We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Khaosan Rainbow Hostel and Guesthouse

Hostel | 43 Chakrapong Road, Banglumphu, Bangkok, Thailand 10200

75.3% Overall Rating

244 out of 360 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/02/2015)

"close to chaosan road!! everything that you need is close..nice staff, relaxed atmosphere"

Read all Khaosan Rainbow Hostel and Guesthouse reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Common area / room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 0.62

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note: If guest should decide to stay on beyond the number of nights that they have booked through the agency, the guesthouse cannot guarantee that they can find a bed or a room for you. Please note that the use of air-conditioning is not included in the price in case of rooms equipped with AC and an additional fee will be payable if you want to us it.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bangkok?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bangkok

Laksameenarai Guesthouse
10.80 USD

Hostel 96.4% 8 reviews
Sakul House
30.85 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Green House
6.39 USD

Guesthouse 71.4% 78 reviews
Rambuttri Village Inn & Plaza
16.97 USD

Guesthouse 76.1% 181 reviews
NapPark Hostel @ Khao San
11.11 USD

Hostel 93.4% 744 reviews
Viengtai Hotel
29.62 USD

Hotel 4 star 90.5% 127 reviews
Phra Arthit Mansion
17.48 USD

Hotel 2.5 star Not yet rated
Banglumpoo Place
18.51 USD

Hostel 65.2% 11 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
75.3%

Overall Rating

244 out of 360 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Khaosan Rainbow Hostel and Guesthouse'

Atmosphere
66.4%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
66.4%
Cleanliness
59.2%
Staff
88.0%
Value
79.2%
Safety
72.8%
Refine your results Showing 306 of 353 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Ziga Pavlic

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 February 2015 Ziga would recommend this property

Liked: Location location location

Disliked: location location location

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: close to chaosan road!! everything that you need is close..nice staff, relaxed atmosphere

Disliked: no locks on the door(take your own!!)alittle bit dirty and broken the rooms but you can easily manage two days?

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Blake Edwards

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 February 2015 Blake would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are so nice and its so close to the action as in right across the road but not on it so there wasn't noise when you wanted to sleep like other places.

Disliked: no common room but I hung out in front and made friends.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Michelle Van delft

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 February 2015

Liked: Goede locatie, vriendelijke mensen

Disliked: Harde bedden en alles is niet echt schoon. Maar kan je ook wel verwachten met de goedkope prijs!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

lee thomas

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 February 2015 lee would recommend this property

Liked: if youre after somewhere nice n quiet thats not too far from koh san road (5 minute walk) then stay here

Disliked: nil

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

James Bell

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 February 2015 James would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are very friendly and helpful, and always around so security is pretty good. The wifi was mostly good, but did need resetting occasionally. Room was basic but adequate - ventilation a problem. Towels available for refundable deposit. Food downstairs is good, but pricey compared to elsewhere. Overall very good value for money.

Disliked: Ventilation in room poor. Occasional wifi problems.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

alex baracco

Alone

Partying / nightlife

01 February 2015 alex would recommend this property

Liked: The staff looked after me after I had to many buckets

Disliked: alex left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to Khao San Road but quiet at night... as long as your fellow guests keep quiet. Has a restaurant attached.

Disliked: Not the cleanest, but it was ok. I'd stay there again.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Janna Leemhuis

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 January 2015 Janna would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly people, good food and a great location!

Disliked: Janna left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location is very good

Disliked: the cleanliness of the beds and how I was assigned to a bed which looked like it clearly had not been cleaned

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Erika Snyder

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 January 2015 Erika would recommend this property

Liked: It's in a super good location.

Disliked: It's not the cleanest and the beds squeak; but isn't that part of the backpacking experience?

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location if you're looking to party. Close to the grand palace and other sights

Disliked: Very noisy. Beds were hard as a rock

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Daniela Eggert

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 January 2015 Daniela would recommend this property

Liked: Safe available good lokation (very close but not too close to Khao San Road) mattress very, very, very hard (can be good or bad, for us it was good)

Disliked: room with front window very loud

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 January 2015

Liked: The staff was friendly and welcoming.

Disliked: The room was disgusting. There was black mold in the ceilings. The walls of our room were graffitied in black sharpie marker depicting sexual images and crud language. The smell was stagnant and damp.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing

21 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The best staff ever!!! Our luggages from Czech havent arrived and we came to the hostel with 'nothing' and waited for airport to call us... The guy at the reception desk called the airport and the airport stuff came with our luggeges within few hours. I thik that they wouldnt be so quick if the Thai guy would call there!!! He was so nice and friendly!!! Otherwise, the quality of hostel is good as the price is very good. It has a great location as well.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 November 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location and price. you really do get what you pay for.

Disliked: it was so socking all we could do was laugh and hit the bars. 2 buckets of mojito later and the place is not that bad.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Anastasiia Volkova

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 November 2014

Liked: Good location. Close to the night life centre.

Disliked: Not very clean, not tidy, less than average. Most Europeans would be disappointed. Located on a very noisy street. The room is thus noisy 24/7

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful Staff. Always friendly at any time. The rooms aren't the nicest but definitely the best compared with the prices as well as with the location!

Disliked: -- No dislike --

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthew Mason

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 September 2014 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location, staff very friendly.

Disliked: Beds are quite hard, and the fans (which you need for the heat) are more noisy than most during the night.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lan Phuong Tran Thi

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 September 2014 Lan Phuong would recommend this property

Liked: Its excellent and worthy with what I paid. I strongly reccomend you guys stay here and I myself just have booked again for next trip in bangkok.

Disliked: Lan Phuong left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Timo Aringer

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2014 Timo would recommend this property

Liked: Central to everything you want to see... you can walk nearly everywhere. Khaoshan is close...

Disliked: One street further the Hostel is better and cheaper. Romms are small and malty. Loud in the night caused to khaoshan rd(party till 1 a clock). I had to pay 100 baht more for (6 nights) when i arrived than supposed.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a stones throw from the Khao San Road, in a very vibrant area with lots of travellers. The restaurant below is always full, and I would recommend you try the food there.

Disliked: There are no windows in the room, and you can barely turn around in the bathroom. The bedding wasn't very clean and I might have well been sleeping on a concrete bed. It's very basic, very cheap but serves its purpose.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Michaela Siroka

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

04 August 2014 Michaela would recommend this property

Liked: Location was perfect - next to Khaosan road but there was no load music.

Disliked: Michaela left no negative feedback.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Sara Quaile

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Work / volunteering

04 August 2014

Liked: The guesthouse is on the street perpendicular to Khao San Road so you're close enough for all the action but not too close.

Disliked: I was very disappointed with the room. I expected it to be small so the size was not an issue, but when I got into my room there were ants all over the place. The bathroom looked filthy and the shower head was broken. On top of that, the rest of the room seemed to have not been cleaned as there was dust clumps among other things on the floor. The bed was horrible and the blanket on it even worse - covered in holes.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Natalie Jones

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 July 2014 Natalie would recommend this property

Liked: Delicious food, very friendly staff, room was basic but perfect and very budget friendly. I'll definitely come back!

Disliked: There was nothing to dislike about this hostel.