We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Khaosan Rainbow Hostel and Guesthouse

Hostel | 43 Chakrapong Road, Banglumphu, Bangkok, Thailand 10200

66.7% Overall Rating

263 out of 395 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/08/2015)

Annisa Pratiwi thinks…

"i like the location that really next to Khaosan Road, it is easy to find good food, good place to hang out and most important is good place to go shopping"

Read all Khaosan Rainbow Hostel and Guesthouse reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Common area / room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 0.56

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note: If guest should decide to stay on beyond the number of nights that they have booked through the agency, the guesthouse cannot guarantee that they can find a bed or a room for you. Please note that the use of air-conditioning is not included in the price in case of rooms equipped with AC and an additional fee will be payable if you want to us it.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bangkok?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bangkok

Laksameenarai Guesthouse
9.76 USD

Hostel 90.4% 14 reviews
Sakul House
27.88 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Green House
5.77 USD

Guesthouse 73.1% 89 reviews
Rambuttri Village Inn & Plaza
14.40 USD

Guesthouse 78.3% 183 reviews
NapPark Hostel @ Khao San
7.33 USD

Hostel 93.9% 770 reviews
Viengtai Hotel
24.53 USD

Hotel 4 star 90.5% 127 reviews
Phra Arthit Mansion
15.80 USD

Hotel 2.5 star Not yet rated
Banglumpoo Place
16.73 USD

Hostel 67.1% 12 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
66.7%

Overall Rating

263 out of 395 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Khaosan Rainbow Hostel and Guesthouse'

Atmosphere
60.0%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
48.8%
Cleanliness
48.8%
Staff
83.2%
Value
69.6%
Safety
65.6%
Refine your results Showing 332 of 387 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

daniel chow

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 August 2015 daniel would recommend this property

Liked: clean and cheap

Disliked: really hot, only had air con on during the night

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Sandra Fundel

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2015

Liked: friendly staff

Disliked: Very noisy Very small rooms Uncomfortable, hard mattress Very small bathroom and cockroach in bathroom

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Annisa Pratiwi

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 August 2015 Annisa would recommend this property

Liked: i like the location that really next to Khaosan Road, it is easy to find good food, good place to hang out and most important is good place to go shopping

Disliked: The structure of the room is old, my place is in dorm room, i think is nicer that the private room, when i visit my friend in private room, the odeur of that room is not good, like old room

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Wanda Szreder

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 August 2015

Liked: Good location in touristy part of BKK

Disliked: Everything else. We supposed to stay 3 nights but we didn't even stayed one fool night. We booked duble room and it was like a smelly prison cell. The mold was everywhere, and the smell was so bad that we tried to sleep in the masks, but at the end we had to seat outside for the night because it was to disgusting.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

14 August 2015

Liked: Close enough to Koh San road, staff were very welcoming. The food in the restaurant is fantastic! Strong wifi throughout.

Disliked: Lacks character. The rooms felt like boxes. I was staying in a dorm, which was fine but the door didn't lock/shut properly. My friends private rooms were all cramped, smelt very damp and had no window or form of ventilation. The door knob to the 'en suite' bathroom rusted away and came off in my hand as I opened the door. There was no toilet on the floor I was staying so it was either up or down some steep steps to get there.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

gina marna klopfleisch

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2015 gina marna would recommend this property

Liked: staff are friendly

Disliked: the cleanliness of the bathroom... there were two bathroom on 3rd floor that all the traveler used... there was only one that worked properly and clean enough... shit in toilet wasnt flushed and everyone used the other old shower.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Kathryn Coate

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 August 2015 Kathryn would recommend this property

Liked: Close to Khoisan road, cheap and does good food

Disliked: The place itself is a bit dingy but it's allright

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Christina Wieand

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 June 2015

Liked: cheap price and great location. also very good Indian restaurant on ground floor

Disliked: Not very clean, bathrooms have lots of ants and no toilet paper, and beds are very hard. no common area so not a very social atmosphere.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Brett Atkins

Alone

City break

06 June 2015 Brett would recommend this property

Liked: Close location reasonable rates and good mix of Asian foods at reasonable prices. Nice friendly staff

Disliked: Bed was slanted a bit, but so was I when I went to sleep so. . Its the center khao San Good for what you'd expect for under 10$ per night

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

rendy chandra

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Shopping

31 May 2015 rendy would recommend this property

Liked: The staff very nice person and help us so much when we in bangkok

Disliked: rendy left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: For the area, being right near Khao San it was a good price, cheap and cheerful, nothing special but why stay in the room when Bangkok is up all night? Haha.

Disliked: For Bangkok and the price it was fine.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location.

Disliked: The beds are as hard as rocks!

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Klaudia Karola Enekes

Alone

City break

09 May 2015

Liked: nothing

Disliked: DIRTY, NARROW ROOMS

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Monkolransey Mao

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 May 2015 Monkolransey would recommend this property

Liked: It's cheap. And location is next to Khao San road

Disliked: Bathroom isn't clean at all. The bed is like the rock. And the wall is full of dirty words.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: People were absolutely lovely and it had a lovely atmosphere to me. Is very basic but what do you want for $3?

Disliked: The water and power frequently cut out - but I got the impression that was happening everywhere not just at our hostel.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Sheela Dmello

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping

05 May 2015 Sheela would recommend this property

Liked: For the price, it's a pretty good deal. It's just off one end of Khaosan road, a few minutes walk from the bus stops, the ferry stations, the canal boats and the grand palace. The staff speak English and Thai & are super helpful.

Disliked: My room was on the top floor (3 flights up) so it was hot and noisy from some kind of motor on the roof, but again, for the price it wasn't much of a hardship to put up with and they did give me an extra pillow to stuff over my ears :)

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Gabriella Morgan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2015

Liked: Dirtiest hostel I've ever stayed at. Beds are hard and if you move in the slightest, you risk waking your bunk mate. Bathrooms are moldy and have obviously not been cleaned in ages. Friendly staff though. 1/10 would not recommend.

Disliked: Disgusting, smelly, noisy, gross bathrooms

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 April 2015

Liked: This hostel has a great location across from Khao San Road and the staff is extremely friendly and helpful. The wifi is very good. I booked a private room for one night as I was just passing through Bangkok on my way south.

Disliked: The downside to this hostel is that it isn't a hostel, it's more of a halfway house. It's extremely run down and dirty. There wasn't much hot water and it was quite loud at night (but this would probably be anywhere in this area). There isn't a real "backpacker, meet people vibe" but if you're looking for a cheap place to crash for one night or so, it fits the bill.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

scott muirhead

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 April 2015 scott would recommend this property

Liked: Great value and location, food at the restaurant was awesome

Disliked: 2 bathrooms on the 3rd floor, one is missing a toilet seat and the other is missing a sink

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Minerva Llor Pacheco

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 April 2015 Minerva would recommend this property

Liked: Really good location and helpful staff.

Disliked: Could have been cleaner.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

tiltan zilberman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 April 2015

Liked: loction

Disliked: the room and the sheets was very dirty, in my arrival i had to fight with a few spiders that welcome me in the toilet (its look like nobody was cleaning there for a year). And i am not even sure that what i sleep on it was a real mattress

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Food a little expensive

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Irene Dovalo Dopazo

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 March 2015

Liked: The location is the only positive thing about this hostel

Disliked: The room wasn't clean at all, the worst room I have ever stayed at. The place was dirty in general. It was very noisy because it has a restaurant downstairs and some guests arrived very late at night making noise. Someone tried to open our door twice. I couldn't sleep because I felt very insecure.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

rakel Björk

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 March 2015 rakel would recommend this property

Liked: The staff

Disliked: rakel left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

05 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Shower and wifi worked well. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The indian food is very good, try the set meals, they are worth the money.

Disliked: The bed is pretty hard. Nobody cleaned the room and/or empty the rubbish bin for 3 days. The aircon was leaking and the floor was wet.