HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of HI.Mid Bangkok

Hostel | 481/3, Soi The Brain, Victory Monument, Phayathai Bangkok, Thailand 10400

85.0% Overall Rating

33 out of 37 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/05/2014)

"It's not located in a touristy area, relatively close to the airport train station, the staff is very helpful and nice, there is a nice common room area, the bathrooms are clean and nice, good place to acclimate to…"

Read all HI.Mid Bangkok reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bangkok?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bangkok

Interchange Tower Serviced Apartment
18.74 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Link Corner Hostel Bangkok
10.15 USD

Hostel 81.7% 113 reviews
Grand Alpine Hotel
40.62 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
The Best Bangkok House
14.06 USD

Hotel 2 star 75.5% 7 reviews
Siam Star Hotel
13.27 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Citin Pratunam
21.85 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
A-2 House
17.96 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Boxpackers Hostel
14.06 USD

Hostel 83.4% 5 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.0%

Overall Rating

33 out of 37 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'HI.Mid Bangkok'

Atmosphere
80.0%
Location
83.2%
Facilities
80.8%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
89.6%
Value
78.4%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 33 of 37 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

14 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cleanliness, security and location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's not located in a touristy area, relatively close to the airport train station, the staff is very helpful and nice, there is a nice common room area, the bathrooms are clean and nice, good place to acclimate to Thailand after coming from somewhere totally different like Europe.

Disliked: The atmosphere was not the best, there were not many other travellers there. Although you can see the aspirations of the staff to make the place welcoming, it is rather a place to serve the function of staying one or two nights and then carrying on. The breakfast really is just toast, jam, cornflakes, milk, tea, coffee, bananas.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

broderick hughes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 March 2014

Liked: not much

Disliked: way to many rules no visitors allowed in hostel and bugs crawling around everywhere

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Emily Gaudreau

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2014 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: It was easy to access to transit

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Anh Khuong Tang Nguyen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 January 2014 Anh Khuong would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, near BTS, clean room and shared bathroom, free breakfast (although it just has toast, jam, cereal and milk), quiet, wifi is free and acceptable.

Disliked: The price was a little high

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, clean, modern.

Disliked: Probably that the stairs were really steep but that's only a slight complaint and doesn't affect your stay that much.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was great. Incredibly clean bathrooms, the privacy curtain was nice. Free towel and good wifi. Beautiful common area, very zen like upstairs.

Disliked: Not many people socializing. No fault of the hostel, of course!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

weethara nusen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 April 2013 weethara would recommend this property

Liked: If you looking for hostel near victory monument BTS , I definitely recommend this Hostel. It's value money if compare with other hostel there! . When you check in , you will receive key card ,wifi password ,towel and bed sheet. For breakfast , it's only milk ,coffee ,cereal and fruit.

Disliked: weethara left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I only booked one night here because this was my first hostel and I wanted to test it out, and I am staying another two nights! I took public transportation to get here (105 baht total - the confirmation email that you get says 45baht for the air rail but it is 90.) and it was fairly easy to find. Bring the map with you, you will need it in case you get turned around the wrong way at the victory monument.

Disliked: I wish the lockers were bigger...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andy Bouchier

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 March 2013 Andy would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean hostel. I really liked that every bed had a full curtain so you can have a lot of privacy. I had no idea of the number of people in my dorm. Perfect place if you want peace and quiet. The breakfast is really descent and with electronic key cards and a storage locker at the end of your bed made feel like it is extremely safe. I would definitely come here if i needed to fly out of bkk as it is so close to the train.

Disliked: The location is not near a tourist area however you can easily take a train.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 February 2013

Liked: Location

Disliked: Rooms had a smell

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

pingping yu

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

20 February 2013 pingping would recommend this property

Liked: Very new ,clean,quite. Cool air-condition. Good location(near BTS, easy to take mini van to the cities/towns near Bangkok ). Very helpful staff . There are many local street stands outside the hostel.

Disliked: pingping left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Helen LEE

As a family with children

Family Holiday

19 February 2013 Helen would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and wifi and breakfast. Value for money.

Disliked: quite a walk from Victory BTS. . . especially if you have lugguage.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Kai McCarthy

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 February 2013 Kai would recommend this property

Liked: This place was a good place to explore Bangkok from the rooms were nice and clean with all that you needed. Very near to the Skytrain which is also very good. People who work there are friendly and helpful.

Disliked: BUT BE CAREFUL!! We booked our trip to Seim Reap through the agency they recommended. DONT book with Theo Express Travel Service!!! This is what happend to us: The Trip from Bangkok to Siem Riep started at 7 o`clock just as you said...but after taking us from the hostel the mini Bus went for a 2.5 hours trip around bankok to pick up only at two different spots besides ours everyone so we lost loads of time. When we got near to the border we applyed for our visas which was now 1300 Baht insted of the 600-800 as they said!!! Before the border the guide told us to get some money from the atm and change it comision free after the border...this worked out to loose us 3 over 100dollars!!!We didn`t inform ourselves about the going rate which was a mistake. The guide really gave the feeling of beeing helpful and kind. Always warninng people to take care of their belongings. So we kind of trusted him...which was a bit naive. Then insted of the taxi we paid, we got a mini Van that didn`t bring us to the hostel but dropped us of for a tuktuk ride which apparently was paid for. The tuktuk driver drove 200meters and then asked if we wanted a tour with him the next day. When we said we already had something organised he told us to get out or pay 30000riel which is 3 times of the normal fare!!!Being in a country for the first time and beeing very tired and hungry we were a bit stunned. Also we had a girl in our Bus who paid 850Baht for the same service that we paid 1350 Baht per Person!! We lost over 200dollars just because of the agency!!!!!! We hope you don`t make the same mistake.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Louise Goodman

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 January 2013 Louise would recommend this property

Liked: Central location, great food in the area, very comfortable bed, good washing machines, safe in room for valuables, breakfast provided, has a lift, quiet park nearby.

Disliked: Only minor downside is noise from traffic but this is what you get in a central location.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

13 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner definitely thought everything through very properly. Everybody in the dorm has his own compartment with locker, hanger, light, plugs, and curtain. Everything appears really clean, there are enough toilets and showers. The dorm is with 8 beds not overcrowded.

Disliked: only minor things were not so good: the doors make a "doodeloo"-sound everytime they open which can be annoying at night and the windows have small gabs so that moskitoes could come in (the AC is only on at night)

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2013

Liked: It is a really nice hostel, more a hotel. Beautiful furniture, everything new and exclusive. The staff is very very friendly and helpful and the rooms are cleaned every day if you want it.

Disliked: No value for money - around 40 US$ per night for a standard room without TV is just too much and more a hotel price than a hostel price. So I would not recommend the hostel for budget travellers. We wanted a nice room for New Year and were a little bit deceived that it was quite small and noisy (we booked a Deluxe, but were told that they just call it "Deluxe" on Hostelbookers and that we have a standard room). But except the price, there is nothing negative to tell about HI.Mid Bangkok.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

JI YU

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 October 2012 JI would recommend this property

Liked: very comfortable place, helpful staff, good location (near the bts and bus stations), dorms are clean.

Disliked: a little expensive than other YH in Bongkok

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Grace Mak

Alone

City break
Relaxation/spa
Shopping

14 October 2012 Grace would recommend this property

Liked: Oh so convenience, easy to access to and from airport and some of the outskirt area of Bangkok by mini van. The 10 bedded female dorm was very comfortable, every bed has a curtain which gave some privacy, however, bed lamp was weak for reading. Female bathroom was always clean, Friendly staff and cleaner. I would say this is one of the best 10- bedded dorm I had stay in SE Asia.

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Song Ren Yeo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 September 2012 Song Ren would recommend this property

Liked: Very peaceful and clean. The toilet was very clean! Staff are friendly and helpful. They speak good basic English too! It's very near to Victory Monument train station. Very convenient to travel around the city area. Breakfast is acceptable considering the the price. Very cheap too!

Disliked: Song Ren left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: What I liked abouth this hostel was the beds. Something as simple as a curtain in front of the bed gives the feeling of privacy even though your in a dorm. They have free and decent internet. I also liked that the breakfast started so early. I got up at 6 and still got food. The location is also quite good, easy to find from the airport. cool earea with a small streetmarked close by, and all sorts of food served on the streets.

Disliked: What I didnt like abouth this hostel is quite alot. First of all the english of the people who worked there is so so... And it seems like the reason why its so expensive is because almost nobody lives there, and they need to pull as much money from the few guest as they can. Water costs, lockers costs, washing costs and so on. The breakfast is also really low standard. Just some milkwhite bread and suggary jam. There is no kitchen for cooking (but a frige). If you smoke, like me, smoking is only in the tinytiny outside area... and if it rains.. like everyday in aug-oct.. no smoking for U... I would recomend this hostel for one thing: SLEEPING! its wonderfully quiet and you have the curtains which gives you your own little room in the room. Kinda like tenting. Good mattresses and pillows. And plenty of good bathrooms.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Takeshi Wada

Alone

Business / conference

04 September 2012 Takeshi would recommend this property

Liked: The staffs are very kind and helpful. very clean, I like the lounge space half up stairs.

Disliked: Takeshi left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

02 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I love this hostel. friendly staff and nice. very informative. good location

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

22 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, Personal, Country!

Disliked: A little expensive compared to other hostels in Thailand