We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Born Free Hostel

Hostel | Samsen Soi 6 (Soi Woraphong), Bangkok, Thailand 10200

96.7% Overall Rating

218 out of 220 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/09/2014)

Paul Thomas thinks…

"Safe, secure and comfotable. Lovely hosts and plenty of other friendy guests to talk to. Location is ideal. The AC was a welcome addition to our room and there are bikes, lockers and double bunks for…"

Read all Born Free Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 0.31

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bangkok?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bangkok

Smile Buri House
12.38 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Khaosan Immjai
10.83 USD

Hostel 92.7% 68 reviews
Back Home Backpackers
9.28 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Nouvo City Hotel
28.88 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
New World City Hotel
20.63 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.2% 58 reviews
Penpark Place
8.51 USD

Guesthouse 85.6% 180 reviews
Sam Sen Sam Place
9.90 USD

Guesthouse 87.1% 56 reviews
Khaosan Baan Thai
7.27 USD

Hostel 95.4% 324 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
96.7%

Overall Rating

218 out of 220 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Born Free Hostel'

Atmosphere
97.6%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
91.2%
Cleanliness
93.6%
Staff
100.0%
Value
98.4%
Safety
98.4%
Refine your results Showing 192 of 218 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Paul Thomas

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 September 2014 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: Safe, secure and comfotable. Lovely hosts and plenty of other friendy guests to talk to. Location is ideal. The AC was a welcome addition to our room and there are bikes, lockers and double bunks for couples, which was a welcomed surprise for us. Kevin and Wasana go out of their way to make you feel at home, the other staff member we met (but neglected to ask his name) was also very kind. I got the impression that this was still a fairly new hostel and it feels as though it has lots of potential to go from being a good hostel to a great hostel.

Disliked: We had an issue with a tour we took, but Kevin and Wasana were both really good about it when we told them.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ian Cuthbertson

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 September 2014 Ian would recommend this property

Liked: This place has an awesome location - super close to koh san road and the royal palace. The staff and owner are really cool and friendly. It's a smal hostel so it has that vibe of being a community rather than a bed factory.

Disliked: Nothing that out there. The pillows aren't exactly top notch

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Martin Urban

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

08 September 2014 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: nice hostel with a german owner. about 10 minutes to the khao san road to walk, supermarkets, massage salons, bus stations and everything you need within a walking distance. highly recommended.

Disliked: Martin left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in many hostels in Bankok, but this was by far my favorite. I will not stay in any other hostel on my future trips to Bankok. The owners, Kevin and Emma, are very friendly and helpful. They make you feel at home. The common areas are conducive to making friends and travel buddies. Rooms were clean and well maintained. There are plenty of places to eat nearby. Khaosan Road is close enough to be within walking distance, but far enough to avoid the buzz.

Disliked: The toilets are difficult to sit on. The top bunks lack privacy.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jonathan Pasquette

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 September 2014 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome hostel with very very friendly staff. Extremely helpful with booking my travel across Thailand. Managed to leave my towel there and the owners kept a hold of it for me until my return to Bangkok.

Disliked: Jonathan left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Drew Blaisdell

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 September 2014 Drew would recommend this property

Liked: The facilities were excellent-- very clean. Kevin and Wassana are incredibly nice and seem to genuinely care that the guests have a good time. The value for the money is also incredible. This is the best hostel I have stayed in.

Disliked: Nothing, except I wish Peanut (one of the two Persian cats that stay here) liked me more. :(

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Rodgers

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2014 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Close to Khao San Road, but not at Khao San Road :) The staff were helpful. Chilled out vibe. The owner was friendly and his girlfriend sorted me out with a tour of the north. I would recommend this Hostel! :)

Disliked: Andrew left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owners are very friendly and go out of their way to help you. Dorm feels safe to stay in and is cool from the air con. The location is very close to Khao San road (if you dont get lost like we did) but is on a quiet side road making it easy to get a good nights sleep away from the noise and lights of the strip.

Disliked: The shower/toilet rooms are very small and could be a little cleaner.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Melanie Vine

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 July 2014 Melanie would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. 5-10min walk to khan san road. Staff - wassama & Kevin both very friendly, helpful & knowledgable about the Thailand and transport to and from places etc. Air con dorm - clean and tidy. No complaints

Disliked: None

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dejan Cancar

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

10 July 2014 Dejan would recommend this property

Liked: Born Free is without a doubt my favourite hostel in Bangkok having stayed here on several different trips. Kevin and Wassana go out of their way to make you feel welcome and give great advice about the city and travelling onwards. It's located about a 10 minute walk from Khaosan Road which is perfect if you want to get away from the madness. The rooms are spacious and clean - and both the aircon & fan rooms are suitable for the Bangkok heat. There's a great chill out area at reception - it's easy to meet people here or just chill out watching movies / listen to music. Wifi is great throughout and there is even a laundry service!

Disliked: Nada

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jason Daoud

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 June 2014 Jason would recommend this property

Liked: If you're thinking about booking this hostel, do it! Kevin and Wasana are fantastic - great advice about the city, whatever you are looking to do. The lobby area provides a relaxed space to chat and easily meet other travellers. The location is perfect, walking distance to some great temples such as standing Buddha, and also a short walk to places like Khao San Road. Beds are sturdy and comfortable, everything is clean. There are two cats who sleep everywhere which is quite funny! I will 100% stay again when in Bangkok!

Disliked: Everything was really great, if I had one slightly less positive thing to say it's that the toilet/shower cubicles are quite cramped and extremely hot - but hey, you are in Asia!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tom Fleming

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 June 2014 Tom would recommend this property

Liked: I've stayed here three times now and each has been to the same high standard. The dorms are chilled, but it is easy to meet people in the social area. Everywhere is clean and the staff are very helpful; Kev even let me leave my suitcase here for my six week trip. I would definitely recommend Born Free, you won't get somewhere as good for the price.

Disliked: Tom left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely. Great staff. Helpful. Great Thai massage opposite hostel!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

CHUI MAN TSANG

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 June 2014 CHUI MAN would recommend this property

Liked: the owners of the hostel are very nice and helpful! i like the idea of playing movies in the common area at night which made it easier for me to meet new friends :-)

Disliked: there were no sinks inside each washroom so i found it a bit inconvenient for brushing my teeth in the morning/at night.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Leonardo Ramos

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 May 2014 Leonardo would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff

Disliked: Leonardo left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Veronika Szikorova

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2014 Veronika would recommend this property

Liked: Superfriendly stuff :)

Disliked: Veronika left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 April 2014

Liked: Super friendly staff and near the fun parts of Bangkok while still being quiet at night.

Disliked: The common room isn't air-conditioned, so everyone stays in the dorm room instead of chatting. The bathroom set-up is kinda odd.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

luis delgado

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 April 2014 luis would recommend this property

Liked: Born Free was by far the best hostel I stayed during my trip in Asia.

Disliked: luis left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Carlos Celis

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2014 Carlos would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice dorm room with AC and great beds

Disliked: Bathroom a little too small, its like a sauna getting in them

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owners are awesome and such great people. The location is nice because it is still close to Khao San Road but not too close to get all the noise. I liked the common room because it was comfortable and it was a great place to meet people. The dorm rooms are nice and clean.

Disliked: There is nothing I disliked about this hostel.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicholas Nielsen

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 April 2014 Nicholas would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, friendly and helpful staff, cheap and clean.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

alia alhafny

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

03 April 2014 alia would recommend this property

Liked: the owners of the hostel are very nice, it is close enough to the craziness of koa san road but far enough away that you dont have to be involved, it was very clean

Disliked: bathrooms are quite small

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jason Inbody

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 March 2014 Jason would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly atmosphere

Disliked: Jason left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thomas Rößler

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 March 2014 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in the hostel allready a few times when I made stops in Bangkok during my travel in Thailand. I really like the calm atmosphere in the lobby with couches to relax and have a chat with other travellers. The koh san road is just around, but when you go back home to the hostel you dont have the annoying noise and get a good sleep. Another plus of the hostel that the girlfriend of the owner also runs a travel agency and can oragnize some trips in Thailand. We did a trip in the north for some days, which was very nice. Pretty unique is also the adventure bike tour by the owner Kevin, where we went for three hours at night through the city, to small sideways or through the traffic jam on the big mainroads. Cheers for the video ;) At all I can totally recommend the place!

Disliked: Thomas left no negative feedback.