HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of YHA Bangkok Downtown Bangkok Hostel

Next to Skytrain Station "Chong Nonsi: Exit 4", Near Silom7, Bangkok, Thailand

Atmosphere 66%

Cleanliness 64%

Facilities 62%

Location 86%

Safety 81%

Staff 82%

Value 66%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • Cable TV
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bangkok?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 66%

Cleanliness 64%

Facilities 62%

Location 86%

Safety 81%

Staff 82%

Value 66%

Showing 21-8 of 8 reviews

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Central location close to Skytrain station Chong Nonsi

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very happy and friendly Cleaners, helpful reception and good location

Disliked: For the price everything was good however the breakfast should at least e toast or cereal not biscuits and cake.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Work / volunteering

Liked: The manager, Otto, is one of the most genuinely helpful Thais I've ever met and if I stay there again, it will be because of his friendliness and positive attitude. It is very near the BTS so getting around is a doddle and close to local conveniences and very cheap Thia food eateries. However, this YHA is what it is and if you expect more for the price then you should probably spend more and go more upmarket. Thankfully, it wasn't full of hammered backpackers coming in late banging doors.

Disliked: The single beds were a bit narrow and creaky and noise from busy local area could be a cause for concern but at this end of the range, that's what earplugs are for.

Customer would recommend this property

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The location was not too bad. Nice street with all the shops and close to the airtrain. But thats the only positve..

Disliked: Shit rooms, really small, bathroom was disgusting, staff was not really friendly and really bad english.The 'commonroom' is 2meters by 3 meters so there's nobody chilling out there, so not really a change to meet people.

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location, location, location.It is what is known in the trade as a budgerigar hostel It is 'cheep'!Basil Fawlty is alive and well (see below)The owner was superficially friendly

Disliked: Where shall I start?How about the windowless rooms. The taps/faucets that constantly dripped. The minute common room, the cubicle sized shower and toilets. 0h, I forgot to mention the curling linoleum. Well at least the cockroaches were happy.This hostel needs to participate in a reality TV maker showBut I leave the best/worst to last.For those of us old and lucky enough to have endured Basil Fawly in Fawlty Towers, good news, he is re-incarnated in the persona of the hostels owner, Otto.The hostels 'breakfast' consists of three glutinous biscuits, a cake of indeterminate origin, and a wobbly concoction that passes itself off as jelly (I think), all elegantly served in cling wrap.I had the temerity to ask for this offering after 10.00am, and for my troubles received a lecture from Otto/Basil to the effect that breakfast was served from 8.00am to 10.00am, and would I please REMEMBER this in future.Check out at is at 11.00am, a tad early, but no matter. At 10.55, I was informed that there was five minutes remaining AND until the deadline he kept on checking on me, to ensure that I did not overstay by one second. It goes without saying, that the hostel was almost empty, I wonder why?Basil F would have been proud of OttoIn all my years, nay decades of travelling, this has never happened to me before. Totally unacceptable behaviour towards a hostel guest whose custom, after all, keeps the hostel in business.The location and price DO NOT offset the negatives. Stay somewhere else in Bangkok

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Relaxation / spa

Liked: The location is strategic. It is very near the Patpong area and just a short walk to the Chong Nonsi Skytrain which will bring you to all the nice places in Bangkok. The staff are friendly and accommodating when you ask for directions and places that interest its guests.

Disliked: At the time we were there, the sink is clogged. But to us, this does not pose much problem. Even in our houses, we experience this problem. The nice thing is that they tried to fixed it as early as possible.

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: good location

Disliked: it is old building, no elevator.

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: very comfortable beds and tidy room

Disliked: the toilet and shower was not so good

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: cheap :)

Disliked: locatsion !!! taxi and tuk-tuk drivers dont find it by address.They pass tree time for hostel before they recognize it . Hostel is really badly signed and name is not to see.

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Relaxation / spa

Liked: Cozy little place, pretty good staff.

Disliked: Water didn't go down the drain in the shower. There was a semi-transparent window between my private room and the room next door. Air conditioner not so good.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability