We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Green Tulip House

Hostel | 85 Samlan Road, Chiang Mai, Thailand 50200

92.2% Overall Rating

674 out of 706 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/08/2015)

Omar Link thinks…

"The shower was amazing. It was very spacious and the water pressure made me feel cleaner than ever before in Thailand. The room was clean and tidy and it was quiet in the night hours so it was a very…"

Read all Green Tulip House reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Café
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 0.28

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

notice: Please be advice and aware that we do not accept infant or child under the age of 4 year old,since we are a hostel and we do not have the facilities to accommodate them,sorry for the inconvenience caused.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Chiang Mai?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Chiang Mai

Non@Chiang Mai
8.97 USD

Hostel 89.4% 7 reviews
Baan Arlhan
4.20 USD

Hostel 90.4% 39 reviews
Thailandwow
6.16 USD

Guesthouse 93.6% 4 reviews
Deejai Backpackers
4.20 USD

Hostel 81.7% 64 reviews
Sirikamsan House
5.60 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Parasol Inn Hotel
23.30 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
T-Room Guesthouse
6.16 USD

Guesthouse 77.3% 37 reviews
Thailand Guesthouse
4.20 USD

Guesthouse 81.9% 33 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.2%

Overall Rating

674 out of 706 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Green Tulip House'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
89.6%
Cleanliness
96.0%
Staff
94.4%
Value
96.8%
Safety
98.4%
Refine your results Showing 619 of 674 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 24 | 25   Next
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Omar Link

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 August 2015

Liked: The shower was amazing. It was very spacious and the water pressure made me feel cleaner than ever before in Thailand. The room was clean and tidy and it was quiet in the night hours so it was a very nice private room. The bed was also big, and it fitted our standards for a normal room for a couple.

Disliked: It was a bit impersonal and we didn't see a lot of other travellers even though it was a hostel with several floors with rooms. But that's the low season I guess. And the staff wasn't very helpful or anything. We were moved to the room as cattle, and were shown the rules by a lady who was pointing at a piece of paper and that was it haha. Also, don't book a taxi at the hostel for the airport, for example. It is way more cheaper to ask a tuktuk to bring you somewhere, or rent a scooter like we did.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Mostly everything.

Disliked: The place locked up at 10:00pm, and residents were not allowed to use the Internet downstairs in the "lobby," which was a little frustrating. It's a pretty standard service. Also, WiFi was occasionally iffy.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Constance Gresham-Howd

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2015 Constance would recommend this property

Liked: Really helpful staff, the lady who runs it, Stella, was wonderfully helpful and a good laugh (the staff speak good English too). Would definitely recommend waiting to book day activities until you are there as she gives great recommendations and will help you with booking them (FYI the Siam Rice Cooking school does a fantastic cookery course, we did the evening course and it was a real highlight).

Disliked: Free water would have been nice, but having said that the water is very cheap to buy also. Essentially there is very little to complain about as it was a great place to stay!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jutta Fortmann

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 August 2015 Jutta would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice house and renovated rooms, everything worked properly, quiet aircon, strong water pressure in the shower. Good laundry service. We felt very comfortable and safe as they had a night guard.

Disliked: Very Bad wlan connection. I think it was not prepared for the number of guests they had. Breakfast included was very basic (toast + Butter).

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were amazing! They are so helpful and help you book tours!! They are knowledgable about the area!

Disliked: The hostel can be nosy and you can hear everything! Bring ear plugs! The bed aren't the most comfortable, but it's a safe place to stay. Overall I was happy!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 July 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Stella was extremely helpful and the property was great.

Disliked: They take a cut on renting, such as on motorbikes, but it was only about $1 american so no big deal.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Stela was very helpful with any questions we had and gave very good suggestions

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

DIEGO BARRAGAN

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 June 2015 DIEGO would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean good service

Disliked: Wifi doesn't work propierly in the third level

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean fresh rooms, good location inside old city, helpful staff

Disliked: No air conditioning (fan only) so not possible to cool rooms at night for sleeping

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

20 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Stella and staff are amazing. Food is good and overall, great value for money.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Peter Roellig

As a family with children

Family Holiday

13 April 2015 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice guesthouse with helpful and friendly staff. Rooms are very clean, simple but still comfortable. Very good value for money. I can only recommend this place.

Disliked: Peter left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are extemely welcoming and friendly, rooms are spacious and clean and the airconiditioning in our private room was brilliant! No complaints here :)

Disliked: They have a rooftop deck but there is very little up there, just one table and chairs, so I think they could improve this area. Otherwise everything was great.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kellie Orton

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 April 2015 Kellie would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is a great stay in Chiang Mai! Stella and Douglas are extremely helpful and work hard to make sure you enjoy yourself. The hostel is on a quiet street about 10 minutes walk from markets and wats but has a variety of restaurants/cafes nearby. I stayed in the female dorm which was extremely clean and comfortable. Breakfast is great and all of the tours I booked with them were professional and fun. 100% recommend and will return!

Disliked: Kellie left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's very tidy.

Disliked: The third night it has no water for shower, the staff have to give their spare room for me.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely people, great place to stay, good advise on tours

Disliked: Lots of moskitos

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

11 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Calm, clean, well presented property. Great location, very helpful staff. Stella is awesome.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

hannah poultney

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 March 2015 hannah would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are extremely friendly and helpful will try and make your stay as comfortable as they can! Stella is absolutely wonderful got I'll on arrival and she helped us work out the best hospitals and got me lots of green tea!!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

05 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is very friendly and funny. It's very calm at night. The hostel is totally recommanded for staying with friends or with the partner.

Disliked: Only standard English breakfast. Please have more choice of toast with marmelade and fresh fruits or sty like that

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great price for a private, good location & able to walk easily throughout the walled city.

Disliked: no hot water,

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was very colourful, i loved the spacious bathroom in the room and the size of the 4 dorm room, you have room to walk around and there is a vanity. breakfast is served really fast!

Disliked: i read comments about how pushy the owner can be, so when she asked me about tours i just said i had things booked already. she has to sell to make money and she remembers everyones name.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Caroline hager

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 February 2015 Caroline would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, rooftop, staff, everything was great!

Disliked: Nothing!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robert Bahmann

With friends / other travellers

City break
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 February 2015 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff and clean rooms.

Disliked: The Free breakfast is a bit small but the coffee is good. :)

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Keelah Rose Calloway

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 February 2015 Keelah Rose would recommend this property

Liked: During my second stay things were much quieter and the staff was even friendlier. They addressed me by name and helped a lot.

Disliked: I still had a lot of ants in my room!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Keelah Rose Calloway

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 February 2015 Keelah Rose would recommend this property

Liked: The colors, the friendly owner and his wife, and the size of my room.

Disliked: There were little bugs all over the room, tiny little ants. It was in both rooms I stayed in. The first night was also quite noisy thanks to some idiot tourists having a loud argument at 3:00AM, but the hotel can't be blamed for that and they handled it well the next day. There was also a slight issue with their menu. They didn't put all the key ingredients for their items on the menu, so when I got my plate and there was something on it I couldn't eat, the guy was a bit rude about it when I sent the plate back. If the menu had been accurate, I would have told them not to add that topping, so it was their fault in the first place.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

tomas legon

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 February 2015 tomas would recommend this property

Liked: The owners are very friendly and helpful

Disliked: Nothing