We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Khaosan Rainbow Hostel and Guesthouse

Hostel | 43 Chakrapong Road, Banglumphu, Bangkok, Thailand 10200

69.3% Overall Rating

236 out of 351 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/01/2015)

"Good location if you're looking to party. Close to the grand palace and other sights"

Read all Khaosan Rainbow Hostel and Guesthouse reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Common area / room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 0.62

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note: If guest should decide to stay on beyond the number of nights that they have booked through the agency, the guesthouse cannot guarantee that they can find a bed or a room for you. Please note that the use of air-conditioning is not included in the price in case of rooms equipped with AC and an additional fee will be payable if you want to us it.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bangkok?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bangkok

Laksameenarai Guesthouse
10.79 USD

Hostel 95.2% 6 reviews
Sakul House
29.27 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Green House
6.38 USD

Guesthouse 72.5% 75 reviews
Rambuttri Village Inn & Plaza
16.95 USD

Guesthouse 76.9% 180 reviews
NapPark Hostel @ Khao San
10.14 USD

Hostel 92.3% 741 reviews
Viengtai Hotel
29.58 USD

Hotel 4 star 89.4% 126 reviews
Phra Arthit Mansion
17.46 USD

Hotel 2.5 star Not yet rated
Banglumpoo Place
18.49 USD

Hostel 65.2% 11 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/01/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/01/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
69.3%

Overall Rating

236 out of 351 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Khaosan Rainbow Hostel and Guesthouse'

Atmosphere
60.8%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
58.4%
Cleanliness
49.6%
Staff
84.0%
Value
71.2%
Safety
68.0%
Refine your results Showing 298 of 342 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Janna Leemhuis

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 January 2015 Janna would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly people, good food and a great location!

Disliked: Janna left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location is very good

Disliked: the cleanliness of the beds and how I was assigned to a bed which looked like it clearly had not been cleaned

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Erika Snyder

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 January 2015 Erika would recommend this property

Liked: It's in a super good location.

Disliked: It's not the cleanest and the beds squeak; but isn't that part of the backpacking experience?

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location if you're looking to party. Close to the grand palace and other sights

Disliked: Very noisy. Beds were hard as a rock

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Daniela Eggert

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 January 2015 Daniela would recommend this property

Liked: Safe available good lokation (very close but not too close to Khao San Road) mattress very, very, very hard (can be good or bad, for us it was good)

Disliked: room with front window very loud

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 January 2015

Liked: The staff was friendly and welcoming.

Disliked: The room was disgusting. There was black mold in the ceilings. The walls of our room were graffitied in black sharpie marker depicting sexual images and crud language. The smell was stagnant and damp.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing

21 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The best staff ever!!! Our luggages from Czech havent arrived and we came to the hostel with 'nothing' and waited for airport to call us... The guy at the reception desk called the airport and the airport stuff came with our luggeges within few hours. I thik that they wouldnt be so quick if the Thai guy would call there!!! He was so nice and friendly!!! Otherwise, the quality of hostel is good as the price is very good. It has a great location as well.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 November 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location and price. you really do get what you pay for.

Disliked: it was so socking all we could do was laugh and hit the bars. 2 buckets of mojito later and the place is not that bad.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Anastasiia Volkova

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 November 2014

Liked: Good location. Close to the night life centre.

Disliked: Not very clean, not tidy, less than average. Most Europeans would be disappointed. Located on a very noisy street. The room is thus noisy 24/7

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful Staff. Always friendly at any time. The rooms aren't the nicest but definitely the best compared with the prices as well as with the location!

Disliked: -- No dislike --

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthew Mason

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 September 2014 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location, staff very friendly.

Disliked: Beds are quite hard, and the fans (which you need for the heat) are more noisy than most during the night.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lan Phuong Tran Thi

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 September 2014 Lan Phuong would recommend this property

Liked: Its excellent and worthy with what I paid. I strongly reccomend you guys stay here and I myself just have booked again for next trip in bangkok.

Disliked: Lan Phuong left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Timo Aringer

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2014 Timo would recommend this property

Liked: Central to everything you want to see... you can walk nearly everywhere. Khaoshan is close...

Disliked: One street further the Hostel is better and cheaper. Romms are small and malty. Loud in the night caused to khaoshan rd(party till 1 a clock). I had to pay 100 baht more for (6 nights) when i arrived than supposed.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a stones throw from the Khao San Road, in a very vibrant area with lots of travellers. The restaurant below is always full, and I would recommend you try the food there.

Disliked: There are no windows in the room, and you can barely turn around in the bathroom. The bedding wasn't very clean and I might have well been sleeping on a concrete bed. It's very basic, very cheap but serves its purpose.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Michaela Siroka

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

04 August 2014 Michaela would recommend this property

Liked: Location was perfect - next to Khaosan road but there was no load music.

Disliked: Michaela left no negative feedback.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Sara Quaile

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Work / volunteering

04 August 2014

Liked: The guesthouse is on the street perpendicular to Khao San Road so you're close enough for all the action but not too close.

Disliked: I was very disappointed with the room. I expected it to be small so the size was not an issue, but when I got into my room there were ants all over the place. The bathroom looked filthy and the shower head was broken. On top of that, the rest of the room seemed to have not been cleaned as there was dust clumps among other things on the floor. The bed was horrible and the blanket on it even worse - covered in holes.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Natalie Jones

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 July 2014 Natalie would recommend this property

Liked: Delicious food, very friendly staff, room was basic but perfect and very budget friendly. I'll definitely come back!

Disliked: There was nothing to dislike about this hostel.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Bardia Djalali

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 July 2014

Liked: nice staff. good location.

Disliked: everything else.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location, friendly staff

Disliked: Not that clean

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 July 2014

Liked: Super close to the main Koashan road without being directly over it. Get what you pay for.

Disliked: Dirty. Window that is attached to the balcony doesn't lock. Safety boxes too small for laptops

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Darren Eastell

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 July 2014 Darren would recommend this property

Liked: To deal hostel. Does what it says on the tin. No frills

Disliked: The beds were way too hard.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are really friendly and helpful.

Disliked: The room was tiny and the bed was rock solid! But suppose you get what you pay for. If you're wanting somewhere just to sleep and leave your stuff and go out all day this is the place. Restaurant attached is nice too, and equally cheap.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Piotr Malek

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

28 June 2014 Piotr would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, just next to Khao San Rd (its even better that its not at KSR cause its more quiet), 10-15 minute walk to Grand Palace. I stayed in a single room with fan and bathroom for 5 euro/night and it was definitely worth the money. The room gets quite warm but if you're not planning to spend the day there, its fine, in the evening or at night its quite okay, tho i still think its worth paying 2.5EUR extra for AC room. Inquire about the room with window, will certainly improve your experience. Reception is also a bar where they serve decent breakfasts, if you're in a hurry in the morning it's worth stopping there.

Disliked: I wanted to upgrade to AC room so I emailed them about it 2 days before the check-in but they never responded and when I arrived it was no longer available. Also when I inquired about the transfer to DMK airport recepionist claimed there's no other way except taxis and the minivan they incidentally sell tickets for (and obviously get the provision for too). From this kind of place for budget travellers I'd expect more honest information, using public transportation to get to DMK might not be easy but it can surely save up money and it took me 5 minutes to google it (should be even faster if you speak Thai). Wi-fi was quite weak, disconnecting on multiple occassions. Staff speaks quite average English but at least they're smiling all the time (like all the Thai ppl apparently) :) I eventually booked the transfer with them cause I was short on time and they said the bus would stop in front of the hostel, eventually I had to walk down the street and ask ppl if this is the bus I was booked for. Despite of all of those - for this kind of money I'd probably stay there again.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cara Lovell

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 June 2014 Cara would recommend this property

Liked: Staff let us check in early, which was a godsend after a long journey.

Disliked: Hard bed and is very loud, but that is to be expected given it's central location

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Alice Malyon

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 June 2014 Alice would recommend this property

Liked: Great friendly staff

Disliked: No windows