We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Spicythai Backpackers

Hostel | 14 Hassdisevi Rd, T. Sriphum, A. Muang Chiang Mai, Thailand 50300

89.5% Overall Rating

381 out of 392 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/03/2015)

John Tran thinks…

"Excellent social atmosphere and super helpful staff, activities that are organised are great for seeing lots of Chiang Mai as well as meeting other friendly travellers! Also the hostel is a short…"

Read all Spicythai Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 0.90

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Chiang Mai?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Chiang Mai

The Living Place 2
5.37 USD

Hostel 78.3% 5 reviews
A Little Bird 2 Guesthouse
5.07 USD

Guesthouse 82.0% 7 reviews
Bon Ca Va
16.41 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 86.9% 55 reviews
mojito Garden 2
4.18 USD

Hostel 75.8% 43 reviews
Chang Puak Hotel
11.93 USD

Hostel 89.7% 22 reviews
Cozy Home Chiang Mai
5.97 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
HeyHa555 Guesthouse
19.39 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Lita Guesthouse
3.58 USD

Guesthouse 71.5% 24 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.5%

Overall Rating

381 out of 392 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Spicythai Backpackers'

Atmosphere
94.4%
Location
80.8%
Facilities
90.4%
Cleanliness
81.6%
Staff
96.0%
Value
92.8%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 326 of 331 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere.. I like the bathrooms, the good movies on offer

Disliked: /

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Tran

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 March 2015 John would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent social atmosphere and super helpful staff, activities that are organised are great for seeing lots of Chiang Mai as well as meeting other friendly travellers! Also the hostel is a short walk from the old town and mall which is pretty convenient for shopping or going for a swim at the rooftop pool

Disliked: John left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly staff, each day some kind of event, for example bowling with karaoke afterwards or hangover chill out at a lake.

Disliked: Bunk beds are hard to climb because of the small metal steps. At one time a rat came out of the toilet, but staff taken charge an put up traps.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent social area with huge table and sofas and tv area. Each evening there is activities planned and it is really easy to join in and meet other people. The price was very cheap too.

Disliked: Only one hot shower, rest were cold. The rooms are a bit old and dated, the beds creak badly and there were quite a lot of mosquitos flying around. Location is a little out of town but you can walk to the mall in 15 minutes. Hostel can arrange transport if needed.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Davy Pickard

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 January 2015 Davy would recommend this property

Liked: The vibe was awesome!

Disliked: Davy left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emily McManus

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

12 January 2015 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are the best people in the world, the atmosphere is amazing for a solo traveler looking to relax or a group of backpackers looking to meet others and party (or any combination of those!), the location is great and close to the city center, the hostel is clean and safe and has the best collection of dvd's to chill out and watch if you're tired. Everything is amazing here, but the best part is the character of the people!

Disliked: Nothing - it's my favorite place :)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

hagen herb

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2015 hagen would recommend this property

Liked: Incredibly friendly staff and a great atmosphere made for a great stay. This hostel truly felt like a home away from home.

Disliked: hagen left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Abigail glover

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 January 2015 Abigail would recommend this property

Liked: The most social hostel I've stayed in! The staff and owner are very accommodating, dorm rooms are a decent enough size and comfy beds. Great social area and easy to get to town. Didn't want to leave!

Disliked: Abigail left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Lyudmila Bangiyeva

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2014 Lyudmila would recommend this property

Liked: We had an awesome stay at spicythai! Rob and tim go out of their way to make sure everyone is having a great time and there are fun activities planned for everyday. Will definitely stay there again if back in chiang Mai.

Disliked: Lyudmila left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Franz Zoehrer

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 October 2014 Franz would recommend this property

Liked: This was one of the best hostels I ever stayed in! The dorms are ok, nothing special, but don't go in with wrong expectations. It is clean in terms of Thai, which means it is of course not as tidy as a 5 star hotel, but still comfy and not dirty or something at all. This is also a great place to meet fellow travelers, it is not too big, so you have a good overview of who is staying there at the moment. The Host is the friendliest person ever, he is really interested in his guests and speaks really solid english, you can have a full conversation with him and he offers you really great tips on what to do in the area, sometimes he even organises trips for the guests by himself. I was really pleased to stay here, I would recommend this hostel to everyone who has realistic expectations in a Thai Hostel and wants to meet people and experience great things. I stayed here for 4 nights, and I wish I would have stayed longer. There is SO much stuff you can do up here. If you have the time..take 7 days and go trekking, rafting, zplining, swimming in waterfalls, etc. It totally pays of!

Disliked: nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is a good place to meet and interact with other travelers. Also, the staff speak excellent English and can help you with any travel arrangements or tours.

Disliked: The hostel itself was rather drab and lacked character (rusty bunk beds, lockers that were half broken etc.) Also, some of the tours that were recommended to me by the staff were not good.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mark Masih

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 May 2014 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: Its not often you get hostels this good. It had everything . Atmosphere, clean, secure all the standard stuff. But really no one can be told how good this hostel is, you have experience it for yourself.

Disliked: Mark left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Victoria Densley

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 May 2014 Victoria would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel a bit out of town if you want something central but transport is so cheap it's not a problem. Something over found nowhere else is the great vibe and atmosphere here. 5/5.

Disliked: Victoria left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really enjoyed our stay here.. Ended up extending. Staff are very friendly and they organise activities for each evening. Communal area has large tv with loads of films. One of the best hostels we've stayed at! Make sure you book though as it's always full!

Disliked: Only got showers downstairs which isn't ideal but there's a toilet upstairs so not too bad!

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Stacey Tsuboi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 April 2014

Liked: ....sadly, nothing

Disliked: I love hostels and stay in them every chance I get, but this one had the worst facilities and accomodation thay i have ever experienced. I couldn't believe how dirty i felt there. I understand hostels are cheap for a reason and never expect much from them, but this one wasn't even worth the few dollars that I paid. I chose it because it had positive reviews about the atmosphere, but I made a very poor decision choosing to stay here.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great people great hostel

Disliked: Great hostel

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Riley Mulcahy

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 February 2014 Riley would recommend this property

Liked: Got too be the best hostel I've stayed in yet, making due too the friendly atmosphere, and the helpfulness from everyone. And for the past 2 nights we've actually all gone out for drinks as one big group,

Disliked: Riley left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

broderick hughes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 February 2014 broderick would recommend this property

Liked: everyone was very friendly and i meet alot of people

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay for a short, or long period of time. Staff are always helpful with any queries you may have, and can book any activities you may be interested in. There are also numerous hostel organised events ongoing during the week. All in all, great atmosphere, great crowd, great hostel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

mike fisher

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 October 2013 mike would recommend this property

Liked: Great place! easy to meet people, maybe not the closest to central but everyone goes out together so its cheap to get in by tuk tuk or taxi extended my stay and booked myself into spicypai which was just as good

Disliked: mike left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The facilities are not state of the art but it's an excellent value for money and a perfect place for a backpacker looking to meet other travelers. A very friendly ambiance and good location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Sophie Hayman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 September 2013 Sophie would recommend this property

Liked: Really good hostel.. helpful staff, relaxed atmosphere and really sociable! I missed pick up for elephant training, but the owner rang and rang and they came back for me.. will always be grateful for that!

Disliked: Sophie left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Had a really good stay here, I met lots of good people and has a really good vibe! I never watched any of the movies but it was a really nice touch if you just wanted to chill out. I would definitely go back!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels in asia/the world! Essentially a 2 floor hostel with great communial area - everyone sits around a massive dining table to talk. Very easy to meet travellers The staff sometimes take you out or arrange events They can book a lot of activities too

Disliked: A little out of town, but easy to reach by cheap tuktuk

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

John Delaney

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

28 June 2013 John would recommend this property

Liked: Good vibe and facilities. Staff was helpful and funny.

Disliked: Not the cleanest place overall, and the rooms weren't that comfy, but not to bad.