HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Born Free Hostel Bangkok

Hostel

Samsen Soi 6 (Soi Woraphong), Bangkok, Thailand

Atmosphere 98%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 92%

Location 94%

Safety 95%

Staff 97%

Value 95%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Shuttle Bus
  • Steam room
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 0.30USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 13:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Not Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bangkok?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 98%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 92%

Location 94%

Safety 95%

Staff 97%

Value 95%

Showing 11-20 of 223 reviews

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It was near to Khaosan road, but in a quier area. The guests and the staff were really friendly.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Everything about the hostel is top-notch. Location is perfect: only a 5 minute walk from the hustle and bustle of Khao San Road yet set in a much quiter and chilled area. There is a lovely common area which is perfect for meeting other travellers to share stories and a beer with. The owners are absolutely top-class. They are extremely helpful and offer advice on anything around the city or future travel plans if you need them. The room is one of the nicest and comfiest I have stayed in my time. Will be back here in 12 months.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great location. Super chilled atmosphere. Clean rooms. Very friendly and helpful owners. Really enjoyed my stay at born free and will be staying there again in the future for sure!

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: This is for the hostel slightly further up off Samsen Road, they have another on Samsen Road closer to Khao San Road. I have stayed at both and they are similar quality! Both are nice relaxed places to stay, not like the crazy bustling of Khao San hostels.There are air con dorms at reasonable prices for bangkok (250b a night as of May 2015). Showers and WCs are good, there is a common room in both hostels. The beds are solid, each has a power point and a light and clean bedding.I did not get to participate in the bike tours but next time I will stay longer to do that.

Disliked: Nothing. They dont do food in the hostel, but there is a small kitchen and lets face it...youre in Bangkok so food stalls and restaurants are not far!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was the best decision to decide on this hostel. Easy to find, clean, good atmosphere, safe and whats really great they have brand new restrooms.

Disliked: Nothing to complain about.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Work / volunteering

Liked: Ok...reasons I love Born Free hostel:- It's spotlessly clean, always - The wifi connection is faultless, always-The location is perfect- ten minute walk to th craziness of Khao San but far enough that you can sleep at night!- the beds are comfortable and spacious, the reading light and individual storage bags add a sense of having your own space in a 12 bed dorm- It doesn't feel like a 12 bed dorm.- The communal area is spacious, relaxed and somehow makes it easy to meet people or chill in your own head, at the time time. It's very nicely done.-The owner and his wife are proper nice people, I read this a lot on hostel booking sites and I really can't emphasise enough how much the feeling of homliness is present here. You feel welcomed, included and paid attention to throughout your stay. They work hard making this place what it is and it shows in the travellers home they've created.Right that's the practical stuff. On a personal note, I've been in south east Asia for a year and this hostel is not only the best Ive experienced here but is the best Ive experienced anywhere. I've stayed here three times during that time period and standards have never slipped. It's a wonderful hostel, with a beautiful atmosphere and being here makes my heart feel safe, happy and rested.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Our stay at Born Free was a wonderful experience. The owner, and his wife who runs the sister hostel, were extremely helpful and friendly to all customers. They encouraged separate groups to meet in a welcoming atmosphere. The room was great and cleaned daily. One of the best I've stayed in.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, City break, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: A great position in Bangkok for the old part of town. Really close to lots of places to eat. Air Con in the bedroom was excellent. Never had to wait for a bathroom. Really friendly and helpful owner.

Disliked: A little far from a BTS station, but only 60 baht in a taxi to get to one.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Awesome hostel with a lot of charm,really nice people who are going to give you a lot of advises and going to support you at your travel, if you want some. +really good location! All in all, my home if I'm in Bangkok.Sry for my bad english

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The owners Kevin and Emma are extremely friendly and helpful, as is the rest of the staff. The atmosphere is laid back and welcoming. Rooms are always very clean and comfortable. I love this hostel and would recommend it to anyone and everyone!

Disliked: Nothing. I enjoyed everything!

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability