We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of At Hua Lamphong

Hostel | 326/1, Rama IV Road, Mahaphruttharam, Bangrak Bangkok, Thailand 10500

83.4% Overall Rating

343 out of 356 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/09/2014)

Eva Lucia Celaya Miras thinks…

"The location is superb, 2 minutes from main train Station, 1 minute from the metro Station, 10 minutes' walk from China Town, a local bus stop just on the main door that takes you to the Grand…"

Read all At Hua Lamphong reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 24.65
  • Luggage Room USD 0.62

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bangkok?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bangkok

Bangkok Centre Hotel
30.82 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Cozy Bangkok Place Hostel
8.22 USD

Hostel 93.1% 553 reviews
The Ambassador Bangkok Hotel
36.98 USD

Hotel 3 star 82.0% 10 reviews
Loftel 22 Hostel
9.63 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Shadow Inn
3.08 USD

Guesthouse 64.8% 29 reviews
New Empire Hotel
12.33 USD

Hotel 2 star 67.8% 61 reviews
The Chilli Bangkok
12.17 USD

Hostel 83.8% 24 reviews
Chinatown Hotel
12.94 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.4%

Overall Rating

343 out of 356 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'At Hua Lamphong'

Atmosphere
75.2%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
82.4%
Cleanliness
84.0%
Staff
84.0%
Value
83.2%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 300 of 349 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anna Jowett

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 March 2012 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: All great no complaints for the price

Disliked: Anna left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very good located, the dorms were spacious and the bathroom and toilet was to be shared only with your dormmates. Also food could be purchased downstairs, chilling room and movie renting (free) was nice.

Disliked: I had a mix-up with my booking so I had to spend the first night elsewhere. The staff wasn't always very friendly when asked something.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They offer a lot of tours at reasonable prices. Small dorm rooms (not 20 30 40 like the rest of Thailand).

Disliked: Slow inhouse restaurant operations. Some rooms are located in separate buildings, so your hallway is outside..roaches galore outside, as in all of Bangkok.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Simone Fauque

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

01 March 2012 Simone would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay in Bangkok! The city is so hectic and once you walk through those glass doors into the air conditioned, clean, white and mordern @Hua Lampong the chaos of the city will be long forgotten. Our room was very clean and bright. The cafe/restaurant downstairs is yummy (yumm duch hot chocolate) I would not howevers recommend the tours they have to offer... we did a day tour to the Tiger Temple and River Kwai (laaame just stay far from the Tiger Temple all together, no one enjoys it) The location is perfect as it is across the street from the main train station and it is literally next to the subway so whether you are coming from the airport or train station it is very easy to get to. They also have a cool movie room where you can borrow moveis from the front desk and curl up on some couches and bean bag chairs.

Disliked: Simone left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Breanna Smith

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 March 2012 Breanna would recommend this property

Liked: It was as close as you could get to the main train station for Bangkok. It would be perfect as a stop over location but i couldn't imagine basing my time in Bangkok from here. It had aircon which was nice and a clean bed.

Disliked: Its central which is good but there isn't much to do around this location itself. i booked a private room which was okay. Having a TV wasn't very relevant as it was all in another language.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

22 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Right across from the train station and next to subway.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rachel German

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 February 2012 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful and friendly staff who gave useful and honest tourist advice. Clean rooms and beds wth lockers.

Disliked: Missing a secure locker out of the room for valuables e.g. passport. They didn't appear to be expecting me.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

21 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff, clean air-conditioned rooms and decent facilities, free wifi, AMAZING location if you want to have good transport links. The hostel is literally right next to the MRT station and about 2 mins walk from the main Bangkok railway station (you can see it from the front door). Even when we had checked out, the staff let us use their shower for free a week later when we were on our way back to the airport. Highly recommended and an absolute bargain.

Disliked: Nothing really.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ruth Walden

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 February 2012 Ruth would recommend this property

Liked: It was close to the train station and easy to get anywhere from with the use of tuk tuks.....they also offer a great range of day trips.

Disliked: its on a main road and so is noisy at night

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

08 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very convenient location, helpful staff, very clean

Disliked: it's a long way up the stairs to the upper floors

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff definitely made my stay much more enjoyable. close to hua lamphong train station, major sights such as royal palace and temple of emerald buddha (buses 53 and 25 depart from wat traimit; free to ride)

Disliked: there was a misunderstanding which made my final night there very unhappy, but i wouldn't say it's their fault (it was really a misunderstanding). the staff member at the front desk did help me resolve the issue.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and safety box included. Free Wifi!

Disliked: Location: no connection to the skytrain and far from koa san road.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Matthew Gibb

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 January 2012

Liked: Ample toilets and showers,good food on site,convenient transport next to the property.

Disliked: I came from kuala lumpur on the train and expected to arrived 12hours earlier.as is the case throughout southeast Asia,my time was wasted.in this case I also had to pay for a nights sleep when I had no way of contacting the staff.i felt they were very unsympathetic.they tout themselves as being by the train station,but don't seem to understand the usual delays involved.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Alois Haupt

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 January 2012 Alois would recommend this property

Liked: Next the trainstation it was a great place to start daytrips

Disliked: Alois left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel JJ Taylor

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 January 2012 Daniel JJ would recommend this property

Liked: Modern rooms complete with Air Con, Refrigerator, LCD TV and daily room service. Bottled water and fresh towels are provided daily and all of this is included within the cost as seen on Hostelbookers website. Cafe and Breakout zone provided excellent amenities.

Disliked: No dislikes or negatives about room or services within property however only advice to future guests would be to avoid Tuk Tuk drivers (non-associated with @Hua Lamphong) sitting on road outside hostel as they will tout their offer of taxi service for ridiculous cost compared to regulated metered taxi service you could wave down on the street.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean, helpful staff, comfortable beds. It is right across a square from the railroad station which makes getting on the train to Chiang Mai easy. A short subway from the shopping centers, a little further to the rest of the sites. All in all it was a good stay.

Disliked: The neighborhood was not scenic but the hostel was quiet.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: really kind staff, and very clean hostel

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Karen Mah

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 January 2012 Karen would recommend this property

Liked: likes: - location by metro and train station - amazingly friendly staff at front desk and in-house cafe - clean!

Disliked: dislike: - for the dorm room they issue you a key card that doubles up as the power card for electricity in the room with your locker key attached. if it's blazing hot in the room and you need the air con on for the night (which it was while we were there), you'll have to leave your key card in the electric holder with your locker key out for the open. not sure if you can take the key off but it was troublesome at times.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location for travelling around Bangkok and if you are planning a train trip out of the city.

Disliked: Bathroom sink was made of concrete and there was blood stains on it (dorm room)......dont know if they can be removed but was a bit nasty to see.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

17 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was close to the train,safe and secure

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

13 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly, helpful staff. Good restaurant. Only 5 mins from railway station by subway.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

12 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: a great room at a very reasonable price. right next to the train and subway!

Disliked: be prepared to climb stairs!! 4th floor is really the 5th.... dont forget something and have to run back, unless you need the workout!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location for train

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

09 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome cheap Breakfast, loved the fruit shake. Our room was clean and had aircon. Handy Location because all taxi and Tuk Tuk drivers knew where the train station was.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

John Smith

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2012 John would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, good internet, lounge ....

Disliked: Stairs!! I was on 4 th floor .. long stairs especially with luggage. Pleased i wasn't on the 5th!!