HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Siam Journey Guesthouse

Hostel | 164/68 Soi Nom Chit, Phaya Tha, Bangkok, Thailand 10400

93.3% Overall Rating

52 out of 53 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/04/2014)

"- location is really good - staff is very helpfull and sometimes goes out with the people"

Read all Siam Journey Guesthouse reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bangkok?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bangkok

The Best Bangkok House
13.94 USD

Hotel 2 star 75.5% 7 reviews
Boxpackers Hostel
15.49 USD

Hostel 88.6% 3 reviews
Prince House
15.49 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
A-2 House
17.82 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Grand Alpine Hotel
18.24 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Citin Pratunam
20.13 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Lub d Bangkok - Siam Square
16.11 USD

Hostel 91.3% 174 reviews
Siam Star Hotel
13.17 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.3%

Overall Rating

52 out of 53 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Siam Journey Guesthouse'

Atmosphere
92.8%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
88.0%
Cleanliness
95.2%
Staff
96.8%
Value
92.0%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 48 of 53 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - location is really good - staff is very helpfull and sometimes goes out with the people

Disliked: - bunk beds are a bit unstable meaning you feel every tiny little movement of the other person. also they dont have a bound so if you are on the top bed things can just fall of the bed. - ac is switched of during the day so it is very hot in the rooms. wanted to stay in bed for one day as i didnt feel well but was just not possible - bathroom on each floor would be nice

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carrie Greif

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2014 Carrie would recommend this property

Liked: Wo, this hostel is awesome. Great close party vibes. Not too far from Koh San. Next to the airport line. Incredibly helpful. Stay here.

Disliked: Nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

camila almeida

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2014 camila would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is very friendly and helpful, the common area is small but cosy and inviting , you can have a good chat with other travellers and gather lots of useful information . I also liked the air cond in the bedroom and lounge

Disliked: There was no kitchen facilities .

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christian Keune

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 March 2014 Christian would recommend this property

Liked: Good rooms, good blankets, friendly people, great bathrooms.

Disliked: Great place, clean and friendly.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Work / volunteering

28 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I like everything

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Robert Toney

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 February 2014

Liked: The bunkbeds were nice - although on the second floor.

Disliked: The location - impossible to find - and the map was very wrong.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Roberts

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 February 2014 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. So friendly and fun, great for meeting people and Food Street round the corner.

Disliked: Laura left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

02 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the atmosphere created by the staff and fellow travelers -- helpful, friendly, respectful. Always looked forward to returning "home" to Siam Journey after each day out exploring. The location was perfect! So easy to get to from the airport, I loved being in a non-touristy Thai neighborhood, and the SkyTrain station is just a minute away. The hostel was really clean. The cleanest-feeling hostel showers I've ever seen, due to the non-tile quick-drying floors. A whole shelf of travel books, and an even bigger shelf of novels to borrow.

Disliked: There was not much to the kitchen apart from the fridge and hot water kettle (No stove, microwave, sink was in adjacent bathroom/shower space). If I were in any other country this may have been a problem HOWEVER, due to Thailand's delicious and cheap food, I ate out every day so there's no need to cook.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christopher Dore

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 December 2013 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: Great people (staff and guests), good beds and a good location

Disliked: Nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: ant problems

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sam Barham

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 November 2013 Sam would recommend this property

Liked: Siam Journey is fantastic, so good that I think I've stayed over a month here on and off during my travels. The place is perfect to meet new people, and it's in a fantastic part of town. Nice and quiet, great food, close to the airport link and transfer connections and only a 60 Baht cab away from Khaosan. Stay here and see the real side of Bangkok.

Disliked: Sam left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adam Peardon

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 October 2013 Adam would recommend this property

Liked: Probably the best small hostel we've stayed in. Comfy beds, great common area, nice vibe. Amazing street food just round the corner. Nestled in a Soi in a real Thai neighbourhood, nothing like Khoa San road!. The hostel organise nights out if you want a bit more action. This is a more authentic side to Bangkok!!

Disliked: Adam left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah McKenna

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 September 2013 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Really small and homely place

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sophie Hayman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 September 2013 Sophie would recommend this property

Liked: LOVED this hostel. location was fantastic, right in the middle of a proper Thai community.. really made it a real Bangkok experience! Staff were also great! The only place I'd stay in Bangkok! :)

Disliked: Sophie left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are simply fantastic. It is in a great area away from tourist traps, and the food in the neighbourhood is phenomenal. Because it's small, it's very easy to meet people. I booked two nights and ended up staying almost two weeks.

Disliked: Nothing at all.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yee Kai Poo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 July 2013 Yee Kai would recommend this property

Liked: Right in the neighbourhood of Bangkok, an excellent introduction to Bangkok, and very accessible to many places. You get really good food in the area, the authentic local dishes! Shane is incredibly helpful, and everyone's lovely and I'll be returning to this place as soon as I can!

Disliked: None

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Cornforth

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2013 David would recommend this property

Liked: Whatever you do, don't go and buy dinner for Shane and Nathan from the local street market - you'll just inevitably get it wrong no matter how hard you try :-) As for the hostel - really lovely place to stay if you ever find yourself in Bangkok. Great location - really close to Airport Link, BTS, MBK shopping mall - and really vibrant food market just around the corner as mentioned above. Everyone's really friendly and helpful… plenty of activities including family-style meals, nights out, free pizza bars etc and the guys are always willing to recommend stuff to do in the city. Great hostel, you'll meet lots of friendly folks - would highly recommend!

Disliked: David left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Zoe Wilby

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 July 2013 Zoe would recommend this property

Liked: Directions were spot on, they even sent a short video detailing exactly how to get there. Small and cosy guesthouse, the most sociablehostel I've stayed in whilst in Bangkok. The staff have loads of ideas on what to do in Bangkok and there is a daily board, telling you what is happening in the city on that day. The topsheets on the bed are the best I have experienced in S E Asia so far. You are also welcome to use the fridge and make tea and coffee.

Disliked: Bunk bed height was a little small. Couldn't sit up on the bottom bunk - thats all.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location was near to bts stations. guesthouse was in the smaller alleys, away from the main road and hence, quiet and peaceful.

Disliked: nil

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is the best. Short walk from the Subarnabhumi Airport Rail Link; direct bus (#29) to Don Mueng Airport and Hua Lamphong Rail Station, adjacent to BTS staton Ratchachewi, short walk to the Saen Saep Boat pier. The AC is a life saver in the oppresive July heat in Bangkok. I loved the private lights and wall plugs for each bed; you don't have to share a cell phone charging connection with others. The place is very clean and they provide freshly laundered sheets and towels. Cheap roadside diners around. The staff is friendly and I'll come stay here again.

Disliked: There is a sign saying no noise after 12 midnight, but I guess sometimes the rules are ignored. Another thing that can help is a handout of the key bus/train/boat routes - the staff did not know about how to get to Tailing Chan Floating Market (Bus #59 from the corner), but I can't blame him because there are over 500 buses in Bangkok. A very basic breakfast (e.g., toast) will be nice too.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Maria Abdollahi

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2013 Maria would recommend this property

Liked: Easy location to walk to, though directions were a bit off. Facilities ok, helpful staff.

Disliked: Reception was often vacant, had to wait and phone to get in (no point emailing me night before arrival, I was in plane)

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Max Ewing

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2013 Max would recommend this property

Liked: Would stay at this place every time I'm in BKK. The staff are absolute gents and the location is virtually unbeatable. Close to BTS, plenty of good places to eat and express boats. Met some really cool people while staying here.

Disliked: Max left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

30 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to the BTS but in a quiet location and interesting little neighborhood. Very clean, well-run, great staff, close-knit feel about the place. Very comfortable place to be and a great place to start your adventure in Bangkok

Disliked: The bunkbeds could be a bit more solid. Maybe use wood instead of cheap metal? They squeak when you move...not a big deal at all but something that could be improved.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tara Francolini

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 June 2013 Tara would recommend this property

Liked: loved this place. i seriously considered skipping my flight to hanoi to stay a few more nights. really chill, friendly staff that in turn seems to attract great people. awesome location in a thai neighborhood, super close to bts which makes exploring bangkok easy. if you want to rage with buckets and khao san road folks, it's not the place for you, but if you're keen for a few beers, cards & convo then look no further. will definitely stay here if i'm in bangkok again.

Disliked: nada

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andres Calderon

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

06 June 2013 Andres would recommend this property

Liked: Siam Journey is by far the best hostal I've been in my whole trip, I met incredible people. Everytime I have to come back to Bangkok, always stay there! The staff is so nice, and helpful, showing you lots of things to do... And the location near the BTS is just perfect.

Disliked: nothing