We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of YHA Bangkok Downtown

Hostel | 395/4 Silom Road, (Near Silom 7 & Opposite, ITF tower) Bangkok, Thailand 10500

71.7% Overall Rating

270 out of 411 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (02/08/2014)

Glenn Norton thinks…

"Location was good as it was close to the skytrain and walking distance to food places and bars"

Read all YHA Bangkok Downtown reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bangkok?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bangkok

Glitz Bangkok
25.42 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Take a Nap
9.09 USD

Hostel 82.9% 125 reviews
13 Coins Surawongse
16.95 USD

Hotel 3 star 76.2% 3 reviews
Thrive The Hostel: Patpong by The Belle
7.49 USD

Hostel 85.7% 3 reviews
Orchid Hostel
1.79 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Smile Society
11.73 USD

Hostel 96.3% 314 reviews
Sunflower Place - Silom
13.87 USD

Hostel 91.5% 90 reviews
Happy Traveller Home
10.02 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
71.7%

Overall Rating

270 out of 411 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'YHA Bangkok Downtown'

Atmosphere
65.6%
Location
83.2%
Facilities
60.8%
Cleanliness
62.4%
Staff
82.4%
Value
65.6%
Safety
81.6%
Refine your results Showing 267 of 280 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Glenn Norton

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 August 2014

Liked: Location was good as it was close to the skytrain and walking distance to food places and bars

Disliked: The lady at reception was a nightmare, incredibly rude and hard to understand. She shouts out you constantly and then rushes you out in the morning even though you`re on your way out. Bedroom is a cave and no light in the shower.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Amanda Mathilde Lind

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 January 2014 Amanda Mathilde would recommend this property

Liked: Great location in the center of the city. Friendly staff. A ok hostel for backpackers living on a low budsjet.

Disliked: Its a bit dirty, and small rooms. But not too bad

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

16 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is excellent for one or two nights - for us it was in etwween two flight days. Within 2 mins are night markets and the rail stop. It's also near a lovely food market. The breakfast is free and simple and the rooms are small but clean.

Disliked: The shared shower and toilet are small and the shower can flood there is t any room to get changed when you get out the shower - think of a small guest room! But for a couple of nights it's manageable.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

YinyinLu Lu

Alone

City break
Events / festivals

29 November 2013

Liked: nice location. only 3 mins walk to the sky train station. near a very famous chinese restaurant

Disliked: facilities not very good. A tap was broken. Bathroom and toilet looks not very clean. the property looks quite old. very noisy at night, as it is located near the road and the sky train rail.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Heather King

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 November 2013 Heather would recommend this property

Liked: Air con, Right near bts, Wifi, Staff spoke good English, Everything you need really

Disliked: I was on floor 5 and there is no lift, Have to go downstairs to use wifi (for me, this is very often)

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Paul Geckle

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 November 2013 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: I've been there with two friends for 6 nights. The hostel is very nice and mostly clean. It's near the skytrain, metro station and the famous Pat Pong road (Redlightdistrict, with a lot of gogobars and shoppingarea. We had a room with aircon and fan. The free city tour is perfect for the price...it's for free. Visited the Wat Traimit temple with the golden buddha. After that we made a short walk through chinatown and then went to the flowermarket. At the end the driver and the nice (englisch speaking) guide drove us through the city and showed us some buildings like the Kings Palace. The staff at the reception was very nice and we only can recommend this hostel.

Disliked: Breakfast is only some crackers and orange juice, but there are a lot of 7/11 Supermarkets or Restaurants of all kind near the hostel.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

26 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very helpful and friendly and the hostel was secure.

Disliked: The hostel was very noisy as windows are kept open all night long and there was a lot of traffic and other noise Also there was no breakfast on offer which was advertised on this site..

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pablo Delgado

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 October 2013 Pablo would recommend this property

Liked: The guy at the reception was the best ever, i actually went back to the hostel on ky last night because of him, friendly, helpfull and funny

Disliked: Many toilets were broken

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

PORLAY CHHEANG

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

18 April 2013 PORLAY would recommend this property

Liked: It's walking distance to the BTS, food and shopping complexs. The staff were friendly and helpful. The lady staff is very nice to make us feel home.

Disliked: Too small especially the shared bathroom is too small and the water can't go down immediately, it toke few seconds to let the water gone.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Jamie Anderson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

31 March 2013

Liked: The staff were friendly and it was quiet.

Disliked: it was too quiet no common area for people to meet and I got bit by some kind of bug when I was sleeping and my eye is the size of a golf ball.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

13 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, close to food market and BTS. Staff was very helpful and friendly.

Disliked: The shower and toilets hadn't been cleaned.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Taylor Redwood

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 March 2013 Taylor would recommend this property

Liked: Good location in Silom, next to easy transport.

Disliked: No real hostel atmosphere as no common room. Hard bed and pillow. But overall decent value for money.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 February 2013

Liked: Secure, access 24hr

Disliked: Breakfast was a snack... Only served between 8-10 even though it was just biscuits wrapped in plastic... Definitely not YHA standards

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly staffs, very good location

Disliked: my room is a bit too small

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Melody Hirst

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 January 2013

Liked: The location is good and the staff is friendly, but that's the only positivie thing about this hostel.

Disliked: The rooms are VERY small. The hostel is dirty! And there isn't really a breakfast.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Amanda Kay

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 January 2013

Liked: Cheap

Disliked: The floors are rotting and peeling. They just puta rug over it. The bathroom and shower are combined but there's no barrier for drainage so the water runs to the toilet and back, that's unhygienic. The room is dusty with even a used bandaid to prove its not been properly cleaned in a while.they don't have ac as advertised, just fans blowing room temp air around. There's no real dining area or social area. There is an 60 sq ft room that, if all patrons came down to eat breakfast, many would be have to stand because all 5 (only) seats would get taken up fast. The breakfast is also below standard. I am genuinely surprised this hostel is allowed to affiliate with YHA, since it does not reflect their standards.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Honesty Pern

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 January 2013 Honesty would recommend this property

Liked: Very central, pretty clean and super friendly staff!

Disliked: Not quite manned 24 hours as we thought - luckily a guest staying there let us in on our late arrival!

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 January 2013

Liked: Each bed has your light and plug.

Disliked: The bathroom is not clean.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very thai character, helpful staff

Disliked: a but noisy because of traffic and skytrain

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Michael Rooke

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 December 2012 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Manager was very helpful and friendly with any advice we needed. Location close to Chong nonsi station but along trip to Khaosan San road where most other backpackers are situated. Simple accomodation and the cheapest around the Silom area but could probably have found cheaper in Khaosan road area.

Disliked: Toilet and shower facilities are average at best. If you like a hot, powerful shower stay somewhere else!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

08 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central location close to Skytrain station Chong Nonsi

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Renee De Wildt

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 November 2012 Renee would recommend this property

Liked: Very happy and friendly Cleaners, helpful reception and good location

Disliked: For the price everything was good however the breakfast should at least e toast or cereal not biscuits and cake.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

05 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The manager, Otto, is one of the most genuinely helpful Thais I've ever met and if I stay there again, it will be because of his friendliness and positive attitude. It is very near the BTS so getting around is a doddle and close to local conveniences and very cheap Thia food eateries. However, this YHA is what it is and if you expect more for the price then you should probably spend more and go more upmarket. Thankfully, it wasn't full of hammered backpackers coming in late banging doors.

Disliked: The single beds were a bit narrow and creaky and noise from busy local area could be a cause for concern but at this end of the range, that's what earplugs are for.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Trevor Ingram

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 August 2012

Liked: Location, location, location. It is what is known in the trade as a budgerigar hostel It is 'cheep'! Basil Fawlty is alive and well (see below) The owner was superficially friendly

Disliked: Where shall I start? How about the windowless rooms. The taps/faucets that constantly dripped. The minute common room, the cubicle sized shower and toilets. 0h, I forgot to mention the curling linoleum. Well at least the cockroaches were happy. This hostel needs to participate in a reality TV maker show But I leave the best/worst to last. For those of us old and lucky enough to have endured Basil Fawly in Fawlty Towers, good news, he is re-incarnated in the persona of the hostels owner, Otto. The hostels 'breakfast' consists of three glutinous biscuits, a cake of indeterminate origin, and a wobbly concoction that passes itself off as jelly (I think), all elegantly served in cling wrap. I had the temerity to ask for this offering after 10.00am, and for my troubles received a lecture from Otto/Basil to the effect that breakfast was served from 8.00am to 10.00am, and would I please REMEMBER this in future. Check out at is at 11.00am, a tad early, but no matter. At 10.55, I was informed that there was five minutes remaining AND until the deadline he kept on checking on me, to ensure that I did not overstay by one second. It goes without saying, that the hostel was almost empty, I wonder why? Basil F would have been proud of Otto In all my years, nay decades of travelling, this has never happened to me before. Totally unacceptable behaviour towards a hostel guest whose custom, after all, keeps the hostel in business. The location and price DO NOT offset the negatives. Stay somewhere else in Bangkok

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

veranio concepcion

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa

26 August 2012 veranio would recommend this property

Liked: The location is strategic. It is very near the Patpong area and just a short walk to the Chong Nonsi Skytrain which will bring you to all the nice places in Bangkok. The staff are friendly and accommodating when you ask for directions and places that interest its guests.

Disliked: At the time we were there, the sink is clogged. But to us, this does not pose much problem. Even in our houses, we experience this problem. The nice thing is that they tried to fixed it as early as possible.