We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of YHA Bangkok Downtown

Hostel | 395/4 Silom Road, (Near Silom 7 & Opposite, ITF tower) Bangkok, Thailand 10500

71.7% Overall Rating

270 out of 411 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (02/08/2014)

Glenn Norton thinks…

"Location was good as it was close to the skytrain and walking distance to food places and bars"

Read all YHA Bangkok Downtown reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bangkok?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bangkok

Glitz Bangkok
25.42 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Take a Nap
9.09 USD

Hostel 82.9% 125 reviews
13 Coins Surawongse
16.95 USD

Hotel 3 star 76.2% 3 reviews
Thrive The Hostel: Patpong by The Belle
7.49 USD

Hostel 85.7% 3 reviews
Orchid Hostel
1.43 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Smile Society
11.71 USD

Hostel 96.3% 314 reviews
Sunflower Place - Silom
13.25 USD

Hostel 91.5% 90 reviews
Happy Traveller Home
10.02 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
71.7%

Overall Rating

270 out of 411 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'YHA Bangkok Downtown'

Atmosphere
65.6%
Location
83.2%
Facilities
60.8%
Cleanliness
62.4%
Staff
82.4%
Value
65.6%
Safety
81.6%
Refine your results Showing 267 of 280 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sarah Ferguson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 November 2011 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: We arrived late and they were friendly and helpful! Clean and functional. Good comparison to website descriptions!

Disliked: Nothing.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Tim Heinpõld

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 August 2011 Tim would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff, good location

Disliked: Small toilet and no water pressure in the shower

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Emma Pratt

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2011

Liked: The staff are wonderful and clearly work hard. They made us feel very welcome and were really helpful. We were very impressed with how they handled a fire alarm during our last night there, though less impressed with the neighbour whose burning rubbish caused the alarm. The location is fairly good though, being close to a skytrain station, which is handy for shopping etc. and we were able to arrange tours via reception.

Disliked: The rooms are small, the beds too firm to get comfortable (Thai style apparently), the aircon pipes dripped constantly, we encountered a couple of cockroaches while there (thankfully only a couple), and the already ineffective locks were broken on the shared loo and shower on our floor. All prevent this being as good value for money.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 July 2011

Liked: good

Disliked: good

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 July 2011

Liked: Nice quiet hostel with friendly Thai staff.

Disliked: Private rooms are above average cost - not much of a social atmosphere.

The property's response is...

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

13 July 2011

Liked: The safety was okay in the hostel.

Disliked: The place is expensive and staff is not helpful. Unfortunately the place is noisy due to late night traffic and the skytrain. don't expect service here. storing stuff at the luggage cost you 60B a day and you won't get the password for WIFI for free. The common room is small, without air condition. Not a nice place to meet fellow travelers. This definitely one of the worst YHA hostels I've visited.

The property's response is...

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 July 2011

Liked: The were security lockers to use for valuable items. And it was clean.

Disliked: The are many reasons: - The location is inconveniently. - The staff is not really helpful. - The price for a dorm/room is far too much. - There is no free luggage left over; you pay 50B a day for this service - Internet is not for free if you stay in a dorm, you pay 60B; just ask the WIFI password at someone who stays in a private room. - The location is extremely noisy, since the Skytrain runs very close to the building. - Fans don't work properly. - Just don't stay here.

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

10 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the localisation

Disliked: the lake of cleaningless in toilets

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ZHI RONG MOK

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 July 2011 ZHI RONG would recommend this property

Liked: It is very convenient and the hostel staff was really helpful and friendly.

Disliked: Perhaps that it is too near the road and it can get irritating with all the noise coming from the late night traffic. Not a major issue though.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

04 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: security and friendly helpful staff

Disliked: lack of availability of meeting other travellers Very small unairconditioned lounge room . Toilets

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

13 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, Helpful staff, close to restaurants, great late night check in system.

Disliked: Taxi driver from the airport could not find the place.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 May 2011

Liked: This hostel is close to transport links to get around Bangkok.

Disliked: I thought the hostel could be better value for money, the rooms are very basic and not the most comfortable beds, also most of the locks on the shared bathrooms were broken.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Bruno colbachini

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 May 2011 Bruno would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff and good location

Disliked: nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

17 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, and very sweet&friendly staff.

Disliked: Could be cheaper

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A brilliant place to stay made perfect by the people running it - cannot thank them enough. They went far beyond what was necessary and made everything so easy for us. Lovely people - many thanks guys we'll definitley be back :-)

Disliked: Nothing - full of character - loved it

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Near to Skytrain Nice staff

Disliked: my room very loud from outside and very bright because of lights

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

john prater

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping

25 March 2011 john would recommend this property

Liked: nn

Disliked: nn

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marianne El-Banna

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 March 2011 Marianne would recommend this property

Liked: The friendly reception and very helpful staff for all my questions. Even telephoned for me to get places. Otherwise I really appreciated the place because of his cleanlisness and the nearby downtown, very convenient!!

Disliked: What I missed was the kitchen or facility to make my tea or coffee. TV would also be good especially in case of war to have the news at least or newspaper.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location was great, right near the sky train.

Disliked: shared bathroom wasnt that nice toilet was leaking and was pretty dirty

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The locaion is quite nice with the skytrain just a few minutes walk away and all the necessities right around you. The facilities worked fine and you basically got everything you need. Plus: the staff was very helpfull!

Disliked: There is nothing exactly wrong with this place, if you are just looking for some place to sleep, but its definitly lacking atmosphere (in my opinion) and the "commonroom" is just a joke, I´ve had better value for compareable prices (YHA-Membership wont be taken into consideration, if you are booking through this page...) even in Bangkok. Oh, I am not exactly sure, if they mentioned it in their "About"-page, but looks like you pay the whole bill per credit-card, if you bok with hostelbookers, not just the deposit (just to make sure it was mentioned).

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 February 2011

Liked: Was clean and kept very secure

Disliked: Overall disapponted. Was not able to use HI discount, was pretty poorly located although close to transport links

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a beautiful place and very well taken care of. It's right accross from the Chong Nonsi Sky train stop, so it was pretty accessible. The area was good but not great. It was close to a good night market and some good restaurants, but pretty removed from most of the big tourist destinations. It was a fairly quiet neighbourhood, which was relaxing, except you could hear the skytrain really loud in the rooms.

Disliked: I enjoy meeting people and having a common area to relax, but this place did not have that. That being said, they are very upfront about that in their description and I just thought it was a decent price so I took it. The thing I really didn't like was the lack of internet access. There was no wifi and the computers in the lobby were crazy expensive.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break

20 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to meet other people

Disliked: located away from the main tourist scene

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

KOSUKE KIMIKAWA

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 February 2011 KOSUKE would recommend this property

Liked: staffs are so friendly and kind. I like them.

Disliked: common room is little bit small

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joshua Roller

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa

26 January 2011 Joshua would recommend this property

Liked: Everyone was so friendly and willing to help. The atmosphere was great!

Disliked: The bathrooms were just ok, but not terrible