HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Shadow Inn Bangkok

Hostel

550 Vanich 1, Wat Koh, Sampathawong, China Town, Bangkok, Thailand

Atmosphere 59%

Cleanliness 45%

Facilities 54%

Location 72%

Safety 66%

Staff 72%

Value 82%

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Towels Included

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Not Accepted

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bangkok?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 59%

Cleanliness 45%

Facilities 54%

Location 72%

Safety 66%

Staff 72%

Value 82%

Showing 1-10 of 30 reviews

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Jan 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:

Liked: Vu le prix, on peut se douter que ça ne sera pas du luxe. Je n'ai pas été déçu..

Disliked: Il est ecrit à l'entrée de l'hôtel je cite : cyber coffee and clean bedroom. Il n'y a ni cyber café ni propreté. Cest même insalubre. Je veux bien que le prix corresponde à un confort modeste, mais là ce n'est absolument pas hygienique! Et pourtant, je ne suis vraiment pas difficile. Mais au regard de cette liste, il y à de quoi se méfier : draps sales, poussiere et cheveux excessifs au sol, pas de moustiquere aux fenetres donc impossible d'aerer les 5 m2 de la chambre sans se faire infester de moustiques, sommier du lit retenu par des tabourets, lattes brisées, matela en polystyrène perforé de toutes parts, salle de bain commune en très mauvais état : lavabo cassé laissé en vrac au sol, baignoire crasseuse, poubelles non Vidées, traces d'excrements sur mes murs, etc..

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jan 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: perfect for backpacker, private room for a good price. good location, near to metro and boat, quiet area.

Disliked: very old infrastucture, like sanitary and beds, but if you have traveled around the world and stayed in a very budget hostels, you don't care. so it's ok.

Customer would recommend this property

34% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
34% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:

Liked: Close-ish to Hua Lomphong train station.

Disliked: There is nothing to like.


The property's response is

The place is a disgrace... Dirty, unchanged bedding. Rooms smell like urine (you can taste it wheb yiu breath).. Good luck finding a basin that isn't smashed and sitting on the floor. No common area, no water to buy.

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Work / volunteering

Liked: The hostel is well located with just a 10 - 15 minute walk to the main Bangkok railway station and a few minutes away from China town. I arrived quite late in the evening and the staff were very helpful in directing me simply to the China town food stalls so I could easily find dinner. There is plenty of space in the dormatory I was in, plus lockers for valuables. As a female traveling alone,I felt safe inside the hostel but the alleyway its in was not so comfortable to turn in to.

Disliked: Whilst the hostel smells good - of warmth and good food - some parts of it did seem quite run down and in need of a scrub and bit of paint. There were no animals I saw though thankfully. The place is also quite hot, with the fans not really enough to take away the heat (says me coming from England...). Whilst in a convenient location, the hostel is quite hidden - I used GPS and the maps.me app and got there easily but I think it would have been hard without them! Also the location shown by the map on hostel bookers at the time of writing is further south than the hostel really is.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The location was great; close to Chinatown but down a quiet alley so no street noise.

Disliked: The bathrooms weren't cleaned very often (I'm not hugely picky about these things but it was only cleaned once in the 6 days I was there).

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Shadow innThe cheapest hostel / guesthouse in Bangkok Please do not expect what a cheap accommodation can't offer!I've slept here 3 times (which shows: I like it!) between 2 - 6 nights. + close to metro station hua lamp hong+ close to bus station (for example 53 to kho San road) + 7-eleven in 1 minute walk + middle of china town + quiet street without cars + laundry for 40 Baht+ water for 10 Baht+ open 24/7+ (dirty) rooftop with beautiful view + really nice owner - family! + lockers for everybody insure room

Disliked: - don't leave food in your backpack or bed because of mice and rats (It's an open roof & open windows - so of course they'll come in if you offer food) - don't expect a clean ground & clean bathroom (take bathing shoes for taking a shower)- take own plankets or seeping bag (plankets are not always clean) - old mattresses (but still ok for that price)

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location of this location of this is great. On the outskirts of China Town it is easy to get to other major destinations in Bangkok. Tuk tuks and taxis are cheap and easy to find to get to places such as the Grand Palace and Khao San road.

Disliked: If you are looking for somewhere nice and clean this may not be the place for you. It's not terrible but not amazing either.

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The personel.....

Disliked: the showers, only 1 on the first floor u can use. Happy that it was quiet while I was there. And did miss a piece of soap and maybe some tissues....

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Even if I had booked for a dormitory room, the owners gave me a private room!

Customer would recommend this property

34% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
34% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It's the cheapest in bangkok.

Disliked: I didn't mind the dirt, the broken shower and toilet, the dirt, the windowless room and the rat i shared it with. What i did mind was that one of the very very creepy owners knocked in my door at half three in the morning. I got very scared and uncomfortable, i could see him through the crack in the doot standing in front of my room waiting for like 10 min. I am a girl travelling alone and this was not the kind of experience i'm looking for.

Check Availability