HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Asok Montri Hostel

Hostel | 16/19 Soi Sukhumvit 19, Sukhumvit Rd., Klongtoey Nua, Wattana, Bangkok, Thailand 10110

85.6% Overall Rating

48 out of 52 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (29/04/2014)

Robert Jackson thinks…

"Great location near to soi 11 bars and some other clubs nearby. Quiet so I got a good sleep and the hostel staff were really helpful. Free drinking water and great DVD collection with TV to chill out…"

Read all Asok Montri Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bangkok?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bangkok

Ruamchitt Plaza Hotel
24.65 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
3 Howw Hostel@Sukhumvit21
14.48 USD

Hostel 96.2% 3 reviews
The Blocks Hostel
10.79 USD

Hostel 96.4% 4 reviews
Check Inn Phromphong
24.65 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Royal President
40.04 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
President Park
41.59 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Salil Hotel Sukhumvit Soi 8
23.11 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Salil Hotel Sukhumvit - Soi Thonglor 1
36.21 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.6%

Overall Rating

48 out of 52 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Asok Montri Hostel'

Atmosphere
77.6%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
84.8%
Cleanliness
76.8%
Staff
90.4%
Value
83.2%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 47 of 50 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robert Jackson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 April 2014 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: Great location near to soi 11 bars and some other clubs nearby. Quiet so I got a good sleep and the hostel staff were really helpful. Free drinking water and great DVD collection with TV to chill out on the sofa and watch and amazing value.

Disliked: Robert left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Daniele Besana

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 April 2014

Liked: Location is excellent and the dorms have only 4 beds. Good common area and nice to have breakfast included.

Disliked: The bathrooms are really basic and mostly broken.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Brandon Magnuson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 February 2014 Brandon would recommend this property

Liked: Really close to two metro lines

Disliked: Shower-toilet combinations mean you will have wet feet when after going to the bathroom.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

01 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is great, next to Terminal 21 shopping mall and the BTS station. Dorm room is not bad, bed is REALLY hard, so if you have a bad back you may wish to reconsider. Wifi is fast-ish (12Mbps), Security is good and staff really helpful. Free cold water and washing facilities a bonus for you unwashed backpackers out there.

Disliked: Nowt much really, probably initially hard to find if you're trying to come by taxi - print a screenshot map

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Natalia Marczewska

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

26 January 2014 Natalia would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, minutes walk from BTS so very easy to get to the airport and Ekamai bus station (for cheap early buses to Cambodian border). Rooms very clean, bed comfortable and staff nice. There's one OK pc for communal use as well as fridge and kettle/tea. I had to leave very early in the morning and it was no problem.

Disliked: There never seemed to be toilet paper in the toilet and the showers were not very clean although the floor is always wet and as you are asked to take off your shoes at the door, you could end up stepping into water in the bathroom so bring flipflops or slippers.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is really close next to Asok/ Sukhumvit stations.

Disliked: The area around is more for the so called "sex tourists". The showers are not very clean and the floor is always wet, so since you are asked not to wear any shoes inside it is not convenient to step in wet each time you use the bathroom. There is construction nearby, so it is a bit loud. The staff was not giving many tips about sights in Bangkok. The bed in the double room was very hard, almost like a floor.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Repainting the wall in bedroom

Disliked: Room is so small,smell bed.bathroom is old and dirty.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice and clean room

Disliked: it was far from the main street but the area where it is located is also pretty cool

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

XINXIN LIANG

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 June 2013

Liked: the transpotation is convenient

Disliked: many antsin my room

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ryan Hamilton

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 May 2013 Ryan would recommend this property

Liked: Location is minutes from the Train. cost me 70baht from Don Mueng Airport to the Hostel Via Bus/Train. Cleanest hostel Ive stayed at as they have a policy of No shoes inside. free basic breakfast of Toast, tea & Coffee. All rooms have big lockers and air con. Would recommend to anybody.

Disliked: Ryan left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Andriy Bahlay

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 April 2013 Andriy would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed here twice during our 3.5 month journey around South-East Asia. Everything is absolutely great: location (close to BTS), friendly staff, clean rooms, wi-fi, cinema corner, breakfast, price, overall atmosphere! The owner was incredibly friendly and helpful, helped us with touristic places in Bangkok and with hints how to get to Cambodia. Would definitely come back again!

Disliked: Toilets were relatively old.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

24 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable beds and great location!! The staff is friendly and the breakfast is nice

Disliked: There are so many mosquitos in the common room. Also the toilets are often dirty.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Nick Rutten

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 April 2013 Nick would recommend this property

Liked: Asok Montri has a very good location, if you're looking for something else than Khao San Road. Staff is super friendly. Beds are comfortable, Breakfast is simple but sufficient.

Disliked: The toilets are disgusting. We stayed on three seperate occasions with Asok Montri because we love the location and the rooms. But the bathrooms and toilets need more cleaning. The cleaning lady cleans them every morning but since there are only three toilets for the whole hostel, they really need more cleaning. Also please fix all of the broken toilet seats.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were very helpful. Good location very close to BTS.

Disliked: The bathrooms were not clean. The toilet seats were all broken. Some of the bathrooms were missing toilet paper. Also, the bed was very hard and uncomfortable.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location can't be beat. The place is functional and has free breakfast and cold water. Nearby Terminal 21 shopping mall is good for cheap food court food and fancy Japanese space toilets.

Disliked: Felt a bit cramped and the one of the toilets kept getting plugged up. However, you can just use fancy Japanese space toilets in nearby Terminal 21 shopping mall.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Sailors

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 March 2013 David would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very friendly & helpful with directions, recommendations and where to go to get specific things. The hostel was clean, hot showers, wifi, small breakfast, use of refrigerator, baggage storage, laundry, etc

Disliked: Really there was nothing I disliked.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

JUNKANG GUO

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping

14 March 2013 JUNKANG would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is a kind women.she is friendly and warmful.I

Disliked: JUNKANG left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hotel is located in the new part of the town around big new buildings, but very quiet. It is easy to go there because it is very closed to the metro and the sky train. If you do not want to be in the backpacker area it is perfect located to discover the city. We had a room without window and it was a small room but ok for the money. Staff is very friendly and helpful. There is a shopping center 2min away where you can eat for less than 50B.

Disliked: Room was a little bit small and it was a bit loud because reception with lounge is closed to the rooms and other people talked lould until late.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

28 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The property was good in every thing. It is located in the right area to roam around Bangkok. Very near to bus station, metro and sky train. Staffs were very good friendly. Free breakfast was value add to this property. Nice rooms and dorms. Totally nice place to stay for an affordable price.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sonja Risa

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 January 2013 Sonja would recommend this property

Liked: The location is very good, couple of minutes from the skyrail, restaurants and attractions. The hostel is located off soi 19 in a side alley, so very quiet. The hostel security is very good and the staff are very friendly and helpful. We booked a private room with bathroom, the room is basic and very spacious. I would recommend this hostel. It's not a party hostel, so if your looking for this you'd be better off looking for a different hostel.

Disliked: Sonja left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Yick Hay Chan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 January 2013

Liked: The location is awesome.

Disliked: When I first arrived from Siem Reap, I did not have a lot of Thai Bath on me. I checked in with the reception and the staff point her finger at the sign says "Please settle payment before proceed" and she said there is a currency exhange at the corner of the street. I asked if I can put my heavy luggage into my room so that I can go to the currency exchange where my friend recommended (better rate). She refused to give me the key and I took out all the Thai Bath I have on my body and it was around 1000.00 Bath. She said it's company policy and she is one of the shareholders of the hostel. Afterwards, she told me that I only have to pay 200.00 Bath for deposit and I was so pissed because she made the whole situation so hard for me. NEVER join the local tour because I got scammed. I paid 2200.00 Bath for the (Floating market tour + Tiger temple visit) and the written schedule says the tour starts at 06:20 ends at 19:20 and I thought it was ok. Here's what happened at the day: The driver picked me up at 06:20 and then pick up other travelers. Then, it took about 1.5 hours driver and we arrived the elephant farm. We either pay by ourselves to take an elephant ride or we wait for the elephant riders for around 40 mins. Afterwards, we arrived the snake farm where we have to either pay 250.00 Bath or we wait for the others for 40 mins. Finally, we arrived the Floating market and the tour guide made us pay EXTRA 150.00 Bath for long tail boat rental. We spent about 1 hour on the water and we had lunch and walk around the market for 30 mins. At this point, the tour guide told us that we will be joining different minibus, depending on our tour (Tiger temple, Rose Garden, Crocodile Farm, etc.) At around 2pm, I have arrived the floating restaurant and had a buffet and it was not bad. After about 1 hour and 45 mins, we finally arrived the Tiger temple. The tour guide said, "Please come back to the bus at 4pm or you will have to find your way back to bangkok" (Keep in mind that we are in a rural area, 3 hours of driving from Bangkok). I asked the tour guide nicely, "hi, I am just wondering how come I am visiting the Elephant farm and the Snake farm this morning?" She replied with a hostile voice, "This is a joined tour, if you don't like it, join private tours" It took a while for us to walk to the place there the tigers are and we all have to lined up for 30 mins and eventually, the staff took my iphone and my camera. They took some pics with me and the tigers (took about 10 mins in total). Before hopping onto the bus, I asked the tour guide nicely, "Do you have a business card I could get?" She replied, "NO! we are all sub-agent and my job is to take you to the tiger temple, if you have problems with this morning, talk to your morning tour guide, not me" I asked if she has the contact method of the morning tour guide and she just shaked her head. After talking to two of the Americans and other Indians travelers and I found out everyone are not satisfied with the arrangement. The Americans were told the journey take about 20 mins and they will get back to hostel at 17:30. However, the tour guide said it takes around 3 hours to get back to Bangkok. The American is a student and got homework due the other day and the tour guide said, "just sleep on the bus!" The information is misleading, before I joined this tour, I asked the reception lady if I can hang out with the tigers for a bit and she said yes, that's why I joined this tour. I ended up paying lots of money, spent whole day and only visited the floating market for around one and a half hour and the tiger temple for around 15 mins. Do NOT join any tours, those are ripped off!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good and cheap place to be near the Metro and Skytrain!

Disliked: -nothing-

68.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

JUNG JUNG CHANG

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

31 December 2012 JUNG JUNG would recommend this property

Liked: the location is very good

Disliked: the toilet is not that clean and is old and poor inside

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Trinh Ho

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday

26 December 2012 Trinh would recommend this property

Liked: Location, 2 min walk to the bts sky train and mtr station. It was safe and clean, spotless. Staff was very friendly. The best host i stayed at in Thailand, One of the best place i ever stayed at. I would stay here again when i come back to bkk.

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location is the best for this hostel. services was great too....i only give my clothes in the ;mrning before going to ayutthaya, and when i came back during the night, my clothes was clean, dry :) there is a free breakfast, that i didn't able to have because of ;y flight, but i thought it was a good idea to have a free breakfast

Disliked: my single room was a little tiny and it seemed not very clean.....it was not dirty but not very clean (and sufficient for just one night) toilet seat wasn't fixed on the toilet