HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Lub d Bangkok - Siam Square

Hostel | 925/9 Rama 1 Road, Wangmai, Pathumwan Bangkok, Thailand 10330

91.4% Overall Rating

171 out of 176 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/04/2014)

Vincenzo Mancari thinks…

"The staff are exceptional and interact with all the guests. On hand tour operators to help you arrange trips."

Read all Lub d Bangkok - Siam Square reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Common area / room
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

We will do Pre-authorization Charge on your card within 7 days after you make the reservation online.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bangkok?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bangkok

Siam Journey Guesthouse
10.80 USD

Hostel 93.3% 53 reviews
The Fifth Residence
15.43 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 81.2% 7 reviews
Prince House
15.43 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Boxpackers Hostel
15.43 USD

Hostel 88.6% 3 reviews
Omni Tower by Compass Hospitality
23.14 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
The Ambassador Bangkok Hotel
37.03 USD

Hotel 3 star 82.0% 10 reviews
A-2 House
17.74 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Cozy Bangkok Place Hostel
8.23 USD

Hostel 93.9% 527 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.4%

Overall Rating

171 out of 176 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Lub d Bangkok - Siam Square'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
89.6%
Cleanliness
95.2%
Staff
92.0%
Value
82.4%
Safety
97.6%
Refine your results Showing 161 of 174 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The best in bangkok. Will come back again.

Disliked: nothing

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Ryan Moore

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 May 2011 Ryan would recommend this property

Liked: media room was pretty sweet

Disliked: to expensive, people not very helpful at all resulting in a dull atmosphere

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostle is really modern, with great free wi-fi connection which makes it easy to stay in touch at home and if you dont have your own notebook/ laptop there are plenty of computers for you to use so you never have to wait. We stayed in both an eco twin and a double during our stay and both are great value compared to the price of staying in a hotel. Our double had an ensuite with a tv, complimentary water and linen. The cleaners do a fantastic job, the rooms are spotless. Everything you could want when you are new to a city.

Disliked: As the corridors are open air they can get really hot in the daytime as the humidity is so intense in bangkok, however, there is great air con in all the rooms so you do not feel it until you are on the landing. This would not stop us staying here again.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: New and clean

Disliked: Lockers are only for small locks

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I like everything of Lub.d. The best thing is location. Sky train is just close by. (just in a minute)

Disliked: I couldn't use Wifi in a room.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

04 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The double rooms were very nice but quite small and expensive.

Disliked: Price

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

erik askevold

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 May 2011 erik would recommend this property

Liked: the bean bag chairs and the theatre are a really nice touch

Disliked: it was 1000 degress outside, but that wasn't lubds fault.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yen Ching Lee

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

30 April 2011 Yen Ching would recommend this property

Liked: It's really a fancy hostel, clean and cozy, the bathroom is very nice.

Disliked: the staff can be more friendly

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jessalyn Pinneo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2011 Jessalyn would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly, helpful staff - it's a welcoming and relaxed place about a 30-second walk from National Stadium station (Skytrain). The downside is that pretty much anywhere you want to go that isn't accessible via Skytrain requires a taxi, but it's not a bad trade-off for a clean, safe, friendly and affordable hostel.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lubd is a fantastic hostel. Located right out side the MBK shopping centre and Skyrail station. Superb location and easy to get around from. Siam Square is a nice and safe area. The hostel is clean, new, quirky in style and fun. Good place to meet fellow travellers. The only negative thing is some of the staff can be very rude and unhelpfull but not all are this way. Definately stay here, you'll love it or I will give you your money back ;-).

Disliked: Some staff.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2011

Liked: It was a clean hostel in close proximity to the shopping district. The bunks have extra leg room if you're tall and are built solidly. The large lockers are nice if you want to store all your luggage; however, I only used it for some valuables. The rooms are secured through keycard. The access to the dorm stairways are also secured with keycard. If you're in the area for shopping, this is a good location.

Disliked: It's not a place to meet other travelers. It has a sterile feeling about it. A couple items that were irritating were that the outlets in the dorms only function while your keycard is in the slot; making charging your camera battery or cell phone only available while you're in the room. The air conditioning in the room is situated above one of the bunks and is automatically aimed at two other bunks. So hope you're not unfortunate to get the bunk with the wind blowing at you throughout the night.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I enjoyed my stay here. It was exactly as advertised, clean friendly and a great place to stay.

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved my room (econo-double)- very clean. great bed, air con, electronic safe... Good location

Disliked: A little pricey and would have liked more of a selection at breakfast- everything else was great

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Barbara Weibel

Alone

Work / volunteering

01 April 2011 Barbara would recommend this property

Liked: I've stayed here several times now and it has become my accommodation of choice in Bangkok. Tghe staff is wonderful; after my first time, they even remembered my name when I walked in the door. It is in the best location in Bangkok, at Siam Square at the foot of the escalator that goes to the national Stadium Sky Train Station, and it's so easy to get there from the airport via the trains for cheap. It's secure, well priced, and the cleanest hostel I've ever stayed in.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is fantastic, directly beside National Stadium skytrain station. Great staff. Lots of internet terminals plus wifi. Rooms are secure and you have bag-sized lockers too. Good cheap food nearby.

Disliked: It's expensive, but so are all hostels in Bangkok

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Although the rooms were really small it was very clean, particulary the bathrooms! It's pretty easy to find and was in a nice area and close to lots of good touristy places. The staff were really nice but I didn't find them to be very fourthcoming with information and things to do and see in bangkok. I actually got more info & advice from my Thai friend who hasn't lived in Thailand for over 15 yrs! Overall though I would definately recommend the hostel for it's cleanliness and value for money

Disliked: Just found it a bit boring and lacked a social vibe! There's not really much of a happening communal area. Also no info on tours or sites.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Karla ma

Alone

Shopping

10 March 2011 Karla would recommend this property

Liked: had everything that you need! shelf by bed with plug points, air con, laundry, good cheap breakfast, great showers, sport! its great value and very clean which is the main thing!!

Disliked: all good!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i really like the design of the hostel, its very well design, the fact that the location is in front of the national stadium wakes things even better. the staff are very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, free internet, excellent staff and reasonable bar area too

Disliked: Comparatively expensive.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

06 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location and cleanliness are unbeatable, and the bed is comfortable. There are cheaper alternatives but as a single traveler, the cost is offset by benefits of convenient access to public transportation and good shared facilities.

Disliked: None

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

rebecca hulme

Alone

Shopping

06 March 2011 rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: a totally brand-new swanky hostel right in the middle of all the siam square action - metres from the escalators of national stadium train stop and MBK mall. The whole place was spotless, smelled of new paint and everyone was trying really hard to please you, cause they are the new kids on the block. Location was phenomenal, cause I was only in bangkok to shop, and the place was fitted out with heaps of little modern conveniences like dim bedside lamps, really comfy matresses, huge lockers and key cards. they even had washing machines and kinda designer type bathrooms.

Disliked: I was completely happy with my stay. sorry to rave on about how great it was.. but no, I can hardly think of a thing that was wrong with it. Perhaps harder to meet people than other bangkok hostels, but all in all, so swanky, quirky minimalist and new!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eric Stear

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

02 March 2011 Eric would recommend this property

Liked: Smart layout, very comfortable to stay here.

Disliked: A some of the shower door hardware on the 4th floor men's bathroom was loose/broken. Upon checkin, the reception staff said that they could only charge my credit card in USD at a poor exchange rate. I wanted my card to be charged in THB.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

SHENGYU KUO

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 February 2011 SHENGYU would recommend this property

Liked: perfect location, 10 meters to BTS National Stadium

Disliked: none

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Charlotte Jones

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 February 2011 Charlotte would recommend this property

Liked: Hate to be unoriginal, but the other comments are true. This is the best hostel I've ever stayed in.

Disliked: The only complaint I have is the map Lub D has on the website. Even with the printed map, we could not find it for 2 hours and no taxi drivers knew the location because it was new.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place is amazing. It's the most modern, cool hostel I've ever stayed at. Everything is perfect. It's like someone who knows exactly what you need at a hostel put this place together. Dvd room is incredibly comfortable and welcoming, the staff is wayy to friendly, always answering my questions, and the rooms and bathrooms are immaculate. I love this place. If you're like me and wanted somewhere to stay close to the train to get to and from the airport and do tons of shopping at all the best malls in the city nearby before going home, this place is PERFECT.

Disliked: They should have a happy hour. Or maybe organize some sort of activities at the hostel to promote socializing.

The property's response is...