We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of THE CITY @ FIFTY (former Madee)

Hostel | 1150/11 Soi Sukhumvit 50, Bangkok (Soi RoemCharoen, Premruethai Village, Soi 6) Bangkok, Thailand 10110

77.8% Overall Rating

23 out of 33 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (06/05/2014)

Patrick Dos Santos Silva thinks…

"Everything is completely organised and so much clean as possible. The staff was kind and very communicative, even though my crew has found difficulties with the language barrier. (English speaking)"

Read all THE CITY @ FIFTY (former Madee) reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Washing machines
  • Gym
  • Bicycle hire
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.54
  • Towel USD 0.62

What's Included

  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bangkok?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bangkok

Erawan House
12.94 USD

Hotel 2 star 75.0% 4 reviews
Hope Land Serviced Apartments
30.82 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Imm Fusion Sukhumvit
16.01 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 82.0% 10 reviews
VX The fifty
7.36 USD

Hostel 89.4% 11 reviews
The Mix Bangkok
12.33 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Chan Cha La 99 Hostel
10.02 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
HI-Sukhumvit
10.79 USD

Hostel 84.1% 464 reviews
Padi Madi Guesthouse
24.65 USD

Guesthouse 76.9% 11 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.8%

Overall Rating

23 out of 33 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'THE CITY @ FIFTY (former Madee)'

Atmosphere
75.2%
Location
55.2%
Facilities
80.0%
Cleanliness
80.8%
Staff
76.0%
Value
88.0%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 27 of 32 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 June 2014

Liked: Nice, clean bedroom with air con.

Disliked: The bathroom wasn't very clean. It was quite hard to find- better directions such as which exit to take from the Skytrain would have been useful. It was about a 20 min walk from the Skytrain.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Patrick Dos Santos Silva

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2014 Patrick would recommend this property

Liked: Everything is completely organised and so much clean as possible. The staff was kind and very communicative, even though my crew has found difficulties with the language barrier. (English speaking)

Disliked: The situation of the speaking of the staff. Sometimes was hard to create an easy communication with them due to the level of English of some people of the staff.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

John witted

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 March 2014 John would recommend this property

Liked: It has a pool and kitchen, it was quite close (10 min walk) to the skytrain and a large tesco lotus. Large night market near the station, which sells food clothes and has a bar. Fridge and very comfortable bed in the double room. We liked it so much we extended or stay.

Disliked: Stone items still had plastic wrapping on them eg fridge and wardbrobe. Rooms not cleaned unless you asked them to even if you put the please clean tag outside your door. They only clean the pool when you ask them to as well, but then they do it straight away. Shower was'nt great either hot or cold.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

suwan janphangsirikul

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 February 2014 suwan would recommend this property

Liked: Clean. safety

Disliked: suwan left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

broderick hughes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 February 2014

Liked: not much

Disliked: whole hostel smelt like plastic very strongly and everything was covered in plastic wrap

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

mr zaid alhakami

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 January 2014 mr zaid would recommend this property

Liked: I like the helpfulness of the staff

Disliked: non

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 December 2013

Liked: it had a pool

Disliked: lockerd where not in the roomes, toilets were leaking and very smelly, no comfortable tv room with dvd player and dvds, no maps og bangkok or information on what there is to do or where to go, was not informed and did not know there was a computer to use or washing machines till i found them on the last day. no sign on main road to help you find the place.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthew Mainwaring

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 September 2013 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: We really enjoyed our stay in The City! The location at first seemed a little out of the way but because the transport links in Bangkok are so easy and cheap, it was very quick to get around! The rooms were clean with very comfy bunk beds and as a group of four we were very happy to have our own private room!! Our room also had air con which was very nice after a humid walk back.The pool on the roof terrace was a very welcome addition to cool off in. The staff were very friendly and helpful and we liked it so much we booked three more nights here!!

Disliked: Nothing major. The only issue some may find is the walk back to the hostel at night because it is through a backstreet residential area. We haven't had any problems though and have found many to be very friendly!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

John eary

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 September 2013 John would recommend this property

Liked: really good rates and a very nice hotel

Disliked: not too much atmosphere

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 August 2013

Liked: Free pool, small exercise room, cheapness, Tesco nearby.

Disliked: It advertises itself as being near the metro, when in fact it's 2km away. Not a big problem though you can take a 15 baht motorcyce taxi ride from the metro.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Israel Rico

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa

28 July 2013 Israel would recommend this property

Liked: The staff who uis in during the day are kind and very very helpful. Price is good and one you know how to arrived the thing goes easier

Disliked: Its very hard to find the place, most of all at nigth and the staff who is working in this schedule does not speak english, but they tried to attend ours demands

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Big, clean rooms. And the pool on the roof!

Disliked: No facilities to cook our own food...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

sara leach

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 April 2013

Liked: It was quiet, very clean and the beds very comfy. Wifi in the common room is very fast. The huge washing machine for 60 baht allowed me to wash the entire contents of my bag and the rooftop pool area is really nice to hang out on. A water filter purifier on the kitchen tap is an added bonus to save the heaps of plastic you sometimes have to use.

Disliked: I found the staff very unhelpful. The lady on the day shift was actually quite grumpy with me all of time and even told my dorm mate that it was fully booked (there were only 3 people staying at the time!) And then tried to charge her double the baht I was paying! And the lady on the night shift speaks zero English. When I couldn't communicate that I needed a moto to take me to the sky train I had to walk the 10 mins with my luggage to the main road in the dark and there was a group of stray dogs barking and acting scary at me. The kitchen is not communal and the bicycle for rent is absolutely not functional. And finally, the location makes you feel a bit stranded. 20 mins walk to the sky train/tesco or you can catch a moto from the main road, about a 10 min walk, for 15 baht.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

david bell

Alone

City break

02 April 2013 david would recommend this property

Liked: The property was very clean and the staff were very helpful. The gym consists of two machines near the roof, but you get what you pay for. The pool is nice, the showers work well, the rooms are clean and the internet is fast. Its in a quieter area a little away from the party areas but I didn't consider this a problem myself.

Disliked: They didn't accept credit card.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet neighborhood, very clean, rooftop pool is awesome

Disliked: The location may be a problem for some ppl. Its fairly close to the bts, but a hassle to walk (can take mototaxi for 15baht).

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vanessa Bennett

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 February 2013 Vanessa would recommend this property

Liked: The pool, and the quiet location.

Disliked: Nothing.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

jena romarate

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 February 2013 jena would recommend this property

Liked: the place is quite far but its welcoming and the staff are great. problem i had with the place is that the night staff speaks minimal english and it took us quite sometime to check in due to language issues but aside from that all in all i would recommend this place. oh and they have a pool. . .

Disliked: jena left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Mubashar Hussain

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 January 2013 Mubashar would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is really friendly the girl on the reception with braces was really helpful.

Disliked: Mubashar left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Isaac Palmer

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 December 2012 Isaac would recommend this property

Liked: It's a brand new building. It is mostly spotless with airconditioning in every room accept the hallways, stairwell and bathrooms. It's very cheap for what you get (although I've sure they will raise the price significantly once all rooms and pool are completed. even though no one is using the 5th floor you can go out onto a really nice deck area that's enclosed with glass and has airconditioning. also that's where you would go to smoke as you can go outside the glassed in area. The bathrooms are hot showers (well one was broken) and very new and flashy. All floors are slick brand new tiles.

Disliked: The staff don't appear to speak english at all. There is still some contruction going on during the day, they are building a swimming pool on the roof and the top 2 floors having been completely finished, also they are still building an elevator. I could not here the contruction only some jackhammering at one point for a little while. All the dorms are on the 2nd and 3rd floors so most of this wouldn't be an issue as all this stuff happens on the 5th and 6th floor. The lift they are building is slightly less than 6 feet tall which mean nearly everyone accept short thais wouldn't be able to fit inside. Very weird because they've obviously spent many millions of USD building this place. The TV in the loungeroom downstairs is tiny with no english channels. It's in a somewhat bad location. its a 20 minute walk to the BTS station and Tesco but if u don't mind risking death motorbike taxis are 15 baht. Wifi reception is very poor on every level accept the ground floor. It's ok for surfing the web but things like skype or youtube are almost impossible above the ground floor.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Samantha Robertson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 November 2012

Liked: Nice air con room for cheap, big beds!

Disliked: The location, no one knew how to get here and it was in the middle of nowhere down small roads! Have to take a moto, tuk tuk wont go here!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rahul Gupta

Alone

Visiting friends or family

25 November 2012 Rahul would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is clean and nice. The staff was really helpful and they also did allow me to check in a bit earlier than the standard time. They have the luggage storage facilities which really helps for the travellers to get around the city and on the way back just pick up the baggage and keep continue the journey.

Disliked: Everything was ok, only the location was hard to find and then you have to spend 15 - 20 baht every time for the bike to get to the near BTS station.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 November 2012

Liked: Es ist alles ganz neu. Es riecht noch nach frischer Farbe. Internet ist umsonst.

Disliked: Es ist nur ein Stockwerk fertig. Dieses ist im dritten Stock. Kein Fahrstuhl. Die Zimmer werden nur einmal vor der Ankunft gesäubert. Auch wenn man länger dort ist. Die Toiletten sind zwar modern aber an Sauberkeit mangelt es gewaltig. Internet gibt es zwar umsonst in allen Zimmern aber man hat nicht überall empfang. Einen eigenen Laptop muss man auch mitnehmen. Den wie im Internet angebotenen Shuttel-Service gibt es auch nicht. Also entweder laufen oder eine spannende Toure mit einen Roller-Taxi. Die Waschmaschine ist wie versprochen da aber um Waschpulver muss man sich selber kümmern. Der Trockner funktioniert gar nicht. Der versprochene Fernseher mit DVD-Player haben wir auch nirgendwo gesehen. Die Besitzer und das Personal sind zwar nett aber sie können überhaupt kein Englisch.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 September 2012

Liked: It was cheap for Bangkok, and the hostel itself was nice. Some of the staff were nice. Free wifi and quiet dorms.

Disliked: It was not kept very clean. The garbage would be overflowing and the bathroom always smelled even though the cleaning lady was always there. I was there for a week and the dorm was never cleaned. The AC gave everyone a cold. The hostel itself is in a very inconvenient location. I read about the golf cart but never saw it or received a ride in it. To get out of the village you need to walk through this winding maze which takes around 10 mins. all the village people will stare at you if you are a farang. It is a hassle, and you can really only leave the hostel once or twice per day, as its too tiring going back and forth. No food or conveniences nearby. Some of the staff were rude and condescending. It had a very cold feeling.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Alistair Le Poer trench

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 June 2012 Alistair would recommend this property

Liked: This looks like a brand new hostel designed by someone who designs hotels. It's very clean, nearly sterile, which goes with it's atmosphere. It's cheap, but that's about it. If you're travelling alone and can afford more, I would look for another place.It has a terrace, basically the concrete roof with no furniture.

Disliked: The location is very bad. You have to get a motor bike to everything. It doesn't have anything close by, that is shops, attractions facilities, nothing. The common room is the lobby with a tv that has bad reception and they don't put the A/C on there so nobody is ever there. Annoying that Hostel bookers said ' 2 bed left' when booking as there doesn't seem to be anyone here! Having said that I have still recommended it because it is cheap and clean....

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2012

Liked: Staff was friendly and helpful. They would also drive you to the nearest metro stop.

Disliked: It was far from everything. It's also difficult to get from public transportation to hostel. Also, not at all practical if you want to go out at night.