HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of YHA Bangkok Downtown Bangkok

Hostel

Next to Skytrain Station "Chong Nonsi: Exit 4", Near Silom7, Bangkok, Thailand

Atmosphere 66%

Cleanliness 64%

Facilities 62%

Location 86%

Safety 81%

Staff 82%

Value 66%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • Cable TV
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bangkok?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 66%

Cleanliness 64%

Facilities 62%

Location 86%

Safety 81%

Staff 82%

Value 66%

Showing 51-13 of 13 reviews

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: We arrived late and they were friendly and helpful! Clean and functional. Good comparison to website descriptions!

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Jul 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nice quiet hostel with friendly Thai staff.

Disliked: Private rooms are above average cost - not much of a social atmosphere.


The property's response is

Our room rates are the LOWEST rate in our downtown Silom area so we do not understand where did you get the average cost from? and yes, we are small hostel so we are not a busy place or with party atmosphere.

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Jul 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Helpful staff, good location

Disliked: Small toilet and no water pressure in the shower

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Yes, your room was on the top floor so the water pressure in the shower was less than the lower floor which alll are working very well. Thanks for your comment anyway :-)

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Jul 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: the localisation

Disliked: the lake of cleaningless in toilets

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi Idriss, It's hard to control the cleanliness of the shared toilets although our housekeeper wash it at least 3-4 times a day! We also need help from our guests to keep clean ... :-)

34% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
34% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Jul 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The were security lockers to use for valuable items. And it was clean.

Disliked: The are many reasons:- The location is inconveniently. - The staff is not really helpful.- The price for a dorm/room is far too much.- There is no free luggage left over; you pay 50B a day for this service- Internet is not for free if you stay in a dorm, you pay 60B; just ask the WIFI password at someone who stays in a private room.- The location is extremely noisy, since the Skytrain runs very close to the building.- Fans don't work properly.- Just don't stay here.


The property's response is

Amar, who are you? You wrote a lot of bad comments & UNTRUE information + rated us a very LOW rating making our average rating droped a lot! but you NEVER stay with us ..

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Jul 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: It is very convenient and the hostel staff was really helpful and friendly.

Disliked: Perhaps that it is too near the road and it can get irritating with all the noise coming from the late night traffic. Not a major issue though.

Customer would recommend this property

29% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
29% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Jul 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: The safety was okay in the hostel.

Disliked: The place is expensive and staff is not helpful. Unfortunately the place is noisy due to late night traffic and the skytrain. don't expect service here. storing stuff at the luggage cost you 60B a day and you won't get the password for WIFI for free. The common room is small, without air condition. Not a nice place to meet fellow travelers. This definitely one of the worst YHA hostels I've visited.


The property's response is

Amar, who are you? You wrote a lot of bad comments & UNTRUE information + rated us a very LOW rating making our average rating droped a lot! but you NEVER stay with us ..

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Jun 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff are wonderful and clearly work hard. They made us feel very welcome and were really helpful. We were very impressed with how they handled a fire alarm during our last night there, though less impressed with the neighbour whose burning rubbish caused the alarm. The location is fairly good though, being close to a skytrain station, which is handy for shopping etc. and we were able to arrange tours via reception.

Disliked: The rooms are small, the beds too firm to get comfortable (Thai style apparently), the aircon pipes dripped constantly, we encountered a couple of cockroaches while there (thankfully only a couple), and the already ineffective locks were broken on the shared loo and shower on our floor. All prevent this being as good value for money.


The property's response is

Yes, our bed is "Thai healthy mattress" which a bit harder than the western mattress.. About the baby little cockroachs in your room it was from the backpack of "hippy boy" who stayed a couple of nights before you and we have sprey it twice so it's now no more ... In case your air-con is too warm or too cold you can just tell our staff at the reception to adjust the temperature anytime :-)

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Jun 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: Clean, Helpful staff, close to restaurants, great late night check in system.

Disliked: Taxi driver from the airport could not find the place.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 May 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: good

Disliked: good

Check Availability