HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Sam Sen Sam Place

Guesthouse | 48 Samsen Road, Soi Samsen 3, Banglampoo, Bangkok, Thailand .

87.1% Overall Rating

53 out of 56 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/07/2014)

Sarah Pesout thinks…

"Very clean, our room had AC which was key. There was a locker for our valuables too."

Read all Sam Sen Sam Place reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Newspapers
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bangkok?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bangkok

Penpark Place
8.47 USD

Guesthouse 85.5% 181 reviews
Khaosan Baan Thai
7.24 USD

Hostel 93.1% 328 reviews
Born Free Hostel
7.89 USD

Hostel 97.3% 225 reviews
Smile Buri House
12.33 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Khaosan Immjai
9.24 USD

Hostel 94.6% 70 reviews
Thaicozy House
12.71 USD

Hostel 79.5% 37 reviews
Roof View Place
12.33 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.9% 438 reviews
Back Home Backpackers
9.24 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.1%

Overall Rating

53 out of 56 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Sam Sen Sam Place'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
81.6%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
92.0%
Value
83.2%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 45 of 55 reviews Previous   1 | 2
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Nicola Sharp

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

31 August 2012 Nicola would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, welcoming staff that are happy to help.

Disliked: Nicola left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dominic Stockdale

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 August 2012 Dominic would recommend this property

Liked: A 5-10 minute walk from the hustle and bustle of khao san road. In a nice quieter location. Nice guesthouse with clean rooms and shower/toilet areas. The staff were all very helpful. We lost our bankcard on our first night there. The staff were very accomadating and let us staff on extra nights in a different room. Also Lek at reception was a lifesaver helping us eventually get our card back. All the rooms were clean, with air con and TV with some english channels. Free breakfast in the morning.

Disliked: Nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jenni blady

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2012 jenni would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and the staff was very helpful. Free breakfast was great and filling. Although this wasn't exactly on the main street, it was walking distance from everything and gave you the privacy and quiet that you needed. SO much better than staying on ko san road

Disliked: There were no private bathrooms.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Scott OBrien

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 July 2012 Scott would recommend this property

Liked: Thought staff were really great and helpful. Nice rooms a little small but really clean..we were offered air-con for a small extra price. We would definitely stay again..

Disliked: Scott left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Colpitts

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 June 2012 David would recommend this property

Liked: The area was nice and quiet but only a 3 minute walk away from the main streets which was great

Disliked: Nothing, it's well run and kept tidy. The staff are friendly too.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Alison Vowles

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 May 2012 Alison would recommend this property

Liked: Loved this accommodation so much. The staff are so friendly and helpful and are always willing to do anything they can to bring you whatever you would like/need. I've been backpacking in hostels for 3 months and all I wanted was a room to myself for a change. I spent the equivalent of only £20 for a double room, with air con, a tv, and a huge double bed! The location is great too - it's about 5-10 min walk from Khoa San Road, on a quiet street so there is no massive disturbance at night but if I want to go out then I can and it's an easy walk back. There is a free breakfast every day too :) Also lots of nice touches for example in reception they have 6 world clocks showing what time it is in each country. Little things but it makes it feel more welcome. Would definitely recommend!

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely hostel with very friendly staff who are always happy to help you. Rooms were nice with clean showers, etc. Was a ideal location for us, close to Koasan Rd (5min walk) but quiet at night. Would defiantly recommend to stay here. If we come back we will for sure!

Disliked: Cant think of any dislikes...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andreas Mueller

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

31 March 2012 Andreas would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very helpful when we wanted to go somewhere. The gave us hints and tipps to do and not to do. They were also very friendly. It was quiet and clean in the rooms. You are very close to Khao San Rd and the Kings Palace.

Disliked: Everything was quiet perfect. One little thing, it has cable TV in the rooms, so you have a very limited choice of channels. Most of the people do not mind, but when you ve been on a long journey before, I just wanted to come home, lay down in my bed and watch some TV. But there was nothing, I could watch. Like I told, nothing the most of travellers really mind. Its not important, but the only thing, I disliked.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

PABLO DAVID TOLEDO

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 March 2012 PABLO DAVID would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean room, helpfull and kind staff, nice bathrooms and quiet environment.

Disliked: An air conditioner would make it perfect.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

shannon Fernandez

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 March 2012 shannon would recommend this property

Liked: I wish i had booked a room with AC but that was my fault, it was a great place! It was clean, staff was friendly ,location was great and they even had cheap beer!

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

susie moore

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

16 March 2012 susie would recommend this property

Liked: this is our 2nd time staying here, its lovely and quiet and a really pretty place but only 10 min walk to khao san road.

Disliked: susie left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Carla Robertson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 March 2012 Carla would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff! Location was far enough away from Khaosan, but close enough to walk to check out the nightlife

Disliked: Fan room was WARM!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kirsty Rice

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 February 2012 Kirsty would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice and clean, close enough to the action whilst far enough away to get a good nights sleep. Excellent free breakfast.

Disliked: Nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Dmitrijs Jankovskis

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

08 February 2012 Dmitrijs would recommend this property

Liked: It is clean; It is located in the center, 5 min. walk to Khaosan Road and 15 min. to the Grand Palace. Wi-Fi speed is super extra mega high! All detailed info on tours you can get there. + maps, all the info about the city and prices. Breakfast is good! Everyone is friendly and helpful ! Smile all the time :)))

Disliked: Dmitrijs left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff

Disliked: Slightly expensive

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

27 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The price includes breakfast and Wi-Fi which works well, the staff are friendly and the common area is nice to chill out in. The shared bathrooms are clean and there are enough toilets/ showers to avoid queuing. Sam Sen is a great place to stay away from the main tourist area at Khao San Road but still close enough to walk (or pay 40 baht for a taxi if you're feeling lazy!) It's really quiet at night too. The staff at Sam Sen Sam Place were always happy for us to leave our bags and it felt very safe. Plus they have a self service washing machine which is useful!

Disliked: We stayed twice - first time got the twin room and it was very small and basic, a bit small for the price when compared to other guesthouses but I think the overall feel of the place made up for it. Second room, a shared bathroom double, was more nicely done up. You can hear people walking above you, and the walls are thin, but luckily people who stay here don't seem to make too much noise.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff - helpful with maps, language - anything I asked for really. Very quiet even though only 5-10 mins from Kho san road. Really great find and will stay there when back in Bangkok later if they have space. V highly recommended.

Disliked: Nothing really

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good value for money. Choice of free breakfasts. Accommodating staff when we arrived late at night from airport. Free wifi

Disliked: Not very good for transport as ferry pier out of action. (jan 2012). Wifi only in reception area

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Leor Milshtein

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 December 2011 Leor would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was really friendly and helpful. It was about a 10 minute walk from Khao San Road, which, in my opinion, is a good thing. This hostel is just close enough to walk, but away from the craziness and noise. There is a local bus stop just down the street as well. The breakfast was small, but nice...and free!

Disliked: Leor left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

matt skinner

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 November 2011 matt would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the city centre, perfect for a place to stay without the noise from the party centre. Staff were incredibly helpful, paid for our taxi when we did not have the change to do so, and but this onto our bill that we paid the next day, this saved us a lot of hassle and was greatly appreciated. The night man's english is a little strained, however the ladies during the day are quite the opposite.

Disliked: Only minus was the fact that there was no kitchen which meant that there was no free coffee/toast available. However this was a small issue and overall I loved the place. There is free wi-fi but internet on their computers does cost, however the small amount of 30baht per hour is neglicable.