We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Khaosan River Inn Hostel

Hostel | 14 Daokhang Rd. Washira Dusit, Bangkok Riverside, Bangkok, Thailand 10300

93.9% Overall Rating

27 out of 31 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/03/2015)

Matt Thomas thinks…

"Very warm welcoming. Owners are very friendly and helpful everything with good smile . I took some activties with the hostel, it's worth it. The dorms were very clean spacious convenience and very…"

Read all Khaosan River Inn Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 1.19

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bangkok?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bangkok

Bangphlat Resort
14.67 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Steve Boutique Guesthouse
10.23 USD

Guesthouse 81.0% 3 reviews
Hostelling International Bangkok
11.86 USD

Hostel 82.2% 56 reviews
Thaicozy House
12.23 USD

Hostel 79.7% 39 reviews
Roof View Place
11.86 USD

Hotel 3 star 82.4% 442 reviews
Sam Sen Sam Place
9.48 USD

Guesthouse 85.8% 62 reviews
Trang Hotel
19.86 USD

Hotel 3 star 69.8% 9 reviews
Penpark Place
8.89 USD

Guesthouse 82.6% 195 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.9%

Overall Rating

27 out of 31 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Khaosan River Inn Hostel'

Atmosphere
95.2%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
90.4%
Cleanliness
96.0%
Staff
98.4%
Value
94.4%
Safety
98.4%
Refine your results Showing 28 of 30 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matt Thomas

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

24 March 2015 Matt would recommend this property

Liked: Very warm welcoming. Owners are very friendly and helpful everything with good smile . I took some activties with the hostel, it's worth it. The dorms were very clean spacious convenience and very safety, Free internet wifi is very fast and strong wifi for using and free transport by hero car and hero bike in bangkok city . Hero teach me for driving car too. Very excited to drive in bangkok !!!! you can keep bag for free in hostel and get free information like free bangkok map and everything etc. Thank you so much

Disliked: Not that all

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jane Robert

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

17 March 2015 Jane would recommend this property

Liked: Khaosan river inn hostel was one of the best hostels. As everyone here already said: the guys who run it are AMAZING! Hero put all their love and effort in the hostel to make sure that their guests have fun and feel comfortable. this isn't just a place to sleep, it's a place to make friends, to have a good party and have a lot of fun with all the people there. I planned to stay only for 1 night and ended up staying over a week, just because i loved the staff, the athmosphere, the parties and all the other people i met there. Hero - thank you for making my stay here so special, I hope I'll see you again one day! i definitely the place to stay at khaosan river inn hostel

Disliked: Jane left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good

Disliked: not good

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Charlie Hewitt-Dean

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 February 2015

Liked: A cheap hostel if you're on a tight budget. Secure lockers in the dorm room. Staff were helpful

Disliked: Not much of an atmosphere unfortunately. Only one bathroom for the whole place which is downstairs and shared with the family, next to the kitchen. Location is a bit out of the way so a taxi is needed, most struggle to find it

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Luke Stratford

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 February 2015 Luke would recommend this property

Liked: All the staff are very helpful, especially the only 'Hero'. He makes sure all guests intereact and doesn't leave anyone out. We'll help you in wherever you want to go/whatever you want to do. Bed is comfy. Good wifi.

Disliked: It wasn't a huge problem, but there is only one shower room. So only one place to brush your teeth/toilet/shower - sometimes have queues.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Kayley Babic

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

31 January 2015 Kayley would recommend this property

Liked: The owner Hero is a star and very best people . He makes you welcome and provides personal service and advice for everything about bangkok! Hero makes you feel at home and helps to create an atmosphere where everyone feels comfortable chatting and getting to know everyone else. Hero took us to clubbing too. it is very fun and enjoy really!!!!

Disliked: Kayley left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marius Moragues

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 January 2015 Marius would recommend this property

Liked: Probably the best hostel in Bangkok with a very attractive price, ideal location and lovely staff! A truely excellent hostel which I have no hesitation in recommending to anyone.

Disliked: Marius left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hitomi Matsuoke

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

15 January 2015 Hitomi would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel. hero owner is just lovely, friendly so helpful and polite. Carried our bags up to the room for us,if you have any question. ask him!! He's very knowledgeable and will help you out. was much appreciated! Rooms all seem new and a are a decent size, even with a balcony! This hostel is perfect for Backpackers or anyone who just wants a cheap holiday. I will be coming back 100%!!!

Disliked: Hitomi left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jennifer Robson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

30 December 2014 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: Very excellent accommodation and easy to meet traveler with nice conversation! Hero ( owner) is wonderful, so nice and kind always remember you by name and always trying to help you figure things out. During one of my stays there, one of the guys in my dorm got sick and they made him soup even went to get medicine for him - these people are truly awesome.

Disliked: Jennifer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Charla Haworth

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

12 December 2014 Charla would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly helpful staff Nice communal area Free computers to use Internet Comfy beds Good secure storage in the dorms Really

Disliked: Charla left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tiffany Louise

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 December 2014 Tiffany would recommend this property

Liked: Nice room Nice people with excellent service and very clean. when i check out. the staff prepare food with juice for me. it is very fantastic really. it make my staying perfect!!! Many thanks see you next time

Disliked: Please renovate something look like new

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bailey Reynolds

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

29 September 2014 Bailey would recommend this property

Liked: Very good service and everything is very perfect

Disliked: Bailey left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hanart Oy

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

25 September 2014 Hanart would recommend this property

Liked: The man who runs the hostel is so wonderful and friendly. he has a job, and is not always there, but somebody is around to help.He took us out to live music night market and pub by his car. it was the best accommodation. This was our favorite place in Thailand. we felt like at home. Clean, quiet and safe. I highly recommend this hostel for all.

Disliked: No !!!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Victtoria Giannini

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

24 September 2014 Victtoria would recommend this property

Liked: Very well located(King family location), clean hostel with friendly staff and helpful really!!!staff that are willing to help with any queries you have always. The dorms were really good, beds were big, it was clean and there were lockers in the dorms I made some amazing friends here. the open, relaxed lobby area made it super easy to make friends.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Balmer

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 September 2014 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent! A good place to explore around bangkok city. Very Clean Very Safety Very convenient hostel with Very good service. but the room was very comfortable and I was very satisfied with the great facilities. Hero will provide free coffee tea beer for free on request !!!!! Internet Wifi was very fast around hostel. I would like to highly recommend to everybody! Thanks for your great hospitality!

Disliked: Michael left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Brian Roxas

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2014 Brian would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were so friendly and helpful! They really help a lot with everything, and they can recommend ideas and prices for trips/excursions. Also, although the place is far from the city center, it is a nice opportunity to see real Thai people, and is not more than a 60-80 Baht ($2-3) taxi ride from the city center.

Disliked: As mentioned, it is a bit far from the city center, and it can be difficult to get a ride back from the city after a long night out. It usually would take asking about 3 or 4 taxis at night before finding one willing to go out to where this place is, and also use the meter. Also, the staff does not speak English very well, but their son Hero speaks English and is there often for translation purposes.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gary Walker

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2014 Gary would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and excellent.

Disliked: None.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

lauri vicente

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

20 March 2014 lauri would recommend this property

Liked: Very Safety Hostel 1000000 % surely really!!!!!! Would high recommend to friends to stay here as I felt very safe very happily. A lot of ccv ( Cameras) in hostel along with king palace area.It is very easy to go everywhere and very close shopping pub restaurant market sitting buddha temple and everywhere!!! Thai king officer protect this hostel always. I LOVED my good time at Khaosan River Inn hostel,Hero and Hero Family are very awesome like part of warmly family , they go above and beyond. They had everything I wanted to do and see, helped me book tours, flights, bus tickets, visa and more. A lot of my friends wanted to stay here after coming to visit. About the room: Thin mattress, but comfortable. Awesome shower, always hot. Made A LOT of friends. Love the toast all day thing. Clean everywhere I went (kitchen, dorm, lobby, bathrooms). You need to stay here! The more important of hostel is my hero!!! You'll never get bored at this hostel.Every night the hero owners organise a trip to do a fun activity. On the 1st night we went to see a thai boxing match, 2nd night we went a cooking school, 3 we went to have party at pub,4 massage 2 hours 300 bath,5 sightseeing,6 shopping,7 beach,8 temple etc. ( very great experience). Overall, the hostel was a brilliant place to stay. If you are going to bangkok!! please stay at this hostel. Come back to you soon miss you my hero a lot :D:D:D

Disliked: lauri left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Denise Schnu

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

14 March 2014 Denise would recommend this property

Liked: Would highly recommend staying at Khaosan River Inn Hostel. The staff or hero owner were really friendly and helpful. The good points are: 1. Extremely clean 2. Easy place to meet other travellers 3. Good location - 2 minute walk to the Ferry Boat line and important places and Free transport Free guide for sight seeing and party every friday 4. Great value for money 5. Great facilities - incl laundry, wifi, kitchen etc I will hopefully be back to stay again soon! Hero and Hero family Always smiled and greeted you (very important to me). Thank you so much for all Hero

Disliked: Denise left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

kathleen deggelman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

05 March 2014 kathleen would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is really awesome. Hero will try to do everything within his power to make your stay enjoyable, including insider information about locations or requests to use the facilities even before check-in, all you have to do is ask.Hero helped me make a flight ticket booking and even sort out paper work for a new job back home by happily scanning and emailing documents! Hero was also happy to let me into my room very early. I will definately very super recommended!!!

Disliked: kathleen left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amee Leferink

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

04 March 2014 Amee would recommend this property

Liked: Thank you so much! Hero!!!! This hostel was very best accommodation in the world. I have ever stayed. I liked everything about this hostel. The hostel is new clean and very safety area, relaxing atomosphere excellent facilities great value for money and especially Hero were super nice. He has lots of knowledge about the city and will be able to answer any kind of questions. Show me around bangkok by his car and his bike. took me to eat good food good drink on big cruise for my party!!! I extended my stay there and definately return back again. Strongly recommended!!!

Disliked: Amee left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sinead carnie

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

25 February 2014 sinead would recommend this property

Liked: One of the better hostels in the world . Very clean, nice beds, everything is very comfortable!!! Hero (owner) is very really friendly helpful. he will solve your problems. if you have surely!!! and take care you very well. Facilities were great, really top quality for a hostel! Excellent service!! Great value for money!!!!you will find a lot of people which will join you, but at the same time you can relax and just hang out to have party and sight seeing. It is very safety area like great location (King Family area)I Would High recommend for both solo or group travellers who wants to socialise around the world . when coming to Bangkok. Thank you a lot my hero forever!!!!

Disliked: nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

18 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff, clean place and very fast internet.

Disliked: The place is not well located and the bathroom has a bad smell.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 November 2013

Liked: Staff were friendly enough but a bit odd - the guy kept taking pictures of us

Disliked: Location, facilities

The property's response is...

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 November 2013

Liked: The wifi worked. The son was very friendly and helpful. But sadly you don't really stay in places for one nice staff member. The rest of the family couldn't speak English and although I smiled at them, there was times they just stared back blank, awkward.

Disliked: Its basically a family home done up into a hostel, theres nowhere to meet people and its way out of town, not walking distance at all. The bathroom stinks, its just he one bathroom for the whole place. I would not recommend it. If your going to Bangkok stay on or near Khaosan road. Plus you will probably pay less for a room and not have to spend money on taxis, boats or tuk tuks.

The property's response is...