HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Born Free Hostel

Hostel | Samsen Soi 6 (Soi Woraphong), Bangkok, Thailand 10200

96.7% Overall Rating

195 out of 196 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/04/2014)

alia alhafny thinks…

"the owners of the hostel are very nice, it is close enough to the craziness of koa san road but far enough away that you dont have to be involved, it was very clean"

Read all Born Free Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 0.31

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bangkok?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bangkok

Smile Buri House
13.92 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Khaosan Immjai
10.83 USD

Hostel 96.2% 44 reviews
Nouvo City Hotel
42.28 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
New World City Hotel
21.66 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.2% 58 reviews
Penpark Place
8.51 USD

Guesthouse 86.3% 169 reviews
Sam Sen Sam Place
9.90 USD

Guesthouse 89.7% 48 reviews
Khaosan Baan Thai
7.27 USD

Hostel 91.4% 301 reviews
Roof View Place
13.61 USD

Hotel 3 star 85.1% 433 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
96.7%

Overall Rating

195 out of 196 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Born Free Hostel'

Atmosphere
97.6%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
90.4%
Cleanliness
99.2%
Staff
100.0%
Value
98.4%
Safety
100.0%
Refine your results Showing 172 of 194 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

robbie simms

Alone

City break

30 November 2013 robbie would recommend this property

Liked: Before i booked the Born Free Hostel i read other peoples reviews on the place and now i know why it got so many 100% .Wasana and Kevin were great hosts . This is the place i would stay if i ever go back to Bangkok and i probably will.

Disliked: robbie left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Scott Pocock

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

30 November 2013 Scott would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely everything, staff we're brilliant and friendly, helped is out with the next leg of our journey no worries and excellent to just chill with and have a chat. Clean as hell, excellent bathroom facilities and lockers for belongs, but it's so secure, locker not really needed

Disliked: Nothing, couldn't recommend somewhere more highly

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ashwin Chandrasekher

With my spouse / partner

City break

29 November 2013 Ashwin would recommend this property

Liked: I only stayed here for a couple of days. Located very close to the KaoSan Road. The hostel has a very chilled out flat bed lounge space at the reception.. good place to just lie around and meet others and also watch the movie that keeps getting screened!!! Kevin is a wonderful host and ensures all our demands are met. I was unable to check out the bike tour organised by Kevin but the other guests seemed to have had a lot of fun at it!!

Disliked: Only sore point was the size of the bathrooms.. a little too compact for my liking!!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Mariia Veselova

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 November 2013 Mariia would recommend this property

Liked: It's price

Disliked: Cold showers

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sanjoy Dhananjay

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 November 2013 Sanjoy would recommend this property

Liked: Kevin and Wasana are extremely helpful and are more than happy to help you.

Disliked: Sanjoy left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Teppo Holmqvist

Alone

Business / conference
City break
Family Holiday
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

28 November 2013 Teppo would recommend this property

Liked: Really, really well run hostel. Staff is extremely friendly and professional and everything works exactly like promised.

Disliked: Only real negative I can find is that bathrooms are meant for thait people, meaning they are really small. While this not problem for most people, I'm rather big guy. Another issue for some people can be the location. Bornfree Hostel isn't close to any BTS Skytrain or Metro station. If you are going to dowtown, you need to prepare at least 30 minutes for travelling, preferably more.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Air con room is awesome - nice beds and super clean. Location is perfect - 5 mins walk to Koh San Road so you're near all the action. Kevin and Wassana are so friendly and helpful! :)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Claire Fogel

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 November 2013 Claire would recommend this property

Liked: I first came to stay at Born Free on 14th March 2013, they had just opened and were still in the process of building a second room. I have stayed at Born Free many times throughout the past year and will stay here every time I am traveling through Bangkok. Kevin and Wasana are great hosts, always very helpful and go out of their way to make sure everyone is comfortable and having a good time. The location is great, around a10-15 minute walk to Khao San Rd so near enough to stumble home after a night out. It's also very easily accessible to the airport, a pleasant 30 minute walk to the Kings Palace and reclining Buddha and you catch a taxi, boat, tuk tuk or bus to many other attractions nearby such as Chatuchak weekend market, MBK and Siam and China Town. The hostel is great. The lobby has comfortable seats to relax on and makes socialising with other travels very easy. Kevin occasionally puts a film on the projector and organises bicycle rides through the city which are very popular and reasonably priced. The bathrooms are small but add character to the hostel and are nice traditional Thai style. The air con room is my favourite room to stay In and are really plush for a hostel. The beds are large and roomy, the pillows are soft and there are "real" duvets on the beds which is a nice change from just a sheet which what you get in many hostels in Asia. Wasana has a travel shop to and is there to help out with any questions or can book amazing treks or beach holidays in Thailand. She is a walking Encyclopedia and will help any way she can to ensure your onward travel plans are enjoyable. Born Free hostel isn't just a hostel but it's a home from home and they now have the cutest kittens Peanut and Tiny to add to the Born Free family which is another reason to come back. It's the best place to stay in Bangkok and possibly my favourite hostel I've stayed at in South East Asia. I will definitely be back again!!!

Disliked: Absolutely nothing... After staying at Born Free you'll expect so much more from other hostels in Asia. Born Free is in a league of its own though and I have been hard pushed to find anywhere as good!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nikola Lesar

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

18 November 2013 Nikola would recommend this property

Liked: Definitely THE best hostel I've stayed in so far. Clean, safe, friendly atmosphere, 5 minutes walk to Khaosan and not far from all the hotspots in the city. Kevin, owner of this hostel is really helpful and friendly - If you need anything, just talk to him. Do his bike tour! Great way to explore the city. I've stayed here 3 times in a month and I'm definitely coming back.

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kathrin Schwab

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 November 2013 Kathrin would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, chilly lounge, good restaurant very near and 7 eleven just around the corner, close to khao san road

Disliked: Nothing really

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Juliane Naglo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 November 2013 Juliane would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice and clean hostel! It’s quite new and the beds are really comfortable. The owners are friendly and helpful and it’s quite familial cause the hostel is not too big. There is always good music in the lobby to relax or you can all watch a movie together in the evening. The bathrooms are a bit small but clean and when I was there they were never busy. You get free shampoo and shower gel as well. Some people give bad reviews because of the toilets but you should know that in Thailand you ARE NOT ALLOWED to throw your toilet paper into the toilet! So in this hostel you are lucky to have a flushing toilet and toilet paper. I was in Bangkok twice and stayed always in this hostel. It’s close to Khao San Road as well where you can shop and find good bars.

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alice Ramsey

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2013 Alice would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff Comfy beds good location

Disliked: Only minor comment would be the shower is above the toilet and small.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Payal Malde

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2013 Payal would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, very very friendly, met lots of travellers'. Travel info grieat too!

Disliked: Nothjing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elena Lopez

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2013 Elena would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel itself is in a very good location. If you're like me and love to walk, it's within walking distance of many of Bangkok's attractions. It's near enough to Khao San Road to enjoy it, while also being somewhat removed from the intense tourist-oriented atmosphere. Kevin and Wasana are friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful - plus they're the proud parents of two adorable kittens! When it comes to check-out, they're fine with you leaving your bags at the hostel and just hanging out. I found the air con dorm more than comfortable, plus there are outlets conveniently located by each bed and also downstairs. The reviews complaining about the bathrooms make me laugh - I found them perfectly fine (and loved the cute tile patterns). Overall I highly recommend this hostel, whether you're a seasoned backpacker or if you're just like me, visiting for the weekend.

Disliked: Elena left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Charlotte Lewis

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 November 2013 Charlotte would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere and facilities. The owners are always ready to help out if you have any problems or questions. This is by far the best hostel I have stayed in in Bangkok and it is great for meeting other travellers. The whole place is always clean, comfortable and I would highly recommend.

Disliked: I cannot fault it.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Frankie Bolton

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 November 2013 Frankie would recommend this property

Liked: This place was awesome, Kevin and wasana were great. If you stay here (which you totally should) then definitely do Kevin's bike tour and talk to wasana about what to do around here, she knows everything and doesn't try and rip you off at all. There was always a good atmosphere, if felt totally safe and I didn't ever think twice about leaving my bags in the room. There are lockers as well though if you want one. The cats are cute and at least once a week they show a film in the evening. It's a great place to hang out if you don't fancy going out in Bangkok.

Disliked: Can't think of anything

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

William Black

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

31 October 2013 William would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is in a wonderfully renovated house near Khao San. The owners are incredibly friendly and helpful, and in general, they're just a joy to be around. The beds were firm and comfortable and their laundry service was prompt and done well.

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere is great. Born free has a relaxed vibe and it is very easy to meet other travellers. Khao San is only a short walk away. The best thing about Born Free is the staff. Kevin and Emma are great and really helpful. Make sure to sign up for the night time bike tour. It will take you all over Bangkok in a few hours.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: 100% the whole way!!! Once you stay at this place, you will know what a hostel really should be like. Kevin, the owner, is the most helpful person and always concerned about his guests and does everything to make sure they are having a great time. The mountain bike tour through Bangkok that he offers is amazing, probably the best way to see the city and the non-tourist sides of it. The hostel itself is located in a quiet side road, 5 min walk from Khao San Road, its very clean and has a great common area that you can hang out and meet other travellers or just chill. You can book everything through them and be certain you are not being ripped off...Just a great place really!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dean Hogg

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

20 October 2013 Dean would recommend this property

Liked: Kevin was great, extremely helpful and knowledgeable. Helped book connecting trains. Hostel was extremely chilled, films on the projector for the nights we stayed in.

Disliked: Dean left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Katherine Lindqvist Jones

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 October 2013 Katherine would recommend this property

Liked: There are small lights and baskets by all the beds for your belonging and so you can read, the staff are fantastic and know a lot about the area and speak perfect English (and French) as well as Thai so can sort anything you need out. They just installed CCTV in some of the communal areas around the lockers (not that security was a problem at all! There is always somebody in the lobby. Communal areas were really nice and comfy.

Disliked: There was no lock for the bedroom but when you are sharing an8 bed dorm it would be pointless anyway.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anahita Daruwalla

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 October 2013 Anahita would recommend this property

Liked: fab hostel, fab owners - what more could you want?!

Disliked: Anahita left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

shana laffy

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 October 2013 shana would recommend this property

Liked: We choose Born Free as our first hosteling experience in Thailand beacuse of its great reviews and they speak the truth! A lovely welcoming environment, a good diverse range of other friendly traveller to meet and hang out with. Kevin and Wasana are really helpful and have a lot of time for their guests offering a range of activites and also a great travel agency to book onward travel. Wasana helped us book the following 2 weeks of our trip. The AC dorm was really comfortable and well designed with everyone having their own reading light and small linen pocked to store bits by the bed (it's the little things that count) we ended up extending our stay by a further 2 nights as we liked it alot!!! Close to the crazy vibes of Khao San Road but far enough away to get some sleep- this hostel is a great choice for Bangkok exploring! We would definitely stay again!!

Disliked: There is nothing to dislike really about this place- our only mild negative is that the bathrooms/showers are a little small and hard to get ready in as its one small wet room everything gets shower spray on it but it really doesn't matter as the rest of the experience was wonderful and the bathrooms have character and even give you free shampoo :)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: If there ever was a shining example of how a hostel should be, Born Free would be it. This hostel is a must for anyone visiting Bangkok whether it's their first or tenth time. It's a great location, on a quiet road, so you can get a good night sleep. 5 minutes to Kho San Rd for when you want to go out. We stayed in the air con dormitory room, the bunk beds were amazing, so comfy! Kevin and Wasana are amazing, anything and everything can be asked and booked by them. I would highly recommend the night bike tour that Kevin does, it's amazing, you get to see a different side of Bangkok. There's a great relaxed vibe at the hostel, really easy to meet people too. Everyone we meet who is going to Bangkok we recommend them to book here. We loved it so much we're coming back for Christmas!

Disliked: Nothing, it was perfect.