We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Born Free Hostel

Hostel | Samsen Soi 6 (Soi Woraphong), Bangkok, Thailand 10200

97.4% Overall Rating

225 out of 227 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/11/2014)

"The atmosphere here is second to none: there's plenty of space to hang out and chill out, with chilled music playing and comfy seating, beers in the fridge and Kevin always happy to chat or introduce people, making it…"

Read all Born Free Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 0.31

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bangkok?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bangkok

Smile Buri House
12.33 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Khaosan Immjai
10.79 USD

Hostel 94.6% 70 reviews
Back Home Backpackers
10.48 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Nouvo City Hotel
28.76 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
New World City Hotel
22.60 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.2% 58 reviews
Penpark Place
9.24 USD

Guesthouse 86.9% 183 reviews
Sam Sen Sam Place
9.86 USD

Guesthouse 87.0% 57 reviews
Khaosan Baan Thai
7.24 USD

Hostel 92.8% 333 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
97.4%

Overall Rating

225 out of 227 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Born Free Hostel'

Atmosphere
99.2%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
93.6%
Cleanliness
95.2%
Staff
100.0%
Value
98.4%
Safety
97.6%
Refine your results Showing 199 of 225 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

04 November 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere here is second to none: there's plenty of space to hang out and chill out, with chilled music playing and comfy seating, beers in the fridge and Kevin always happy to chat or introduce people, making it easy to get chatting to other guests. For someone travelling alone, this is so good that it outweighs everything else! The building is lovely and characterful, and the neighbourhood is interesting: it's far enough from Khao San Rd that there's a real local vibe and wandering the streets off Samsen is a rewarding experience. It's really convenient for the river boats as well, perfect for getting around in the daytime. And so easy to walk around from e.g. you can walk to the Emerald Buddha Temple and to Chinatown and take the boat back.

Disliked: The fan room doesn't have a reading light for all beds. The bathrooms are awkward, despite their cute quirkiness; they're fine for showering and using the toilet but there's only one sink so it's awkward for washing hands / brushing teeth. Location is awkward for the metro and train station though, so it's harder to explore further out areas like Siam Square and Silom.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 November 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful Hostel! Great location - very close to Koh San Road but not right in the thick of it. The owner was incredibly helpful and the hostel itself has a great vibe and atmosphere. I would strongly recommend Kevin's cycle tour which is a fantastic opportunity to see the real Bangkok.

Disliked: The "fan" room is pretty warm (but it does also cost less:))

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's so friendly and homely. The owner is brilliant, so helpful and runs a bike tour and encourages other activities. The pet cats definitely add to the homely feel!

Disliked: The toilets are quite small, but they're good enough - can't really complain!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent hostel, best value for price in Bangkok for sure. The rooms are clean, bathrooms are a bit small but very clean, which is what counts. The common area is excellent to hang out, read, chat with other travelers, atmosphere is great. The owner knows Bangkok very well and can assist with any questions, including booking of your next destination. Would highly recommend this hostel, will be my go-to place to stay whenever I'm in Bangkok.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place with a good location, it really does feel like a village! Kevin is a great host, willing to share his wealth of information about Bangkok and also arranging interesting trips in the evenings (football against local kids, night bike rides, etc)

Disliked: Nothing at all! Don't understand the other reviewers complaints about the showers, unless they are all giants I can't see how the showers are too small!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jonathan Martin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 September 2014 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: Where to start?! Lovely house with excellent staff. Felt incredibly welcome as soon as I arrived. Superb atmosphere; the staff really make you feel included in the life of the hostel, even taking a few of us out to play football with the local kids! A truly excellent place to get your bearings in Bangkok and meet other travellers! Very clean and comfortable too; I am definitely going back whenever I am in the city!

Disliked: Jonathan left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jose Sarsfield

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

18 September 2014 Jose would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is great, Kevin is an awesome guy! Organized bike tours, bikes for the guests to borrow, playing football/soccer with locals and seeing stuff that's not on the guides, plus the great tips and advice. Also, world renowned Nancy's is just 30 meters away! Btw, I'm allergic to cats, and there are two, however, not once did I feel the allergies.

Disliked: Jose left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Paul Thomas

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 September 2014 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: Safe, secure and comfotable. Lovely hosts and plenty of other friendy guests to talk to. Location is ideal. The AC was a welcome addition to our room and there are bikes, lockers and double bunks for couples, which was a welcomed surprise for us. Kevin and Wasana go out of their way to make you feel at home, the other staff member we met (but neglected to ask his name) was also very kind. I got the impression that this was still a fairly new hostel and it feels as though it has lots of potential to go from being a good hostel to a great hostel.

Disliked: We had an issue with a tour we took, but Kevin and Wasana were both really good about it when we told them.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ian Cuthbertson

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 September 2014 Ian would recommend this property

Liked: This place has an awesome location - super close to koh san road and the royal palace. The staff and owner are really cool and friendly. It's a smal hostel so it has that vibe of being a community rather than a bed factory.

Disliked: Nothing that out there. The pillows aren't exactly top notch

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Martin Urban

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

08 September 2014 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: nice hostel with a german owner. about 10 minutes to the khao san road to walk, supermarkets, massage salons, bus stations and everything you need within a walking distance. highly recommended.

Disliked: Martin left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in many hostels in Bankok, but this was by far my favorite. I will not stay in any other hostel on my future trips to Bankok. The owners, Kevin and Emma, are very friendly and helpful. They make you feel at home. The common areas are conducive to making friends and travel buddies. Rooms were clean and well maintained. There are plenty of places to eat nearby. Khaosan Road is close enough to be within walking distance, but far enough to avoid the buzz.

Disliked: The toilets are difficult to sit on. The top bunks lack privacy.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jonathan Pasquette

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 September 2014 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome hostel with very very friendly staff. Extremely helpful with booking my travel across Thailand. Managed to leave my towel there and the owners kept a hold of it for me until my return to Bangkok.

Disliked: Jonathan left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Drew Blaisdell

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 September 2014 Drew would recommend this property

Liked: The facilities were excellent-- very clean. Kevin and Wassana are incredibly nice and seem to genuinely care that the guests have a good time. The value for the money is also incredible. This is the best hostel I have stayed in.

Disliked: Nothing, except I wish Peanut (one of the two Persian cats that stay here) liked me more. :(

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Rodgers

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2014 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Close to Khao San Road, but not at Khao San Road :) The staff were helpful. Chilled out vibe. The owner was friendly and his girlfriend sorted me out with a tour of the north. I would recommend this Hostel! :)

Disliked: Andrew left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owners are very friendly and go out of their way to help you. Dorm feels safe to stay in and is cool from the air con. The location is very close to Khao San road (if you dont get lost like we did) but is on a quiet side road making it easy to get a good nights sleep away from the noise and lights of the strip.

Disliked: The shower/toilet rooms are very small and could be a little cleaner.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Melanie Vine

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 July 2014 Melanie would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. 5-10min walk to khan san road. Staff - wassama & Kevin both very friendly, helpful & knowledgable about the Thailand and transport to and from places etc. Air con dorm - clean and tidy. No complaints

Disliked: None

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dejan Cancar

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

10 July 2014 Dejan would recommend this property

Liked: Born Free is without a doubt my favourite hostel in Bangkok having stayed here on several different trips. Kevin and Wassana go out of their way to make you feel welcome and give great advice about the city and travelling onwards. It's located about a 10 minute walk from Khaosan Road which is perfect if you want to get away from the madness. The rooms are spacious and clean - and both the aircon & fan rooms are suitable for the Bangkok heat. There's a great chill out area at reception - it's easy to meet people here or just chill out watching movies / listen to music. Wifi is great throughout and there is even a laundry service!

Disliked: Nada

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jason Daoud

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 June 2014 Jason would recommend this property

Liked: If you're thinking about booking this hostel, do it! Kevin and Wasana are fantastic - great advice about the city, whatever you are looking to do. The lobby area provides a relaxed space to chat and easily meet other travellers. The location is perfect, walking distance to some great temples such as standing Buddha, and also a short walk to places like Khao San Road. Beds are sturdy and comfortable, everything is clean. There are two cats who sleep everywhere which is quite funny! I will 100% stay again when in Bangkok!

Disliked: Everything was really great, if I had one slightly less positive thing to say it's that the toilet/shower cubicles are quite cramped and extremely hot - but hey, you are in Asia!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tom Fleming

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 June 2014 Tom would recommend this property

Liked: I've stayed here three times now and each has been to the same high standard. The dorms are chilled, but it is easy to meet people in the social area. Everywhere is clean and the staff are very helpful; Kev even let me leave my suitcase here for my six week trip. I would definitely recommend Born Free, you won't get somewhere as good for the price.

Disliked: Tom left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely. Great staff. Helpful. Great Thai massage opposite hostel!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

CHUI MAN TSANG

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 June 2014 CHUI MAN would recommend this property

Liked: the owners of the hostel are very nice and helpful! i like the idea of playing movies in the common area at night which made it easier for me to meet new friends :-)

Disliked: there were no sinks inside each washroom so i found it a bit inconvenient for brushing my teeth in the morning/at night.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Leonardo Ramos

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 May 2014 Leonardo would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff

Disliked: Leonardo left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Veronika Szikorova

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2014 Veronika would recommend this property

Liked: Superfriendly stuff :)

Disliked: Veronika left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 April 2014

Liked: Super friendly staff and near the fun parts of Bangkok while still being quiet at night.

Disliked: The common room isn't air-conditioned, so everyone stays in the dorm room instead of chatting. The bathroom set-up is kinda odd.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

luis delgado

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 April 2014 luis would recommend this property

Liked: Born Free was by far the best hostel I stayed during my trip in Asia.

Disliked: luis left no negative feedback.