We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Smile Society

Hostel | 130/3-4, Silom 6, Bangkok, Thailand 10150

96.2% Overall Rating

319 out of 325 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/04/2015)

Sarah Welland thinks…

"This is actually the third time I have stayed at smile society, just the first time I've been able to write a review! I love it here which is why I always come back, I always meet nice people here…"

Read all Smile Society reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

**The Reception closes 8pm. Pls email the Smile Society if you arrive later**

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bangkok?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bangkok

Happy Traveller Home
10.75 USD

Hostel 97.9% 4 reviews
Thrive The Hostel: Patpong by The Belle
6.91 USD

Hostel 91.4% 7 reviews
I-Sleep Silom Hostel
12.28 USD

Hostel 75.0% 4 reviews
Lub d Bangkok - Silom
13.82 USD

Hostel 89.4% 349 reviews
Sunflower Place - Silom
13.67 USD

Hostel 87.9% 98 reviews
13 Coins Surawongse
16.89 USD

Hotel 3 star 76.2% 3 reviews
We Bangkok
10.75 USD

Hostel 91.4% 132 reviews
Take a Nap
10.75 USD

Hostel 81.6% 126 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
96.2%

Overall Rating

319 out of 325 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Smile Society'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
95.2%
Cleanliness
98.4%
Staff
97.6%
Value
96.0%
Safety
99.2%
Refine your results Showing 294 of 321 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

GUANG YANG

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday

22 April 2015 GUANG would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly

Disliked: GUANG left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Chung Jin Chuah

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 April 2015 Chung Jin would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff and a fantastic location

Disliked: The toilets were a little over utilised.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Welland

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2015 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: This is actually the third time I have stayed at smile society, just the first time I've been able to write a review! I love it here which is why I always come back, I always meet nice people here and it's so friendly, safe and secure. Ms Bee is the best, so helpful and so are the rest of the staff, I had an early flight and so I was given breakfast to take with me which is a lovely touch. It's always very clean, I always find it to be very social and I really like the breakfast especially the muffins! :) The location is also really good as it's right near both the skytrain and the MRT so it's so easy to get around bangkok. Also makes it super easy to get cheap transport to/from the airport (both BKK and DMK). I hope I will stay here again ! ::)

Disliked: Sarah left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jason davies

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 March 2015 jason would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, close to the BTS and MRT lines. Night market very close. Clean and quiet. My room was great. The ladies at the front desk were very helpful and friendly.

Disliked: Nothing. I would stay here again

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Daniel Parraguez

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

09 March 2015 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: It was a good place to stay with a Very friendly staff members

Disliked: I think the breakfast could improve

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eva Maria Ramirez Luna

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 March 2015 Eva Maria would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms are big and very confortable, each bed in the dorm has its own locker (big enough for a backpack or suitcase) They have a quick laundry service The bathrooms are good, We shared bathroom with a couple of rooms so it wasn't really busy. It is very close to the Metro station and to the BTS station, 5/10 min walking The area is quiet but everynight there's a night market and it's full of restaurants.

Disliked: Breakfast, just because you cannot choose it, but it was ok. Only one person can speak English (but it's the one who is everywhere so it's ok)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vincenzo Ravina

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

11 February 2015 Vincenzo would recommend this property

Liked: The proprietor is always helpful with any questions you may have. She helped us buy bus tickets and gave us directions and recommendations for anything we needed. She very kindly packed us a breakfast on our last day when we had to leave in the very early morning to make our flight.

Disliked: There's very little to dislike. Once or twice, the toilet paper roll wasn't replaced, but that's about it.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tegan Jones

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 January 2015 Tegan would recommend this property

Liked: There was an excellent set up for the dorm beds. Plenty of space in the room, air conditioning, a curtain for your bed, a personal light and charging point and enough showers and toilets. The hostel was very clean and secure.

Disliked: While there were common areas, they were not used. However, it was easy to meet people at breakfast (if you've got breakfast included).

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Bee at the front desk was very nice and helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

vincent virot

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

11 January 2015 vincent would recommend this property

Liked: Definitely one of the best hostel I've been. Very good location. Very clean, secured, everything you want. Common room is really restful and good place to meet other travelers. The owner is so kind and will help you for anything you need. Once, one of the backpackers hurged himself and couldn't walk. The owner went directly buy a crutch for him... you have to stay in this hostel if you come in bangkok!

Disliked: vincent left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alejandro Sanchez Hernandez

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 October 2014 Alejandro would recommend this property

Liked: I choose Thailand as my base camp to explore South East Asia and was in BKG 5 times, I stayed at Smile Society 4 times wish to have stayed 5 but they were booked! everything in this hostel is nice and the owner is so kind and helpfull you wont regret to stay here! If I come back to BKG in future I will definetely come back here! Alex from Mexico

Disliked: Everything is greate!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were excellent... Served us a nice breakfast and front staff were very helpful in recommending places to visit and how to get around. Very clean hostel as well. :) hostel is near the metro and sky train which is super convenient!!!

Disliked: Wished we could have met more backpackers here ... Was easy to meet in the dorm but not many people hanging out in lounge area.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Florian Zimmermann

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2014 Florian would recommend this property

Liked: Good location in the business district. Its calm but every day is a nightmarket around the corner. Hostel is nice. Big relaxing area with a couch an TV.

Disliked: little bit far away from Khao San Road

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Janina Hornig

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 August 2014 Janina would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice helpful staff. Everything was fine

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Reals nice staff, our room got upgraded

Disliked: You can not flush Toilette Papier down the toilet

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adam Janalli

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway

03 August 2014 Adam would recommend this property

Liked: It is a good location. Room was a good standard with all facilities described. Owners are kind and helpful.

Disliked: Adam left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Zoe Nathan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2014 Zoe would recommend this property

Liked: I spent my first few nights in Bangkok here and really enjoyed my stay. The staff are really friendly and helpful. The beds are pretty comfy and the hostel is very clean. I would come back here

Disliked: It isn't a particularly social hostel. I did meet people here but people don't really use the common room much.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Well where do I start! I would say the staff could not be more friendly and helpful especially for 1st time visitors. Nothing was too much trouble, very informative and constantly happy to direct people using the maps and info in reception. great location and once you easily get used to using the Sky train service everything is only minutes away. Security is one of the best as well as the breakfasts, and if you are leaving early they are happy to make up a takeaway one. Minutes from 7/11 local corner shop bars markets and nightlife. Large nearby public park where the locals jog and cycle in the mornings. Bangkok truly is a city of discovery,why wouldn't you want to stay for longer? Gary from Scotland.

Disliked: nothing that comes to mind which is a bit strange but true.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are very froendlier and it's a great place to meet people if you are travelling alone. The location is great and it is very easy to get around.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was so clean!! Bathrooms and bedrooms were spotless. The owner was also very friendly - she had lots of advice and helped organise tours. She even provided us with a take away breakfast to take on a tour when we had to leave very early in the morning. Location was also great.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location! Wonderful, friendly helpful staff! Highly recommend!!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

JIE ZHANG

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2014 JIE would recommend this property

Liked: Everything: the most friendly host lady B i have ever met in a hostel, the best room wardrobe, huge bathrooms and a nice environment. The host lady B is warm and helpful, and offer vey useful information. It is the best hostel where i have ever been!

Disliked: Nothing: I like it all!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Luke Hodgkinson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 June 2014 Luke would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful lady at front desk, Bi, who is very approachable and keen to help. Great common room and really friendly guests. I'm not particularly social but both nights had different groups to go out with and had a great time. Dorm rooms very nice and clean.

Disliked: The doors to the dorm rooms are a little loud and I found it impossible to enter or exit without creating a real racked that must have woken a few people up.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was good. Clean as hell, very safe with key cards and big lockers, big rooms, comfterble and solid beds, friendly and helpfull staff, air condition, nice common area with sofa, tv and computers for free use, free unlimited wifi on all floors, good location and a very quiet hostel.

Disliked: Only small things. There's only one electrical plug pr person and it only work when you have your key card in the thingy to get power, so if you have more than one thing to recharge, invest in a extension cord. They are a bit strict with rules would some say, and for the party animals this is defenitely not party hostel. The laundry service is to expensive, especially if you don't have a lot to wash!