HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Chilli Bangkok

Hostel | 53/15 Soi Charoen Krung 37, Charoen Krung Road, Bangkok, Thailand 10500

83.8% Overall Rating

22 out of 24 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/01/2014)

Ben Leyland thinks…

"Although this hotel is a bit further away I found it perfect as it was quiet at night and the water taxi is very close by which makes it easy to travel . Open 24 hours for check in unlike some…"

Read all The Chilli Bangkok reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 31.28

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bangkok?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bangkok

Shadow Inn
2.78 USD

Guesthouse 64.8% 29 reviews
Loftel 22 Hostel
9.77 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Woodland Inn Hotel
16.58 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 57.9% 35 reviews
Centaurinn
4.38 USD

Guesthouse 73.0% 13 reviews
Bangkok Centre Hotel
31.28 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
New Road Guest House
3.91 USD

Guesthouse 84.3% 193 reviews
At Hua Lamphong
10.95 USD

Hostel 82.1% 351 reviews
O'Nidra House Hotel
10.95 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.8%

Overall Rating

22 out of 24 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Chilli Bangkok'

Atmosphere
78.3%
Location
78.3%
Facilities
77.5%
Cleanliness
91.7%
Staff
87.5%
Value
85.8%
Safety
87.5%
Refine your results Showing 22 of 24 reviews
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

janet harrington

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 March 2014 janet would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and safe

Disliked: Really REALLY small rooms. The bathroom is so small you have to sit on the toilet sideways. No room at all for your legs.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ben Leyland

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 January 2014 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: Although this hotel is a bit further away I found it perfect as it was quiet at night and the water taxi is very close by which makes it easy to travel . Open 24 hours for check in unlike some hostels in Bangkok

Disliked: It's located down a side alley and is easy to miss if you're not looking properly. Didn't have a computer to check bookings seemed to just go off printed emails which wasn't good when they couldn't find ours because we booked three months in advance

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and very clean hostel, friendly staff, quite area but close to city center. The room is quite small but enough for the price. It didnt bother us. I've rather got a small but very clean room than reverse.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: helpfull staff

Disliked: -

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Peter Wild

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 February 2013 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: New building or renivated but not finished Was clean and quite.

Disliked: Down an allyway that worried me at first.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Jonathan Dawson

Alone

City break

17 February 2013

Liked: Interesting architctural design, good security. Firm beds and pretty clean.

Disliked: Tiny , tiny, tiny rooms. Trip over bed on entering room. No furniture whatever, apart from bed - no bedside table, wardrobe, clothes hooks (or where to hang them) and ONLY hotel, in 20 years of world travel, that had no powerpoint. On upper floor constant start and stop of loud water pump.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

23 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Looks nice

Disliked: Very small rooms. The bathroom is not completely separated from the dorm, so your partner can hear/smell everything you do. Surface of the room is 5m2, bed is 4m2, so ur left with a little space to unpack. Power sockets are at a height of 2m.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

06 January 2013

Liked: I liked that it was very close to the MTS line - about 3-4 blocks walking from the Hua Lumphong Station.

Disliked: We stayed there for 6 nights - paid up front, so we didn't change when we saw that the rooms were TINY. There was no closet, no place to put bags except under the bed... There was literally JUST enough space to come in the room and close the door before climbing onto the bed. When my husband and I came in together, one of us had to go into the bathroom so the other could come in the room and close the door. Also, they didn't clean our room once during our 6 nights there, not even to take out the trash or give more toilet paper. We used their pay washing machine to wash our towels and sheets to make sure they were fresh.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very quiet and very clean. A nice place to come back to afetr a hot hot day in Bangkok.

Disliked: none

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: our double room was clean, the staff was friendly. The hostel is in the near of China town.

Disliked: It is a little bit difficult to find the hostel. Unfortunately our room was soooo small. For one day (how long we were staying there) was ok but uncomfortable.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly staff, sometimes not that good in speaking english. Rooms are a bit small but clean and with ac. We liked it there!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Irma Pettitt

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

16 July 2012 Irma would recommend this property

Liked: Good for money and location. Not in the centre and not a particularly nice area but we wanted something close to the main station as we had an early train and this was a 10 minute walk to both station and metro. Staff don't speak great English but were helpful enough. Rooms are tiny but we had private bathroom, comfy bed and air con so can't complain! Free coffee seemed to be only Nescafé satches but we never actually had it when it's free 7-10am. Cheap washing machine and dryer and okay Internet. No character or atmosphere tho. 7/11 is quite far but there's a stall outside the metro that does great iced coffee.. Just outside the pharmacy!

Disliked: Plain, characterless and no atmosphere. Food supplies or common area would be better. Our room smelt funny.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it is very clean, the location is good, far from khao san road ahah, no seriously, the location is 3 min walk to the sheraton (orchid) from there you catch a 5 to 10 min boat to, lets say, the grand palace. THERE IS AIR CON !!!! and it works very well !

Disliked: most of the staff do not know NOTHING about the city (most of the thai in bgk do not know nothing either, dont care or lie to you) but they are nice and try anyway. free lockers (bring a padlock). Something really weird happened.... the first day, I went out quite late, around 1pm. on the principal road (charoen krung) I was walking when a guy pretend he did not see I was a tourist and then turn around like ""ooh you need help"" and start talking to me when he "realized" saying he was thai on 3 days holiday in bgk blabla (RED FLAG) with a not bad not good english and explaining to me I should go to the TAT that he did it and that we can book some nice cheap trip whatever and right at this moment, a tuk tuk arrrive, the guy stopped him and ask if he can bring us to the TAT agency (and he show the map where he had put a cross for the TAT) he said no more than 40 BTH he said to the tuk tuk go direct direct direct and only 40 BTH (in english to the tuk tuk, RED FLAG). the tuk tuk took me to this dodgy place (not too far from hualampong) 2 fake toursits were seated here and they started showing me trips and tours .... the thing is I think it was the TAT scam because the tuk tuk did not ask for his money and left right away (RED FLAG).... but I said I was angry and I will think about it and I left. The only thing Im not sure its if a hostel staff called them or the neighbooroud .... no idea. cause it is really not a touristy area and those guys were waiting for me in charoen road... enjoy bgk guys !

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

MARK ISLES

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 May 2012 MARK would recommend this property

Liked: If you are after something a little out of the hustle and bustle this is the place as it was down a series of side streets with a local tuk tuk driver right next door. We had to catch an early train to Chaing Mai - we were able to organise a lift with ease and our lovely driver was waiting for us when we awoke - also had free wi-fi and a bar - WIN WIN!

Disliked: The room was quite small yet not a major issue and one of the staff members didn't speak the best english but we managed to work our way through.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Marije Boerhof

Alone

City break

18 April 2012 Marije would recommend this property

Liked: The staff's friendliness and it's quiet location (in an ally way between the small local houses)...

Disliked: The rooms are very small which can be a problem to store your luggage. I stayed in a 2 persons bunk-bed room and was travelling alone. The shower is just a seperate 'room' in the room. I had to share the room during one night with another girl. It was a bit embarrasing to go to the toilet (especially for a #2). There's a toilet downstairs if you want to avoid it ;-). There are not many places to eat around the hostel, but I like street food so that's no problem to me.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tracey Pedersen

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year

07 March 2012 Tracey would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely, lovely staff!! Easy check in, very clean and in a really great position. It's just a short walk to the main train station Hua Lampong, which was just what we needed! Would stay here again in a second!

Disliked: These are small dislikes and would not make me stay elsewhere, they are just for information! The rooms are fairly small. Our twin room fit the two beds against the wall and pushed together and that was all. You have to hand your key in whenever you leave and they just sit in a basket on the counter. We didnt leave ours as we had computer equipment in our room. They just need to secure the keys and i would be fine with this.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The look and feel are very industrial, and that's what I like. The staff is friendly, although not all of them speak english as good. The rooms are nice and clean, and on the 4th floor they have nice views of the city through huge windows. Free computers downstairs and good (hi-speed) internet.

Disliked: There is no breakfast available, so you'll have to make do with 7-11 or restaurants nearby. Dorms are only 2-person, so it's either very cosy, or you'll meet no one in your dorm. They tend to get hot during the day, but the aircon cools it down pretty quick.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and location was very good

Disliked: Rooms are maybe little but I think all hotel rooms in bangkok are small. So not really dislike. We fit very well with our luggage.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Adam Shaw

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 February 2012 Adam would recommend this property

Liked: The overall stay was a treat! Exactly what you paid for and the staff we're very helpful and friendly. Free coffee in the morning woooo!! Short taxi ride to Khao San Road (costing under 100 baht each way). Were recommended by staff to get a meter taxi rather than a tuktuk as they were cheaper!

Disliked: There was no room cleaning service so we found the floor got a bit grubby after walking around Bangkok. I'm sure if we'd asked they would have done something for us but it wasn't that big of a deal as we were only there 2 nights!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly and the lobby/hang out area was very nice. I liked that we could do our own laundry and that there were enough drying racks to hang our clothes. It was very clean! Our room had nice big windows. Close to a subway station and the train station. Also close to Chinatown.

Disliked: We were on the 4th floor (top floor), which didn't have wifi access so we had to go to the lobby. Our room smelled pretty bad the entire stay. I think the smell came from the bathroom which didn't have a fan to ventilate. The top floor got pretty hot, which wasn't a problem once we had the AC going. Not a huge selection of street food nearby.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sam Thompson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 January 2012 Sam would recommend this property

Liked: The room was clean, the location was good if you want to get to Myanmar embassy, very good WIFI in room, quiet location but close enough to nightlife and restaurants.

Disliked: The room was small to the point where you barely had room for our bags. We had to put them under our bed. There was also a smell of drains from the bathroom. More hooks or shelves would be useful in the rooms as there is so little space.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fiona Turnbull

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 January 2012 Fiona would recommend this property

Liked: a pleasant little surprise - just walk down the alley and you find this great little hide-away close to everything - the people are friendly and it is actually a nice little oasis inside a noisy big city - there is a great little restaurant around the corner called Green where you can get a great breakfast, lunch or dinner or even some ice cream

Disliked: nothing really