HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Smile Society

Hostel | 130/3-4, Silom 6, Bangkok, Thailand 10150

97.3% Overall Rating

295 out of 301 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/07/2014)

"The staff are very froendlier and it's a great place to meet people if you are travelling alone. The location is great and it is very easy to get around."

Read all Smile Society reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

**The Reception closes 8pm. Pls email the Smile Society if you arrive later**

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bangkok?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bangkok

Orchid Hostel
7.53 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Thrive The Hostel: Patpong by The Belle
9.19 USD

Hostel 85.7% 3 reviews
The Blast Silom Hostel
10.98 USD

Hostel 74.3% 3 reviews
Lub d Bangkok - Silom
13.80 USD

Hostel 91.1% 342 reviews
Sunflower Place - Silom
13.49 USD

Hostel 91.7% 89 reviews
Glitz Bangkok
25.88 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
13 Coins Surawongse
17.25 USD

Hotel 3 star 76.2% 3 reviews
We Bangkok
10.98 USD

Hostel 91.5% 129 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
97.3%

Overall Rating

295 out of 301 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Smile Society'

Atmosphere
93.6%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
96.0%
Cleanliness
99.2%
Staff
97.6%
Value
99.2%
Safety
99.2%
Refine your results Showing 275 of 298 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are very froendlier and it's a great place to meet people if you are travelling alone. The location is great and it is very easy to get around.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was so clean!! Bathrooms and bedrooms were spotless. The owner was also very friendly - she had lots of advice and helped organise tours. She even provided us with a take away breakfast to take on a tour when we had to leave very early in the morning. Location was also great.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location! Wonderful, friendly helpful staff! Highly recommend!!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

JIE ZHANG

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2014 JIE would recommend this property

Liked: Everything: the most friendly host lady B i have ever met in a hostel, the best room wardrobe, huge bathrooms and a nice environment. The host lady B is warm and helpful, and offer vey useful information. It is the best hostel where i have ever been!

Disliked: Nothing: I like it all!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Luke Hodgkinson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 June 2014 Luke would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful lady at front desk, Bi, who is very approachable and keen to help. Great common room and really friendly guests. I'm not particularly social but both nights had different groups to go out with and had a great time. Dorm rooms very nice and clean.

Disliked: The doors to the dorm rooms are a little loud and I found it impossible to enter or exit without creating a real racked that must have woken a few people up.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was good. Clean as hell, very safe with key cards and big lockers, big rooms, comfterble and solid beds, friendly and helpfull staff, air condition, nice common area with sofa, tv and computers for free use, free unlimited wifi on all floors, good location and a very quiet hostel.

Disliked: Only small things. There's only one electrical plug pr person and it only work when you have your key card in the thingy to get power, so if you have more than one thing to recharge, invest in a extension cord. They are a bit strict with rules would some say, and for the party animals this is defenitely not party hostel. The laundry service is to expensive, especially if you don't have a lot to wash!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

tony cheng

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 June 2014 tony would recommend this property

Liked: nice overall place to stay. welcoming staff

Disliked: tony left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very safe! Easy location

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, clean rooms and facilities, quiet nights, rooms with air con.

Disliked: Breakfast is ok but not overwhelming.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent facilities - TV, two computers, shampoo/soap and breakfast were all provided.There was a cozy common room where it was easy to meet people. The dorms and toilets were very clean. The owner was so friendly and helpful and was always willing to help us out to ensure that we had a great stay. Will definitely be staying again in this hostel!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lam Tsz yan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 May 2014 Lam would recommend this property

Liked: I like the clean, comfortable and safe living environment, As well, the location is exactly convenience, which is near to BTS and MRT station. There are night bazaar and food stalls nearby. It is with a great value. The atmosphere of the hostel is good as nice.

Disliked: There is no lift as I am living in 4th floor and limited plug for individual (but understand with the environmental friendly reason.)

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is probably the cleanest hostel in Bangkok! Common area is really nice: big sofa, table with chairs, free coffee available, two computers for free use, etc. Breakfast is included if you pay only a little bit more and it's totally worth it. I stayed in a 6 bed dorm and beds are sooo comfy with single plugs and individual lights next to it, aircon is good, wifi works inside the rooms also, and there are private and big lockers. Toilets in each floor which are super clean!!! Location is good too since you can go anywhere with the public transport. Next time I'm in Bkk I will go back!

Disliked: The only thing I didn't like is the fact I had to pay 100 baths so I could stay in the hostel after check out and use the facilities. I had a night train to catch...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lisa McLaughlin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 April 2014 Lisa would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean!! Helpful and friendly staff!!

Disliked: Lisa left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Virginia Lee

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping

28 April 2014 Virginia would recommend this property

Liked: Immaculate, well furnished, safe & secure, amazing location, very helpful staff. A top notch quality place to stay on any budget! Well done Hero (owner), an example of how things should be done!!

Disliked: Nothing!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adam Menassa

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 April 2014 Adam would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, fun atmosphere, very clean.

Disliked: Single room is very small but made aware before I booked

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice owner! Location is good, easy to go everywhere. Bed and rooms are really nice. Second time we stayed with them

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean, nice breakfast, helping hostel holder

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

richard owens

Alone

Work / volunteering

29 March 2014 richard would recommend this property

Liked: This was a very chill place full of friendly backpackers.

Disliked: I sent an email warning I would arrive late. I didn't hear back so I sent another email and got a response as I was traveling through Tokyo. The hostel is nice and I would stay again, but the staff are rarely present. This presents a problem for checking out and getting access to storage. The staff is flexible so its no big deal.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kate-Lily de Graft-Johnson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 March 2014 Kate-Lily would recommend this property

Liked: This was my first time staying in a hostel and also in a dorm. I had a great experience. The whole hostel is clean and there is a small lounge area to chill in front of the TV. Anne the owner is really sweet and helpful. If you need advice on anything she is very knowledgeable and always willing to help with a smile on her face. I was originally suppose to stay 2 night but ended up staying 5 nights as the hostel is great and I also met great people. Also I have a thing about toilets and dirty places and this is by far the cleanest hostel and toilet/bathroom around.

Disliked: There's nothing I didn't like about Smile Society. I guess I'm sad that a bottom bunk was not available when I checked in.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ERWIN SJUKRI

With a large group / tour

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

20 March 2014 ERWIN would recommend this property

Liked: The best thing about Smile Society is the very friendly&helpfull owner! It's like u have your own family there.. About the Hostel, it is a very cozy & homey Hostel, and great location for tourist! We had a little miscommunication for the room arrangement at first because we came in a large group, but Bee was very helpfull and immediately fix the problem. Bravo! Overall we satisfied with the room facility, cleanliness, safety, and the location of the Smile Society Hostel.

Disliked: The superior single room is too small.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Chu

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 March 2014 James would recommend this property

Liked: Owner is very friendly and knows a lot about Thailand, she can recommend you places to go and eat. Complimentary breakfast was simple but good. Beds are very comfortable and clean.

Disliked: Not much to fault. The lamp and powerpoint for my bed didn't work on the last night I was there, owner was very apologetic about it the next morning and promised to check it. Think it was just an isolated incident.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aleksandra Stachowicz

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 March 2014 Aleksandra would recommend this property

Liked: The place is just amazing. For really low price you have clean, safe and nice place to stay in Bangkok. Plus, the staff is super friendly so if you look for the place to stay in the City of Angles don't hesitate and book the night in Smile Society!

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The lady that worked here was very accommodating. I had to wake up at 4am to catch a flight and check out. She booked my taxi the night before, woke up at 4am and ensured I had breakfast and left on time. Fantastic service!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

wijanto jong

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 February 2014 wijanto would recommend this property

Liked: It's an amazing experience staying at Smile Society. I didn't expect that the property's conditions are so good and meet all my requirements : cleanliness, location, conveniency, safety, atmosphere etc. It's just like staying at home. The staffs are friendly and helpful, especially the manager, she can give you all the informations you need. She even help me carry my luggage up and down my room on 3rd floor when I checked-in and checked-out, because I hv problem with my backbone. Oh yeah there was one thing I was so touched when I checked out in the very early morning, she gave me a plastic bag of breads and drink so that I could have my breakfast at the airport. Thank you so much manager, I 'll always remember your kindness.

Disliked: wijanto left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ted Konkel

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 February 2014 Ted would recommend this property

Liked: I love staying at the Smile Society Hostel when I’m in Bangkok. The staff are always so friendly and helpful and it is just a short walk to the Sala Daeng Skytrain station. Speaking of that, when you exit the Sala Daeng station, use Exit 1. That will put you on the correct side of the road, so you won’t have to cross Silom road traffic. Once you descend the stairs, just keep going straight until you see the Citibank building across the road. Make a right at this point. You should see a sign for the After Hours restaurant in front of you (a pretty good place to eat, by the way.) Make your first left at the Japanese restaurant, then look for the Smile Society sign on your right in a few meters. They serve up a free breakfast for two hours each morning, the bed is comfortable and the rooms are quiet. You are within easy walking distance of Patpong but you don’t have to hear it while you are trying to sleep. The internet is fast (5 Mbps), the staff keeps the place quite clean and there is a nice couch for socializing with other travelers. Access is controlled via a keycard. That card is also used to activate the light and power outlet for each bunk. Air conditioning is controlled by a remote in the room, which can be a good or a bad thing, depending on your roommates. I’d recommend Smile Society!

Disliked: Ted left no negative feedback.