We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Khaosan Baan Thai

Hostel | 11/1 Samsen Soi3, Samsen Road, Phranakorn Bangkok, Thailand 10200

90.5% Overall Rating

369 out of 378 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/03/2015)

"Clean bed and bathroom, no bugs, friendly staff, i felt safe the whole time. I recommend it."

Read all Khaosan Baan Thai reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 0.45

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bangkok?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bangkok

Penpark Place
8.94 USD

Guesthouse 83.5% 194 reviews
Sam Sen Sam Place
9.54 USD

Guesthouse 85.8% 62 reviews
Smile Buri House
11.92 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Khaosan Immjai
10.43 USD

Hostel 95.9% 92 reviews
Born Free Hostel
7.63 USD

Hostel 96.9% 237 reviews
Amarin Inn Guesthouse
8.05 USD

Guesthouse 84.8% 181 reviews
Back Home Backpackers
10.13 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Nouvo City Hotel
29.80 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.5%

Overall Rating

369 out of 378 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Khaosan Baan Thai'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
81.6%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
93.6%
Value
94.4%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 268 of 372 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cedric Clement

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 May 2015 Cedric would recommend this property

Liked: Good location near Khaosan Road, breakfast includet, fair price, friendly

Disliked: Barely nothing

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Lee Messina

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 April 2015 Lee would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Room without aircon way to hot in April

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

03 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet area, nice teakwood house

Disliked: No real beds but Quote hard mattresses on the floor

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean bed and bathroom, no bugs, friendly staff, i felt safe the whole time. I recommend it.

Disliked: A lot of mosquitos. Der breakfast wasn't really good, but it was ok.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jose Just Sola

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 March 2015 Jose would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place, ten minutes walking from Khaosan, close to Grand Palace. People is very allways ready to help. I've got a single room without A/C, but with a fan, for me was enought. Bathroom is outside one for four rooms, it was clean. Breakfast was good, simply but good. Good value for the price, I will come back for sure.

Disliked: Jose left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ELEANOR THOMPSON

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

26 February 2015 ELEANOR would recommend this property

Liked: This was a very good value stay. The hostel is clean and has friendly staff and air-con in room. The breakfast was good. Very easy to get into the city centre from here.

Disliked: The worst thing about our stay were the dogs outside in the street that would bark all night! Really awful nights sleep, but not to be blamed on the hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2015

Liked: Clean, cozy, charming and with a great location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was a cosy little guest house run informally by friendly staff. The location is great as it is only a 10-15 minute walk from Khao San Road, but there are also plenty of great places to go out nearby. The air conditioning in the room was excellent. It was very clean, the shared shower and toilet facilities were good, and breakfast was simple but better than many we have had whilst travelling. The cold drinks sold were a fair price, there are plenty of books and DVDs available, and the laundry service was quick and efficient.

Disliked: The communal area is outside, which is fine but, as we found that people tended to go to bed quite early, you do have to be quiet. This is definitely not a place to go if you are looking for social interaction of an evening.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa

19 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cute. Price .

Disliked: Thin walls - noisy . Lock on door not so secure

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ryan Arruda

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

12 February 2015 Ryan would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was very friendly, accomadated our late arrival with a smile. Very clean, and a welcoming atmosphere.

Disliked: Water pressure not great, but not much you can do about that.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Dylan Hume

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

12 February 2015 Dylan would recommend this property

Liked: I arrived very late due to my flights and the staff was there to greet me at the gate.

Disliked: Great value for the money.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jack Tarrant

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 February 2015 Jack would recommend this property

Liked: Exactly as it says on the outside of the hotel: cheap, clean and cozy. Really good location, 5 mins from popular Khaosan road but on a nice, quiet backstreet. Helpful and friendly staff. Really cute set-up and nice outside area. Fun and decent breakfast. Good wifi. Clean rooms with strong fans.

Disliked: Hard beds which are just mattresses on the ground. Shared bathroom is fine except if you happen to get sick, which we did.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alistair Steele

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 February 2015 Alistair would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and staff were very helpful. The free breakfast in the morning is v.good. 10/10 would stay again

Disliked: Slight negative is the room is made of old wood....meaning noise travels easily from between rooms and outside. Only other negative is how there are no safes/lockers in the room. However the building has a locked gate after 9.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Xu Hongfei

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 February 2015 Xu would recommend this property

Liked: It is so close to Khaosan Rd, and the Grand Palace. Staff are quite friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Xu left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, close to many hotspots. Shared shower, very clean room. Very recommended

Disliked: Shared showers, yet this is I consensus I don't mind to make for the paid price. Beds are on the floor, and extremely hard.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

25 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were extremely friendly and great location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bernard Krüger

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 January 2015 Bernard would recommend this property

Liked: It is neat, safe and clean place and has a very friendly atmosphere.

Disliked: There is nothing to dislike.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Calm area and great atmosphere, friendly staff, free breakfast, arrangements for travel onward.

Disliked: Hard beds

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hot showers which is good fir Thailand and free breakfast was tasty

Disliked: No troubles

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff went out of their way to help us and we booked a train ticket through them. Breakfast was 2 Frankfurter sausages, a fried egg and 2 pieces of toast with marmalade. The beds were the only downside, just thin mattresses on the floor but it wasn't an issue. will definitely be coming back.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Matthew Dumas-Bowden

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

29 December 2014

Liked: Centrally located and value for money.

Disliked: As a solo traveller it is not a good place to meet people.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 November 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Spacious and clean rooms with private balcony. Decent breakfast (ask for two eggs if you don't want sausage). Honest and helpful staff that provide local tips and very good information about bangkok. Located on a peaceful little street very close to main attractions such as Khaosan Road and Wat Pho. Coffee place just opposite the hostel has the best double shot latte and iced latte in Bangkok.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bex Lambell

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break

07 October 2014 Bex would recommend this property

Liked: As soon as we booked this hostel they sent a detailed 'how to get to us' email, so before we even arrived I was pleased. Upon arriving the feeling remailed and for the duration of our stay. The staff here are excellent, very helpful, knowledgeable and of course friendly!!! The free breakfast is definitely not basic, sausage, toast, jam, eggs was prepared and delivered to the table quickly and presented well, not the standard help yourself to a piece of toast most of Asias hostels provide. There was one lady constantly cleaning so the hostel was spotless...trust me we are neat freaks and we were impressed. There are only private rooms available so most people just go there to relax so there's not much socialising going on. The location is great everything is a short walk away Khao San Road is a few minutes walk as is the ferry crossing, food stalls, 7eleven, ambel tuk tuks but your far away enough down your own little road to actually be able to get some sleep. I would sincerely recommend this hostel and will definitely be going back if and when we are back in Bangkok.

Disliked: honestly I can't think of a thing bad!!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Mariaida Pancella

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

18 September 2014 Mariaida would recommend this property

Liked: It is a real thai place, comfortable and also a good place to meet backpakers from all over the world.

Disliked: The area is weel connected by boat service, but it is very far from skytrain and tube.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Naveen Kumar Srinivas

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

03 September 2014 Naveen Kumar would recommend this property

Liked: Khaosan Baan Thai hotel is clean and value for money, and located very near to the main attractions of Bangkok.

Disliked: Naveen Kumar left no negative feedback.