mai
9.86 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Baan Arlhan
6.16 USD

Hostel 90.6% 28 reviews
Thailandwow
6.78 USD

Guesthouse 95.2% 3 reviews
Deejai Backpackers
4.31 USD

Hostel 84.9% 53 reviews
Sirikamsan House
7.70 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Parasol Inn Hotel
22.54 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
T-Room Guesthouse
7.70 USD

Guesthouse 78.4% 35 reviews
Thailand Guesthouse
5.39 USD

Guesthouse 82.3% 31 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/01/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/01/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.0%

Overall Rating

636 out of 666 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Green Tulip House'

Atmosphere
87.2%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
86.4%
Cleanliness
94.4%
Staff
89.6%
Value
92.8%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 584 of 632 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 23 | 24   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, organised, no bunk beds at the dorm

Disliked: The beds were a bit too close to each other in the dorm

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Felix Schultze

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 January 2015 Felix would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanest Hostel I've ever stayed in. Stella is an amazing host and the food is great. Try the pad thai!

Disliked: Felix left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

09 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed at Green Tulip House for 8 nights and we enjoyed our stay. The room and the bathroom was clean and tidy and cleaned every day. Fresh towels were readily available. The breakfast was basic (tea/coffee/juice, toast, fresh fruit) but was enough to tide you over till you found something more on the street.The wifi was fast but there were occasional problems connecting. It wasn’t a very social place but that suited us fine.

Disliked: All meals were available at a significant premium. The only thing we felt let down on was the service. We had food left over from our cooking course which we wanted to warm up and they were very reluctant to lend us a bowl and fork and heat it up. We needed to do laundry and only when we enquired about it were we told it had to be ready by 9am which was too late for us but they would do express for double the price. We used a local laundry and asked if we could use a spare rack to hang clothes on and were turned down flat.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Julia Reichensperger

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 January 2015 Julia would recommend this property

Liked: Value for money

Disliked: Julia left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

08 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Green Tulip House was very clean, bright, and fun. The staff was friendly was very helpful as well.

Disliked: Though located in the old city of Chiang Mai, the location was not as close to the Night Market and other activities on the east side as some others. Price was competitive but a bit higher than some other accommodation options.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Green Tulip House is a great place to stay when in Chiang Mai. The owner, Stella, is awesome--so fun and helpful! The location within the Old City is convenient as you are close to anything you would need and you are not far from the main Chiang Mai sights and activities. The café is a pleasant place to spend some time, as is the park only a three minute walk from the guesthouse. And, there were many other travelers making meeting people quite easy. Overall, I'd recommend this place for the budget traveler planning a short stay.

Disliked: The beds in the dorms are not what I would call comfortable. Beds consist of thin mattresses on a very hard platform; furthermore, there are six of these beds on the platform so that you are very close to the person sleeping next to you. My nights there were not the most restful or comfortable nights I've had while traveling.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mario Lausberg

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 January 2015 Mario would recommend this property

Liked: The owner Stella is a star. She makes you welcome and provides personal service and advice for tours.

Disliked: Nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Mario Lausberg

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2015 Mario would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff who make you feel at home. The entire place is very well maintained with a high level of cleanliness. Large rooms with comfortabke beds and air conditioning.

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was very helpful and friendly. Stella makes you feel like family!

Disliked: The shower in my room had no hot water, and it could some times be quite noisy between the neighbors and the cistern on the roof.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Christina Matthews

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

31 December 2014 Christina would recommend this property

Liked: A fun hostel, very colorful. Liked everyone I met there. Great banana pancakes.

Disliked: The bathroom stalls are laughably small. For the door to close, one has to sit diagonally. I'm only 5 ft. 8,

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Taylor Rubin

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 December 2014 Taylor would recommend this property

Liked: The location of the GTH was excellent. Walkable to major sites, markets and restaurants. Our room was large and kept cool. Tasty breakfast was available in the mornings and staff were accommodating in making bookings for us. The colourful walls, eccentric music and lovely host Stella all made the GTH a wonderful place to stay. Some of the staff were slightly standoffish, which may have to do with language, but overall we would recommend the GTH to any other backpackers.

Disliked: We didn't have hot water, nor were we able to access wifi anywhere despite being told that there was wifi throughout the hostel. We got in trouble for bringing food back from our Thai cooking class and eating it at the hostel which was slightly frustrating but the hostel does have a restaurant so it was understandable. Overall, just minor complaints. This was a great place to stay.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 November 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There are few hostels as special as the Green Tulip House. From the moment you arrive, Stella makes you feel at home and helps to create an atmosphere where everyone feels comfortable chatting and getting to know everyone else. Our private room was spotless with a big comfy bed and a power shower with plenty of warm water. Breakfast was excellent and the information about tours plentiful.

Disliked: Nothing - it's fantastic!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 November 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Stella the owner of the hostel is amazing, extremely friendly and will help you everything! The two other guys behind the desk are also very friendly! Stella is very keen for you to book tours as soon as you arrive so be prepared with ideas and a budget! The location is very good, we walked everywhere, it's a very easy place to navigate. The rooms were cleaned daily, the bed sheets weren't changed however, just folded again an the rubbish removed. The menu is very good and about average in price, if you don't want to hunt for somewhere to eat then they serve very yummy food!

Disliked: I think the only thing I could say was about the toilet door in the dorms, it was extremely cramped, your knees are touching the door when your sat on the toilet and I'm not a particilarly big build so men would definitely struggle. You get a small locker to put your valuables in under your bed but other than that you just have to hope no one takes things from your suitcase or backpack when in a shared dorm.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

02 November 2014

Liked: very clean environment, nice and comfortable room and bath room.

Disliked: 1) breakfast provided so limited. 2) terrible internet WiFi in room (level 3) 3) the tour package they recommend did not match the one we got. The tour package claim that everything is included (transportation, entrance fee, lunch), however, we have to extra pay for boat, land tax and entrance fee. Feeling like cheated.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are really friendly and helpful, nice lobby where it is easy to meet people and book tours. Rooms cleaned daily!

Disliked: Well we had an issue with ants initially but thia was easily resolved.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Green Tulip ist a typical guesthouse full of backpackers. Stella and her staff have been super friendly, giving you any recommendations for the city and things to do around that you need. The double room with A/C is spacious and very clean as well as the own bathroom. The A/C wasn't noisy and worked very well. The bar is connected with the lobby where you sit outside under a roof. Smoking is permitted on two tables and on the roof top. If you book an A/C room the breakfast is included: 2 toasts, coffee or tea, fresh fruits or a fruit juice. Wifi is free of charge, works properly and really fast compared two a lot of other guesthouses in Thailand. If you don't bring your own laptop or mobile device there are two computer in the lobby/bar.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 September 2014

Liked: location

Disliked: I was made to feel extremely uncomfortable for booking a tour outside of the hostel (as Stella was not there when I arrived) she obviously get commission for the tours and seemed very annoyed I had booked them by myself without speaking to her first! I was refered to as a 'silly girl' and that I should 'learn from my mistakes'! Very patronising and intimidating for a solo traveller!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Louise Knipe

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 September 2014 Louise would recommend this property

Liked: This is a welcoming, warm and very clean hostel. We had a large private double. Very spacious and clean. Good communal areas. Stella the owner is very friendly, welcoming and offers great advice and ways not to get ripped off. Breakfast was good and bar prices are reasonable.

Disliked: No

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthew Gibson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

31 August 2014 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were so so so helpful! I would say the nicest anywhere I've been across the world. The rooms are nice and everything is very clean. I would recommend this to anyone staying in Chiang Mai

Disliked: Matthew left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Timothy Erwich

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 August 2014 Timothy would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, and saved us from spending a lot of money we didn't need to by booking us cheap transport to places we wanted to go, offering a lot of alternatives for stuff to see and do, etc. The common area of the hostel feels very friendly and the room we had was clean and well maintained.

Disliked: Nothing. In a 3 month round-the-world trip, Green Tulip was definitely my favorite accommodation.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Serena Patel

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 August 2014 Serena would recommend this property

Liked: On arrival at the train station we hoped in a red taxi which knew where the hostel was. Nice staff, a lady called Stella was very friendly and smiley, and gave a few pointers to where things were that we wewere looking good for, like street food stalls. The rooms were clean and the bathroom was clean too, with a wall separating the toilet and shower! We extended our stay here and thought it was great. It's about 15 minute walk to a street of bars, and in walking distance to the temples, markets and night market too. All which Stella showed us on the map.

Disliked: MINOR thing: Breakfast bit pricey for what we wanted. 120B for set menu, when we didn't want the coffee or orange juice. Got caught out the first morning, but afterwards we just said no set menu, just two egg and toast, and that's all I was charged for. I'm sure you could do the same for other items on the menu.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alana Farmer

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 July 2014 Alana would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was very friendly and helpful, especially Stella (owner). Very clean and rooms were made up everyday. This guest house was by far my favorite in all of Thailand.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexander Brooks-Sykes

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 June 2014 Alexander would recommend this property

Liked: Stella, front of house and owner, was incredible. The rooms were exactly as described too, one of the best places we have stayed so far.

Disliked: Nothing

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

tony cheng

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 June 2014

Liked: Easy to meet other travelers

Disliked: Rude staff, location was far away, ant problems. They packed more people into our room than initially stated, which for a perch where you shared 6 beds with other people, it was difficult to sleep

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, nice rooms rooms. Very friendly staff who had a lot of information regarding activities and tours if you wanted.

Disliked: Nothing