We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Urban House

Guesthouse | 35/13 Soi Yommarat Saladaeng, Road Silom, Bangkok, Thailand 10500

97.0% Overall Rating

161 out of 162 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (06/07/2014)

"The staff were super helpful. They really went out of their way to ensure that I was safe and knew exactly what I was doing from day to day. I've been to many hostels across the world and I can honestly say that this…"

Read all Urban House reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

- We accept cash only. - Our building is a smoke-free building. - Visitors are not allowed in the residence area. - We cannot accommodate children aged under 10 years old. - As we do not have 24-hours receptionist, please kindly inform us the estimated arrival time to our place. Or, if you arrive at Bangkok by flight, please inform us the flight number and estimated arrival time to Bangkok so we can arrange staff to be here when you come to check in.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bangkok?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bangkok

For You Residence
21.57 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Orchid Hostel
1.43 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Thrive The Hostel: Patpong by The Belle
7.49 USD

Hostel 85.7% 3 reviews
Smile Society
11.71 USD

Hostel 96.3% 314 reviews
The Blooms Residence
10.79 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Glitz Bangkok
25.42 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Take a Nap
9.09 USD

Hostel 82.9% 125 reviews
ETZzz Hostel
7.70 USD

Hostel 85.3% 106 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
97.0%

Overall Rating

161 out of 162 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Urban House'

Atmosphere
93.6%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
97.6%
Cleanliness
96.8%
Staff
100.0%
Value
98.4%
Safety
99.2%
Refine your results Showing 133 of 148 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Leslie Shee

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

29 April 2012 Leslie would recommend this property

Liked: This is not 5 star hotel, but I got more than 5 star hotel service from them. They offered every information and service that I needed. I loved there, and I will definately go back.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Agustin Passerini

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

20 March 2012 Agustin would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! The girl at the door spoke perfect english and was always really helpful! The rooms are new and all clean and tidy. one of the best hostels i've stayed in tailand.

Disliked: If you are going to visit the temples is far away

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

09 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The lady at reception was EXTREMELY helpful! She made her laptop available for use at no charge. Even after we checked out & came back later that afternoon to get our baggage that we left stored there, she made the computer available & was still very helpful!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katalin Turcsák

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 February 2012 Katalin would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was so nice and helpful, the room was spacious and clean, the breakfast was delicious! If you are looking for an excellent accommodation, the Urban House is the best choice! :)))

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jerry Ruth

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

03 February 2012 Jerry would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very knowledgeable about how to get to various locations using the light rail, where to eat, etc. They were super friendly, spoke nearly flawless English, and extremely helpful. We booked a private ensuite and the room was very large ~ could have served as a small apartment. Facilities were clean, soap, shampoo and large towels were provided. The location was GREAT; lots of places to eat nearby, and the light rail was within a ten-minute walk. Free wi-fi available in the rooms.

Disliked: Biggest negative was that it was nearly impossible for our driver to find. He cruised alleyways and side passages for 20 minutes before stumbling upon it. We had the map and instructions printed in Thai and he still had a hard time. Some people may find it lacking in atmosphere as there is no bar or common area to hang out in, but hey, this is Bangkok. You don't go to Bangkok to hang out in your hostel.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

vassoulla demetriou

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 January 2012 vassoulla would recommend this property

Liked: Most helpful staff in the world. Very clean & quiet. Totally chilled. Not a place to meet other travellers & in a quiet area & a bit away from things but very close to the sky train.

Disliked: Not a party hostel - but we weren't looking for one.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

17 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location. clean rooms and lady very helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent staff. Very helpful and super nice. Location was lovely, internet worked well and rooms were simple and clean. Excellent value. Would definitely stay there again. Nice that it's located right by both the BTS (Saladeng) and the MRT (Silom). Lots of great street food around too on Silom.

Disliked: I was traveling with someone, but if you are interested in meeting other travelers, this is probably not the place to do it.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

James Hamer

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 January 2012 James would recommend this property

Liked: Location was great due to proximity to the sky train and metro stations. Night markets and street food were within walking distance. The owner was extremely helpful and went above and beyond with every request (I even got a cupcake with a candle for my birthday). Breakfast was simple but nice.

Disliked: A little bit difficult to find - even our Thai driver struggled to find it and had to stop to ask a couple of people where to go. On the other hand it is at the end of a quiet street.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Holly Sillince

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2012 Holly would recommend this property

Liked: Large bedroom with a sofa. Very fresh. Nice fluffy towels. Great staff; Really helpful advice and will do anything for you.

Disliked: Holly left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

andrew bradley

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 December 2011 andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Brilliant guest house, we had such a good stay we extended by 2 more days in their economy room on the top floor. The decor was modern clean and fresh, and a light breakfast and all day tea and coffee were available. The staff were extremely helpful, really could not have asked for more. The building is also very secure with a door entry system

Disliked: The location is great for Metro and Skytrain as well as the major shopping areas but is quite far from the main centre (Temples and Ko Sang Road etc. ) Still, its only about 55bhat each to get there via sky train and ferry or 100 - 200 for a taxi.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jorge Hernández

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

12 December 2011 Jorge would recommend this property

Liked: Great, perfect, excelent Hostel if you are looking for a good place to stay in Bangkok is small Hostel, realy good location, great staff this place was the best in our trip....

Disliked: Jorge left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ulrika Rylander

As a family with children

Work / volunteering

30 November 2011 Ulrika would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpfull staff.

Disliked: N.A

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The best thing about urban house was the staff were so exceptionally friendly and helpful, they gave us great advice and directions for everything! The rooms were more like a hotel room than hostel room (I stayed in the suite) it was so spacious and sunny and very very clean! I would definitely recommend to anyone. The hostel is walking distance from shopping malls, patpong markets, massage and beauty salons. It was located really close to the MRT train station, and only one stop from MBK shopping centre. There were lots of street stalls and a really local market right on the street Urban House was located on. I will definitely come back here if I come back to Bangkok! :)

Disliked: Nothing to dislike! If you are looking for a really social hostel though this may not be the best place to meet other travelers, it is more of a relaxed peaceful atmosphere (a nice break from Bangkok!)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

gayatri gogate

Alone

City break

22 August 2011 gayatri would recommend this property

Liked: the staff was fantastic, caring and super helpful. the room was clean and comfortable.

Disliked: if you have huge luggage you will have to lug it a couple of flights. but it may be worth the trouble.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very modern, clean, spacious rooms. Nice atmosphere. Very friendly and helpful staff. good breakfast. Good location for MRT and BTS.

Disliked: Fairly expensive by Thailand standards but not really relative to other places in Bangkok.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jonathan Bell

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 August 2011 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: Very good, definitely recommend. I've never bothered writing a review ever, but considering how cheap and yet how good it was I am bothering now. The staff are incredibly helpful up to the point where you can just quiz them for hours in perfect English. They were also gracious enough not to accept a rather large tip stating it was 'too much'. Good air con, clean rooms, wifi, fridge, water, breakfast, constant fruit and hot drinks for only 5 euroes a day.. very good

Disliked: location was a little tough to find at first, but actually it turned into an advantage because the hostel is a stones throw away from both the sky link train and the underground meaning you can pretty much access any part of the city.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location, friendly staff, BF incl. and VERY practical for Airport Transfer

Disliked: -

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Juha Liede

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

04 August 2011 Juha would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff and nice rooms. Especially the owner was as helpful as anyone can possibly be. Highly recommended.

Disliked: You have to go by subway to get to the main attractions in the city.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ferdinand Bosch

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Shopping

26 April 2011 Ferdinand would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, like the rooms, continues hot water and bar fridge. Very close to train station and shops. If you like night life this is the place. The staff speaks good English and are very helpful, we asked them to book a taxi and they explain to the taxi were to take us. They went out of their way to make us happy.

Disliked: Nothing, excellent service.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were so helpful. Even if someone who couldn't help us with enquires wasn't there they called them and they talked to us over the phone. Really went out of their way.

Disliked: It was a great place to stay but it was very quiet so if you are wanting to meet loads of people it's not the best.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, near most touristic "must sees", but also quiet at night. We stayed at the suite, which was equiped with kitchen, air con, hot shower. I definitely recomend the place as I think it is good value for money. The staff is also extremelly friendly and will help you with tips of what to see, how to get there and watch outs. Definitely recommend this place!

Disliked: the hotel is very clean, but walking down that same street at night we did see many cockroaches on the street at night.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jennifer Malbon

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

19 November 2010

Liked: Everything! The staff, the room, and the location was fantastic. We would definitely stay again. Nice to be away from koh San road, but still only a short, cheap cab ride away.

Disliked: N/a

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

zeng hua

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Backpacking / gap year

07 October 2010 zeng would recommend this property

Liked: clean, quiet and friendly!just like my home in Bangkok!I love urban house ,I love Thailand!I love the songs by Joanna Wang displayed at the small lobby!

Disliked: too ditticuly to book for there are not so many rooms.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Leslie Shee

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

13 August 2010 Leslie would recommend this property

Liked: It was the best value for money in Bangkok. Facilites were well maintained, free breakfast and complimentary water everyday. Staffs were extremely helpful, and they made our staying in Bangkok so special. I would definately go back there.

Disliked: Nothing.