HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Spicythai Backpackers

Hostel | 14 Hassdisevi Rd, T. Sriphum, A. Muang Chiang Mai, Thailand 50300

85.1% Overall Rating

370 out of 381 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/10/2014)

Franz Zoehrer thinks…

"This was one of the best hostels I ever stayed in! The dorms are ok, nothing special, but don't go in with wrong expectations. It is clean in terms of Thai, which means it is of course not as tidy as…"

Read all Spicythai Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 0.92

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Chiang Mai?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Chiang Mai

The Living Place 2
4.93 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
A Little Bird 2 Guesthouse
0.06 USD

Guesthouse 82.9% 6 reviews
Romena Grand Hotel
30.82 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Bon Ca Va
16.95 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 86.9% 55 reviews
mojito Garden 2
4.31 USD

Hostel 76.9% 38 reviews
Chang Puak Hotel
13.10 USD

Hostel 91.1% 17 reviews
Cozy Home Chiang Mai
6.16 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
HeyHa555 Guesthouse
20.03 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.1%

Overall Rating

370 out of 381 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Spicythai Backpackers'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
76.0%
Facilities
86.4%
Cleanliness
78.4%
Staff
92.8%
Value
88.0%
Safety
83.2%
Refine your results Showing 317 of 320 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Franz Zoehrer

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 October 2014 Franz would recommend this property

Liked: This was one of the best hostels I ever stayed in! The dorms are ok, nothing special, but don't go in with wrong expectations. It is clean in terms of Thai, which means it is of course not as tidy as a 5 star hotel, but still comfy and not dirty or something at all. This is also a great place to meet fellow travelers, it is not too big, so you have a good overview of who is staying there at the moment. The Host is the friendliest person ever, he is really interested in his guests and speaks really solid english, you can have a full conversation with him and he offers you really great tips on what to do in the area, sometimes he even organises trips for the guests by himself. I was really pleased to stay here, I would recommend this hostel to everyone who has realistic expectations in a Thai Hostel and wants to meet people and experience great things. I stayed here for 4 nights, and I wish I would have stayed longer. There is SO much stuff you can do up here. If you have the time..take 7 days and go trekking, rafting, zplining, swimming in waterfalls, etc. It totally pays of!

Disliked: nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is a good place to meet and interact with other travelers. Also, the staff speak excellent English and can help you with any travel arrangements or tours.

Disliked: The hostel itself was rather drab and lacked character (rusty bunk beds, lockers that were half broken etc.) Also, some of the tours that were recommended to me by the staff were not good.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mark Masih

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 May 2014 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: Its not often you get hostels this good. It had everything . Atmosphere, clean, secure all the standard stuff. But really no one can be told how good this hostel is, you have experience it for yourself.

Disliked: Mark left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Victoria Densley

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 May 2014 Victoria would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel a bit out of town if you want something central but transport is so cheap it's not a problem. Something over found nowhere else is the great vibe and atmosphere here. 5/5.

Disliked: Victoria left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really enjoyed our stay here.. Ended up extending. Staff are very friendly and they organise activities for each evening. Communal area has large tv with loads of films. One of the best hostels we've stayed at! Make sure you book though as it's always full!

Disliked: Only got showers downstairs which isn't ideal but there's a toilet upstairs so not too bad!

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Stacey Tsuboi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 April 2014

Liked: ....sadly, nothing

Disliked: I love hostels and stay in them every chance I get, but this one had the worst facilities and accomodation thay i have ever experienced. I couldn't believe how dirty i felt there. I understand hostels are cheap for a reason and never expect much from them, but this one wasn't even worth the few dollars that I paid. I chose it because it had positive reviews about the atmosphere, but I made a very poor decision choosing to stay here.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great people great hostel

Disliked: Great hostel

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Riley Mulcahy

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 February 2014 Riley would recommend this property

Liked: Got too be the best hostel I've stayed in yet, making due too the friendly atmosphere, and the helpfulness from everyone. And for the past 2 nights we've actually all gone out for drinks as one big group,

Disliked: Riley left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

broderick hughes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 February 2014 broderick would recommend this property

Liked: everyone was very friendly and i meet alot of people

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay for a short, or long period of time. Staff are always helpful with any queries you may have, and can book any activities you may be interested in. There are also numerous hostel organised events ongoing during the week. All in all, great atmosphere, great crowd, great hostel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

mike fisher

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 October 2013 mike would recommend this property

Liked: Great place! easy to meet people, maybe not the closest to central but everyone goes out together so its cheap to get in by tuk tuk or taxi extended my stay and booked myself into spicypai which was just as good

Disliked: mike left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The facilities are not state of the art but it's an excellent value for money and a perfect place for a backpacker looking to meet other travelers. A very friendly ambiance and good location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Sophie Hayman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 September 2013 Sophie would recommend this property

Liked: Really good hostel.. helpful staff, relaxed atmosphere and really sociable! I missed pick up for elephant training, but the owner rang and rang and they came back for me.. will always be grateful for that!

Disliked: Sophie left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Had a really good stay here, I met lots of good people and has a really good vibe! I never watched any of the movies but it was a really nice touch if you just wanted to chill out. I would definitely go back!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels in asia/the world! Essentially a 2 floor hostel with great communial area - everyone sits around a massive dining table to talk. Very easy to meet travellers The staff sometimes take you out or arrange events They can book a lot of activities too

Disliked: A little out of town, but easy to reach by cheap tuktuk

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

John Delaney

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

28 June 2013 John would recommend this property

Liked: Good vibe and facilities. Staff was helpful and funny.

Disliked: Not the cleanest place overall, and the rooms weren't that comfy, but not to bad.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Corey McMahon

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2013 Corey would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are friendly, great place to meet people. Love the "honesty drinks bar." Great place to meet people.

Disliked: Corey left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The thing that I liked the most was the whole atmosphere. Everybody is very social and friendly. In the evening some events were organized, like game night, which was very nice. In this hostel you will meet a lot of people.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Libby Jones

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 March 2013 Libby would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was great, booked for two nights ended up staying for six!! Good common area so really easy to meet people. Beds are comfy, showers are clean and breakfast is included. The team are really helpful and can organise trips for you. Would definitely stay here again!!!!

Disliked: Nothing

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Cristina Elena Stoica

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 March 2013

Liked: it was ok... they just moved there when i arrived... so actually wasn't that much to like..

Disliked: well... when i arrived they just moved there but the showering area was quite bad, the internet connection and the computers were bad, the furniture was bad, the locking system was bad..

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Clare Diessner

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 March 2013 Clare would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed at Spicythai with my two friends for four nights. As soon as we arrived everyone was so welcoming, inviting us out for the night. The staff here are so helpful, Luke and Steve booked activities and transport for us and were generally very helpful with advice etc. The hostel is very social and there is nearly always things organised for the evenings if you did want to go along. The rooms are basic but clean and safe, having air conditioning was nice too. I would highly recommend this hostel :)

Disliked: Clare left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

stefano bianchi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

05 March 2013 stefano would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice and helpful staff, fast wi-fi, relax area is very nice and cool to meet people. The free breakfast is good, I liked the free bananas always on the table. Its really easy to meet people around the table at breakfast or dinner. The showers are absolutely amazing I really liked that!!

Disliked: A bit far from the center, the AC at night is too strong, the room gets really cold

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -High Social Vibe

Disliked: -Only suitable up to age 25, people all day watching TV instead being on holiday, one dorm gets a lot of noise nuisance from the television

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Danielle Law

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 February 2013 Danielle would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was very sociable, they had activities on every night that made it really easy to meet people. Breakfast was included and the bathroom was always clean. Excursions and travel could also be arranged through the hostel. Great air conditioning!

Disliked: Upstairs there is just one toilet; the showers are downstairs so didn't really like to walk through the common area in a towel! Quite difficult to find as its just outside of the old town area of Chiang Mai. Had to pay extra for a towel. Mosquitos in the female dorm,

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Marc Jocum

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 February 2013 Marc would recommend this property

Liked: such a good atmosphere! love the honest system with the drinks. The movie room lounge is the best place to chill out and watch hundreds of shows on the hardrive. A little bit out of the city centre (20 min walk) but overall great value for money!

Disliked: cold showers