We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Born Free Hostel

Hostel | Samsen Soi 6 (Soi Woraphong), Bangkok, Thailand 10200

97.4% Overall Rating

225 out of 227 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/11/2014)

"The atmosphere here is second to none: there's plenty of space to hang out and chill out, with chilled music playing and comfy seating, beers in the fridge and Kevin always happy to chat or introduce people, making it…"

Read all Born Free Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 0.31

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bangkok?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bangkok

Smile Buri House
12.33 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Khaosan Immjai
10.79 USD

Hostel 94.6% 70 reviews
Back Home Backpackers
10.48 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Nouvo City Hotel
28.76 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
New World City Hotel
22.60 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.2% 58 reviews
Penpark Place
9.24 USD

Guesthouse 86.9% 183 reviews
Sam Sen Sam Place
9.86 USD

Guesthouse 87.0% 57 reviews
Khaosan Baan Thai
7.24 USD

Hostel 92.5% 332 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
97.4%

Overall Rating

225 out of 227 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Born Free Hostel'

Atmosphere
99.2%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
93.6%
Cleanliness
95.2%
Staff
100.0%
Value
98.4%
Safety
97.6%
Refine your results Showing 199 of 225 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and lots of informatiion from Kevin and his girlgriend!

Disliked: Small showers. Showers are cold when you shower at night, but if that's the worst.... I would still recommand this place.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Harriet Sansom

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 January 2014 Harriet would recommend this property

Liked: Stayed at this hostel twice and will be returning again this month. Fantastic hostel, very friendly helpful staff, good atmosphere, very easy to meet other travellers! Ideal location, five min walk to Khao San. Really good value for money, definitely reccomend!

Disliked: Harriet left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Steven Olson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 January 2014 Steven would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely great hostel to rest up and meet other travelers in the ground-level common area. Kevin and Sophie make you feel so at home and welcome, and will help you out with whatever you need. Everyone who stayed here loved it. I was going to stay one night, but stayed three. Great friendly atmosphere. Fun, but not an annoying party place like you'll find on Khao San. Dorms are relatively peaceful considering how many beds.

Disliked: Bathrooms aren't that great, but good enough.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kunal Malhotra

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 January 2014 Kunal would recommend this property

Liked: everything... clean and comfortable beds... good location.. cool owner...

Disliked: Kunal left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mark Odijk

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 January 2014 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: After a hectic day of traveling i arrived at born free and immediately felt at home, the area downstairs is nice to relax and hang out with fellow backpackers. Close to kao san road but still a really quiet place. Liked the free bikes, movie night, and listening to everyone playing guitar.

Disliked: Nothing really, the bathrooms are a bit cramped but being almost 2 meters tall i cant blame them ;)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel, Kevin and Wasana make this a really chilled fun place to stay. So much so that I've recommended it to everyone and am going back in a few days! Wasana also organised my diving trip to koh tao and was so helpful. Close to the Koh San road and everything you need, but peaceful and chilled out. The place opposite does a mean dhal too! Looking forward to staying here again!

Disliked: Nothing :-)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthijs Korevaar

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 December 2013 Matthijs would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to meet other people and hang out together. The hostel is kinda like a small family. Kevin is a nice guy and if you're lucky he'll join you when going out.

Disliked: Because of a severe hangover the bike tour was cancelled, so I keep that one for next year.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

kirsty hill

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 December 2013 kirsty would recommend this property

Liked: Good clean hostel, comfy beds, close enough to walk to local amenities, Kevin the owner and his partner were really friendly, loved the common space downstairs to stretch out relax and read a book!

Disliked: Nothing!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

christopher player

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa

21 December 2013 christopher would recommend this property

Liked: Upon realising we had paid over the odds for travel around Thailand the owner could snot have done any more to try and elp us get our money back or at least some o the money back and advised us of the numerous Bangkok tourist traps! The hostel itself was spotless well maintained and did alternative nights in like DVD marathons if you fancied a cheap night in! It was also far enough away from koh San road not to keep you up all night but was only a short stroll from the mainaction!

Disliked: The aircon wasnt working 100% but again the owner could not have been more apologetic and go it fixed immediately without any disruption caused to guests

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Blackwell

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 December 2013 John would recommend this property

Liked: I cannot say enough good things about Born Free Hostel. I stayed here three months ago and it made such an impression on me that I didn't think twice when I booked it for a second time. Where do I begin? K & W, the owners, create an atmosphere where travelers can relax and freely share their stories with each other. Positive energy abounds here and everyone has a smile on their face. Break out your guitar, K will play along. Ready to turn up? W makes the best mixed drinks around. I've stayed at many hostels during my time in South East Asia but none of them came close to the experience I had at Born Free. When you arrive you immediately feel like you've been there before because everyone wants to include you in whatever they're doing. I feel at home at Born Free Hostel. The beds are comfy and the sheets are soft. The bathrooms are immaculate (I particularly like the Asian art tiles on the walls). Arriving late at night or early in the morning? Not a problem. The night watchman will courteously let you in and set you up with a cushioned couch to sleep on until you check-in. Have valuables that you want to stow away? There are complimentary lockers available that even a master thief couldn't break into. Hungry? Authentic Thai restaurants and food stalls are just a few meters away. The location of this hostel could not be better. It is only a ten minute walk from Khao San Road which is perfect for when you want to drink and party. When you aren't in the mood you can just relax and sleep undisturbed. Book your tours and treks through this hostel. I compared prices with other venues and Born Free beats out all the competition hands down. K's bicycle tours are an adrenaline fueled, high speed ride through Bangkok's back streets and maze-like alleys. You will see sights that blow your mind. He films it all on a Go-Pro and it feels like you're starring in an action movie while watching the highlights. When you need to get to the airport do not hire a taxi or tuk tuk. Pay 130 THB and have Born Free Hostel book a seat for you on their airport shuttle. This is an amazing deal that you will not find anywhere else. The shuttle picks you up on time and gets you to the airport promptly and efficiently. Writing this review brought a smile to my face and reminded me of the great times I had with some really fun people at a very special hostel. Do yourself a favor and book your stay at Born Free Hostel.

Disliked: This question does apply to Born Free Hostel. There are no drawbacks to this place. 150% satisfied with my stay here.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thierry Jacqmin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

18 December 2013 Thierry would recommend this property

Liked: Born Free est et restera mon point de chute lors de mes passages à Bangkok, un endroit très convivial bien situé près de Kao San Road, film proposé le soir sur grand écran, balade nocturne en vélo dans le centre de Bangkok avec Kevin (le proprio) comme guide et un accueil dans plusieurs langues, anglais, francais, allemand. Vous pouvez aussi vous y procurer ticket de bus, bateau, train et combinaison avec visa. Bref, l'hostel le plus complet que j'ai pu fréquenté à Bangkok. Etant victime de son succès je vous conseil de réserver bien à l'avance car souvent complet.

Disliked: Thierry left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beds were comfortable and clean

Disliked: Air conditioning in the room was freezing and it can't be adjusted. Provided with duvets but still not a comfortable sleep.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly helpful staff. Nice dorm room, bed was comfy. Cctv on lockers gives good sense of security.

Disliked: Sink next to bathroom on both floors would be great - especially useful if only need to brush teeth etc. but it's v. minor.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Lucija Bukovec

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 December 2013 Lucija would recommend this property

Liked: It is a very nice hostel, the owner is super friendly and helpful, his bicycle tour of Bangkok was definetely worth doing. And there are two absolutely adorable little kitties at the hostel. We had a very nice stay there!

Disliked: Lucija left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marrisa Mora

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 December 2013 Marrisa would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, secure, and the best staff around! I've stayed here twice in the last six months and I'll never stay anywhere else when I'm in Bangkok. Kevin and Wasanna (the owners) are extremely helpful in offering advice on where to go and how to get there, whether it's in/around Bangkok or the next leg of your trek in SE Asia.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Magdalena Wieczorek

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 December 2013 Magdalena would recommend this property

Liked: The best hostel I have been to in years.

Disliked: Magdalena left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely good value for money. Helpful and friendly hosts, with lots of knowledge on travelling in Thailand. Has everything you need.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Richard Guy

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 December 2013 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: - Fantasticly friendly staff who are always helpful - Comfortable, quiet and clean rooms - Great location - Relaxed atmosphere - Great value for money - Kittens

Disliked: - Small bathrooms (But not really a problem)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Milne

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 December 2013 James would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel it is good value for money, it's in a great location close to Khoi san rd and the atmosphere in the hostel is excellent. Also the owners where very friendly and helpful

Disliked: James left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nathan Zehr

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 December 2013 Nathan would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere was great for meeting other people, and they showed a movie every night which was cool also. The owners are great, and they're very friendly and helpful. Dorms are clean, nice, and a great value. I'd definitely recommend!

Disliked: Nathan left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, affordable, good atmosphere, walking distance to Khaosan Rd, and safe

Disliked: Bathroom is a bit cramped (especially if you're tall)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

tashya page

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

03 December 2013 tashya would recommend this property

Liked: I was recommended Born Free by a group of guys who had stayed in June wasnt dissappointed. Extremely good value for money. Location was close enough to KS road if that's your thing, but far enough away to get a good nights sleep. The back roads next to the hostel are full of nice little local eating places and bars. Very clean, comfy dorms (good wifi -everyone seems to stress about this when staying in hostels!) and super fluffy kittens. Kevin was extremely helpful in assisting us with our booking , looking after our luggage for us and very approachable with any info you need to know about Bangkok. Would definitely stay again! Thank you :)

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly people, nice atmosphere, good location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rodney Workman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 December 2013 Rodney would recommend this property

Liked: Made some really good friends, Kevin and wssana (the couple that own and run the hostel) are so helpful and accommodating and really make sure that everyone is taken care of, and the bike tour

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Peppe codicez

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 December 2013 Peppe would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap price, clean place,fast wifi,soap and shampoo for free,possibility to book excursion and realy friendly stuffZ!!! Everything was excellent!

Disliked: Nothing