We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Born Free Hostel

Hostel | Samsen Soi 6 (Soi Woraphong), Bangkok, Thailand 10200

96.5% Overall Rating

237 out of 239 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (31/05/2015)

"This is for the hostel slightly further up off Samsen Road, they have another on Samsen Road closer to Khao San Road. I have stayed at both and they are similar quality! Both are nice relaxed places to stay, not like…"

Read all Born Free Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 0.30

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bangkok?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bangkok

Smile Buri House
11.82 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Khaosan Immjai
10.34 USD

Hostel 95.7% 94 reviews
Back Home Backpackers
10.05 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Nouvo City Hotel
31.52 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
New World City Hotel
29.55 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.2% 58 reviews
Penpark Place
8.86 USD

Guesthouse 82.6% 195 reviews
Sam Sen Sam Place
9.45 USD

Guesthouse 85.8% 62 reviews
Khaosan Baan Thai
7.39 USD

Hostel 90.4% 384 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
96.5%

Overall Rating

237 out of 239 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Born Free Hostel'

Atmosphere
99.2%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
93.6%
Cleanliness
95.2%
Staff
97.6%
Value
96.8%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 210 of 237 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

31 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is for the hostel slightly further up off Samsen Road, they have another on Samsen Road closer to Khao San Road. I have stayed at both and they are similar quality! Both are nice relaxed places to stay, not like the crazy bustling of Khao San hostels. There are air con dorms at reasonable prices for bangkok (250b a night as of May 2015). Showers and WCs are good, there is a common room in both hostels. The beds are solid, each has a power point and a light and clean bedding. I did not get to participate in the bike tours but next time I will stay longer to do that.

Disliked: Nothing. They dont do food in the hostel, but there is a small kitchen and lets face it...youre in Bangkok so food stalls and restaurants are not far!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was the best decision to decide on this hostel. Easy to find, clean, good atmosphere, safe and whats really great they have brand new restrooms.

Disliked: Nothing to complain about.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

19 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Ok...reasons I love Born Free hostel: - It's spotlessly clean, always - The wifi connection is faultless, always -The location is perfect- ten minute walk to th craziness of Khao San but far enough that you can sleep at night! - the beds are comfortable and spacious, the reading light and individual storage bags add a sense of having your own space in a 12 bed dorm - It doesn't feel like a 12 bed dorm. - The communal area is spacious, relaxed and somehow makes it easy to meet people or chill in your own head, at the time time. It's very nicely done. -The owner and his wife are proper nice people, I read this a lot on hostel booking sites and I really can't emphasise enough how much the feeling of homliness is present here. You feel welcomed, included and paid attention to throughout your stay. They work hard making this place what it is and it shows in the travellers home they've created. Right that's the practical stuff. On a personal note, I've been in south east Asia for a year and this hostel is not only the best Ive experienced here but is the best Ive experienced anywhere. I've stayed here three times during that time period and standards have never slipped. It's a wonderful hostel, with a beautiful atmosphere and being here makes my heart feel safe, happy and rested.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owners are amazing. Offering to take us out on a city wide bike tour. The hostel is very social and easy to meet people. Its also quite compared to how close it is to Ko San Road.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

13 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Our stay at Born Free was a wonderful experience. The owner, and his wife who runs the sister hostel, were extremely helpful and friendly to all customers. They encouraged separate groups to meet in a welcoming atmosphere. The room was great and cleaned daily. One of the best I've stayed in.

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

09 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A great position in Bangkok for the old part of town. Really close to lots of places to eat. Air Con in the bedroom was excellent. Never had to wait for a bathroom. Really friendly and helpful owner.

Disliked: A little far from a BTS station, but only 60 baht in a taxi to get to one.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere & location & friendly staff with good taste in music & coffee :) . You're close enough to Khao San Rd, great food & bars without being in the middle of the chaos. The hostel is within a refurbished Thai house, so the bathrooms are traditionally small & there are only cold showers - so if you prefer a huge bathroom with hot showers over a great social atmosphere stay somewhere else. If you find yourself in Bangkok & want to meet other travellers in a relaxed environment STAY HERE!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michelle Froelich

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 February 2015 Michelle would recommend this property

Liked: The owners Kevin and Emma are extremely friendly and helpful, as is the rest of the staff. The atmosphere is laid back and welcoming. Rooms are always very clean and comfortable. I love this hostel and would recommend it to anyone and everyone!

Disliked: Nothing. I enjoyed everything!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Stefan Berger

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 January 2015 Stefan would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome hostel with a lot of charm, really nice people who are going to give you a lot of advises and going to support you at your travel, if you want some. +really good location! All in all, my home if I'm in Bangkok. Sry for my bad english

Disliked: Stefan left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Eloise Carrick

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 January 2015 Eloise would recommend this property

Liked: Good place to meet people comfortable room, nice relaxing area although apparently can't bring your own booze in. Great location about 10 mins walk to khao San rd.

Disliked: Eloise left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The communal area is great, the owner is friendly and he's always getting people together

Disliked: The showers were cold and the pillows were a bit hard

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

04 November 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere here is second to none: there's plenty of space to hang out and chill out, with chilled music playing and comfy seating, beers in the fridge and Kevin always happy to chat or introduce people, making it easy to get chatting to other guests. For someone travelling alone, this is so good that it outweighs everything else! The building is lovely and characterful, and the neighbourhood is interesting: it's far enough from Khao San Rd that there's a real local vibe and wandering the streets off Samsen is a rewarding experience. It's really convenient for the river boats as well, perfect for getting around in the daytime. And so easy to walk around from e.g. you can walk to the Emerald Buddha Temple and to Chinatown and take the boat back.

Disliked: The fan room doesn't have a reading light for all beds. The bathrooms are awkward, despite their cute quirkiness; they're fine for showering and using the toilet but there's only one sink so it's awkward for washing hands / brushing teeth. Location is awkward for the metro and train station though, so it's harder to explore further out areas like Siam Square and Silom.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 November 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful Hostel! Great location - very close to Koh San Road but not right in the thick of it. The owner was incredibly helpful and the hostel itself has a great vibe and atmosphere. I would strongly recommend Kevin's cycle tour which is a fantastic opportunity to see the real Bangkok.

Disliked: The "fan" room is pretty warm (but it does also cost less:))

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's so friendly and homely. The owner is brilliant, so helpful and runs a bike tour and encourages other activities. The pet cats definitely add to the homely feel!

Disliked: The toilets are quite small, but they're good enough - can't really complain!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent hostel, best value for price in Bangkok for sure. The rooms are clean, bathrooms are a bit small but very clean, which is what counts. The common area is excellent to hang out, read, chat with other travelers, atmosphere is great. The owner knows Bangkok very well and can assist with any questions, including booking of your next destination. Would highly recommend this hostel, will be my go-to place to stay whenever I'm in Bangkok.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place with a good location, it really does feel like a village! Kevin is a great host, willing to share his wealth of information about Bangkok and also arranging interesting trips in the evenings (football against local kids, night bike rides, etc)

Disliked: Nothing at all! Don't understand the other reviewers complaints about the showers, unless they are all giants I can't see how the showers are too small!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jonathan Martin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 September 2014 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: Where to start?! Lovely house with excellent staff. Felt incredibly welcome as soon as I arrived. Superb atmosphere; the staff really make you feel included in the life of the hostel, even taking a few of us out to play football with the local kids! A truly excellent place to get your bearings in Bangkok and meet other travellers! Very clean and comfortable too; I am definitely going back whenever I am in the city!

Disliked: Jonathan left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jose Sarsfield

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

18 September 2014 Jose would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is great, Kevin is an awesome guy! Organized bike tours, bikes for the guests to borrow, playing football/soccer with locals and seeing stuff that's not on the guides, plus the great tips and advice. Also, world renowned Nancy's is just 30 meters away! Btw, I'm allergic to cats, and there are two, however, not once did I feel the allergies.

Disliked: Jose left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Paul Thomas

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 September 2014 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: Safe, secure and comfotable. Lovely hosts and plenty of other friendy guests to talk to. Location is ideal. The AC was a welcome addition to our room and there are bikes, lockers and double bunks for couples, which was a welcomed surprise for us. Kevin and Wasana go out of their way to make you feel at home, the other staff member we met (but neglected to ask his name) was also very kind. I got the impression that this was still a fairly new hostel and it feels as though it has lots of potential to go from being a good hostel to a great hostel.

Disliked: We had an issue with a tour we took, but Kevin and Wasana were both really good about it when we told them.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ian Cuthbertson

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 September 2014 Ian would recommend this property

Liked: This place has an awesome location - super close to koh san road and the royal palace. The staff and owner are really cool and friendly. It's a smal hostel so it has that vibe of being a community rather than a bed factory.

Disliked: Nothing that out there. The pillows aren't exactly top notch

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Martin Urban

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

08 September 2014 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: nice hostel with a german owner. about 10 minutes to the khao san road to walk, supermarkets, massage salons, bus stations and everything you need within a walking distance. highly recommended.

Disliked: Martin left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in many hostels in Bankok, but this was by far my favorite. I will not stay in any other hostel on my future trips to Bankok. The owners, Kevin and Emma, are very friendly and helpful. They make you feel at home. The common areas are conducive to making friends and travel buddies. Rooms were clean and well maintained. There are plenty of places to eat nearby. Khaosan Road is close enough to be within walking distance, but far enough to avoid the buzz.

Disliked: The toilets are difficult to sit on. The top bunks lack privacy.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jonathan Pasquette

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 September 2014 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome hostel with very very friendly staff. Extremely helpful with booking my travel across Thailand. Managed to leave my towel there and the owners kept a hold of it for me until my return to Bangkok.

Disliked: Jonathan left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Drew Blaisdell

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 September 2014 Drew would recommend this property

Liked: The facilities were excellent-- very clean. Kevin and Wassana are incredibly nice and seem to genuinely care that the guests have a good time. The value for the money is also incredible. This is the best hostel I have stayed in.

Disliked: Nothing, except I wish Peanut (one of the two Persian cats that stay here) liked me more. :(

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Rodgers

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2014 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Close to Khao San Road, but not at Khao San Road :) The staff were helpful. Chilled out vibe. The owner was friendly and his girlfriend sorted me out with a tour of the north. I would recommend this Hostel! :)

Disliked: Andrew left no negative feedback.