HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Baanrimtaling Home Stay

Guesthouse | 19 Tesacan, Chiang Khong, Thailand 57140

87.3% Overall Rating

69 out of 73 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (06/02/2014)

Krzysztof Dopierala thinks…

"Basic guesthouse with cheap&good food as well as nice river views. Most of the people stay just one night, but they have some tips to explore countryside if you decide for it."

Read all Baanrimtaling Home Stay reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 2.51

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Chiang Khong?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.3%

Overall Rating

69 out of 73 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Baanrimtaling Home Stay'

Atmosphere
95.2%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
81.6%
Cleanliness
74.4%
Staff
96.0%
Value
93.6%
Safety
79.2%
Refine your results Showing 59 of 66 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Patricia FORICHON

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 February 2014 Patricia would recommend this property

Liked: Nice, quiet, cheap

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Frank Nichols

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 February 2014 Frank would recommend this property

Liked: Like it so much ,staying anther two weeks

Disliked: Frank left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Krzysztof Dopierala

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 February 2014 Krzysztof would recommend this property

Liked: Basic guesthouse with cheap&good food as well as nice river views. Most of the people stay just one night, but they have some tips to explore countryside if you decide for it.

Disliked: One of the dorms is just under a thin floor of upstairs restaurant, so it can be pretty noisy in the evenings. Other thing - maybe nothing to dislike but consider - is that they do not offer free pick up to the ferry border crossing, as it's just don't exist any more, new bridge was opened in the end of 2013.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

peter bury

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 November 2013 peter would recommend this property

Liked: THE OWNER AND STAFF WERE BRILLIANT CERTAINLY VALUE FOR MONEY.

Disliked: BEAR IN MIND WE ARE OLD OUR PAARTYING DAYS HAVE PAST BETTER LIGHTING IN THE BEDROOM SO READING WOULD BE EASIER

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Stijn Debuysscher

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2013 Stijn would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location with great view on the Mekong Good atmosphere welcomed with a family feeling Owner picked us up for free at nearby hostel and dropped us the day after at the border (daily free shuttle in the pickup truck) Food really good for little money Library with many travel guides and other reading available Computer with internet for free Charming terrace in a quiet and ecofriendly environment

Disliked: No locker in the room Bathroom could be more tidy A little far out of town

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

03 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner of the hotel could not have been more helpful in assisting us to join our Mekong Cruise. She personally took us to the ferry and made sure to pass us into the care of the Cruise rep. The food was good and there were free bikes to use. The hostel operates an 'honesty system' where you have a book to record any thing you use eg food, drinks and then you make up your own bill at the end. The main selling points of the hostel are the unbelievable helpfulness of the owner and the cheap price

Disliked: No windows and poorly fitting shutters yet very poor provision of mosquito nets (ours was full of holes). Ensuite toilet didn't have a door. Poor standard of general cleanliness.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Right on the Mekong River the views are lovely. The bungalow room we had was spacious with a huge balcony over looking the river. Restaurant was ok - when busy food was good but when quiet not so much. Owners Maleewan and Don very chatty and friendly.

Disliked: Most people only stay for a night before crossing into Laos so can be very quiet. Music festival over the river kept us awake until 2am, but not a major problem for us (and think seasonal).

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vanessa Bennett

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 February 2013 Vanessa would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, friendly and helpful staff, and free bicycles.

Disliked: This hostel only provides 1 key per room, which if you're sharing with people you have to leave in a container on the Reception desk.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Peter Hopton

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 February 2013 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: It was pitch back when I arrived in Chiang Khong but the lovely hostel owner picked me up (for free!), which was very much appreciated after a long bus ride from Chiang Mai! The rooms were basic but incredibly cheap and the atmosphere at the hostel was brilliant. Food and drink was tasty and fairly priced and the showers were hot. Finally, the view over the Mekong river into Laos in the morning was brilliant!

Disliked: N/A

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was super friendly and they met us at the bus station, even though I didn't expect this

Disliked: The dorm rooms were under the restaurant, and since I went to bed early I could hear people walking on the wooden floor all the time.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Hannah Mcloughlin

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

26 December 2012 Hannah would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly staff with a homely feel. Marleewan is a lovely hostess and full of information about the local area and also laos. Lent us her and her husbands bikes for free and suggested a good route. Food was better than average for a guest house and honesty bar in the restaurant.

Disliked: 5 min walk from main street but meant it was quiet and scenic riverfront.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Patrick and Hilda Baker

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

25 December 2012 Patrick and Hilda would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliness and helpfulness and location

Disliked: N / A

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paul Griffin

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 December 2012 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: Location, location, location, I stayed for 6 days before crossing into Laos and spent many hours just absorbing the spectacular views of the Mekong River, being at the end of the town the view is not of the Lao town opposite, which you can see by looking upriver, looking downriver look out over the Lao countryside to the distant moutnains, where you know you are "heading" if you are getting the slow boat to Luang Prabang in Laos. The laid back feel of the place is heightened by the fact that you order your food, help yourself to cold drinks and are trusted to enter it into your room book, wonderful.

Disliked: Lack of sound insulation in the floors - "just Live with it" or bring earplugs.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fakier Jessa

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 December 2012 Fakier would recommend this property

Liked: Hospitality very good on all counts.

Disliked: Nothing to comment on.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Gemma Pearce

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

18 November 2012 Gemma would recommend this property

Liked: The owner greeted me at the door (around 11pm!) and asked if I wanted anything to eat. She helped me carry my bags down to the room and said that seeing as I looked so tired, I could organise payment in the morning. Despite it being so late, she agreed to organise my slowboat for me for the morning. Free wifi, lovely breakfast and plenty of information.

Disliked: Gemma left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

samantha gale

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 September 2012 samantha would recommend this property

Liked: The owners Malaleen and Don are amazing. They are really knowleageble about the Mekong, Laos, Thailand, flora and fauna, dengue-you name it they know it- they are resource and reason to stay by themselves. The wooden building is also very beautiful and breathes at night ( does not retain heat like stone )

Disliked: There are a lot of bugs especially in the rainy season as they come up from the rising river. I don't think its a big deal though really.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

francis bessou

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 August 2012 francis would recommend this property

Liked: River view, staff and restaurant

Disliked: No a/c Explanations to find the hotel not so accurate

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owners are extremely hospitable and helpful. If you talk to them about your travel plans such as border-crossing, journey into Laos etc, they have lots of unbelievably helpful tips to share. Do speak to Don and Maleewan; they have lots to share that you will learn alot from!

Disliked: If you are afraid of lizards or insects, this will be a challenge. But then again, it is next to the Mekong, so it is unavoidable.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Kimberley Wenham

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 May 2012 Kimberley would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely little balcony overlooking the river crossing to Laos, great food, very friendly staff who even booked our hostel in Laos for us and took us to the port early in the morning for free!

Disliked: Not the cleanest hostel, but what it lacked in cleanliness it made up for in character.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

cerwyn edwards

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 March 2012 cerwyn would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in a bungalow and had a fantastic balcony with great views of the river, the bed was comfy and the food at the restaurant was good value and very tasty.

Disliked: Our room was directly under the restaurant so there was a llitle noise from other guests but nothing too bad.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mirjam de Graaf

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 February 2012 Mirjam would recommend this property

Liked: perfect location if you are crossing the lao border

Disliked: Mirjam left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kathryn Laceby

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 February 2012 Kathryn would recommend this property

Liked: A lovely and welcoming place to stay - Maleewan and the other staff are so friendly and helpful. I ended up staying two nights instead of the planned one. Chiang Khong is a lovely sleepy little village and deserves a stop of a day or two, although most people fly through on the way to Laos. The people here are really sweet and friendly. The guest house also has gorgeous river views, and you can swim in the river, which I did today. Lovely!

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Kymberley Greenwood

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 February 2012 Kymberley would recommend this property

Liked: The owner, Maleewan cannot do enough for you. She picked us up from the bus stop, took us to the border and arranged the slow boat for us. She is the friendliest and most helpful lady we have come across. Great for socialising.

Disliked: We got a bungalow with ensuite, the rooms are basic but views to die for. I personally would not have liked the shared bathroom accommodation. About 800m walk to centre but not too much to see anyway!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

alan shiel

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 February 2012 alan would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely situation and charming and helpful staff. Great value for money. I shall certainly come back, and visitors to this area should look no further...you will not find anywhere nicer.

Disliked: I suppose I would have preferred the Dining Room to be non smoking

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

john harrington

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

22 January 2012 john would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! Its a toss up whether the best feature is the superb riverside and rural location or the exceptionally friendly, informative and helpful people who run the place. One of the best places we have stayed in during an extensive travelling career. But a word of warning - most people stay here only one night on their way to Laos - if you don't book more nights you will regret it.

Disliked: On the basis that I never give anything 100 percent, I have to find a niggle and in this case it is that because of the layout of the place it would be possible for someone to get in unnoticed and break the flimsy locks on the doors. But since this appears to be a non-crime area I suppose that is a remote possibilty. The whole place is run on trust. You make out your own bills by keeping a record of what you have consumed and they take your word for it. Brilliant.