HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Smile Society

Hostel | 130/3-4, Silom 6, Bangkok, Thailand 10150

97.1% Overall Rating

280 out of 286 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/03/2014)

Kate-Lily de Graft-Johnson thinks…

"This was my first time staying in a hostel and also in a dorm. I had a great experience. The whole hostel is clean and there is a small lounge area to chill in front of the TV. Anne the owner is…"

Read all Smile Society reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

**The Reception closes 8pm. Pls email the Smile Society if you arrive later**

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bangkok?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bangkok

Thrive The Hostel: Patpong by The Belle
10.54 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
The Blast Silom Hostel
10.85 USD

Hostel 74.3% 3 reviews
Lub d Bangkok - Silom
12.40 USD

Hostel 91.1% 329 reviews
Sunflower Place - Silom
13.33 USD

Hostel 92.7% 86 reviews
Glitz Bangkok
25.58 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
13 Coins Surawongse
17.05 USD

Hotel 3 star 76.2% 3 reviews
We Bangkok
9.30 USD

Hostel 92.3% 126 reviews
YHA Bangkok Downtown
7.72 USD

Hostel 70.6% 409 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
97.1%

Overall Rating

280 out of 286 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Smile Society'

Atmosphere
92.8%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
96.8%
Cleanliness
100.0%
Staff
97.6%
Value
97.6%
Safety
99.2%
Refine your results Showing 259 of 282 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean, nice breakfast, helping hostel holder

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

richard owens

Alone

Work / volunteering

29 March 2014 richard would recommend this property

Liked: This was a very chill place full of friendly backpackers.

Disliked: I sent an email warning I would arrive late. I didn't hear back so I sent another email and got a response as I was traveling through Tokyo. The hostel is nice and I would stay again, but the staff are rarely present. This presents a problem for checking out and getting access to storage. The staff is flexible so its no big deal.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kate-Lily de Graft-Johnson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 March 2014 Kate-Lily would recommend this property

Liked: This was my first time staying in a hostel and also in a dorm. I had a great experience. The whole hostel is clean and there is a small lounge area to chill in front of the TV. Anne the owner is really sweet and helpful. If you need advice on anything she is very knowledgeable and always willing to help with a smile on her face. I was originally suppose to stay 2 night but ended up staying 5 nights as the hostel is great and I also met great people. Also I have a thing about toilets and dirty places and this is by far the cleanest hostel and toilet/bathroom around.

Disliked: There's nothing I didn't like about Smile Society. I guess I'm sad that a bottom bunk was not available when I checked in.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ERWIN SJUKRI

With a large group / tour

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

20 March 2014 ERWIN would recommend this property

Liked: The best thing about Smile Society is the very friendly&helpfull owner! It's like u have your own family there.. About the Hostel, it is a very cozy & homey Hostel, and great location for tourist! We had a little miscommunication for the room arrangement at first because we came in a large group, but Bee was very helpfull and immediately fix the problem. Bravo! Overall we satisfied with the room facility, cleanliness, safety, and the location of the Smile Society Hostel.

Disliked: The superior single room is too small.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Chu

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 March 2014 James would recommend this property

Liked: Owner is very friendly and knows a lot about Thailand, she can recommend you places to go and eat. Complimentary breakfast was simple but good. Beds are very comfortable and clean.

Disliked: Not much to fault. The lamp and powerpoint for my bed didn't work on the last night I was there, owner was very apologetic about it the next morning and promised to check it. Think it was just an isolated incident.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aleksandra Stachowicz

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 March 2014 Aleksandra would recommend this property

Liked: The place is just amazing. For really low price you have clean, safe and nice place to stay in Bangkok. Plus, the staff is super friendly so if you look for the place to stay in the City of Angles don't hesitate and book the night in Smile Society!

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The lady that worked here was very accommodating. I had to wake up at 4am to catch a flight and check out. She booked my taxi the night before, woke up at 4am and ensured I had breakfast and left on time. Fantastic service!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

wijanto jong

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 February 2014 wijanto would recommend this property

Liked: It's an amazing experience staying at Smile Society. I didn't expect that the property's conditions are so good and meet all my requirements : cleanliness, location, conveniency, safety, atmosphere etc. It's just like staying at home. The staffs are friendly and helpful, especially the manager, she can give you all the informations you need. She even help me carry my luggage up and down my room on 3rd floor when I checked-in and checked-out, because I hv problem with my backbone. Oh yeah there was one thing I was so touched when I checked out in the very early morning, she gave me a plastic bag of breads and drink so that I could have my breakfast at the airport. Thank you so much manager, I 'll always remember your kindness.

Disliked: wijanto left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ted Konkel

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 February 2014 Ted would recommend this property

Liked: I love staying at the Smile Society Hostel when I’m in Bangkok. The staff are always so friendly and helpful and it is just a short walk to the Sala Daeng Skytrain station. Speaking of that, when you exit the Sala Daeng station, use Exit 1. That will put you on the correct side of the road, so you won’t have to cross Silom road traffic. Once you descend the stairs, just keep going straight until you see the Citibank building across the road. Make a right at this point. You should see a sign for the After Hours restaurant in front of you (a pretty good place to eat, by the way.) Make your first left at the Japanese restaurant, then look for the Smile Society sign on your right in a few meters. They serve up a free breakfast for two hours each morning, the bed is comfortable and the rooms are quiet. You are within easy walking distance of Patpong but you don’t have to hear it while you are trying to sleep. The internet is fast (5 Mbps), the staff keeps the place quite clean and there is a nice couch for socializing with other travelers. Access is controlled via a keycard. That card is also used to activate the light and power outlet for each bunk. Air conditioning is controlled by a remote in the room, which can be a good or a bad thing, depending on your roommates. I’d recommend Smile Society!

Disliked: Ted left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Kine Marlene Berglund

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 February 2014 Kine Marlene would recommend this property

Liked: Nice rooms! Had the superior room at first. Loved it! Nice bathroom, comfy bed, tv, good wifi connection and a nice common area for people to meet. Stayed here with a group of friends + boyfriend. We got married in BKK during our stay at Smile Society, and when the manager found out what we were doing that day she arranged for me and my now husband to be upgraded to the very nice honeymoon suite! What a lovely surprise for both of us:) That room was just perfect for our first days of married life. We actually ended up extending our stay by 3 days. Rooms are cleaned every day, which is nice. The manager who runs front desk is just a lovely person! She is super helpful and always walking around with a smile on her face. If there is anything you need, she will help you. Will definitely come back when in Bangkok!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rizky Pratama Adhi

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

20 February 2014 Rizky would recommend this property

Liked: keycard to access the room, nearby saphan thaksin BTS (3 station more) to get the Chao Phraya Boat, good breakfast

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it is like stay at home... clean, bright, peaceful, confortable....place that warm your heart...

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Steven Nicolaou

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 February 2014 Steven would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, lots of common space and opportunities to meet people. Centrally located and the owner was very friendly and helpful

Disliked: It's located in the red light district. You will get hustled the moment you step foot outside the hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent property. Great location and helpful staff.

Disliked: All great!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Just book it. Its a perfect located place. A wounderful backpacker hotel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything was perfect. nice staff, clean rooms, new interior.

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carina Fish

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

11 January 2014 Carina would recommend this property

Liked: The key card system made things convenient and secure.

Disliked: It was just standard / average nothing really to write home about, but for the money to sleep somewhere clean and safe it was worth it.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thomas Brookes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2014 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff and atmospher. Great location too!

Disliked: Thomas left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The two sisters runnning these particularly friendly and welcoming. They offered us a christmas party, buying us some delicious thaï food. Besides, they were alaways available to provide us a great pieces of advice of Bangkok.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sarah Missen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 December 2013 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Feeling of security. Unlikely to get scammed

Disliked: Sarah left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

kazuo mori

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

15 December 2013 kazuo would recommend this property

Liked: Quite good location

Disliked: Landry is bit expensive

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

15 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Smile society is great and Bee is very Helpful. Its in a central location, very clean and quiet. The only challenge is that the other staff don't speak English. Other than that Its the best hostel I've stayed in this passed year.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Nitin Sonawane

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 December 2013 Nitin would recommend this property

Liked: Hostess is genuinely helpful

Disliked: Nitin left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and engaging staff, great, quiet location and clean accommodations.

Disliked: Nothing.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Bea is the kindest Thai I've ever met! She is very helpful with local sights, food and transportation. The breakfast in the morning is pretty basic, but enough to get you moving. There's a cool night market right down the alley, as well as other foods. Love that there's coffee available all day!

Disliked: I wish there was a place to cook/store food. I'd tear down the breakfast area wall to open the whole first floor to make it self-catering. The luggage storage area wasn't secure. A locked door on one of the spare rooms would be better.