HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Khaosan Baan Thai

Hostel | 11/1 Samsen Soi3, Samsen Road, Phranakorn Bangkok, Thailand 10200

93.3% Overall Rating

308 out of 314 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/06/2014)

Alexandra Chalk thinks…

"In Bangkok there are many faceless, boring westernised hotels, however this place is the real deal, its got heaps of character and the staff are wonderful."

Read all Khaosan Baan Thai reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 0.47

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bangkok?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bangkok

Penpark Place
8.63 USD

Guesthouse 84.8% 179 reviews
Sam Sen Sam Place
10.04 USD

Guesthouse 90.1% 53 reviews
Smile Buri House
12.55 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Khaosan Immjai
10.98 USD

Hostel 93.9% 62 reviews
Born Free Hostel
8.03 USD

Hostel 96.6% 209 reviews
Amarin Inn Guesthouse
8.47 USD

Guesthouse 79.2% 165 reviews
Nouvo City Hotel
32.95 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
New World City Hotel
20.92 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.2% 58 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.3%

Overall Rating

308 out of 314 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Khaosan Baan Thai'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
92.0%
Cleanliness
97.6%
Staff
99.2%
Value
94.4%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 241 of 309 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff that answered all of my questions.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Helen MacMillan

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

15 June 2014 Helen would recommend this property

Liked: central location and friendly staff!

Disliked: Helen left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexandra Chalk

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

09 June 2014 Alexandra would recommend this property

Liked: In Bangkok there are many faceless, boring westernised hotels, however this place is the real deal, its got heaps of character and the staff are wonderful.

Disliked: Nothing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Zdirad Zak

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

31 May 2014 Zdirad would recommend this property

Liked: Very good breakfast, helpful and competent staff

Disliked: Little bit far from the center of the city, getting there by public transport from the Hua Lamphong Railway Station is not quite simple, it is not properly described. However, once you learn it is not difficult . Bus No.53, but it is a little bit tricky!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jennifer Clarke

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 May 2014 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were extremely helpful, the woman who was there most of the time didn't speak any English, but communication with her was still very easy. The rooms were very clean, the showers and toilet were also very clean. The location was brilliant - about a 15-20 minute walk into Khaosan Road, also a very short walk to restaurants, bars, supermarkets and tourist offices. The breakfast was very nice, my sister was vegetarian and they understood and gave her extra egg instead.

Disliked: The bed was pretty uncomfy

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Melinda Hoe

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 May 2014 Melinda would recommend this property

Liked: Although not everyone who was on duty was able to speak good english, the staffs were extremely helpful and always tried their best to provide assistance to us! It was definitely a nice and cozy place to stay in, and I would definitely stay there again when I am in Bangkok!

Disliked: Melinda left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Timothy Songailo

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 May 2014 Timothy would recommend this property

Liked: Home way from home, great staff, value for money, excellent location.

Disliked: Nil

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Martijn Rispens

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 April 2014 Martijn would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and clean rooms. Shared showers were good and clean. Close to Khoa san Road. Pretty nice spot!

Disliked: Martijn left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

timothy mcpherson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 April 2014 timothy would recommend this property

Liked: It's very clean, the staff are super polite and friendly. It's not on the main road so it's quieter at night whilst still being within 2 mins from bars etc

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Garry Corcoran

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 March 2014 Garry would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean and a pleasure to stay in. It was also quiet which goes well if you need to get away from the parting down the road.

Disliked: Garry left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

richard malinowski

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2014 richard would recommend this property

Liked: a very good location and near Khao san road and the river . good information and breakfast included in price of room . quiet area . i liked the toast with the happy face . looks like a family run place and that makes it more special . located on a narrow street . keep up the good work .

Disliked: all was good , no dislikes

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Paige Berry

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 February 2014 Paige would recommend this property

Liked: I liked how homely it felt. Breakfast was provided, and the room was nice. The staff were the highlight though. We had stayed in some hostels who had extremely rude staff, so it was a wonderful change.

Disliked: Nothing really.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aoife Frawley

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 February 2014 Aoife would recommend this property

Liked: Its just what it sais on the tin cheap clean and cosy!!!! Staff are very helpful and the free wifi works brilliantly throughout the place....breckfast was included and was tasty!!! Great location just asafe 5-10minute walk from khoasan road!!

Disliked: Walls are very thin but if you are on a budget its ideal for the money your spending!!!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jonathan McWilliams

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 February 2014 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: Easy walk to Khaosan Road Clean room Superb showering facilities

Disliked: Average breakfast Woken up in the middle of the night by either dogs or children nearby.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mario Leon

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 February 2014 Mario would recommend this property

Liked: great location, quiet, away from khaosan

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

sara everitt

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 January 2014 sara would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Only 5 mins walk from backpacker area Really helpful staff. Very good English. Cute little rooms Quiet at night Great value for money We ended up staying an extra night

Disliked: Not much to dislike.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amy Day

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

15 December 2013 Amy would recommend this property

Liked: Great place, very very clean and comfortable. Nice breakfast and great staff. Couldn't ask for anything more.

Disliked: The walls and floors are super thin so you can hear everything from the connecting walls, but a pair of ear plugs were enough to secure a good night sleep.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sara Sollis

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

04 December 2013 Sara would recommend this property

Liked: The location was good, and offered hot showers. The room was very clean & sweet also.

Disliked: Quiet hostel- not much going on. Breakfast wasn't good. Would have been better if showers were en-suite.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rebecca Danson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 December 2013 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere with friendly staff. Good value for money with breakfast included and complementary bottled water. Free wifi and printing at 10b. Air con in room was good and breeze from outside the meshed windows was nice and meant there was no insects in the room. Bathrooms were very clean and showers were fine. Nice relaxing cool shady area for eating breakfast or just relaxing. Short walk to 7 11 and 10 min walk to river ferry. Receptionist was able to arrange a taxi to pick us up to take us to airport for 150baht each.

Disliked: Nothing to fault really, other than the sign for hotel could be better lit in order to find it easier at night.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Josephine King

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 November 2013 Josephine would recommend this property

Liked: The staff bend over bakwards to help you enjoy your stay. They advise you of where to go and not believe the Tuk Tuk drivers when they say the Grand Palace is closed for the day!! The toilet failities were not far from my room so didn't have problems during the night when I needed to go. There were other like minded travellers staying at Khaosan Baan Thai and it was nice to chat to them over breakfast.

Disliked: Unfortunatley, at the moment (Nov 2013) they are building a house next door so there are very loud noises throughout the day of metal grinding and banging. Also, there are very thin walls and noise travels easily but when I stayed the other guests were very quiet.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

David Cunliffe

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 November 2013 David would recommend this property

Liked: A quaint old building in a quiet residential area just a fifteen minutes stroll from all the "action" and madness of khaosan road areas.Friendly staff and a good mix of travellers.Facilites such as toilets/bathrooms a little basic but super clean so that made up for a lot.

Disliked: A little overpriced in comparison to competitors in the area.No comfortable seating areas,all hard bench type of seating,even by t.v.area and not enough for amount of guests either.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was perfect for visiting anywhere you wanted to in Bangkok. The staff were friendly and rooms large.

Disliked: There was no secure door to the hostel so anyone on the street could walk in.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Richard Zuurveld

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2013 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: We love our stay here! Very friendly staff to help you out. Free breakfast, wifi and use of pc's was included. Room was very nice, but because of the wooden structure a bit noisy. Location is good, close to Khao San Road, but not too close!

Disliked: Nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Julien Tyrakis

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2013 Julien would recommend this property

Liked: Small, safe, clean

Disliked: Noisy

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Kirstin Hodgson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 November 2013 Kirstin would recommend this property

Liked: A very nice hostel situated in a quiet location within walking distance (10 minutes) to Khaosan Road. We booked a deluxe twin room but were actually given a large room with two bunk beds in it so we had more than enough space. The staff were friendly and their English was ok. The wifi worked well in common area and our room, and the rate we paid included an 'American style' breakfast which looked good but unfortunately we couldn't try as we had to leave at 6am to get to the airport. The shared showers were hot and clean. We are booked to stay here again in February so I hope we have a similar experience.

Disliked: The only negative is that the room walls were very thin and we could hear everything from the room next door, however get a good pair of earplugs and you'll be fine.