HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of The Urban Age Bangkok Hostel

130/6 Silom soi 8, Silom Rd., Bangkok, Thailand

Atmosphere 70%

Cleanliness 64%

Facilities 72%

Location 90%

Safety 79%

Staff 87%

Value 79%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • ATM
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Cafe
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Luggage Storage
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Important Information

- Not every room has a window (rooms with a window are subject to availability)
- This is a smoke-free hostel. Smoking outdoors only.
- This is a six floor hostel but there is no elevator. (Dorm room is on 6th floor)
- Credit card are not accepted (Thai Baht only) and full payment must be paid upon arrival
- No outside visitors allowed in the guest rooms upstairs.
- Please note that we always try our best to make your stay pleasant.
- We only accept the bookings made with Credit Card ( You need to pay the deposit online through your Valid Credit Card); otherwise , the bookings cannot be guaranteed.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bangkok?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 70%

Cleanliness 64%

Facilities 72%

Location 90%

Safety 79%

Staff 87%

Value 79%

Showing 1-10 of 19 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: STAYED HERE A FEW TIMES ALWAYS GOOD.

Disliked: CHINESE GUY AT BACK OF HOSTEL BOTHERS PEOPLE TO COME INTO HIS BAR, WHICH IS GOING TO BE A RIP OFF BAR, BE CAREFUL OF HIM.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Friendly staffs, cheap price, good location.

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Good location and helpful staff. Decent level of cleanliness for a city hostel. Beds are ok, dorms a little cramped. A/c in dorm is only on after 5pm. It's a sauna in there any other time. It's a fine place if you plan to be gone all day and don't need a super restful night of sleep. I wouldn't get over my jetlag here or spend more than 3 nights.

Disliked: That building is so hot... and the dorms a sauna. But heaven once the a/c comes on :)

Customer would recommend this property

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nothing other than location.

Disliked: Cleanliness

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very nice staff who speaks english and can help you about your plans and transportation according to what you need and your prioritiesSilom road is a good locationBuilding quite old but bathroom, AC and wifi work perfectlyThe price of a dorm bed is 250 Bahts if you book at the desk

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great location and easy to get to and from, also very easy to get around Bangkok from here. Wifi good and free tea and coffee!

Disliked: Bathrooms were extremely unclean. The mattress of the bed was extremely old and had huge dips in it. General cleanliness of whole hostel was poor

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I liked it's convenient location.. 5 minutes walk from Sala Daeng BTS station and close to bus stop, close to the largest park in Bang Kok and street market. Also I liked 24 house air conditioning system in a room because it's sort of annoying to be here without a/c. Staffs were friendly and helpful. There was no noise at night during my stay so i could sleep very well. Also they provided a locker big enough to stow important stuffs such as laptop. I extended my stay in Urban Age until I leave Bang Kok

Disliked: I stayed in a dormitory and it is on 6th floor. it was kind of annoying to go up and down all the time especially when i came i had to carry all my belonging to 6th floor and there was no lift. Anyway I already knew so I didn't mind. Also I couldn't get wifi connection in my room so I had to come down to the reception for internet.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Staff member is extremely friendly and helpful. She has relatively good command of English which makes communication a lot easier. The welcome booklet found in the room is very helpful in warning the traveller of what typical scams that people fall for in Bangkok. Location is convenient, within walking distance to public transport and easy to hire taxi.

Disliked: The room is rather dusty. Toilets could be cleaner.This is a personal preference - mattress is too soft for my liking.

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The Hostel is close to Siam, where the Metro and the Sky Train leave. For Bangkok its quiete a cheap Hostel.

Disliked: There are only two showers for the whole hostel and one Toilet for two floors. The showers and toilets werent clean and there wasnt any toilet paper. The lockers in the room could not only be opened with the key the refer to but also with the keys of the other lockers, so they werent very safe...

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Came here for the second time after 3 years, I remembered this hostel for the best so had no doubt to go again. It wasn't as clean as I remember, espacialy the bathroom, but the rooms and beds were fine.

Disliked: Good location to those who don't wanna stay in a super touristic area., easy to reach from airport

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability