We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Urban House

Guesthouse | 35/13 Soi Yommarat Saladaeng, Road Silom, Bangkok, Thailand 10500

97.0% Overall Rating

161 out of 162 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (06/07/2014)

"The staff were super helpful. They really went out of their way to ensure that I was safe and knew exactly what I was doing from day to day. I've been to many hostels across the world and I can honestly say that this…"

Read all Urban House reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

- We accept cash only. - Our building is a smoke-free building. - Visitors are not allowed in the residence area. - We cannot accommodate children aged under 10 years old. - As we do not have 24-hours receptionist, please kindly inform us the estimated arrival time to our place. Or, if you arrive at Bangkok by flight, please inform us the flight number and estimated arrival time to Bangkok so we can arrange staff to be here when you come to check in.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bangkok?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bangkok

For You Residence
21.57 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Orchid Hostel
1.43 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Thrive The Hostel: Patpong by The Belle
7.49 USD

Hostel 85.7% 3 reviews
Smile Society
11.71 USD

Hostel 96.3% 314 reviews
The Blooms Residence
10.79 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Glitz Bangkok
25.42 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Take a Nap
9.09 USD

Hostel 82.9% 125 reviews
ETZzz Hostel
7.70 USD

Hostel 85.3% 106 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
97.0%

Overall Rating

161 out of 162 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Urban House'

Atmosphere
93.6%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
97.6%
Cleanliness
96.8%
Staff
100.0%
Value
98.4%
Safety
99.2%
Refine your results Showing 133 of 148 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Danielle Cupryk

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

01 August 2010 Danielle would recommend this property

Liked: This place was one of my favorite hotels in southeast asia. Great price for cute and clean rooms. The staff was the best part, though. So incredibly sweet and helpful. They went out of their way to help us with whatever we needed. I would easily recommend this place to anyone.

Disliked: Not a dislike, but, I would recommend printing off the directions to the hotel in Thai (they offer that on the website). It is tucked away down a street and not many cab drivers could find it. Having the directions to the place in Thai was the most helpful!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emma-Louise Duffy

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 July 2010 Emma-Louise would recommend this property

Liked: This was the first place that my friend and I stayed on our trip. The staff were extremely helpful and offered guidance and advice on where to go and also how to stay safe. On our last day we had to leave before breakfast time to catch a flight to Hanoi and the lady who worked there got up early to make us a wee breakfast bag to take with us!! Our room was huge and had a tv, sofa, a bathroom with a good shower and a kitchen with a fridge. We loved this hostel and I would definately recommend it to fellow travellers.

Disliked: Emma-Louise left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cristina Fraga Sanjurjo

21 April 2010 Cristina would recommend this property

Liked: Location was excellent near Sala Daeng skytrain.The best feature was the extremely helpfulness of the staff, very caring and anticipating any need you may have. Also the cleanliness of the place and having magazines, tea coffee and free wireless connection make it a home from home especially for female lone travellers. I´ll fdefinitely go back.

Disliked: Cristina left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hayley Bellingham

30 March 2010 Hayley would recommend this property

Liked: everything!

Disliked: Hayley left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vicy West

21 March 2010 Vicy would recommend this property

Liked: Absolute home from home. very cheap for what is on offer. It was like staying in your own apartment which was really clean and had everything that you needed. Staff were all really helpful and the location was good as well. would def recomend this to others. Welcome break from your typical hostel.

Disliked: Vicy left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Tay Kiok Cheng

15 March 2010 Tay would recommend this property

Liked: location is my priority, well situated. also near skytrain annd bts and airport bus. excellant staffs, very friendly annd helpfuul in finding information.willingliiy offer assistance.

Disliked: Tay left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jacqueline Johnson

27 January 2010 Jacqueline would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, friendly, helpful and a good location. A great place to stay.

Disliked: Jacqueline left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

22 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the location it was close to the skytrain and MBT (underground). Lots of restaurants and shopping nearby. The hostess was wonderful and always willing to book or check up on activities for us. Our room was very large, if you got the extra large room with a sofa. It was worth the few baht extra for the larger room. I'd stay here again!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

bruno tansens

07 January 2010 bruno would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly staff that helped me with my day programme to view the city, simple nice tasty interior decoration, clean rooms, quiet street, good location - a nice house on human scale in the centre of a crazy metropole - would go their again

Disliked: bruno left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Erik Kietz

23 December 2009 Erik would recommend this property

Liked: A great place. We stayed here after the hazzle and 24/7 rysh of Khaosan Road. A quiet little guesthouse with all the facilities needed. The place truly felt like a second home with excellent rooms and a lobby area that made you fell at home. The district housed many banks and office biuldings but the closeness of Skytrain station makes a shift to other areas really simple.If you like quieter sorroundings in hektik Bangkok then choose Urbanhouse

Disliked: Erik left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Patrik Krogerus

22 December 2009 Patrik would recommend this property

Liked: It's one of the best places I've ever visited in Bangkok. Very clean and the staff is extremely helpful. The breakfast is a good bonus and there's a lot to eat too. The BTS skytrain and the metro stops are also very closeby. Ask the reception for a free 30min cupon to the massage parlour across the street. I would recommend this to any traveler coming to Bangkok.

Disliked: Patrik left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Siu Lok Ming Kelvin

16 December 2009 Siu would recommend this property

Liked: Urban House is my first choice in Bangkok.

Disliked: Siu left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

17 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great guest house. staff very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carla Ramos

10 August 2009 Carla would recommend this property

Liked: staff was very friendly and helpfull. good quality for the price

Disliked: Carla left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sebastiaan Hoogendoorn

30 July 2009 sebastiaan would recommend this property

Liked: Good Place,would stay again

Disliked: sebastiaan left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

25 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice staff. We appreciate the fact that they speak very good english and that they were very helpful. Very clean and cozy also.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

19 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is pretty centrally located. it's really clean and the staff is great. the rooms are really pretty nice. getting there is a bit tricky as the back alley is hard to find.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tonia Lichterman

10 July 2009 Tonia would recommend this property

Liked: Light and airy; quiet, functioning a/c. The staff have been incredibly helpful allowing us to use their laptop and phone.

Disliked: Tonia left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Lyndon Lewis

09 July 2009 Lyndon would recommend this property

Liked: This is the second time we have stayed at Urban House. The staff are so incredibly helpful and it is a great place to stay. calm, quiet, friendly, safe. But a good location for checking out Bangkok. highly recommended. But print out address directions from website as taxi drivers can sometimes have difficulty finding it.

Disliked: Lyndon left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

29 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location, very helpful staff, rooms were ok, but not as nice as the pictures!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Fischer

10 May 2009 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, super clean, and best of all, the staff is awesome. I will definitely stay here again if I ever return to Bangkok.

Disliked: Michael left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

08 May 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: excellent - best hostel we have stayed in 9 months!very very helpful friendly staff. good location near sky train station. very clean and quiet.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sarah Dewar

01 March 2009 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: We loved it here - really friendly staff, the suite was excellent, everything was spotless! It's near the night market and an easy walk to the skytrain to get to other areas. Really recommend staying here, especially if you want a slightly quieter area rather than right in the thick of things.

Disliked: Sarah left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Frank Bolier

19 January 2009 Frank would recommend this property

Liked: the concern about your whereabouts and helpfullness of the staff

Disliked: Frank left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

07 January 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and very helpfull staff - but you can get better for same price...

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.