We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Mile Map Hostel

Hostel | 36/4 Pan Road, Silom, Silom / Sathorn, Bangkok, Thailand 10500

87.3% Overall Rating

167 out of 171 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/01/2015)

Anthony Houghton thinks…

"The staff were very friendly and very helpful on places to, prices of Took Took's etc."

Read all Mile Map Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Late check-out
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bangkok?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bangkok

Three of a kind
9.24 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Nine@Silom
10.79 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
We Bangkok
10.79 USD

Hostel 91.4% 132 reviews
Justbeds
14.64 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
The Blast Silom Hostel
12.33 USD

Hostel 75.0% 4 reviews
O'Nidra House Hotel
10.79 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Lub d Bangkok - Silom
10.85 USD

Hostel 89.0% 348 reviews
Saphaipae Hostel
10.63 USD

Hostel 90.6% 292 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/01/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/01/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.3%

Overall Rating

167 out of 171 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Mile Map Hostel'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
76.0%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
88.8%
Staff
92.8%
Value
88.8%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 136 of 166 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

huu phuoc phan

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 February 2014 huu phuoc would recommend this property

Liked: useful staff, good english skill . and friendly . Very clean area and so many clean bathroom .

Disliked: a little bit expensive

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sonya Tuia

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 February 2014 Sonya would recommend this property

Liked: Cute place, nice and clean with hot showers.

Disliked: Location was not great but was near the sky train so wasn't a huge issue. No information available on tours or things to do and see in Bangkok nor were the staff much hel with this.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sara Maier

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 February 2014 Sara would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful service and helpful staff.

Disliked: Sara left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thomas Ulanowski

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 February 2014 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel, well run, safe and secure. Very modern and high value for money. Private rooms are slightly small (bunk beds), but quiet and secure. Wifi available almost everywhere. Nice rooftop area to dry clothing and hang out. Staff was very helpful. Good little kitchenette with free soup and crackers! Located quite close to public transport and a short tuk tuk ride away to the vast majority of tourist attractions in Bangkok. Overall it is a great place to stay for travellers both young and old.

Disliked: Nothing, it was great!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Patricio Gallardo

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Romantic getaway

03 February 2014 Patricio would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very helpful when arranging bus and train tickets

Disliked: Patricio left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its facilities were excellent. The building seems new and everything is very clean, I could even feel comfortable walking around barefoot. The lobby and common areas are very modern with fun furniture.

Disliked: I only stayed one night so it might not be a fair judgment, but I think the reception lacked in helpfulness, partly in absence and partly because I wasn't quite sure how much English was understood.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Steven Vaughan

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Visiting friends or family

30 January 2014 Steven would recommend this property

Liked: Spacious room with comfy bed, extremely helpful staff who couldn't do enough to help us out - they recommended restaurants and travel options and even booked our overnight bus to Ranong for us! Will be staying here again on our return to Bangkok.

Disliked: We were lucky enough to be at the front of the hostel and therefore had a window, but it appears not all rooms do.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

18 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had a private AC room with private bath, which was very clean and felt like our own mini apartment. The building is a modern concrete of several stories, with good WiFi. The desk staff is very friendly, and they are open 24/7, which was very convenient when we needed to check out at 4am to catch a flight. The WiFi is good. No free breakfast, but they you can get free instant noodles whenever you want. The location is great, only 5-10 minute walk from the Surasak skytrain stop, and on a relatively quiet side street. Very close to 7-11 and family mart for water etc., right next door to the Hindu temple, and right next to the main Silom road. 10-15 minute walk down Silom road to get to the Oriental boat stop, where you can catch the river taxi up to the grand palace, etc. Right across Silom road is a market with several small restaurants. We thought this was a great balance between a real neighborhood and still accessible to the regular tourists stops via the river taxi, as well as the skytrain to get anywhere else you might want.

Disliked: No free breakfast, but they you can get free instant noodles whenever you want. Only downside is that it was on the pricier side (at least for the private room).

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The most friendly and helpful staff I have met so far!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very cool vibe, friendly and helpful staff, clean facilties.

Disliked: No free breakfast, mattresses weren't very comfy.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chi Fung Hui

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 January 2014 Chi Fung would recommend this property

Liked: I arrived late and left early in the next morning so didn't stay in the hostel for long, but it gives a feeling like at home. Rooms are clean and the bed is comfy.

Disliked: Chi Fung left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

02 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice, clean hostel located not far from the BST which will allow you to get anywhere within Bangkok in a short time.

Disliked: The only drawback was that our room did not have windows.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean rooms, clean bathrooms (lots of stalls), friendly staff, great location 5 minute walk to the tram, tons of little cafes and eateries within walking distance, the perfect distance away from the touristy parts of Bangkok while still within a 10 minute tram ride

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sue Davis

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

28 December 2013 Sue would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the location as it was far enough away from the real busy part of Bangkok but near enough to transportation to get everywhere. I liked the size of the rooms and the great meeting space in the lounge area. The hostel also had good facilities such as a kitchen if you wanted to make your own breakfast and laundry facilities. We actually extended our stay by 2 days, leaving on 22nd instead of the 20th.

Disliked: Nothing really

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very helpful and the 24 hour reception is a life saver if your flight lands either ridiculously late/early.

Disliked: It was quite noisy outside but then again, it's to be expected bearing in mind the hostel is in a busy part of Bangkok.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Tobias Kupczyk

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 December 2013

Liked: All in all this is a nice and modern hostel, centrally located and with helpful staff.

Disliked: Our room (no. 1) had a very weird smell. It was not dirty at all, but even opening the windows for a longer period and pouring quite some water down the sink and shower did not make it go away. Something with the sewage pipes must be seriously wrong...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jonas Meinig

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 December 2013 Jonas would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice looby to meet other travellers. Very clean room and bathroom.

Disliked: Jonas left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice staff

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is quite good for the price. You can get to the BTS (Metro) station within 10 minutes. Within 20 minutes you can reach one of the famous night markets as well as shopping malls. And, most importantly, bar districts.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brandon Haluptzok

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 December 2013 Brandon would recommend this property

Liked: It's super clean. Helpful and friendly staff. Free towel provided.

Disliked: Nothing. Great value for the money.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jeffrey Whitbread

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 November 2013 Jeffrey would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is family run and therefore you share kitchen facilities with the rest of the family which added to the atmosphere,rooms were comfy and clean but do have bare concrete walls which will not appeal to everyone(most hostels in Bangkok will have the same thing).Very clean and very welcoming.On the ground floor there is a large communal area with free wi-fi and the free use of two computers.The roof top terrace did not seem to be used as much as it should, we had three really good nights up there talking and drinking with fellow travellers (until 3 or 4 in the morning)made some good friends and got some very good tips.If you need to book anything ask the person on reception about it first as they seem to be able to book almost anything you want and help you to save money, we booked our bus tickets to Chiang Mai through them and rather than paying 1500baht quoted at the rail station we paid 600,quite a saving.We loved it here.

Disliked: Nothing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

16 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A friendly place. Clean bathrooms. Reception spoke excellent English.- The Silom are is not tourist-infested.

Disliked: There might be some respect for a good night's silence. If one ends up with a bunch of Chinese girls with their cells, tablets and other gadgets, one actually either goes crazy or learn some Chinese just listening...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really clean and cozy place. Easy to meet other travellers on the roof.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

28 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We really enjoyed our stay at Mile Map Hostel, the hostel itself is very clean with really nice decor. The staff were very helpful and made us feel very welcome. The location may not be ideal for some people as its quite far from the tourist sights like The Grand Palace but it was great for us as it was close to the BTS which meant you could get around easily. The street the hostel is on and the surrounding area of Silom is a nice place to hang out with many good value and quality restaurants nearby, as well as lots of street food. Overall I would definitely recommend this hostel to others.

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rhys Kingdom

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 October 2013 Rhys would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed here primarily because it is close to the Myanmar embassy for getting visas. The staff were very helpful and friendly and full of useful advice. The hostel was very clean, laundry was cheap and there's free coffee. Our room was great, comfy bed and air con. The dorm we saw was very spacious. Walking distance to the bars of Patpong.

Disliked: Some of the rooms don't have windows so can feel a bit gloomy. It's a fair way from the main sites and Khao San Road although you can use the ferry to get there which was quicker than tuktuks. There wasn't much of an atmosphere despite their being a great communal area, I guess if you want to meet people you need to stay near Khao San Road, this area was more for people chilling and getting visas.