HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Lub d Bangkok - Siam Square

Hostel | 925/9 Rama 1 Road, Wangmai, Pathumwan Bangkok, Thailand 10330

91.3% Overall Rating

169 out of 174 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/04/2014)

Edward McClelland thinks…

"Clean room. Plenty of cool air in Room. Located right down street from huge Mall. Great for shoppers. Located right underneath a Train Stop so travelling is easy. Bathrooms OK. Overall, a serviceable…"

Read all Lub d Bangkok - Siam Square reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Common area / room
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

We will do Pre-authorization Charge on your card within 7 days after you make the reservation online.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bangkok?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bangkok

Siam Journey Guesthouse
10.85 USD

Hostel 93.3% 53 reviews
The Fifth Residence
15.49 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 81.2% 7 reviews
Prince House
15.49 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Boxpackers Hostel
15.49 USD

Hostel 88.6% 3 reviews
Omni Tower by Compass Hospitality
23.24 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
The Ambassador Bangkok Hotel
37.19 USD

Hotel 3 star 82.0% 10 reviews
A-2 House
17.82 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Cozy Bangkok Place Hostel
8.26 USD

Hostel 93.8% 525 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.3%

Overall Rating

169 out of 174 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Lub d Bangkok - Siam Square'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
88.0%
Cleanliness
95.2%
Staff
92.8%
Value
83.2%
Safety
96.8%
Refine your results Showing 159 of 172 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Timothy Xavier Te

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

15 June 2012 Timothy Xavier would recommend this property

Liked: The location is superb, you step out, take 10 steps and you're on BTS national stadium's entrance/escalator. walking distance to most of bangkok's major malls/shopping areas (MBK,PLATINUM,CENTRAL WORLD,etc.) avoid traffic when you're leaving! getting to the airport couldn't be easier (take the BTS and switch stations to take the airport rail link) Staff was incredibly helpful, funny and accommodating. especially TONG and MAI. if you need to get up early, get a wake up call, it'll surely wake you up! :D Place is clean, almost spotless. i swear at any time of the day, you see someone cleaning something. bathrooms were very clean and rooms were too. beds were good and A/C takes very short time to become cool/comfy. lots of free books to read and the theater room was great (friends even slept there for a night.lol) you could get food and drinks right at the lobby for reasonable prices, and a 7-11 was about a half a minute's walk away.

Disliked: dorms are a touch small, but still comfortable, who needs more space just for sleeping anyway? not too much crazy/party people as guests as the place is geared towards shoppers, but met nice people none the less. about 60-70 baht taxi to khaosan road. which isn't too bad if split among others.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked it here, it's a very clean and nice hostel. The beds are big and each one in a dorm have a big locker were you can put your backpack in. On the other side of the street you can take local busses, number 15 and 47 are going to the khao san road and thats only for 7 bath! Really good, and all of the taxi drivers can find the MBK, thats really near to the hostel.

Disliked: It's really expensive for a hostel. You have to pay around 550 bath and it is only low season.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Brian Rauch

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

18 May 2012 Brian would recommend this property

Liked: Very cool industrial look and feel. Probably a good place to meet people (we didn't because we were on our honeymoon in transit to luxury resort). Amazing free luggage storage!

Disliked: Staff in front while nice were not that helpful. We should have learned more Thai before coming, but if you're going to run an international hotel hire some more people that speak better english. It was definitely difficult communicating with staff. Not that helpful in terms of activity to do in and around Bangkok.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Dora Gyongyosi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 May 2012 Dora would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, clean, staff OK

Disliked: -

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

10 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Super clean and the little extras provided

Disliked: The hostel is perfect except for one thing - the noise! It is on a really really busy street so there is loud traffic noise constantly, and there is building work noises in the evenings as well. If you can sleep with air plugs then would definitely recommend this hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MUTHIA ISMAULIYANI

Alone

Events / festivals

01 May 2012 MUTHIA would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed at LubD Siam during Songkran festival and it was a great decision. I had fun with other guests just right in front of the hostel. We spent the evening getting people wet. From hostel guests, to anyone walking by, and of course, those people on tuk-tuk!

Disliked: Nothing!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Jacqui Grimsey

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 April 2012 Jacqui would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and modern facilities, comfortable beds, huuuuge tv/film room with giant bean bags that i wanted to take home with me. Directly across the street from Skytrain and easy access to airport link. Great stopover for airport trips.

Disliked: Sadly surrounded by construction site at the moment so very noisy, but out of the hostels control. Greatly disliked a strange drunken man coming into our room at 3am, although he wasn't staying in our room and shouldn't have had a key, so we are very concerned as to how he got in!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Wojciech Rygielski

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 April 2012

Liked: Very good directions on the page, found it without problems. Very friendly staff. Secure lockers. Location just by the Sky Train.

Disliked: Internet connection is VERY limited. :( Only basic protocols (like HTTP) are allowed. I couldn't connect with my work (via VPN) nor even send my email (via email client using secure TLS protocol)! Many other programs (like less known instant messaging communicators) were also affected. This is the first time I encountered such limitations in any hostel, it was even worse than in China. ;) Rooms have small, unopenable windows. And (as usual in Thailand) I had this creepy feeling that half of the men staying here are sex tourists. But that probably is true for all hostels in good locations in Thailand...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ryan Barry

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 April 2012 Ryan would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was extremely polite, nice, funny, and helpful. I asked if the bus stop was near by and they printed me a map and the translation to tell the taxi driver. Extremely clean, showers were great, the drinks they sold were at a good price, breakfast was nice. Great place and the surrounding area is good as well. It's not too busy and the shopping mall across the street is fun to go to.

Disliked: Nada, nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marie-Francoise RAGUY

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

02 April 2012 Marie-Francoise would recommend this property

Liked: Great in every reespect !!

Disliked: NOTHING !!!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great, it was easy to find nice restaurants to eat at since MBK shopping center is right across the street. It's on a fairly main road so Taxi's and TukTuks are always available. The rooms were clean and well maintained, and our Econo Double was more spacious than most hostels we stayed at in Australia. Air Conditioning was much appreciated. The continental breakfasts were good for the price. It was QUIET, even though it was loud outside 24/7 the concrete walls block out all the noise even though we had a construction site next door.

Disliked: The food they offer at the hostel isn't as good as they claim, it's mostly frozen meals reheated. Air conditioning was a little touchy at first, we had to play with it a little to get it to work 100% but it worked well after.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
City break

21 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was indeed steps away from the sky train, making it extremely easy to travel to most places in BKK. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. The rooms were very clean and the overall design of the hostel and the rooms were notable.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really great location, staff were friendly and the place had a great cozy feel to it.

Disliked: Might not be the best if you are looking to pinch pennies down to the last cent. Definitely worth the extra bit of cost though.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very clean, friendly helpful staff,

Disliked: nothing, all good

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

nicolas Luna Hisano

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 February 2012 nicolas would recommend this property

Liked: cleaning, the simplicity of the place, attention, peace and the environment

Disliked: the price very high

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Shopping

24 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly and helphul staff, went to hospital and staff joined me. very central and close to Sktrain and shopping centers

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

José Luis carrasco Gutiérrez

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 February 2012 José Luis would recommend this property

Liked: Very Corán. Very Good location. Next to mbk big shopping centet

Disliked: People was working out till late un the morning

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Breanna Smith

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

20 February 2012 Breanna would recommend this property

Liked: The location was good for the Siam Area. Great if you want to go shopping or anywhere along the train lines as it is directly below the enterance of National Stadium, possibly not the best if you are interested in going to a lot of the temples or ko san rd, however a cheap tuk tuk ride may always be taken. It depends on how you want to spend your time. Its very central. The place is clean and modern and quite nice for Bangkok.

Disliked: Not anything i can think of :)

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Christopher Dore

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 February 2012 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: Ease of access to/from Bangkok airport. Next to Siam Square. Very clean.

Disliked: Nothing in particular

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

kalyan chakravarthy reddy palle

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 February 2012 kalyan chakravarthy reddy would recommend this property

Liked: The best hostel experience i have ever had in my life. Its just awesome. Difficult to mention everything.

Disliked: hmmmmmm....nothing much. Its value for money. I would definitely recommend this to my friends and travellers to bangkok.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good design...quiet and relaxed atmosphere ...well organized and good staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

25 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cinema, Design of the place, location.

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent all around. Very impressed.

Disliked: A bit pricey but the location makes it worth it. I stayed in the double deluxe alone and it was so cozy I didn't want to leave!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jessica Atkins

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Shopping

23 December 2011 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: Decent selection of cheap food for breakfast, great location near all the major shopping centres and right outside a Skytrain station, very large bathrooms with full-length mirrors and hairdryers, free computers with internet and free wi-fi, 24-hour reception and bar, and the hostel is very modern. Our 4 bed dorm wasn't huge but it had enough room to lie our suitcases down, and huge lockers. The beds were pretty comfortable, with personal reading lights and powerpoints, as well as lots of shelves. The staff were super friendly, too! What more could you want?

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway

21 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel has everything I wanted: Quality internet hookup, safe and clean rooms, wonderful shower and toilets, very friendly and helpful staff. (They are superb!) nearby fantastic shopping.

Disliked: not a thing. If Khoa San or Sukhumvit are areas of interest to you, though, you are a little ways away from those areas.