HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Lub d Bangkok - Siam Square

Hostel | 925/9 Rama 1 Road, Wangmai, Pathumwan Bangkok, Thailand 10330

91.3% Overall Rating

169 out of 174 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/04/2014)

Edward McClelland thinks…

"Clean room. Plenty of cool air in Room. Located right down street from huge Mall. Great for shoppers. Located right underneath a Train Stop so travelling is easy. Bathrooms OK. Overall, a serviceable…"

Read all Lub d Bangkok - Siam Square reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Common area / room
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

We will do Pre-authorization Charge on your card within 7 days after you make the reservation online.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bangkok?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bangkok

Siam Journey Guesthouse
10.85 USD

Hostel 93.3% 53 reviews
The Fifth Residence
15.49 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 81.2% 7 reviews
Prince House
15.49 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Boxpackers Hostel
15.49 USD

Hostel 88.6% 3 reviews
Omni Tower by Compass Hospitality
23.24 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
The Ambassador Bangkok Hotel
37.19 USD

Hotel 3 star 82.0% 10 reviews
A-2 House
17.82 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Cozy Bangkok Place Hostel
8.26 USD

Hostel 93.8% 525 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.3%

Overall Rating

169 out of 174 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Lub d Bangkok - Siam Square'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
88.0%
Cleanliness
95.2%
Staff
92.8%
Value
83.2%
Safety
96.8%
Refine your results Showing 159 of 172 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

04 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very cool property. Nice and clean. Great people and staff.

Disliked: Nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is very convenient, staff is helpful and friendly, comfortable environment!

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, very close to the Skytrain and the malls. A good option regarding comfort, cleanliness and safety. The staff was also very friendly and helpful. Their breakfast, while not included, is good and at a reasonable price.

Disliked: Ensuite bathrooms would be better, but I can live nicely with the shared ones.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Jerry Ruth

With my spouse / partner

City break

08 February 2013 Jerry would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms are very small, yet quite clean and efficiently designed. Location is fantastic, just right off the Metro stop and very near an excellent shopping area. Staff members are all friendly and speak outstanding English.

Disliked: The hostel lacks the warmth and character of most international hostels. The common area is way too small to hang out and meet people, and there's not a lot there to encourage travelers to do so anyway. The design is kind of industrial, with bare concrete floors and walls. For this, you'd expect not to pay such a high price for a room.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

HYO KYOUM LEE

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 January 2013 HYO KYOUM would recommend this property

Liked: Location is perfect. It's easy to access from airport or shopping center and sightseeing spot.

Disliked: I saw cockroach in the room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Spencer Miller

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 January 2013 Spencer would recommend this property

Liked: EVERYTHING. Stayed in Deluex double. I've been to Bangkok twice, both times here and I love it. If I return, I will be there again. Location is right by MBK mall, National Stadium with direct access to the subway! Gorgeous, I recommend to anything who wants a fun, friendly staffed hostel in Bangkok.

Disliked: Spencer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location, friendly staff, clean

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Martin Mouton

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2013 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean hostel and staff very friendly. The style of this hostel is like "underground" which is very nice and unexpected, I liked it!

Disliked: Nothing in special

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great Staff

Disliked: Smell on the first floor!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, secure

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Thomas Ivie

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 December 2012 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms were very good, beds comfy. Bathrooms were excellent. Wifi and free computers were the best I've used in Thailand. Staff were very friendly and helpful

Disliked: Far away from Khao San Rd area, quite an expensive area in terms of shopping. No taxi drives will take you to Khao San Rd during the day, and definitely not on a meter. I went to the othe Lub D and the reception are there has more comfy chairs and is much more communal which I think this hostel lacks a little

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness.

Disliked: Loudness-construction site next door that started early morning.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Carolann James

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 November 2012 Carolann would recommend this property

Liked: As at end of my 4 week trip in SE Asia and my initial experiences in Bangkok were less than friendly upgraded my room from dorm. Lovely room. Comfortable bed. Lovely sheets and a safe in room.

Disliked: Construction work underway during my time so little noisy am but not a major problem.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Benjamin Carpenter

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 November 2012 Benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly staff, FREE INTERNET!!!!!, great location, very clean and secure! staff always happy to help. And good and getting everyone together.

Disliked: Water was expensive - its half the price in the 7/11 next door.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely clean!!!!

Disliked: Difficult to meet people bacause most just hang around the computers.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff and atmosphere

Disliked: Not much to dislike

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Minh-Tri Nicolas Tran

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 September 2012 Minh-Tri Nicolas would recommend this property

Liked: First of all, i loved the location next to MBK. i'm working for IHG Hotels and i stayed previously in Silom and it was too far from Koh San Rd. I check the availability and i've been at the new Holiday Inn Express Siam but they didn't proposed me a good rate and i found Lub D Hostel located just next. For 13€ a night it was a bite more than others hostels in BKK and sometimes it's better to pay a bit more to enjoy location and fun. I loved GG a girl working in the staff ; when i came back from shopping she offered me a warm welcome with rice whiskey. I met a lot of french others guys and British and had a lot of fun for my last night.

Disliked: nothing ! Great say and i recommend this place !

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

CRISTINA BINDA

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2012 CRISTINA would recommend this property

Liked: location and environment

Disliked: none

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really like the location of this hostel. It is close to the National Stadium BTS train and really close to the endless malls in Siam Square. There is a giant food court in the Paragon, which offers street food without the stomach scare. The workers at the hostel are always super friendly and helpful. They coordinate these gatherings for the hostel, which offers a nice way to meet new people. One night we had local Thai whiskey for free. I had about 6 shots of that thing. This is the best place to stay in Bangkok. There is also a 7 Eleven next door as well.

Disliked: Nothing! This place is amazing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: amazing location and very clean

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping

18 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location is the best and all staffs are friendly If you planning to use airport link train lub d is the best to choose.

Disliked: actually It was my second visit, so i could find this hostel getting old and untidy. still clean but needs more care.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

max morgan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

09 July 2012 max would recommend this property

Liked: Handy location as its not far from the ping pong shows. absolutely sick 'theatre' room with a sweet 50inch tv, and cable for when you bored/have exhausted all there is to see in bangkok. rooms and toilets are clean all the time. right next to the sky train, although some way from khaosan road whcih for me is the highlight of bangkok, its a 50baht taxi which takes around 20 minutes. (depending on your preferences) free internet/wifi with decent computers.

Disliked: basic breakfast and any food is from frozen, but there are places to eat just around the corner.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

oriol nunez oller

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 July 2012 oriol would recommend this property

Liked: absolutelly in the middle of Bangkok: SIAM Its very very clean. There is allways somebody cleaning everything

Disliked: nothing at all. Maybe the price, but even its cheap if you compare it with the hotels or hostels arround

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Jeremy Healy

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 June 2012 Jeremy would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, extremely central, skytrain right outside the door, main shopping area of Bangkok only a couple of mins walk away. Lobby area is very nice chillout area, well fitted out, and dorms are well fitted out if a bit too concretey for my tastes.

Disliked: Overpriced. Yes, it's extremely central, but this is not Europe, it's SE Asia. Nearly $20/night for a dorm is ridiculous for Bangkok, especially when that doesnt include towels or breakfast. It was cheaper to book on hostelbookers than at reception, even when I told the staff that, they wouldn't give me the same price, so I booked on hostelbookers using the wifi in their lobby!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent hostel. Helpful staff, incredibly clean, great facilities, and super comfy beds. Location is central to everything and being only steps away from the National Station BTS allows quick access to all the major destinations in Bangkok. All in all a perfect hostel. Would not hesitate to recommend to anyone visiting Bangkok.

Disliked: Only downside to this hostel was that things can get pretty noisy due to the traffic and construction in the area. But once inside the rooms the noise is hardly noticeable.