HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Lub d Bangkok - Siam Square

Hostel | 925/9 Rama 1 Road, Wangmai, Pathumwan Bangkok, Thailand 10330

92.6% Overall Rating

179 out of 184 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/10/2014)

"Very clean room, close to public transport, staffs speak english very well, excellent air cond"

Read all Lub d Bangkok - Siam Square reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Common area / room
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

We will do Pre-authorization Charge on your card within 7 days after you make the reservation online.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bangkok?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bangkok

Siam Journey Guesthouse
9.80 USD

Hostel 93.8% 60 reviews
The Fifth Residence
15.41 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 81.2% 7 reviews
Prince House
15.41 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Boxpackers Hostel
13.87 USD

Hostel 83.4% 5 reviews
Omni Tower by Compass Hospitality
26.19 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
The Ambassador Bangkok Hotel
36.98 USD

Hotel 3 star 82.0% 10 reviews
A-2 House
17.72 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Cozy Bangkok Place Hostel
8.22 USD

Hostel 93.1% 553 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.6%

Overall Rating

179 out of 184 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Lub d Bangkok - Siam Square'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
92.8%
Cleanliness
96.0%
Staff
91.2%
Value
83.2%
Safety
97.6%
Refine your results Showing 167 of 182 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

CRISTINA BINDA

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2012 CRISTINA would recommend this property

Liked: location and environment

Disliked: none

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really like the location of this hostel. It is close to the National Stadium BTS train and really close to the endless malls in Siam Square. There is a giant food court in the Paragon, which offers street food without the stomach scare. The workers at the hostel are always super friendly and helpful. They coordinate these gatherings for the hostel, which offers a nice way to meet new people. One night we had local Thai whiskey for free. I had about 6 shots of that thing. This is the best place to stay in Bangkok. There is also a 7 Eleven next door as well.

Disliked: Nothing! This place is amazing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: amazing location and very clean

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping

18 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location is the best and all staffs are friendly If you planning to use airport link train lub d is the best to choose.

Disliked: actually It was my second visit, so i could find this hostel getting old and untidy. still clean but needs more care.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

max morgan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

09 July 2012 max would recommend this property

Liked: Handy location as its not far from the ping pong shows. absolutely sick 'theatre' room with a sweet 50inch tv, and cable for when you bored/have exhausted all there is to see in bangkok. rooms and toilets are clean all the time. right next to the sky train, although some way from khaosan road whcih for me is the highlight of bangkok, its a 50baht taxi which takes around 20 minutes. (depending on your preferences) free internet/wifi with decent computers.

Disliked: basic breakfast and any food is from frozen, but there are places to eat just around the corner.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

oriol nunez oller

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 July 2012 oriol would recommend this property

Liked: absolutelly in the middle of Bangkok: SIAM Its very very clean. There is allways somebody cleaning everything

Disliked: nothing at all. Maybe the price, but even its cheap if you compare it with the hotels or hostels arround

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Jeremy Healy

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 June 2012 Jeremy would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, extremely central, skytrain right outside the door, main shopping area of Bangkok only a couple of mins walk away. Lobby area is very nice chillout area, well fitted out, and dorms are well fitted out if a bit too concretey for my tastes.

Disliked: Overpriced. Yes, it's extremely central, but this is not Europe, it's SE Asia. Nearly $20/night for a dorm is ridiculous for Bangkok, especially when that doesnt include towels or breakfast. It was cheaper to book on hostelbookers than at reception, even when I told the staff that, they wouldn't give me the same price, so I booked on hostelbookers using the wifi in their lobby!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent hostel. Helpful staff, incredibly clean, great facilities, and super comfy beds. Location is central to everything and being only steps away from the National Station BTS allows quick access to all the major destinations in Bangkok. All in all a perfect hostel. Would not hesitate to recommend to anyone visiting Bangkok.

Disliked: Only downside to this hostel was that things can get pretty noisy due to the traffic and construction in the area. But once inside the rooms the noise is hardly noticeable.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Timothy Xavier Te

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

15 June 2012 Timothy Xavier would recommend this property

Liked: The location is superb, you step out, take 10 steps and you're on BTS national stadium's entrance/escalator. walking distance to most of bangkok's major malls/shopping areas (MBK,PLATINUM,CENTRAL WORLD,etc.) avoid traffic when you're leaving! getting to the airport couldn't be easier (take the BTS and switch stations to take the airport rail link) Staff was incredibly helpful, funny and accommodating. especially TONG and MAI. if you need to get up early, get a wake up call, it'll surely wake you up! :D Place is clean, almost spotless. i swear at any time of the day, you see someone cleaning something. bathrooms were very clean and rooms were too. beds were good and A/C takes very short time to become cool/comfy. lots of free books to read and the theater room was great (friends even slept there for a night.lol) you could get food and drinks right at the lobby for reasonable prices, and a 7-11 was about a half a minute's walk away.

Disliked: dorms are a touch small, but still comfortable, who needs more space just for sleeping anyway? not too much crazy/party people as guests as the place is geared towards shoppers, but met nice people none the less. about 60-70 baht taxi to khaosan road. which isn't too bad if split among others.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked it here, it's a very clean and nice hostel. The beds are big and each one in a dorm have a big locker were you can put your backpack in. On the other side of the street you can take local busses, number 15 and 47 are going to the khao san road and thats only for 7 bath! Really good, and all of the taxi drivers can find the MBK, thats really near to the hostel.

Disliked: It's really expensive for a hostel. You have to pay around 550 bath and it is only low season.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Brian Rauch

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

18 May 2012 Brian would recommend this property

Liked: Very cool industrial look and feel. Probably a good place to meet people (we didn't because we were on our honeymoon in transit to luxury resort). Amazing free luggage storage!

Disliked: Staff in front while nice were not that helpful. We should have learned more Thai before coming, but if you're going to run an international hotel hire some more people that speak better english. It was definitely difficult communicating with staff. Not that helpful in terms of activity to do in and around Bangkok.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Dora Gyongyosi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 May 2012 Dora would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, clean, staff OK

Disliked: -

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

10 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Super clean and the little extras provided

Disliked: The hostel is perfect except for one thing - the noise! It is on a really really busy street so there is loud traffic noise constantly, and there is building work noises in the evenings as well. If you can sleep with air plugs then would definitely recommend this hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MUTHIA ISMAULIYANI

Alone

Events / festivals

01 May 2012 MUTHIA would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed at LubD Siam during Songkran festival and it was a great decision. I had fun with other guests just right in front of the hostel. We spent the evening getting people wet. From hostel guests, to anyone walking by, and of course, those people on tuk-tuk!

Disliked: Nothing!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Jacqui Grimsey

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 April 2012 Jacqui would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and modern facilities, comfortable beds, huuuuge tv/film room with giant bean bags that i wanted to take home with me. Directly across the street from Skytrain and easy access to airport link. Great stopover for airport trips.

Disliked: Sadly surrounded by construction site at the moment so very noisy, but out of the hostels control. Greatly disliked a strange drunken man coming into our room at 3am, although he wasn't staying in our room and shouldn't have had a key, so we are very concerned as to how he got in!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Wojciech Rygielski

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 April 2012

Liked: Very good directions on the page, found it without problems. Very friendly staff. Secure lockers. Location just by the Sky Train.

Disliked: Internet connection is VERY limited. :( Only basic protocols (like HTTP) are allowed. I couldn't connect with my work (via VPN) nor even send my email (via email client using secure TLS protocol)! Many other programs (like less known instant messaging communicators) were also affected. This is the first time I encountered such limitations in any hostel, it was even worse than in China. ;) Rooms have small, unopenable windows. And (as usual in Thailand) I had this creepy feeling that half of the men staying here are sex tourists. But that probably is true for all hostels in good locations in Thailand...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ryan Barry

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 April 2012 Ryan would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was extremely polite, nice, funny, and helpful. I asked if the bus stop was near by and they printed me a map and the translation to tell the taxi driver. Extremely clean, showers were great, the drinks they sold were at a good price, breakfast was nice. Great place and the surrounding area is good as well. It's not too busy and the shopping mall across the street is fun to go to.

Disliked: Nada, nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marie-Francoise RAGUY

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

02 April 2012 Marie-Francoise would recommend this property

Liked: Great in every reespect !!

Disliked: NOTHING !!!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great, it was easy to find nice restaurants to eat at since MBK shopping center is right across the street. It's on a fairly main road so Taxi's and TukTuks are always available. The rooms were clean and well maintained, and our Econo Double was more spacious than most hostels we stayed at in Australia. Air Conditioning was much appreciated. The continental breakfasts were good for the price. It was QUIET, even though it was loud outside 24/7 the concrete walls block out all the noise even though we had a construction site next door.

Disliked: The food they offer at the hostel isn't as good as they claim, it's mostly frozen meals reheated. Air conditioning was a little touchy at first, we had to play with it a little to get it to work 100% but it worked well after.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
City break

21 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was indeed steps away from the sky train, making it extremely easy to travel to most places in BKK. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. The rooms were very clean and the overall design of the hostel and the rooms were notable.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really great location, staff were friendly and the place had a great cozy feel to it.

Disliked: Might not be the best if you are looking to pinch pennies down to the last cent. Definitely worth the extra bit of cost though.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very clean, friendly helpful staff,

Disliked: nothing, all good

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

nicolas Luna Hisano

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 February 2012 nicolas would recommend this property

Liked: cleaning, the simplicity of the place, attention, peace and the environment

Disliked: the price very high

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Shopping

24 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly and helphul staff, went to hospital and staff joined me. very central and close to Sktrain and shopping centers

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

José Luis carrasco Gutiérrez

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 February 2012 José Luis would recommend this property

Liked: Very Corán. Very Good location. Next to mbk big shopping centet

Disliked: People was working out till late un the morning