We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Khaosan Baan Thai

Hostel | 11/1 Samsen Soi3, Samsen Road, Phranakorn Bangkok, Thailand 10200

89.7% Overall Rating

377 out of 387 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/07/2015)

Jack Purcell thinks…

"Calm quiet and friendly, a welcome break from the hustle and bustle of the city. Locks on doors were a plus and the showers were fine."

Read all Khaosan Baan Thai reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 0.43

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bangkok?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bangkok

Penpark Place
8.54 USD

Guesthouse 82.6% 195 reviews
Sam Sen Sam Place
9.11 USD

Guesthouse 85.8% 62 reviews
Smile Buri House
11.38 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Khaosan Immjai
9.96 USD

Hostel 95.7% 95 reviews
Born Free Hostel
7.28 USD

Hostel 95.9% 242 reviews
Amarin Inn Guesthouse
8.54 USD

Guesthouse 84.1% 184 reviews
Back Home Backpackers
9.67 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Nouvo City Hotel
30.35 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.7%

Overall Rating

377 out of 387 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Khaosan Baan Thai'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
86.4%
Staff
92.8%
Value
93.6%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 274 of 381 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jack Purcell

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2015 Jack would recommend this property

Liked: Calm quiet and friendly, a welcome break from the hustle and bustle of the city. Locks on doors were a plus and the showers were fine.

Disliked: Atmosphere lacking slightly. More suited to families staying.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 July 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were extremely friendly and helpful! We arrived quite late in the evening and it was no problem!

Disliked: The beds are just mattresses on the floor!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marion Haas

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 June 2015 Marion would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed at the beginning and end of my journey at this hostel and I felt very comfortable and save there. The rooms were clean, aswell as the common bathrooms and showers. Not all of the staff speak english, but eveybody is very friendly and helpfull. As it is located in a side street, it is very quiet at nighttime. Breakfast is included, which is nice. Cheap drinks are available. Two computers with internet connection can be used until 22h.

Disliked: Marion left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Galuh ajeng kartika wulandari

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2015

Liked: clean, quiet, friendly staff and helpfull!

Disliked: the room was to HOT and to BRIGHT!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere is lovely. It feels really homey. The staff are really friendly and make you feel welcome. It's also one of the cleanest hostels I've ever stayed in.

Disliked: Nothing. It's been great staying here.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

24 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful place to meet other travelers with comfortable accommodations

Disliked: Nothing! :) i do think this area is very touristy though, which is good and bad

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cedric Clement

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 May 2015 Cedric would recommend this property

Liked: Good location near Khaosan Road, breakfast includet, fair price, friendly

Disliked: Barely nothing

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Lee Messina

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 April 2015 Lee would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Room without aircon way to hot in April

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

03 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet area, nice teakwood house

Disliked: No real beds but Quote hard mattresses on the floor

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean bed and bathroom, no bugs, friendly staff, i felt safe the whole time. I recommend it.

Disliked: A lot of mosquitos. Der breakfast wasn't really good, but it was ok.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jose Just Sola

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 March 2015 Jose would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place, ten minutes walking from Khaosan, close to Grand Palace. People is very allways ready to help. I've got a single room without A/C, but with a fan, for me was enought. Bathroom is outside one for four rooms, it was clean. Breakfast was good, simply but good. Good value for the price, I will come back for sure.

Disliked: Jose left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ELEANOR THOMPSON

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

26 February 2015 ELEANOR would recommend this property

Liked: This was a very good value stay. The hostel is clean and has friendly staff and air-con in room. The breakfast was good. Very easy to get into the city centre from here.

Disliked: The worst thing about our stay were the dogs outside in the street that would bark all night! Really awful nights sleep, but not to be blamed on the hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2015

Liked: Clean, cozy, charming and with a great location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was a cosy little guest house run informally by friendly staff. The location is great as it is only a 10-15 minute walk from Khao San Road, but there are also plenty of great places to go out nearby. The air conditioning in the room was excellent. It was very clean, the shared shower and toilet facilities were good, and breakfast was simple but better than many we have had whilst travelling. The cold drinks sold were a fair price, there are plenty of books and DVDs available, and the laundry service was quick and efficient.

Disliked: The communal area is outside, which is fine but, as we found that people tended to go to bed quite early, you do have to be quiet. This is definitely not a place to go if you are looking for social interaction of an evening.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa

19 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cute. Price .

Disliked: Thin walls - noisy . Lock on door not so secure

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ryan Arruda

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

12 February 2015 Ryan would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was very friendly, accomadated our late arrival with a smile. Very clean, and a welcoming atmosphere.

Disliked: Water pressure not great, but not much you can do about that.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Dylan Hume

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

12 February 2015 Dylan would recommend this property

Liked: I arrived very late due to my flights and the staff was there to greet me at the gate.

Disliked: Great value for the money.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jack Tarrant

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 February 2015 Jack would recommend this property

Liked: Exactly as it says on the outside of the hotel: cheap, clean and cozy. Really good location, 5 mins from popular Khaosan road but on a nice, quiet backstreet. Helpful and friendly staff. Really cute set-up and nice outside area. Fun and decent breakfast. Good wifi. Clean rooms with strong fans.

Disliked: Hard beds which are just mattresses on the ground. Shared bathroom is fine except if you happen to get sick, which we did.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alistair Steele

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 February 2015 Alistair would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and staff were very helpful. The free breakfast in the morning is v.good. 10/10 would stay again

Disliked: Slight negative is the room is made of old wood....meaning noise travels easily from between rooms and outside. Only other negative is how there are no safes/lockers in the room. However the building has a locked gate after 9.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Xu Hongfei

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 February 2015 Xu would recommend this property

Liked: It is so close to Khaosan Rd, and the Grand Palace. Staff are quite friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Xu left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, close to many hotspots. Shared shower, very clean room. Very recommended

Disliked: Shared showers, yet this is I consensus I don't mind to make for the paid price. Beds are on the floor, and extremely hard.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

25 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were extremely friendly and great location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bernard Krüger

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 January 2015 Bernard would recommend this property

Liked: It is neat, safe and clean place and has a very friendly atmosphere.

Disliked: There is nothing to dislike.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Calm area and great atmosphere, friendly staff, free breakfast, arrangements for travel onward.

Disliked: Hard beds

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hot showers which is good fir Thailand and free breakfast was tasty

Disliked: No troubles