We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of At Hua Lamphong

Hostel | 326/1, Rama IV Road, Mahaphruttharam, Bangrak Bangkok, Thailand 10500

84.0% Overall Rating

348 out of 361 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/04/2015)

francesca jones thinks…

"Brilliant location next to the train station, twin room was in need of a touch of paint but the dorm was amazing and both were very clean and gave you a clean towel every day, most definately…"

Read all At Hua Lamphong reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 22.34
  • Luggage Room USD 0.56

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bangkok?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bangkok

Bangkok Centre Hotel
27.92 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Cozy Bangkok Place Hostel
7.45 USD

Hostel 93.6% 589 reviews
Loftel 22 Hostel
8.38 USD

Hostel 80.7% 4 reviews
Shadow Inn
2.79 USD

Guesthouse 65.7% 35 reviews
New Empire Hotel
11.17 USD

Hotel 2 star 67.8% 61 reviews
The Chilli Bangkok
7.79 USD

Hostel 81.8% 28 reviews
Chinatown Hostel
14.52 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Oldtown Hostel
6.42 USD

Hostel 89.6% 33 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.0%

Overall Rating

348 out of 361 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'At Hua Lamphong'

Atmosphere
77.6%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
84.8%
Staff
86.4%
Value
82.4%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 303 of 354 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Antonio Juarez

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 June 2012 Antonio would recommend this property

Liked: Super clean & stylish, REALLY CLOSE to the main rail station, and the dorms are equipped with all kinds of little convenient details that make one's stay really comfortable.

Disliked: Nothing!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good value for money. Cheap and clean and very comfortable. I would highly recommend. The location is excellemt for the national railway station and for the local MRT (underground), but quite far from the actual centre of town (which is not accessible by MRT). They arrange day tours for reasonable prices with local tour companies. We tried one and it was very good value.

Disliked: Only a minor point, but it's best to not use their taxi service to the airport as they charge triple the average rate. Book your own by ringing a local taxi phone number

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was nice the staff is friendly and helpful. Its located right next to the MRT.They also had movies you could rate free of charge which I though was awesome. All and all it was a good place to stay and I would recommend it to someone else.

Disliked: There were no elevators! Can you believe that. It was horrible because my room was on the fourth floor. I just thank God that I didn't have that many bages. But that was very annoying.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

steve brenchley

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 May 2012 steve would recommend this property

Liked: very clean and tidy and very helpful staff

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: all facilities were really good and the hostel was great if you needed a quick meal. Rooms were clean and spacious with good showers.

Disliked: Some times the staff on the desk weren't a great help but some of them were useful.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brittany Armstrong

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 May 2012 Brittany would recommend this property

Liked: I liked staying here because it was out of the tourist/backpacker area of Bangkok.

Disliked: Staff not too friendly.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely beautiful hotel! Great location, helpful staff - really loved it

Disliked: No elevator!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lacking in atmosphere purely because no interaction between guests - not really an opportunity for this while in one of private rooms. Handy, cheap and tasty food served downstairs. Location - not bang in the centre of going out, sightseeing or shopping areas but with metro and train station at the door it is really conveniently located to get around Bangkok sprawl. Very clean and secure, staff for the most part very helpful and efficient. Liked that it was possible for them to arrange airport pickup for us.

Disliked: Road outside all night is noisy if a light sleeper - bring earplugs!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kate Robey

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 May 2012 Kate would recommend this property

Liked: An extremely convenient place to stay if you need to get to the Hua Lamphong station. It was really clean and comfortable in the dorm rooms.

Disliked: Kate left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room and the building in general were very clean, the staff is lovely and they offer a wide range of services: TV room, laundry, bar/restaurant open all day...I loved the room which was nice and clean.

Disliked: My room was on the 6th floor, after one day of visiting and walking all the time, I would not mind having a lift.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Johnny O'Mahony

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 April 2012 Johnny would recommend this property

Liked: lovely cafe, free wi fi, comfortable lounge

Disliked: Johnny left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

13 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff, very good and cheap connection to the Airport (Express Link + Metro), not on Khao San Road.

Disliked: A little bit off the attractions, but in 60baht TukTuk or 7baht bus distance.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mariya Saifulina

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

12 April 2012 Mariya would recommend this property

Liked: 1. I came back to Hua Lamphong for second time after a short trip to Pattaya. The lady at the reception remembered me and even kindly upgraded me to a 4 bed room instead of 6. 2. The stuff is generaly very eager to help. 3. Rooms are clean with minimum stuff (absence of unnecessary details makes it easy to just concentrate on a trip, not on staying in the room). 4. The small cafe downstairs gives a great feel to hostel lobby. 5. Menus with very affordable thai and non thai foods available for delivery is very useful.

Disliked: 1. No elevator, had to carry heavy suitcase up to 3rd floor. 2. Another receptionist did not provide enough details about the taxi reservation at the time when I asked. Luckily the hotel is close to subway station, so I managed to reach airport within 1 hour without taxi.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They have got a very nice and cheap restaurant downstairs next to reception. Also there is a nice common area where you can sit and relax even after you checked out. Opposite the main railway station and underground. highly recommended.

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to find hostel right by the train and subway exits, very clean and helpful staff was in a good location for seeing the sights! Had a nice cafe with nice food(English/Thai food) and lounge area.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is very clean and the location next to the train station is great for getting around by public transport and the taxi driver will definitely find it. The hostel is only about 20m away from the MRT exit. AC worked nicely, safe box in the room, free wifi.

Disliked: The room was small and had not much charm to it. No window. The tours the hotel offers are (mass) tourist classics, not backpacker style. I didn't go on any so I cannot really judge, but really nothing appealed to me. The transport bookings they offer would not be VIP/First Class bus, so I didn't book this either. I didn't feel like asking too many questions at the front desk, the staff was not unfriendly but somehow didn't look like they want to chat and help.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Viljami Hätönen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 April 2012 Viljami would recommend this property

Liked: Very tidy. Good location.

Disliked: Viljami left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dylan Murphy

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 April 2012 Dylan would recommend this property

Liked: Well what can I say.. This place is truly a great find.. More like a hotel than a hostel

Disliked: Nothing at all.. Pure perfection

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff and clean and secure

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

31 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: New, clean, easy to get to patpong market, value for money.

Disliked: Location is good but if you are in Bangkok for a short time it would be better to stay closer to the main attractions.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: nothing

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good to get to the airport and to catch a train from Hua Lumphong station across the street. that was the main reason I picked the hostel. Other guests were friendly and the restaurant in the back is great for breakfast or sth to drink.

Disliked: staff was ok buy not great like super friendly or super helpful. maybe because of the language barrier of English and Thai.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

21 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff, good location right across the street from Hua Lamphong station, 10min walk to the river with all the ferrys (15 Baht/person/ride) Excellent and reasonably priced food!! Rooms are very clean and serviced daily, we even got a change of towels during our 3-day-stay!

Disliked: It's definately not the fault of the Hostel but there is a huge construction site on the street right in front of the Hostel which was quite noisy all day and night. Even without the construction site, due to the central location of the property there will always be some traffic noise...but hey, what can one expect when staying in a city like Bangkok, so bring earplugs and you won't regret staying there!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sonja Rockinger

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

11 March 2012 Sonja would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was very very cool, the staff was friendly and the location is perfect (only 100 meter to subway-station)

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff and clean rooms. Good value for your money.

Disliked: Nothing.