We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of THE CITY @ FIFTY (former Madee)

Hostel | 1150/11 Soi Sukhumvit 50, Bangkok (Soi RoemCharoen, Premruethai Village, Soi 6) Bangkok, Thailand 10110

76.0% Overall Rating

28 out of 39 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/01/2015)

"The staff responded well to requests for help. The room was clean and was as expected."

Read all THE CITY @ FIFTY (former Madee) reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Washing machines
  • Gym
  • Bicycle hire
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.54
  • Towel USD 0.62

What's Included

  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bangkok?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bangkok

Erawan House
12.96 USD

Hotel 2 star 75.0% 4 reviews
Hope Land Serviced Apartments
54.01 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Imm Fusion Sukhumvit
17.58 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 82.0% 10 reviews
VX The fifty
7.68 USD

Hostel 89.3% 12 reviews
The Mix Bangkok
12.35 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Chan Cha La 99 Hostel
10.03 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
HI-Sukhumvit
10.80 USD

Hostel 87.8% 470 reviews
Padi Madi Guesthouse
24.69 USD

Guesthouse 76.9% 11 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
76.0%

Overall Rating

28 out of 39 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'THE CITY @ FIFTY (former Madee)'

Atmosphere
70.4%
Location
54.4%
Facilities
80.8%
Cleanliness
81.6%
Staff
72.0%
Value
85.6%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 32 of 38 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Lukas Sulc

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

10 February 2015

Liked: It's cheap, has a pool and all basic things one needs.

Disliked: The worst part was me was the owner (older man with glasses). I called before booking to check the price and he asked more money than on hostelbookers so I booked it here but when I arrived he was trying to charge me higher price. I saw him also arguing about a price with couple that didn't want to check it because they didn't like it and he wanted to charge them for a whole week. When I went to the pool it was dirty so I asked if they could clean it and he was just telling me they clean it every day but according to the water I think once a week. In general the atmosphere was bad and there is not much chance to meet people because only common room is at the reception which people avoid because of the staff. I was trying to work there for a while and he told me that I cannot use the area too long even though there was NO ONE else there. The location is quite far from the city, 20 min walk t the skytrain but you can see some real old thai people that are cure. In general, I wouldn't recommend this place mostly because they have no sense of service, no travel feeling and you feel like you are not welcome. Its not a cozy hostel, it is a bad guest house.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Relaxation/spa
Shopping

28 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: GOOD VALUE FOR MONEY GOOD MATRACE AND POOL ON THE TOP!!!

Disliked: LITTLE BIT OUTSIDE OF MAINLY ROAD

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very Clean air con in room wifi

Disliked: Gym is to small to work out 20 minutes walk from BTS station

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff responded well to requests for help. The room was clean and was as expected.

Disliked: It takes about an hour to get from the hostel to most of bangkok's tourist areas.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Laura Eaton

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 January 2015 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was super helpful and you have pretty much everything you could possibly need. The beds were comfortable, kitchen is open from 6 am until midnight, there's a tv and a small book exchange, power points and lights by the beds. They gave me a ride to the main street when I left, which was totally unnecessary but very much appreciated! Also, one of the guys looked everywhere for a sync cable for me because I didn't have one. Very kind and accommodating staff, great place to relax and just chill out for a couple of days. Roof top pool!

Disliked: Location is not great- about a 20 minute walk from the nearest sky train stop, though apparently a moto taxi is quite cheap so if you don't want to walk could use that option, but then you would miss out on all the little shops selling cheap food along the way. Both mornings I was there the neighborhood dogs started barking at like 7 or 8 am- only for like 5 minutes but it's enough to wake you up and be annoying. The sockets in the rooms only have power when you leave your key card in a slot inside of the room- meaning you can't charge your devices while you are out sight-seeing or up at the pool. But maybe this is standard in Bangkok? I stayed at the Aloft hotel and that's how it wa there as well...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 June 2014

Liked: Nice, clean bedroom with air con.

Disliked: The bathroom wasn't very clean. It was quite hard to find- better directions such as which exit to take from the Skytrain would have been useful. It was about a 20 min walk from the Skytrain.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Patrick Dos Santos Silva

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2014 Patrick would recommend this property

Liked: Everything is completely organised and so much clean as possible. The staff was kind and very communicative, even though my crew has found difficulties with the language barrier. (English speaking)

Disliked: The situation of the speaking of the staff. Sometimes was hard to create an easy communication with them due to the level of English of some people of the staff.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

John witted

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 March 2014 John would recommend this property

Liked: It has a pool and kitchen, it was quite close (10 min walk) to the skytrain and a large tesco lotus. Large night market near the station, which sells food clothes and has a bar. Fridge and very comfortable bed in the double room. We liked it so much we extended or stay.

Disliked: Stone items still had plastic wrapping on them eg fridge and wardbrobe. Rooms not cleaned unless you asked them to even if you put the please clean tag outside your door. They only clean the pool when you ask them to as well, but then they do it straight away. Shower was'nt great either hot or cold.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

suwan janphangsirikul

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 February 2014 suwan would recommend this property

Liked: Clean. safety

Disliked: suwan left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

broderick hughes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 February 2014

Liked: not much

Disliked: whole hostel smelt like plastic very strongly and everything was covered in plastic wrap

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

mr zaid alhakami

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 January 2014 mr zaid would recommend this property

Liked: I like the helpfulness of the staff

Disliked: non

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 December 2013

Liked: it had a pool

Disliked: lockerd where not in the roomes, toilets were leaking and very smelly, no comfortable tv room with dvd player and dvds, no maps og bangkok or information on what there is to do or where to go, was not informed and did not know there was a computer to use or washing machines till i found them on the last day. no sign on main road to help you find the place.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthew Mainwaring

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 September 2013 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: We really enjoyed our stay in The City! The location at first seemed a little out of the way but because the transport links in Bangkok are so easy and cheap, it was very quick to get around! The rooms were clean with very comfy bunk beds and as a group of four we were very happy to have our own private room!! Our room also had air con which was very nice after a humid walk back.The pool on the roof terrace was a very welcome addition to cool off in. The staff were very friendly and helpful and we liked it so much we booked three more nights here!!

Disliked: Nothing major. The only issue some may find is the walk back to the hostel at night because it is through a backstreet residential area. We haven't had any problems though and have found many to be very friendly!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

John eary

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 September 2013 John would recommend this property

Liked: really good rates and a very nice hotel

Disliked: not too much atmosphere

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 August 2013

Liked: Free pool, small exercise room, cheapness, Tesco nearby.

Disliked: It advertises itself as being near the metro, when in fact it's 2km away. Not a big problem though you can take a 15 baht motorcyce taxi ride from the metro.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Israel Rico

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa

28 July 2013 Israel would recommend this property

Liked: The staff who uis in during the day are kind and very very helpful. Price is good and one you know how to arrived the thing goes easier

Disliked: Its very hard to find the place, most of all at nigth and the staff who is working in this schedule does not speak english, but they tried to attend ours demands

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Big, clean rooms. And the pool on the roof!

Disliked: No facilities to cook our own food...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

sara leach

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 April 2013

Liked: It was quiet, very clean and the beds very comfy. Wifi in the common room is very fast. The huge washing machine for 60 baht allowed me to wash the entire contents of my bag and the rooftop pool area is really nice to hang out on. A water filter purifier on the kitchen tap is an added bonus to save the heaps of plastic you sometimes have to use.

Disliked: I found the staff very unhelpful. The lady on the day shift was actually quite grumpy with me all of time and even told my dorm mate that it was fully booked (there were only 3 people staying at the time!) And then tried to charge her double the baht I was paying! And the lady on the night shift speaks zero English. When I couldn't communicate that I needed a moto to take me to the sky train I had to walk the 10 mins with my luggage to the main road in the dark and there was a group of stray dogs barking and acting scary at me. The kitchen is not communal and the bicycle for rent is absolutely not functional. And finally, the location makes you feel a bit stranded. 20 mins walk to the sky train/tesco or you can catch a moto from the main road, about a 10 min walk, for 15 baht.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

david bell

Alone

City break

02 April 2013 david would recommend this property

Liked: The property was very clean and the staff were very helpful. The gym consists of two machines near the roof, but you get what you pay for. The pool is nice, the showers work well, the rooms are clean and the internet is fast. Its in a quieter area a little away from the party areas but I didn't consider this a problem myself.

Disliked: They didn't accept credit card.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet neighborhood, very clean, rooftop pool is awesome

Disliked: The location may be a problem for some ppl. Its fairly close to the bts, but a hassle to walk (can take mototaxi for 15baht).

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vanessa Bennett

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 February 2013 Vanessa would recommend this property

Liked: The pool, and the quiet location.

Disliked: Nothing.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

jena romarate

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 February 2013 jena would recommend this property

Liked: the place is quite far but its welcoming and the staff are great. problem i had with the place is that the night staff speaks minimal english and it took us quite sometime to check in due to language issues but aside from that all in all i would recommend this place. oh and they have a pool. . .

Disliked: jena left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Mubashar Hussain

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 January 2013 Mubashar would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is really friendly the girl on the reception with braces was really helpful.

Disliked: Mubashar left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Isaac Palmer

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 December 2012 Isaac would recommend this property

Liked: It's a brand new building. It is mostly spotless with airconditioning in every room accept the hallways, stairwell and bathrooms. It's very cheap for what you get (although I've sure they will raise the price significantly once all rooms and pool are completed. even though no one is using the 5th floor you can go out onto a really nice deck area that's enclosed with glass and has airconditioning. also that's where you would go to smoke as you can go outside the glassed in area. The bathrooms are hot showers (well one was broken) and very new and flashy. All floors are slick brand new tiles.

Disliked: The staff don't appear to speak english at all. There is still some contruction going on during the day, they are building a swimming pool on the roof and the top 2 floors having been completely finished, also they are still building an elevator. I could not here the contruction only some jackhammering at one point for a little while. All the dorms are on the 2nd and 3rd floors so most of this wouldn't be an issue as all this stuff happens on the 5th and 6th floor. The lift they are building is slightly less than 6 feet tall which mean nearly everyone accept short thais wouldn't be able to fit inside. Very weird because they've obviously spent many millions of USD building this place. The TV in the loungeroom downstairs is tiny with no english channels. It's in a somewhat bad location. its a 20 minute walk to the BTS station and Tesco but if u don't mind risking death motorbike taxis are 15 baht. Wifi reception is very poor on every level accept the ground floor. It's ok for surfing the web but things like skype or youtube are almost impossible above the ground floor.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Samantha Robertson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 November 2012

Liked: Nice air con room for cheap, big beds!

Disliked: The location, no one knew how to get here and it was in the middle of nowhere down small roads! Have to take a moto, tuk tuk wont go here!