HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Born Free Hostel

Hostel | Samsen Soi 6 (Soi Woraphong), Bangkok, Thailand 10200

96.7% Overall Rating

195 out of 196 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/04/2014)

alia alhafny thinks…

"the owners of the hostel are very nice, it is close enough to the craziness of koa san road but far enough away that you dont have to be involved, it was very clean"

Read all Born Free Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 0.31

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bangkok?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bangkok

Smile Buri House
13.94 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Khaosan Immjai
10.85 USD

Hostel 94.1% 45 reviews
Nouvo City Hotel
42.35 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
New World City Hotel
21.69 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.2% 58 reviews
Penpark Place
8.52 USD

Guesthouse 86.1% 170 reviews
Sam Sen Sam Place
9.92 USD

Guesthouse 89.7% 48 reviews
Khaosan Baan Thai
7.28 USD

Hostel 91.4% 301 reviews
Roof View Place
13.64 USD

Hotel 3 star 85.1% 433 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
96.7%

Overall Rating

195 out of 196 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Born Free Hostel'

Atmosphere
97.6%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
90.4%
Cleanliness
99.2%
Staff
100.0%
Value
98.4%
Safety
100.0%
Refine your results Showing 172 of 194 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicholas Nielsen

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 April 2014 Nicholas would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, friendly and helpful staff, cheap and clean.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

alia alhafny

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

03 April 2014 alia would recommend this property

Liked: the owners of the hostel are very nice, it is close enough to the craziness of koa san road but far enough away that you dont have to be involved, it was very clean

Disliked: bathrooms are quite small

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jason Inbody

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 March 2014 Jason would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly atmosphere

Disliked: Jason left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thomas Rößler

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 March 2014 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in the hostel allready a few times when I made stops in Bangkok during my travel in Thailand. I really like the calm atmosphere in the lobby with couches to relax and have a chat with other travellers. The koh san road is just around, but when you go back home to the hostel you dont have the annoying noise and get a good sleep. Another plus of the hostel that the girlfriend of the owner also runs a travel agency and can oragnize some trips in Thailand. We did a trip in the north for some days, which was very nice. Pretty unique is also the adventure bike tour by the owner Kevin, where we went for three hours at night through the city, to small sideways or through the traffic jam on the big mainroads. Cheers for the video ;) At all I can totally recommend the place!

Disliked: Thomas left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

08 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are helpful, friendly and professional. The accommodations are clean and comfortable. The dorms are definitely up to western standards.

Disliked: The bathrooms are a bit cramped and there is no sink in any of them. For the whole hostel there are only 4 bathroom stalls. I didn't encounter too much of a wait during my stay but they could use a bit of an upgrade.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

05 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice and comfortable Hostel located near Kao San Road ( 10 min walk) . Bathroom in Thai-Standard, dormroom quiet , clean and comfortable. Would definitely stay there again! :-)

Disliked: None

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

03 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Seems to be full of cool, friendly people: the mark of a good backpacker's hostel. Lots of little places to hang out, lots of travel information and help.

Disliked: Unforuntely they were out of maps, which made getting around more difficult until another travel we met gave us there's. Also, the showers are a bit uncomfortable to navigate in, but nothing major. One thing that made us feel a bit unwelcome: when we asked about the Patpong area and Ping Pong Shows and what exactly they were, the owner(?) kind of put us down, making us feel like we were doing something wrong, even though we were just trying to inquire about things other traveler's had told us about.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

28 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff, grouproom, price

Disliked: (4) bathrooms very small, but you get used to it

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joshua Stevens

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 February 2014 Joshua would recommend this property

Liked: Kevin's bike tour at night was so good, highlight of my troop!

Disliked: Joshua left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly owner, two beautiful cats (Peanut and Tiny). Cozy place, clean beds, nicely furnished, has a kitchen so guests can cook. Rents bikes! Owner goes on bike rides with guests (not a paid tour, but on a friendly basis). Older bikes were lent for free! AirCon (but not too cold) in the dorm room. Cheap.

Disliked: Stairs and small (but clean) bathrooms, therefore unfit for handicapped people. Too many mosquitoes in the lounge, but that's just Bangkok.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maurits Van den Nieuwboer

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 February 2014 Maurits would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpfull staff, nice and clean dorms, a good location to explore the city (Khoa san road is only a 5 min. walk away) and a nice place to hang out! I have been in this hostel 3 times during my stay in thailand!

Disliked: A warm shower would be great

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place feels like coming home! The owners are supernice and care a lot about their guests. The rooms and beds are very clean and comfy. There is a chill out area with tables, chairs and the typical thai-style triangle pillows - really relaxing. Good music in the lobby as well. The location is perfect in a very authentic neighborhood, not far from Khao San Road and in walking distance to a lot of sights eg. the Palace and Wat Pho Temple. The outside area is small but with a lot of nice plants, so you can sit under palmtrees in the middle of Bangkok. Kevin and Wasana can give good advice about transportation and sights off the beaten path. This place is truly honest and we already stayed here twice and will come back for sure. The best hostel in Bangkok!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Peter Andronicou

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 February 2014 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: The two guys running it were great. So chilled out there and they encouraged you to interact and go out with everyone else which was good for me, as a lone traveller! No curfew aswell so you can stroll in whatever time you like (albeit quietly!)

Disliked: The bathroom facilities were a bit small! But it is an old Chinese house so I can understand

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fernando Marinho

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 February 2014 Fernando would recommend this property

Liked: Helpfull and friendly staff. Nice facilities.

Disliked: Nothing i really desliked. But the bathrooms are a bit small.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jullu Miah

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 February 2014 Jullu would recommend this property

Liked: Location is excellent 5***** Atmosphere is superb 5***** Staff were Fantastic 5***** Cleanliness, facilities and safety was was as good as home 5***** Value for money was brilliant 5***** This place is the best Hostel I have ever been to and I have travelled all over the world! The owners are helpful, concerning, reliable and very approachable for people who really need help and guidance to travelling East Asia as Kevin has done the route and knows it very well . Wasana knows all the visas and extensions , flights, bookings and advises all the best information you can ever expect. The people that stay there are all so brilliant and from all nations and the place has a family feel as well as great things to do ... Movie nights on the big projector ! Free cycling tours with Kevin the owner. Takeaways and dining from restaurants next door and great food yet cheaper than Kohsan Rd Wasana the beautiful owner and Kevin's partner is not only very helpful but she does all the bookings and organising for trips to all destinations and plans your backpacking experience at the cheapest rates. They own a beautiful Thai Villa with a feeling of home and the vibe is amazingly serene and the local people , cafes, bars and restaurants are all very genuine and serve the best of what they have unlike Kohsan rd. They both own two beautiful Persian cats (brothers they rescued from the flea market) names Peanut and Tiny which are like their two little kids who keep the travellers and themselves happy and are adorable cats with great personalities . Kevin and Wasana should be very proud of what they have and what they do as they both work hard to achieve the best that a hostel can ever provide ! This is no ordinary hostel...this is an amazing experience meeting amazing people from all over with a family touch as Kevin always helps to bring everyone together to go out for drinks, meals and day trips. You can also just lay back and chill like at home as they have a huge social communal area and lie back seats with free WiFi and everything to order from great local places that deliver you ice coffee and filled fruit drinks as well as great traditionally cooked takeaways and the main rd has the best selection of street food I have ever seen in Bangkok which is great quality as all the locals eat from there and the tourists all eat on kohsahn rd which is really expensive and low standard compared to the village area Born free is surrounded by . It has a flower market and fruit and veg market behind the block and has a beautiful canal that has restaurants and bars ! You will miss out on an experience that only you can get by staying here in Born Free and even the name suggests its amazing experience . Thank you Wasana and Kevin for giving Nicky and I an experience we will never forget and a week of such fun and entertainment as well as making us feel at home and a family . We both think you are an amazing couple and you both are the best Hosts we have ever met :) take care and we will meet again !

Disliked: none whatsoever

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthias Beermann

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 February 2014 Matthias would recommend this property

Liked: Born Free was by far the best hostel I stayed in during my six months in Asia. Therefore, I visited Bangkok and the Hostel three times. Wasana and Kevin are very nice and friendly hosts and do always help if there are any problems. The hostel has a very nice atmosphere and the lobby is perfect for hanging out or talking to other travellers. Very nice and unique are also the bike tours that are offered by Kevin through Bangkok at night. I would always choose Born Free again.

Disliked: The bathrooms are quite small and there is only cold water. But it should not be a problem for any traveller ;-)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

William Crothers

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 January 2014 William would recommend this property

Liked: Great owner.

Disliked: William left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Raul Sarca

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 January 2014 Raul would recommend this property

Liked: Great place, very close to the main backpacker area, but on a quiter street so you can get a great sleep. Very relaxed atmosphere, clean and excellent price/quality ratio. Staff, Kevin and his girlfriend are super nice, making sure all the time everything is perfect! Thanks guys and see you in Romania!

Disliked: Raul left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Miles Baker Clarke

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 January 2014 Miles would recommend this property

Liked: Location is prime, close enough to walk to khao San road and good bus links. Hostel is clean and well equipped and the owners are friendly.

Disliked: Not always hot water, but Bangkok is hot anyway so not a big deal.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robbie Richler

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 January 2014 Robbie would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, cute and privately owned. The young couple that owns the place knows a lot about the city and are there to help you out.

Disliked: Because of the smaller size, the hostel isn't as social as other if you're traveling solo.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jan Jaap Ensing

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 January 2014 Jan Jaap would recommend this property

Liked: The owners are great and very helpful, the beds are comfy and because they are made of wood, they don't squeak! And because it is not located on Khao San road (about a 5 to 10 minutes walk from it), it is a rather quiet place.

Disliked: Jan Jaap left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Katie Dzierozynski

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

17 January 2014

Liked: Good value for money and friendly staff. Rooms and beds were good and you were offered a locker if you needed one.

Disliked: The toilets and showers aren't great and very small. The location is ok and isn't far from Khoa San Road. However, the surrounding area is full of really good hostels that are the same good value for money. If you're looking to spend a lot of time on and around Khoa San Road I'd suggest getting a hostel a little closer.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and lots of informatiion from Kevin and his girlgriend!

Disliked: Small showers. Showers are cold when you shower at night, but if that's the worst.... I would still recommand this place.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Harriet Sansom

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 January 2014 Harriet would recommend this property

Liked: Stayed at this hostel twice and will be returning again this month. Fantastic hostel, very friendly helpful staff, good atmosphere, very easy to meet other travellers! Ideal location, five min walk to Khao San. Really good value for money, definitely reccomend!

Disliked: Harriet left no negative feedback.