We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Green Tulip House

Hostel | 85 Samlan Road, Chiang Mai, Thailand 50200

88.0% Overall Rating

653 out of 684 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/03/2015)

"great price for a private, good location & able to walk easily throughout the walled city."

Read all Green Tulip House reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Café
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 0.31

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

notice: Please be advice and aware that we do not accept infant or child under the age of 4 year old,since we are a hostel and we do not have the facilities to accommodate them,sorry for the inconvenience caused.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Chiang Mai?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Chiang Mai

Non@Chiang Mai
9.88 USD

Hostel 85.7% 4 reviews
Baan Arlhan
4.63 USD

Hostel 89.7% 31 reviews
Thailandwow
6.79 USD

Guesthouse 95.2% 3 reviews
Deejai Backpackers
4.32 USD

Hostel 83.9% 56 reviews
Sirikamsan House
7.72 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Parasol Inn Hotel
19.25 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
T-Room Guesthouse
7.72 USD

Guesthouse 77.3% 37 reviews
Thailand Guesthouse
5.40 USD

Guesthouse 82.9% 32 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.0%

Overall Rating

653 out of 684 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Green Tulip House'

Atmosphere
86.4%
Location
83.2%
Facilities
82.4%
Cleanliness
92.8%
Staff
86.4%
Value
92.0%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 601 of 652 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 24 | 25   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great price for a private, good location & able to walk easily throughout the walled city.

Disliked: no hot water,

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was very colourful, i loved the spacious bathroom in the room and the size of the 4 dorm room, you have room to walk around and there is a vanity. breakfast is served really fast!

Disliked: i read comments about how pushy the owner can be, so when she asked me about tours i just said i had things booked already. she has to sell to make money and she remembers everyones name.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Caroline hager

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 February 2015 Caroline would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, rooftop, staff, everything was great!

Disliked: Nothing!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robert Bahmann

With friends / other travellers

City break
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 February 2015 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff and clean rooms.

Disliked: The Free breakfast is a bit small but the coffee is good. :)

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Keelah Rose Calloway

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 February 2015 Keelah Rose would recommend this property

Liked: During my second stay things were much quieter and the staff was even friendlier. They addressed me by name and helped a lot.

Disliked: I still had a lot of ants in my room!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Keelah Rose Calloway

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 February 2015 Keelah Rose would recommend this property

Liked: The colors, the friendly owner and his wife, and the size of my room.

Disliked: There were little bugs all over the room, tiny little ants. It was in both rooms I stayed in. The first night was also quite noisy thanks to some idiot tourists having a loud argument at 3:00AM, but the hotel can't be blamed for that and they handled it well the next day. There was also a slight issue with their menu. They didn't put all the key ingredients for their items on the menu, so when I got my plate and there was something on it I couldn't eat, the guy was a bit rude about it when I sent the plate back. If the menu had been accurate, I would have told them not to add that topping, so it was their fault in the first place.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

tomas legon

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 February 2015 tomas would recommend this property

Liked: The owners are very friendly and helpful

Disliked: Nothing

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

rene mueller

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 February 2015

Liked: Nice colorful building makes a friendly atmosphere

Disliked: Staff is unfriendly and not helpful, rooms do not have actual windows but fly screens, so it is very loud and you can hear every word of your neighbors. Food of the hostel is ridiculously pricy compared to what you pay, if you d go 10 meters further ;) We came for 4 nights and cancelled after the first one.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

noor muhammad

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

17 February 2015 noor would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were very cheerful and funny

Disliked: noor left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

james winton

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 February 2015 james would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff and close to municipal park.

Disliked: james left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Moritz

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

04 February 2015 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Bang for your buck! Stayed here for part of our honeymoon and so glad that we did. (We payed for a private room with a private bathroom) For a hostel, this place was great. The staff was unbelievably accommodating and helpful!! Each day my wife and I did something (Thai cooking, elephants, trips to temples, rented a motorbike) with the assistance of the staff. They were so nice and easy going. (we actually arrived at 4:30 in the morning after a 16 hr train ride, but it doesn't open until 7:00am. We asked if we could get let in, no issues. We just had to hang out on the roof for a couple of hours and watch the sunrise over the city) We left our backpacks there until check-in and went out for the day. I don't think the area we stayed in (SW Corner of old city) was considered the "spot to be" for hopping around local restaurants or other hostels. However, it was easy to get to those spots via walking, tuk tuk, or songthaew. ATMs are real close (within a few blocks to 3/4 mile) as majority of local spots only accept baht.

Disliked: nothing.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

01 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its littlebit far from everything

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean comfortable and safe

Disliked: hot shower didn't work

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was always clean

Disliked: I didn't like that the owner is not a polite person and if you don't buy the tours that she offers, she won't even say hi to you. Also, she made us pay the total price of accommodation within discounting the 12% of booking that we payed by hostel world.

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jess Lee

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 January 2015 Jess would recommend this property

Liked: Location, lockers and cleanliness

Disliked: Toooo many backpackers at lobby , and WiFi not really good

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

26 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, helpful staff, beautiful rooms, comfy beds

Disliked: Food in restaurant was too expensive

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Love Stella!! Amazing team so helpfull!! Would stay again.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, organised, no bunk beds at the dorm

Disliked: The beds were a bit too close to each other in the dorm

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Felix Schultze

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 January 2015 Felix would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanest Hostel I've ever stayed in. Stella is an amazing host and the food is great. Try the pad thai!

Disliked: Felix left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

09 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed at Green Tulip House for 8 nights and we enjoyed our stay. The room and the bathroom was clean and tidy and cleaned every day. Fresh towels were readily available. The breakfast was basic (tea/coffee/juice, toast, fresh fruit) but was enough to tide you over till you found something more on the street.The wifi was fast but there were occasional problems connecting. It wasn’t a very social place but that suited us fine.

Disliked: All meals were available at a significant premium. The only thing we felt let down on was the service. We had food left over from our cooking course which we wanted to warm up and they were very reluctant to lend us a bowl and fork and heat it up. We needed to do laundry and only when we enquired about it were we told it had to be ready by 9am which was too late for us but they would do express for double the price. We used a local laundry and asked if we could use a spare rack to hang clothes on and were turned down flat.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Julia Reichensperger

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 January 2015 Julia would recommend this property

Liked: Value for money

Disliked: Julia left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

08 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Green Tulip House was very clean, bright, and fun. The staff was friendly was very helpful as well.

Disliked: Though located in the old city of Chiang Mai, the location was not as close to the Night Market and other activities on the east side as some others. Price was competitive but a bit higher than some other accommodation options.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Green Tulip House is a great place to stay when in Chiang Mai. The owner, Stella, is awesome--so fun and helpful! The location within the Old City is convenient as you are close to anything you would need and you are not far from the main Chiang Mai sights and activities. The café is a pleasant place to spend some time, as is the park only a three minute walk from the guesthouse. And, there were many other travelers making meeting people quite easy. Overall, I'd recommend this place for the budget traveler planning a short stay.

Disliked: The beds in the dorms are not what I would call comfortable. Beds consist of thin mattresses on a very hard platform; furthermore, there are six of these beds on the platform so that you are very close to the person sleeping next to you. My nights there were not the most restful or comfortable nights I've had while traveling.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mario Lausberg

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 January 2015 Mario would recommend this property

Liked: The owner Stella is a star. She makes you welcome and provides personal service and advice for tours.

Disliked: Nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Mario Lausberg

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2015 Mario would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff who make you feel at home. The entire place is very well maintained with a high level of cleanliness. Large rooms with comfortabke beds and air conditioning.

Disliked: Nothing!