We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Lub d Bangkok - Siam Square

Hostel | 925/9 Rama 1 Road, Wangmai, Pathumwan Bangkok, Thailand 10330

92.0% Overall Rating

187 out of 192 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/04/2015)

"The staff is amazingly helpful and friendly! The location is so perfect. When you arrive with the BTS skytrain you can see the hostel building already from the skytrain station. Even though my room was quite because it…"

Read all Lub d Bangkok - Siam Square reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Common area / room
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

We will do Pre-authorization Charge on your card within 7 days after you make the reservation online.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bangkok?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bangkok

Bed Station Hostel
9.37 USD

Hostel 94.9% 26 reviews
Siam Journey Guesthouse
8.54 USD

Hostel 93.0% 72 reviews
The Fifth Residence
15.67 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 83.6% 8 reviews
Prince House
15.19 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Boxpackers Hostel
12.82 USD

Hostel 87.8% 7 reviews
Omni Tower by Compass Hospitality
35.59 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
A-2 House
21.36 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Cozy Bangkok Place Hostel
7.60 USD

Hostel 93.0% 584 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.0%

Overall Rating

187 out of 192 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Lub d Bangkok - Siam Square'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
94.4%
Cleanliness
96.0%
Staff
91.2%
Value
84.8%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 172 of 190 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is fantastic, directly beside National Stadium skytrain station. Great staff. Lots of internet terminals plus wifi. Rooms are secure and you have bag-sized lockers too. Good cheap food nearby.

Disliked: It's expensive, but so are all hostels in Bangkok

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Although the rooms were really small it was very clean, particulary the bathrooms! It's pretty easy to find and was in a nice area and close to lots of good touristy places. The staff were really nice but I didn't find them to be very fourthcoming with information and things to do and see in bangkok. I actually got more info & advice from my Thai friend who hasn't lived in Thailand for over 15 yrs! Overall though I would definately recommend the hostel for it's cleanliness and value for money

Disliked: Just found it a bit boring and lacked a social vibe! There's not really much of a happening communal area. Also no info on tours or sites.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Karla ma

Alone

Shopping

10 March 2011 Karla would recommend this property

Liked: had everything that you need! shelf by bed with plug points, air con, laundry, good cheap breakfast, great showers, sport! its great value and very clean which is the main thing!!

Disliked: all good!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i really like the design of the hostel, its very well design, the fact that the location is in front of the national stadium wakes things even better. the staff are very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, free internet, excellent staff and reasonable bar area too

Disliked: Comparatively expensive.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

06 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location and cleanliness are unbeatable, and the bed is comfortable. There are cheaper alternatives but as a single traveler, the cost is offset by benefits of convenient access to public transportation and good shared facilities.

Disliked: None

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

rebecca hulme

Alone

Shopping

06 March 2011 rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: a totally brand-new swanky hostel right in the middle of all the siam square action - metres from the escalators of national stadium train stop and MBK mall. The whole place was spotless, smelled of new paint and everyone was trying really hard to please you, cause they are the new kids on the block. Location was phenomenal, cause I was only in bangkok to shop, and the place was fitted out with heaps of little modern conveniences like dim bedside lamps, really comfy matresses, huge lockers and key cards. they even had washing machines and kinda designer type bathrooms.

Disliked: I was completely happy with my stay. sorry to rave on about how great it was.. but no, I can hardly think of a thing that was wrong with it. Perhaps harder to meet people than other bangkok hostels, but all in all, so swanky, quirky minimalist and new!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eric Stear

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

02 March 2011 Eric would recommend this property

Liked: Smart layout, very comfortable to stay here.

Disliked: A some of the shower door hardware on the 4th floor men's bathroom was loose/broken. Upon checkin, the reception staff said that they could only charge my credit card in USD at a poor exchange rate. I wanted my card to be charged in THB.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

SHENGYU KUO

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 February 2011 SHENGYU would recommend this property

Liked: perfect location, 10 meters to BTS National Stadium

Disliked: none

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Charlotte Jones

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 February 2011 Charlotte would recommend this property

Liked: Hate to be unoriginal, but the other comments are true. This is the best hostel I've ever stayed in.

Disliked: The only complaint I have is the map Lub D has on the website. Even with the printed map, we could not find it for 2 hours and no taxi drivers knew the location because it was new.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place is amazing. It's the most modern, cool hostel I've ever stayed at. Everything is perfect. It's like someone who knows exactly what you need at a hostel put this place together. Dvd room is incredibly comfortable and welcoming, the staff is wayy to friendly, always answering my questions, and the rooms and bathrooms are immaculate. I love this place. If you're like me and wanted somewhere to stay close to the train to get to and from the airport and do tons of shopping at all the best malls in the city nearby before going home, this place is PERFECT.

Disliked: They should have a happy hour. Or maybe organize some sort of activities at the hostel to promote socializing.

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

James Song

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 February 2011

Liked: It's similar, but not the same. It's hard to say, then, what I really liked. The sheets were clean, for instance, but the lockers were filthy. Hard to say...

Disliked: This is not the same Lub D. It's a good copy, like a good counterfeit Rolex watch, but it's not the real thing. I've stayed at the Decho Lub D since it opened and decided to try out this new location. It was not a great stay. Sure, it's a clean, nice place, but it has lost the fun, family-type atmosphere of the original. The theater is out of the way and hard to find. The staff are hit and miss: some friendly, some bitchy. The air conditioner didn't work right and was never fixed. Everyone seemed more guarded here and less relaxed than at the other location (Decho Rd).

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Siilen Amarbaatar

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 February 2011 Siilen would recommend this property

Liked: location, cleanliness, compact but comfy.

Disliked: nothing much to dislike

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is a wounderful place with a great location and easy acces. It is just perfect.

Disliked: Great

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location for shopaholics and sight seeing. It is within walking distance to the famous Jim Thomson's House and the best shopping place in Bangkok. Near to the BTS Sky Train, easy access to the Airport too.

Disliked: There's none that I dislike, except the high price of the foods served there, but there's always choices around the place like 7-Eleven, affordable stalls and restaurants nearby. Due to the good location, good shower etc, no wander that the price of the hostel is quite costly. But the awesome thing that happen in Lub'd is that most of the customers are repeating customers.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jerry Ruth

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

06 February 2011 Jerry would recommend this property

Liked: The location was fantastic, it doesn't get much better and more convenient in Bangkok. The hostel was right at the National Stadium skytrain station, giving it convenient access to all the destinations in the city. Our room was clean, the atmosphere was fun, there were lots of free internet stations, everything was well maintained.

Disliked: Absolutely could not check in early. Our overnight bus arrived at 8:00 am and we really needed a nap and a shower, but they didn't let us check in even at 1:00. The so-called continental breakfast was way overpriced and there was no place else nearby that was open for food before 10:00am

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cleanliness

Disliked: besides my bed in particular the plugs were not working

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great sized rooms, friendly staff, good amenities

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping

11 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Most stylish i've seen so far; very friendly and helpful staff; spotless rooms and bathrooms;

Disliked: no laundry service

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent hostel, very clean, modern and safe! Would definately stay here again and would recommend to everyone!

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location, facilities, perfect!

Disliked: n/a

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Andrew Huang

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2011 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Very safe, very clean, very professional.

Disliked: The lack of cheaper options to have a room with more beds.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I felt very safe here. The rooms are so clean and the bathrooms are great. Really good shower pressure and prefect location. Right near the sky train station and close to all the major shopping areas. Loved my stay here!!

Disliked: I felt that it was not the best place to meet people, they didnt really promote group activities or anything like that.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Brendan Jacques

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2011 Brendan would recommend this property

Liked: Proximity to transportation. Proximity to services.

Disliked: Noisy.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place was very clean, the beds were comfy (with new sheets everyday!), the showers hot (not that they really needed to be!), it was easy to find and there were six computers with good internet access. There is a free left luggage room, and the staff are happy to let you have a shower after you've checked out. Would stay here again.

Disliked: n/a