HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Born Free Hostel

Hostel | Samsen Soi 6 (Soi Woraphong), Bangkok, Thailand 10200

96.5% Overall Rating

208 out of 210 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/07/2014)

Melanie Vine thinks…

"Good location. 5-10min walk to khan san road. Staff - wassama & Kevin both very friendly, helpful & knowledgable about the Thailand and transport to and from places etc. Air con dorm - clean and…"

Read all Born Free Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 0.31

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bangkok?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bangkok

Smile Buri House
12.55 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Khaosan Immjai
10.98 USD

Hostel 93.9% 62 reviews
Nouvo City Hotel
32.95 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
New World City Hotel
20.92 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.2% 58 reviews
Penpark Place
8.63 USD

Guesthouse 84.8% 179 reviews
Sam Sen Sam Place
10.04 USD

Guesthouse 90.1% 53 reviews
Khaosan Baan Thai
7.38 USD

Hostel 93.3% 315 reviews
Roof View Place
13.81 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.7% 437 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
96.5%

Overall Rating

208 out of 210 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Born Free Hostel'

Atmosphere
97.6%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
90.4%
Cleanliness
95.2%
Staff
100.0%
Value
97.6%
Safety
99.2%
Refine your results Showing 184 of 209 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Peter Andronicou

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 February 2014 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: The two guys running it were great. So chilled out there and they encouraged you to interact and go out with everyone else which was good for me, as a lone traveller! No curfew aswell so you can stroll in whatever time you like (albeit quietly!)

Disliked: The bathroom facilities were a bit small! But it is an old Chinese house so I can understand

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fernando Marinho

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 February 2014 Fernando would recommend this property

Liked: Helpfull and friendly staff. Nice facilities.

Disliked: Nothing i really desliked. But the bathrooms are a bit small.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jullu Miah

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 February 2014 Jullu would recommend this property

Liked: Location is excellent 5***** Atmosphere is superb 5***** Staff were Fantastic 5***** Cleanliness, facilities and safety was was as good as home 5***** Value for money was brilliant 5***** This place is the best Hostel I have ever been to and I have travelled all over the world! The owners are helpful, concerning, reliable and very approachable for people who really need help and guidance to travelling East Asia as Kevin has done the route and knows it very well . Wasana knows all the visas and extensions , flights, bookings and advises all the best information you can ever expect. The people that stay there are all so brilliant and from all nations and the place has a family feel as well as great things to do ... Movie nights on the big projector ! Free cycling tours with Kevin the owner. Takeaways and dining from restaurants next door and great food yet cheaper than Kohsan Rd Wasana the beautiful owner and Kevin's partner is not only very helpful but she does all the bookings and organising for trips to all destinations and plans your backpacking experience at the cheapest rates. They own a beautiful Thai Villa with a feeling of home and the vibe is amazingly serene and the local people , cafes, bars and restaurants are all very genuine and serve the best of what they have unlike Kohsan rd. They both own two beautiful Persian cats (brothers they rescued from the flea market) names Peanut and Tiny which are like their two little kids who keep the travellers and themselves happy and are adorable cats with great personalities . Kevin and Wasana should be very proud of what they have and what they do as they both work hard to achieve the best that a hostel can ever provide ! This is no ordinary hostel...this is an amazing experience meeting amazing people from all over with a family touch as Kevin always helps to bring everyone together to go out for drinks, meals and day trips. You can also just lay back and chill like at home as they have a huge social communal area and lie back seats with free WiFi and everything to order from great local places that deliver you ice coffee and filled fruit drinks as well as great traditionally cooked takeaways and the main rd has the best selection of street food I have ever seen in Bangkok which is great quality as all the locals eat from there and the tourists all eat on kohsahn rd which is really expensive and low standard compared to the village area Born free is surrounded by . It has a flower market and fruit and veg market behind the block and has a beautiful canal that has restaurants and bars ! You will miss out on an experience that only you can get by staying here in Born Free and even the name suggests its amazing experience . Thank you Wasana and Kevin for giving Nicky and I an experience we will never forget and a week of such fun and entertainment as well as making us feel at home and a family . We both think you are an amazing couple and you both are the best Hosts we have ever met :) take care and we will meet again !

Disliked: none whatsoever

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthias Beermann

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 February 2014 Matthias would recommend this property

Liked: Born Free was by far the best hostel I stayed in during my six months in Asia. Therefore, I visited Bangkok and the Hostel three times. Wasana and Kevin are very nice and friendly hosts and do always help if there are any problems. The hostel has a very nice atmosphere and the lobby is perfect for hanging out or talking to other travellers. Very nice and unique are also the bike tours that are offered by Kevin through Bangkok at night. I would always choose Born Free again.

Disliked: The bathrooms are quite small and there is only cold water. But it should not be a problem for any traveller ;-)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

William Crothers

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 January 2014 William would recommend this property

Liked: Great owner.

Disliked: William left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Raul Sarca

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 January 2014 Raul would recommend this property

Liked: Great place, very close to the main backpacker area, but on a quiter street so you can get a great sleep. Very relaxed atmosphere, clean and excellent price/quality ratio. Staff, Kevin and his girlfriend are super nice, making sure all the time everything is perfect! Thanks guys and see you in Romania!

Disliked: Raul left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Miles Baker Clarke

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 January 2014 Miles would recommend this property

Liked: Location is prime, close enough to walk to khao San road and good bus links. Hostel is clean and well equipped and the owners are friendly.

Disliked: Not always hot water, but Bangkok is hot anyway so not a big deal.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robbie Richler

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 January 2014 Robbie would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, cute and privately owned. The young couple that owns the place knows a lot about the city and are there to help you out.

Disliked: Because of the smaller size, the hostel isn't as social as other if you're traveling solo.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jan Jaap Ensing

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 January 2014 Jan Jaap would recommend this property

Liked: The owners are great and very helpful, the beds are comfy and because they are made of wood, they don't squeak! And because it is not located on Khao San road (about a 5 to 10 minutes walk from it), it is a rather quiet place.

Disliked: Jan Jaap left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Katie Dzierozynski

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

17 January 2014

Liked: Good value for money and friendly staff. Rooms and beds were good and you were offered a locker if you needed one.

Disliked: The toilets and showers aren't great and very small. The location is ok and isn't far from Khoa San Road. However, the surrounding area is full of really good hostels that are the same good value for money. If you're looking to spend a lot of time on and around Khoa San Road I'd suggest getting a hostel a little closer.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and lots of informatiion from Kevin and his girlgriend!

Disliked: Small showers. Showers are cold when you shower at night, but if that's the worst.... I would still recommand this place.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Harriet Sansom

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 January 2014 Harriet would recommend this property

Liked: Stayed at this hostel twice and will be returning again this month. Fantastic hostel, very friendly helpful staff, good atmosphere, very easy to meet other travellers! Ideal location, five min walk to Khao San. Really good value for money, definitely reccomend!

Disliked: Harriet left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Steven Olson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 January 2014 Steven would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely great hostel to rest up and meet other travelers in the ground-level common area. Kevin and Sophie make you feel so at home and welcome, and will help you out with whatever you need. Everyone who stayed here loved it. I was going to stay one night, but stayed three. Great friendly atmosphere. Fun, but not an annoying party place like you'll find on Khao San. Dorms are relatively peaceful considering how many beds.

Disliked: Bathrooms aren't that great, but good enough.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kunal Malhotra

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 January 2014 Kunal would recommend this property

Liked: everything... clean and comfortable beds... good location.. cool owner...

Disliked: Kunal left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mark Odijk

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 January 2014 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: After a hectic day of traveling i arrived at born free and immediately felt at home, the area downstairs is nice to relax and hang out with fellow backpackers. Close to kao san road but still a really quiet place. Liked the free bikes, movie night, and listening to everyone playing guitar.

Disliked: Nothing really, the bathrooms are a bit cramped but being almost 2 meters tall i cant blame them ;)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel, Kevin and Wasana make this a really chilled fun place to stay. So much so that I've recommended it to everyone and am going back in a few days! Wasana also organised my diving trip to koh tao and was so helpful. Close to the Koh San road and everything you need, but peaceful and chilled out. The place opposite does a mean dhal too! Looking forward to staying here again!

Disliked: Nothing :-)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthijs Korevaar

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 December 2013 Matthijs would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to meet other people and hang out together. The hostel is kinda like a small family. Kevin is a nice guy and if you're lucky he'll join you when going out.

Disliked: Because of a severe hangover the bike tour was cancelled, so I keep that one for next year.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

kirsty hill

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 December 2013 kirsty would recommend this property

Liked: Good clean hostel, comfy beds, close enough to walk to local amenities, Kevin the owner and his partner were really friendly, loved the common space downstairs to stretch out relax and read a book!

Disliked: Nothing!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

christopher player

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa

21 December 2013 christopher would recommend this property

Liked: Upon realising we had paid over the odds for travel around Thailand the owner could snot have done any more to try and elp us get our money back or at least some o the money back and advised us of the numerous Bangkok tourist traps! The hostel itself was spotless well maintained and did alternative nights in like DVD marathons if you fancied a cheap night in! It was also far enough away from koh San road not to keep you up all night but was only a short stroll from the mainaction!

Disliked: The aircon wasnt working 100% but again the owner could not have been more apologetic and go it fixed immediately without any disruption caused to guests

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Blackwell

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 December 2013 John would recommend this property

Liked: I cannot say enough good things about Born Free Hostel. I stayed here three months ago and it made such an impression on me that I didn't think twice when I booked it for a second time. Where do I begin? K & W, the owners, create an atmosphere where travelers can relax and freely share their stories with each other. Positive energy abounds here and everyone has a smile on their face. Break out your guitar, K will play along. Ready to turn up? W makes the best mixed drinks around. I've stayed at many hostels during my time in South East Asia but none of them came close to the experience I had at Born Free. When you arrive you immediately feel like you've been there before because everyone wants to include you in whatever they're doing. I feel at home at Born Free Hostel. The beds are comfy and the sheets are soft. The bathrooms are immaculate (I particularly like the Asian art tiles on the walls). Arriving late at night or early in the morning? Not a problem. The night watchman will courteously let you in and set you up with a cushioned couch to sleep on until you check-in. Have valuables that you want to stow away? There are complimentary lockers available that even a master thief couldn't break into. Hungry? Authentic Thai restaurants and food stalls are just a few meters away. The location of this hostel could not be better. It is only a ten minute walk from Khao San Road which is perfect for when you want to drink and party. When you aren't in the mood you can just relax and sleep undisturbed. Book your tours and treks through this hostel. I compared prices with other venues and Born Free beats out all the competition hands down. K's bicycle tours are an adrenaline fueled, high speed ride through Bangkok's back streets and maze-like alleys. You will see sights that blow your mind. He films it all on a Go-Pro and it feels like you're starring in an action movie while watching the highlights. When you need to get to the airport do not hire a taxi or tuk tuk. Pay 130 THB and have Born Free Hostel book a seat for you on their airport shuttle. This is an amazing deal that you will not find anywhere else. The shuttle picks you up on time and gets you to the airport promptly and efficiently. Writing this review brought a smile to my face and reminded me of the great times I had with some really fun people at a very special hostel. Do yourself a favor and book your stay at Born Free Hostel.

Disliked: This question does apply to Born Free Hostel. There are no drawbacks to this place. 150% satisfied with my stay here.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thierry Jacqmin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

18 December 2013 Thierry would recommend this property

Liked: Born Free est et restera mon point de chute lors de mes passages à Bangkok, un endroit très convivial bien situé près de Kao San Road, film proposé le soir sur grand écran, balade nocturne en vélo dans le centre de Bangkok avec Kevin (le proprio) comme guide et un accueil dans plusieurs langues, anglais, francais, allemand. Vous pouvez aussi vous y procurer ticket de bus, bateau, train et combinaison avec visa. Bref, l'hostel le plus complet que j'ai pu fréquenté à Bangkok. Etant victime de son succès je vous conseil de réserver bien à l'avance car souvent complet.

Disliked: Thierry left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beds were comfortable and clean

Disliked: Air conditioning in the room was freezing and it can't be adjusted. Provided with duvets but still not a comfortable sleep.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly helpful staff. Nice dorm room, bed was comfy. Cctv on lockers gives good sense of security.

Disliked: Sink next to bathroom on both floors would be great - especially useful if only need to brush teeth etc. but it's v. minor.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Lucija Bukovec

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 December 2013 Lucija would recommend this property

Liked: It is a very nice hostel, the owner is super friendly and helpful, his bicycle tour of Bangkok was definetely worth doing. And there are two absolutely adorable little kitties at the hostel. We had a very nice stay there!

Disliked: Lucija left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marrisa Mora

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 December 2013 Marrisa would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, secure, and the best staff around! I've stayed here twice in the last six months and I'll never stay anywhere else when I'm in Bangkok. Kevin and Wasanna (the owners) are extremely helpful in offering advice on where to go and how to get there, whether it's in/around Bangkok or the next leg of your trek in SE Asia.

Disliked: Nothing