We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Urban Age

Hostel | 130/6 Silom Soi6-8 S, Silom road, Bangrak, Bangkok, Thailand 10500

77.7% Overall Rating

229 out of 255 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (29/08/2014)

"Very nice staff who speaks english and can help you about your plans and transportation according to what you need and your priorities Silom road is a good location Building quite old but bathroom, AC and wifi work…"

Read all The Urban Age reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Café
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Onsite shop(s)

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Remarks: - Room rates are in Thai Baht.No services charge add up, please find Tips Box upon your satisfaction. - Rates are subjected to change during high season. Stating arrival time at the hostel is much appreciated as it helps the hostel to manage/prepare the room and guarantee the booking.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bangkok?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bangkok

Tower Club at Lebua
135.00 USD

Hotel 5 star Not yet rated
Golden house @ Silom
17.72 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Lebua at State Tower
106.00 USD

Hotel 5 star Not yet rated
Justbeds
14.18 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
New Road Guest House
4.93 USD

Guesthouse 84.3% 193 reviews
Saphaipae Hostel
9.24 USD

Hostel 92.0% 290 reviews
Centaurinn
3.70 USD

Guesthouse 73.0% 13 reviews
Poste 43 Residence Hotel
46.22 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.7%

Overall Rating

229 out of 255 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Urban Age'

Atmosphere
74.4%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
71.2%
Cleanliness
64.0%
Staff
86.4%
Value
79.2%
Safety
77.6%
Refine your results Showing 210 of 219 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 September 2014

Liked: Nothing other than location.

Disliked: Cleanliness

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice staff who speaks english and can help you about your plans and transportation according to what you need and your priorities Silom road is a good location Building quite old but bathroom, AC and wifi work perfectly The price of a dorm bed is 250 Bahts if you book at the desk

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and easy to get to and from, also very easy to get around Bangkok from here. Wifi good and free tea and coffee!

Disliked: Bathrooms were extremely unclean. The mattress of the bed was extremely old and had huge dips in it. General cleanliness of whole hostel was poor

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked it's convenient location.. 5 minutes walk from Sala Daeng BTS station and close to bus stop, close to the largest park in Bang Kok and street market. Also I liked 24 house air conditioning system in a room because it's sort of annoying to be here without a/c. Staffs were friendly and helpful. There was no noise at night during my stay so i could sleep very well. Also they provided a locker big enough to stow important stuffs such as laptop. I extended my stay in Urban Age until I leave Bang Kok

Disliked: I stayed in a dormitory and it is on 6th floor. it was kind of annoying to go up and down all the time especially when i came i had to carry all my belonging to 6th floor and there was no lift. Anyway I already knew so I didn't mind. Also I couldn't get wifi connection in my room so I had to come down to the reception for internet.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Charlotte Schaeffer

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 March 2014

Liked: The Hostel is close to Siam, where the Metro and the Sky Train leave. For Bangkok its quiete a cheap Hostel.

Disliked: There are only two showers for the whole hostel and one Toilet for two floors. The showers and toilets werent clean and there wasnt any toilet paper. The lockers in the room could not only be opened with the key the refer to but also with the keys of the other lockers, so they werent very safe...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

31 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Came here for the second time after 3 years, I remembered this hostel for the best so had no doubt to go again. It wasn't as clean as I remember, espacialy the bathroom, but the rooms and beds were fine.

Disliked: Good location to those who don't wanna stay in a super touristic area., easy to reach from airport

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

desiree navarro

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 December 2013

Liked: great location close to btm and metro and near to the patpong market.staff very friedly.

Disliked: toilets dirty , the wall for the room was falling down for the humidity, no ventilation in the room the window view is a car parking. the floor in the room dirty under the bed full of dust.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jaroslav Capek

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 December 2013 Jaroslav would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location, public transportation of all sorts literaly just round the corner. The place is on peaceful and quiet back-street (soi), spacious rooms, all with air-con. Very helpful and friendly staff with very good English. If you want to avoid "the Khao San-ies" go for this one! One of the better option amongst all the Bangkok "cheap-ies"....

Disliked: Jaroslav left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

huu phuoc phan

With friends / other travellers

City break

19 December 2013 huu phuoc would recommend this property

Liked: only the location, it is great for Pappong night area or gay traveller (near all of gay places)

Disliked: toilet is not so clean. the celling is short, near your head , you have to be careful. receptionist is not always at reception counter (sometimes you have to wait so long or have to call them via cellphone) . no public area for hang out. no private power socket at every bed, no private light --->not convinient.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Jonas Meinig

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 December 2013 Jonas would recommend this property

Liked: Not far a way from the train station, friendlz staff.

Disliked: The room was dusty and the bathromm was not clean.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

gebby agatha

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

08 October 2013 gebby would recommend this property

Liked: i have stayed in this hostel for the second time and i'm falling in love for the second time too. i like the location where near street food and spa. near bts and mrt station.

Disliked: i dont like the toilet which the exhaust fan doesn't work properly and it looks a little bit disgusting.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: right next to the pat pong night market and close to Skytrain - a cheap and quick way to get around Bangkok. Loads of restaurants. The lady at the hostel was really friendly and helpful. The hostel offered trips and tours and also a lot of travelling in Thailand books. No bugs in our room at all.

Disliked: the hostel itself was quite hard to find, it's down a tiny road of the main road.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals

07 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap, good location, near to the BTS station and the night market, friendly staffs.

Disliked: wifi at 6th floor room is bad. can't use wifi at the midnight.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free WiFi

Disliked: The showers were wet rooms so the toilets were wet and there was no where except outside the shower to put your towel and clothes.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

12 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's cheap and clean. Every body was so friendly.

Disliked: It doesn't have refrigerator and the lift. I had to clim to 6 floor.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

18 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent staff, very close to the skytrain

Disliked: Ac shuts off in the dorms from 1 to 5pm. Hopefully you won't need to sleep then cause its boiling. WiFi in dorm not good, but good in rest of building.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Mikesh Patel

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

31 January 2013 Mikesh would recommend this property

Liked: Used Bangkok, and this hostel, as my base for travels throughout South and SE Asia. Disliked the city at first, but this hostel went a long way to make me enjoy my 4 or so weeks there. Not much room for socializing, for that go to Smile Society which is next door where I stayed my first night in Bangkok, but it is far more expensive there. The Urban Age on the other hand is good value for Bangkok, in a good location with easy access to the Skytrain, clean with hot shower, and very nice, friendly, and helpful staff. Definitely recommend.

Disliked: Would be nice if they had a laundry service given the nearest one is quite a walk away. Can't say much about the character because it's more meant as a convenient place to stay rather than a place explicitly to meet other travelers, but if you stay in the dorms you can meet some people there.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Neha Pathak

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 January 2013 Neha would recommend this property

Liked: The property is centrally located, close to the train station and the travel desk is extremely helpful.

Disliked: Neha left no negative feedback.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 January 2013

Liked: if i have to like anything it would be the location

Disliked: it was filthy, the showers were pretty disgusting and the bins where the used loo paper went werent emptied once while we stayed ther (3 nights) the staff were more interested in the internet - didnt see any cleaning take place at all and it was evident it hadnt for some time. totall let Babkok down

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shaun Mazurek

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 December 2012 Shaun would recommend this property

Liked: Nice clean rooms, good location within walking distance to the Myanmar Embassy and a very nice and helpful staff:)

Disliked: I cant think of any complaints.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff. Good location. Wifi in room. Comfortable seating in reception area.

Disliked: Not clean enough. Major spring clean required. Shower rooms could be updated too.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Yusrizal Sulaiman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 November 2012 Yusrizal would recommend this property

Liked: this is the 5th i stay in this hotel. the location very near with patpong nite market and easy to go to anywhere. just walk around 7minutes you will find BTS station. we will save money for the room rate, very well wifi connection and nice hot chocolate available in the lobby :-)

Disliked: this is the 1st time i stay in the dormitory room at urban age hotel. some trouble happen when an american one coming with a lady boy to the room in 5.00 am. they fight and make a trouble, i didnot know how can the guest can bring a stranger to the room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

gebby agatha

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 July 2012 gebby would recommend this property

Liked: what a friendly and helpfull staff, we stayed at the 6th floor (but it doesn't matter). the room is very clean. easily to find breakfast and dinner

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

17 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: room lockers were great for storing our valuables during the day!

Disliked: the stairs were a bit much haha.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

eduardo rios

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 May 2012 eduardo would recommend this property

Liked: Location was great, close to metro and sky train, easy to go everywhere, despite the entrance is quite small, it was quite easy to find it, as the direction given in their website was excellent!

Disliked: Not really dislike, but sometimes it was a bit annoying the amount of people offering the service of prostitutes in the streets nearby at all time!