HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Born Free Hostel

Hostel | Samsen Soi 6 (Soi Woraphong), Bangkok, Thailand 10200

97.3% Overall Rating

213 out of 215 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/09/2014)

Drew Blaisdell thinks…

"The facilities were excellent-- very clean. Kevin and Wassana are incredibly nice and seem to genuinely care that the guests have a good time. The value for the money is also incredible. This is the…"

Read all Born Free Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 0.31

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bangkok?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bangkok

Smile Buri House
12.49 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Khaosan Immjai
10.93 USD

Hostel 92.7% 68 reviews
Back Home Backpackers
9.37 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Nouvo City Hotel
29.15 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
New World City Hotel
20.82 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.2% 58 reviews
Penpark Place
8.59 USD

Guesthouse 85.6% 180 reviews
Sam Sen Sam Place
10.00 USD

Guesthouse 87.1% 56 reviews
Khaosan Baan Thai
7.34 USD

Hostel 94.7% 320 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
97.3%

Overall Rating

213 out of 215 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Born Free Hostel'

Atmosphere
97.6%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
92.8%
Cleanliness
94.4%
Staff
100.0%
Value
99.2%
Safety
99.2%
Refine your results Showing 187 of 213 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Drew Blaisdell

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 September 2014 Drew would recommend this property

Liked: The facilities were excellent-- very clean. Kevin and Wassana are incredibly nice and seem to genuinely care that the guests have a good time. The value for the money is also incredible. This is the best hostel I have stayed in.

Disliked: Nothing, except I wish Peanut (one of the two Persian cats that stay here) liked me more. :(

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Rodgers

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2014 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Close to Khao San Road, but not at Khao San Road :) The staff were helpful. Chilled out vibe. The owner was friendly and his girlfriend sorted me out with a tour of the north. I would recommend this Hostel! :)

Disliked: Andrew left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owners are very friendly and go out of their way to help you. Dorm feels safe to stay in and is cool from the air con. The location is very close to Khao San road (if you dont get lost like we did) but is on a quiet side road making it easy to get a good nights sleep away from the noise and lights of the strip.

Disliked: The shower/toilet rooms are very small and could be a little cleaner.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Melanie Vine

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 July 2014 Melanie would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. 5-10min walk to khan san road. Staff - wassama & Kevin both very friendly, helpful & knowledgable about the Thailand and transport to and from places etc. Air con dorm - clean and tidy. No complaints

Disliked: None

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dejan Cancar

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

10 July 2014 Dejan would recommend this property

Liked: Born Free is without a doubt my favourite hostel in Bangkok having stayed here on several different trips. Kevin and Wassana go out of their way to make you feel welcome and give great advice about the city and travelling onwards. It's located about a 10 minute walk from Khaosan Road which is perfect if you want to get away from the madness. The rooms are spacious and clean - and both the aircon & fan rooms are suitable for the Bangkok heat. There's a great chill out area at reception - it's easy to meet people here or just chill out watching movies / listen to music. Wifi is great throughout and there is even a laundry service!

Disliked: Nada

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jason Daoud

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 June 2014 Jason would recommend this property

Liked: If you're thinking about booking this hostel, do it! Kevin and Wasana are fantastic - great advice about the city, whatever you are looking to do. The lobby area provides a relaxed space to chat and easily meet other travellers. The location is perfect, walking distance to some great temples such as standing Buddha, and also a short walk to places like Khao San Road. Beds are sturdy and comfortable, everything is clean. There are two cats who sleep everywhere which is quite funny! I will 100% stay again when in Bangkok!

Disliked: Everything was really great, if I had one slightly less positive thing to say it's that the toilet/shower cubicles are quite cramped and extremely hot - but hey, you are in Asia!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tom Fleming

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 June 2014 Tom would recommend this property

Liked: I've stayed here three times now and each has been to the same high standard. The dorms are chilled, but it is easy to meet people in the social area. Everywhere is clean and the staff are very helpful; Kev even let me leave my suitcase here for my six week trip. I would definitely recommend Born Free, you won't get somewhere as good for the price.

Disliked: Tom left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely. Great staff. Helpful. Great Thai massage opposite hostel!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

CHUI MAN TSANG

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 June 2014 CHUI MAN would recommend this property

Liked: the owners of the hostel are very nice and helpful! i like the idea of playing movies in the common area at night which made it easier for me to meet new friends :-)

Disliked: there were no sinks inside each washroom so i found it a bit inconvenient for brushing my teeth in the morning/at night.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Leonardo Ramos

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 May 2014 Leonardo would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff

Disliked: Leonardo left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Veronika Szikorova

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2014 Veronika would recommend this property

Liked: Superfriendly stuff :)

Disliked: Veronika left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 April 2014

Liked: Super friendly staff and near the fun parts of Bangkok while still being quiet at night.

Disliked: The common room isn't air-conditioned, so everyone stays in the dorm room instead of chatting. The bathroom set-up is kinda odd.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

luis delgado

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 April 2014 luis would recommend this property

Liked: Born Free was by far the best hostel I stayed during my trip in Asia.

Disliked: luis left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Carlos Celis

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2014 Carlos would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice dorm room with AC and great beds

Disliked: Bathroom a little too small, its like a sauna getting in them

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owners are awesome and such great people. The location is nice because it is still close to Khao San Road but not too close to get all the noise. I liked the common room because it was comfortable and it was a great place to meet people. The dorm rooms are nice and clean.

Disliked: There is nothing I disliked about this hostel.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicholas Nielsen

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 April 2014 Nicholas would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, friendly and helpful staff, cheap and clean.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

alia alhafny

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

03 April 2014 alia would recommend this property

Liked: the owners of the hostel are very nice, it is close enough to the craziness of koa san road but far enough away that you dont have to be involved, it was very clean

Disliked: bathrooms are quite small

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jason Inbody

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 March 2014 Jason would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly atmosphere

Disliked: Jason left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thomas Rößler

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 March 2014 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in the hostel allready a few times when I made stops in Bangkok during my travel in Thailand. I really like the calm atmosphere in the lobby with couches to relax and have a chat with other travellers. The koh san road is just around, but when you go back home to the hostel you dont have the annoying noise and get a good sleep. Another plus of the hostel that the girlfriend of the owner also runs a travel agency and can oragnize some trips in Thailand. We did a trip in the north for some days, which was very nice. Pretty unique is also the adventure bike tour by the owner Kevin, where we went for three hours at night through the city, to small sideways or through the traffic jam on the big mainroads. Cheers for the video ;) At all I can totally recommend the place!

Disliked: Thomas left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

08 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are helpful, friendly and professional. The accommodations are clean and comfortable. The dorms are definitely up to western standards.

Disliked: The bathrooms are a bit cramped and there is no sink in any of them. For the whole hostel there are only 4 bathroom stalls. I didn't encounter too much of a wait during my stay but they could use a bit of an upgrade.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

05 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice and comfortable Hostel located near Kao San Road ( 10 min walk) . Bathroom in Thai-Standard, dormroom quiet , clean and comfortable. Would definitely stay there again! :-)

Disliked: None

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

03 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Seems to be full of cool, friendly people: the mark of a good backpacker's hostel. Lots of little places to hang out, lots of travel information and help.

Disliked: Unforuntely they were out of maps, which made getting around more difficult until another travel we met gave us there's. Also, the showers are a bit uncomfortable to navigate in, but nothing major. One thing that made us feel a bit unwelcome: when we asked about the Patpong area and Ping Pong Shows and what exactly they were, the owner(?) kind of put us down, making us feel like we were doing something wrong, even though we were just trying to inquire about things other traveler's had told us about.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

28 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff, grouproom, price

Disliked: (4) bathrooms very small, but you get used to it

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joshua Stevens

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 February 2014 Joshua would recommend this property

Liked: Kevin's bike tour at night was so good, highlight of my troop!

Disliked: Joshua left no negative feedback.