We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Khaosan River Inn Hostel

Hostel | 14 Daokhang Rd. Washira Dusit, Bangkok Riverside, Bangkok, Thailand 10300

86.3% Overall Rating

18 out of 21 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/12/2014)

Charla Haworth thinks…

"Friendly helpful staff Nice communal area Free computers to use Internet Comfy beds Good secure storage in the dorms Really"

Read all Khaosan River Inn Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 1.23

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bangkok?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bangkok

Bangphlat Resort
15.25 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Steve Boutique Guesthouse
12.17 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hostelling International Bangkok
12.33 USD

Hostel 81.4% 55 reviews
Thaicozy House
12.71 USD

Hostel 79.5% 37 reviews
Roof View Place
13.56 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.9% 438 reviews
Sam Sen Sam Place
9.86 USD

Guesthouse 87.0% 57 reviews
Trang Hotel
20.65 USD

Hotel 3 star 69.8% 9 reviews
Penpark Place
9.24 USD

Guesthouse 86.9% 183 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.3%

Overall Rating

18 out of 21 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Khaosan River Inn Hostel'

Atmosphere
85.7%
Location
77.1%
Facilities
81.0%
Cleanliness
87.6%
Staff
93.3%
Value
87.6%
Safety
91.4%
Refine your results Showing 19 of 20 reviews
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Charla Haworth

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

12 December 2014 Charla would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly helpful staff Nice communal area Free computers to use Internet Comfy beds Good secure storage in the dorms Really

Disliked: Charla left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tiffany Louise

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 December 2014 Tiffany would recommend this property

Liked: Nice room Nice people with excellent service and very clean. when i check out. the staff prepare food with juice for me. it is very fantastic really. it make my staying perfect!!! Many thanks see you next time

Disliked: Please renovate something look like new

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bailey Reynolds

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

29 September 2014 Bailey would recommend this property

Liked: Very good service and everything is very perfect

Disliked: Bailey left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hanart Oy

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

25 September 2014 Hanart would recommend this property

Liked: The man who runs the hostel is so wonderful and friendly. he has a job, and is not always there, but somebody is around to help.He took us out to live music night market and pub by his car. it was the best accommodation. This was our favorite place in Thailand. we felt like at home. Clean, quiet and safe. I highly recommend this hostel for all.

Disliked: No !!!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Victtoria Giannini

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

24 September 2014 Victtoria would recommend this property

Liked: Very well located(King family location), clean hostel with friendly staff and helpful really!!!staff that are willing to help with any queries you have always. The dorms were really good, beds were big, it was clean and there were lockers in the dorms I made some amazing friends here. the open, relaxed lobby area made it super easy to make friends.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Balmer

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 September 2014 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent! A good place to explore around bangkok city. Very Clean Very Safety Very convenient hostel with Very good service. but the room was very comfortable and I was very satisfied with the great facilities. Hero will provide free coffee tea beer for free on request !!!!! Internet Wifi was very fast around hostel. I would like to highly recommend to everybody! Thanks for your great hospitality!

Disliked: Michael left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Brian Roxas

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2014 Brian would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were so friendly and helpful! They really help a lot with everything, and they can recommend ideas and prices for trips/excursions. Also, although the place is far from the city center, it is a nice opportunity to see real Thai people, and is not more than a 60-80 Baht ($2-3) taxi ride from the city center.

Disliked: As mentioned, it is a bit far from the city center, and it can be difficult to get a ride back from the city after a long night out. It usually would take asking about 3 or 4 taxis at night before finding one willing to go out to where this place is, and also use the meter. Also, the staff does not speak English very well, but their son Hero speaks English and is there often for translation purposes.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gary Walker

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2014 Gary would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and excellent.

Disliked: None.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

lauri vicente

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

20 March 2014 lauri would recommend this property

Liked: Very Safety Hostel 1000000 % surely really!!!!!! Would high recommend to friends to stay here as I felt very safe very happily. A lot of ccv ( Cameras) in hostel along with king palace area.It is very easy to go everywhere and very close shopping pub restaurant market sitting buddha temple and everywhere!!! Thai king officer protect this hostel always. I LOVED my good time at Khaosan River Inn hostel,Hero and Hero Family are very awesome like part of warmly family , they go above and beyond. They had everything I wanted to do and see, helped me book tours, flights, bus tickets, visa and more. A lot of my friends wanted to stay here after coming to visit. About the room: Thin mattress, but comfortable. Awesome shower, always hot. Made A LOT of friends. Love the toast all day thing. Clean everywhere I went (kitchen, dorm, lobby, bathrooms). You need to stay here! The more important of hostel is my hero!!! You'll never get bored at this hostel.Every night the hero owners organise a trip to do a fun activity. On the 1st night we went to see a thai boxing match, 2nd night we went a cooking school, 3 we went to have party at pub,4 massage 2 hours 300 bath,5 sightseeing,6 shopping,7 beach,8 temple etc. ( very great experience). Overall, the hostel was a brilliant place to stay. If you are going to bangkok!! please stay at this hostel. Come back to you soon miss you my hero a lot :D:D:D

Disliked: lauri left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Denise Schnu

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

14 March 2014 Denise would recommend this property

Liked: Would highly recommend staying at Khaosan River Inn Hostel. The staff or hero owner were really friendly and helpful. The good points are: 1. Extremely clean 2. Easy place to meet other travellers 3. Good location - 2 minute walk to the Ferry Boat line and important places and Free transport Free guide for sight seeing and party every friday 4. Great value for money 5. Great facilities - incl laundry, wifi, kitchen etc I will hopefully be back to stay again soon! Hero and Hero family Always smiled and greeted you (very important to me). Thank you so much for all Hero

Disliked: Denise left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

kathleen deggelman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

05 March 2014 kathleen would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is really awesome. Hero will try to do everything within his power to make your stay enjoyable, including insider information about locations or requests to use the facilities even before check-in, all you have to do is ask.Hero helped me make a flight ticket booking and even sort out paper work for a new job back home by happily scanning and emailing documents! Hero was also happy to let me into my room very early. I will definately very super recommended!!!

Disliked: kathleen left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amee Leferink

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

04 March 2014 Amee would recommend this property

Liked: Thank you so much! Hero!!!! This hostel was very best accommodation in the world. I have ever stayed. I liked everything about this hostel. The hostel is new clean and very safety area, relaxing atomosphere excellent facilities great value for money and especially Hero were super nice. He has lots of knowledge about the city and will be able to answer any kind of questions. Show me around bangkok by his car and his bike. took me to eat good food good drink on big cruise for my party!!! I extended my stay there and definately return back again. Strongly recommended!!!

Disliked: Amee left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sinead carnie

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

25 February 2014 sinead would recommend this property

Liked: One of the better hostels in the world . Very clean, nice beds, everything is very comfortable!!! Hero (owner) is very really friendly helpful. he will solve your problems. if you have surely!!! and take care you very well. Facilities were great, really top quality for a hostel! Excellent service!! Great value for money!!!!you will find a lot of people which will join you, but at the same time you can relax and just hang out to have party and sight seeing. It is very safety area like great location (King Family area)I Would High recommend for both solo or group travellers who wants to socialise around the world . when coming to Bangkok. Thank you a lot my hero forever!!!!

Disliked: nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

18 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff, clean place and very fast internet.

Disliked: The place is not well located and the bathroom has a bad smell.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 November 2013

Liked: Staff were friendly enough but a bit odd - the guy kept taking pictures of us

Disliked: Location, facilities

The property's response is...

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 November 2013

Liked: The wifi worked. The son was very friendly and helpful. But sadly you don't really stay in places for one nice staff member. The rest of the family couldn't speak English and although I smiled at them, there was times they just stared back blank, awkward.

Disliked: Its basically a family home done up into a hostel, theres nowhere to meet people and its way out of town, not walking distance at all. The bathroom stinks, its just he one bathroom for the whole place. I would not recommend it. If your going to Bangkok stay on or near Khaosan road. Plus you will probably pay less for a room and not have to spend money on taxis, boats or tuk tuks.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dylan Roberts

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

26 October 2013 Dylan would recommend this property

Liked: The owner here are so very friendly very helpful and always honest sincere with the travellers. Great facilities and extremely clean. if you stay here like you are part of owner family really. the owner name is hero and he will help you with everything and give good information about everything to you. the hostel is behind king family palace and very safety surely too. the thai king officer will take care this hostel in king area 24 hours. there are free sightseeing( tour) around bangkok and free food including free thai boxing only on sunday . i would definitely recommend to everyone :) and i want to come back to stay here. it's perfect place in thailand really :D:D:D

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gemma Dixon

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

16 September 2013 Gemma would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are extremely friendly and treat you like your own family, if you are confused about where something is then they happily offer to come with you or help. Perfect place for someone coming to Thailand for the first time.

Disliked: Gemma left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Ryan Wong

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 June 2013 Ryan would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel manager, Hiro(?), is amazingly helpful. He is an invaluable resource that should be tapped into for all your information needs while you are in Bangkok. The hostel itself was initially hard to find but it is in a quiet area and is quite safe, even at night. Close to bus/boat routes that can take you anywhere you need to go to in the city. The beds are new, some still have plastic film on the sides and the rooms are clean. Good local food is nearby as well.

Disliked: I booked a 2 person room but we were put in a 8 person dorm. Honestly not that big of a deal given that I think it was some sort of typo on Hostelbookers anyways and that it didn't even look like this room existed as the place is so small. Though the rooms are clean, the shared washroom is not exactly the best place to be. It is not unclean but the smell leaves much to be desired.