HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Green Tulip House

Hostel | 85 Samlan Road, Chiang Mai, Thailand 50200

89.6% Overall Rating

599 out of 624 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/04/2014)

"Incredibly friendly and helpful staff and great social area. The rooms were cleaned daily and the bathrooms were spotless with 2 toilets and one shower per 6 bed dorm. Definitely would recommend this hostel!"

Read all Green Tulip House reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Café
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 0.31

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

notice: Please be advice and aware that we do not accept infant or child under the age of 4 year old,since we are a hostel and we do not have the facilities to accommodate them,sorry for the inconvenience caused.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Chiang Mai?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Chiang Mai

Thailandwow
6.79 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Deejai Backpackers
3.70 USD

Hostel 84.0% 45 reviews
Parasol Inn Hotel
19.79 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
T-Room Guesthouse
6.79 USD

Guesthouse 81.3% 33 reviews
Thailand Guesthouse
5.40 USD

Guesthouse 83.1% 29 reviews
Diva Guesthouse
3.39 USD

Guesthouse 89.9% 36 reviews
Baan look Baan lhan home
4.63 USD

Hostel 92.6% 12 reviews
mojito Garden 2
4.32 USD

Hostel 80.9% 34 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.6%

Overall Rating

599 out of 624 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Green Tulip House'

Atmosphere
86.4%
Location
82.4%
Facilities
88.0%
Cleanliness
96.8%
Staff
89.6%
Value
91.2%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 551 of 593 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 22 | 23   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Incredibly friendly and helpful staff and great social area. The rooms were cleaned daily and the bathrooms were spotless with 2 toilets and one shower per 6 bed dorm. Definitely would recommend this hostel!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are really friendly, remembering everyone's names and full of information- to the point of being a little overwhelming after a 12 hour bus journey from Bangkok. Having said that their recommendations and knowledge of getting around everywhere were invaluable. Stella and Nina run an organised hostel and I almost felt adopted during my stay!

Disliked: Dorm room has very little space to put rucksacks and still walk around

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

casey nolin

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2014 casey would recommend this property

Liked: I absolutely loved everything about my stay here andi would absolutely stay here again!!

Disliked: It was a tiny bit off the main drag but it makes up for it in so many other ways.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Agn? Jagminait?

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2014 Agn? would recommend this property

Liked: Clear, quite cozy room. Quite good location. Really good price. Good wifi. Hot water. Simple but you get everything you need for not luxury stay.

Disliked: One lady from stuff (looks like she in charge) was very pushy to choose tours. We even cant have calm dinner because she came every 5min to suggest something. So we decide never eat here again. But it was only small anoying detail. We found driver for day tour but that witch force him to leave when he cane to pick us... She told him that we must buy tours from her. Some kind of tourism mafia... So all day was.destroyed for us.. we woke up early for nothong and need to organize something else and spent much time to find othegood deal for day tour.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexander Szygowski

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 March 2014 Alexander would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was clean and th staff were very helpful. A

Disliked: Food they served wasn't that great or a little expensive compared to surrounding areas.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It nice, clean and quiet place. Very very beautiful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christoph Smrz

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 March 2014 Christoph would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly and helpful staff, clean and big rooms, great shower!

Disliked: Christoph left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It has great character with everything being brightly coloured. it is extremely clean and the staff are very friendly and have great knowledge on the area so are great four advice and recommendations. Also it is located in the old city which is what you want.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

joanne egan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 March 2014 joanne would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were spacious and the roof top was cool

Disliked: the common areas close too early

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Jit Lim

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

01 March 2014 Jit would recommend this property

Liked: .The room is clean and locate is good.

Disliked: Jit left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely, colorful, clean, good service, friendly staff, good location, spacious bathroom and comfy beds.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were great! Next door to amazing restaurant - Brown Rice :)

Disliked: Not a lot of space in dorm rooms. Upgraded to triple room second night which ended up being a great room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

23 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Affordable. Clean, spacious room. Breakfast and other meals available on site. Stella was helpful in answering any questions and assisted in booking excursions.

Disliked: We travelled for approximately 6 hours before getting to Chiang Mai. Stella and her coworker were a little overwhelming at first by immediately asking is what we wanted to do and giving us a bunch of your books to look at before we even settled in. While the information was appreciated it was a bit much to handle after a long day of travel.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jimmy Redinger

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 February 2014 Jimmy would recommend this property

Liked: Green Tulip House was great! Nina and Stella provided us with everything we could ever need. Two of our group became sick and the staff took care of them like they were their children. Could not have asked for a better place or better people.

Disliked: Jimmy left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicola Spitzer

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 February 2014 Nicola would recommend this property

Liked: Great place. Great vibe. Felt very safe and in a good location. Friendly staff.

Disliked: No handsoap in bathroom!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

simone wilson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 February 2014 simone would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and loved the layout of the dorms.

Disliked: simone left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place is very clean, especially the bathrooms. The location is pretty good, you could walk to the night bazaar but it would take about 30 minutes. One of the staff members, Stella, was very friendly and nice.

Disliked: The staff members are very full on about selling their tours to you. The moment we arrived at the hostel, they sat us down at a table and started bringing out tons of brochures, trying to get us to do their tours. They are very pushy and even get angry or upset if you say no.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 January 2014

Liked: Hostel was clean.

Disliked: The dormitory room Was too full. There was suppose to be 6 persons but there were 7 of us. The beds were less than 20 cm away from each other. Room was also cold and there were no blankets and not enough place to hang the towels etc. Dormitory rooms are also very over prized compared to other places in town.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

michelle norton

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 January 2014 michelle would recommend this property

Liked: i LOVE the green tulip the staff are so friendly ..food and atmosphere is amazing...rooms are huge and spotless this hostel is better and cleaner than most of the hotels i stayed in over there would highly recommend... we wanted to do a trek and the 2 ladies that run the hostel wer so helpful we just had to pick out what we wanted to do and they took care of the rest they rang up and booked it and organised taxis for where ever we wanted to go.. we wanted to go to a muay thai fight while we were over there they rang up and got us front row seats was brilliant ther so helpful ..cant wait to go back next year

Disliked: michelle left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean, the staff were friendly, and location was good.

Disliked: No real lounging area.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Brayden Thibou

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 January 2014 Brayden would recommend this property

Liked: Great place, staff are very helpful and the toikets are ridiculously clean! The beds are comfortable and the place is quiet. Great for a relaxing stay. Wifi was sketchy but they had free computers.

Disliked: Only thing I didn't like is no common area couches (just dining tables) and the staff were super pushy on their tours to the point of avoiding them. Also the location near isn't great, it's a 30min walk to the nightlife/market areas.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Carter

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 January 2014 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the friendly staff, beautiful building, comfortable room and warm shower. Also great wifi connection and excellent location. Felt very safe leaving our belongings in the safe in our room. Laundry service was fast and cheap

Disliked: Cleaners were loud early in the morning, otherwise perfect

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Alex Podust

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 January 2014 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: Had a great time at the green tulip house. Staff was friendly and helpful. Located just a short walk from the major tourist attractions. Very clean and felt safe. Would stay here again.

Disliked: Not much bad to say. Not necessarily a negative, but the hostel is in a quiet part of town and not much goes on after 9 pm. Hostel itself went dead after about 9 pm so can get good sleep in but not good if you want to party and mingle.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bethea Robertson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 January 2014 Bethea would recommend this property

Liked: A fabulous hostel, especially for single travellers. I have felt incredibly welcome, safe and secure at all times and would recommend this hostel without hesitation. Excellent value for money.

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean, the staff were friendly. Overall great value for money.

Disliked: A little bit out of the way from the nightlife.