We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of At Hua Lamphong

Hostel | 326/1, Rama IV Road, Mahaphruttharam, Bangrak Bangkok, Thailand 10500

83.4% Overall Rating

343 out of 356 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/09/2014)

Eva Lucia Celaya Miras thinks…

"The location is superb, 2 minutes from main train Station, 1 minute from the metro Station, 10 minutes' walk from China Town, a local bus stop just on the main door that takes you to the Grand…"

Read all At Hua Lamphong reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 24.65
  • Luggage Room USD 0.62

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bangkok?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bangkok

Bangkok Centre Hotel
30.82 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Cozy Bangkok Place Hostel
8.22 USD

Hostel 94.4% 554 reviews
The Ambassador Bangkok Hotel
36.98 USD

Hotel 3 star 82.0% 10 reviews
Loftel 22 Hostel
9.63 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Shadow Inn
3.08 USD

Guesthouse 64.8% 29 reviews
New Empire Hotel
12.33 USD

Hotel 2 star 67.8% 61 reviews
The Chilli Bangkok
12.17 USD

Hostel 83.8% 24 reviews
Chinatown Hotel
12.94 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.4%

Overall Rating

343 out of 356 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'At Hua Lamphong'

Atmosphere
75.2%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
82.4%
Cleanliness
84.0%
Staff
84.0%
Value
83.2%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 300 of 349 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and restaurant in the hostel

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good choice for people moving on by train and using the metro...the station can be reached directly by a 3 minute walk through the subway

Disliked: not a great area and a little noisy but what you would expect for the money

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and next to metro.

Disliked: Cannot think of any.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

LORNA HALLIDAY

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 December 2012 LORNA would recommend this property

Liked: perfect for stay before catching early morning train as just opposite Hualaphong station.it is very clean with small cafe.the room was on the 5th floor_ but no lift. room was spotless and beds comfortable

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

06 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A little pricey for my budget, but worth it after travelling ova 30 hrs in total to get here. Really nice and clean. Comfortable, relaxed atmosphere with happy, helpful staff. Lounge to chill out in too, nice space and free DVDs. I would highly recommend it. Delicious food too!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Kang Hong Tuck

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 December 2012 Kang would recommend this property

Liked: It's near Hua Lamphong train station, around 5-10 mins' walk away, so it's very convenient for me as I needed to take the 5.55am train to Aranyaprathet. The overall cleanliness is great too, although do note that I stayed in a Budget Single room so I can't say for the dorm. The room has a safe and air-con so overall it was a nice stay for me.

Disliked: The bathroom drainage had problems, but as I noticed it only late in the day around 6pm, they couldn't get anyone to fix it immediately. I tinkered around with it and removed the top to allow the water to drain, but then the smell of sewage came up, so it was kind of choose your own poison. But I believe this should be an isolated case.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

wayne szeto

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 November 2012 wayne would recommend this property

Liked: Location is next to the mrt station and very easy to find.

Disliked: Bedsheets have coffee stains. Visible dust on the floor (could be problematic for people with allergies)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the staff is very helpful, and the room is very clean. the locker for the dorm room is very big.

Disliked: i can not reserved the lower bed for the dorm room.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

hong liew

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2012 hong would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sara Perley

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 October 2012 Sara would recommend this property

Liked: Room and hostel as described. Nice restaurant downstairs and excellent location for subway, trains, and china town

Disliked: Room was a little noisy with street noise, and squeaky bunks - just bring ear plugs

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Anna Niskanen

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing

05 October 2012 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: Location was near perfect as it is very close to the main railway station and china town. Staff was helpful and checking out during the odd hours was ok.

Disliked: I have only one small complaint and it's about the lockers. They were safe but there was some rust in them which made them look a bit unclean. Otherwise, no complaints.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Paul Xymon Garcia

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 September 2012 Paul Xymon would recommend this property

Liked: Cafe/lobby is stylish and great place to hang out and meet fellow travelers. Close to Bangkok Metro and Railway Stations. Close to Chinatown.

Disliked: Paul Xymon left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

04 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very centrally located, nice entrance area, TV and AC

Disliked: Laptop did not fit into the safe, room was never properly cleaned, wifi worked but skyping was hard, stayed for less money in equally good places with breakfast included, very noisy at night from street and other guests

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Claire Jones

With my spouse / partner

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2012 Claire would recommend this property

Liked: It is really close to the station to go to Chiang Mai or Ayutthaya. It is also not too far away from the grand palace area.

Disliked: The deluxe doubles were not as pretty as the other rooms...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Pei Wah Boey

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Shopping

17 August 2012 Pei Wah would recommend this property

Liked: The people and the place are excellent.

Disliked: The tour and bus service is very bad. The tour we signed to go on to Floating Market is terrible. The tour guide didn't give any help and lose his patient when we just need some clarification from him. We didn't even know what's happening or where are we heading next. The whole experience is so bad! The bus tour from Bangkok to Krabi is even worst. It was host by a tour company name Songserm (not sure if it's the same tour company to the floating market). The bus was scheduled 7pm but they only arrive at 9pm. Been waiting for 2 hours for the bus. When we got on to the bus, I thought we could just sleep peacefully and reach Krabi as written in schedule, which is 8.30am the next day. The restroom in the bus was broken before we got on to the bus. The toilet couldn't be flush and the smell is terrible. We could even smell it from the upper level of the bus. All of the passengers need to hold down for not using the toilet until most of us couldn't stand it anymore. We asked the bus driver to stop as we really need to go to the toilet. He refused to stop until a Spanish guy shout at him and force him by giving him 10 seconds to stop. The Spanish guy shouted from 10 then 9 to 5 then only the driver say OK and he agreed to stop the bus. Everyone just jump off the bus and go into the bushes. When we arrive at Chumphon, some of the passengers need to get off the bus and hop on to another bus which is heading their direction of destination. Me, my friends and some passengers stay on the bus and we continue our journey to Suratthani. Once we arrive at Suratthani, we found out that our baggage had been lost. According to the crew, it had been dropped off at Chumphon, which is a few hours drive to Suratthani. All our stuffs are in that baggage. The crew there just act like nothing happen and not helpful at all. They just act like it's usual and nothing to do with them and they don't need to help us as like it's not their problem. They just say that the baggage will arrive the next day in the morning at 9am. With all we been through, we have no confident on Songserm company at all. We can't do anything but to wait. We don't even know if the baggage will arrive to us without anything happening to it. The way they act and they bully us as we couldn't speak Thai is so terrible. We waited for the baggage to arrive in the morning at 9am, when 9am hits, the baggage is not here yet. We called and then only they say our baggage couldn't arrive on time until 7pm. What if we need to leave Krabi after 9am? They didn't ask and even didn't want to know how long are we staying there. And now, we didn't even know where's the location of the baggage and whether they found it or not. As the words they said are not trustable at all. We waited for our baggage at 7pm, once 7pm clicks, we called. And they say the baggage is on the way and it needs another 1-2hours to be send to our hostel in Krabi. Again, it arrived late. We only got our baggage at 8.30pm and thanks god, it's the right baggage.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emma Jarratt

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

07 August 2012 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely convenient location just a few minutes walk from the train station - ideal for the 5.55am train to Cambodia! Very comfy dorm with proper mattresses and air con, ensuite bathroom just shared between the 6 people in the dorm (2 showers and 2 toilets), huge personal lockers with enough space for backpacks and daypacks, and they even provide towel, toiletries and loo paper for each individual in your locker.

Disliked: Staff were very straightforward, and there wasn't a lot of personality or atmosphere to the hostel, it wasn't a massively social place. But for what it is - a decent bed close to the train station - it is excellent.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

MILKA KRISTIANTO

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2012 MILKA would recommend this property

Liked: Location, location & location. This hostel is located between exit number 2 & 4 of Hua Lamphong MRT Station. Makes this place very accessible and to explore Bangkok

Disliked: The price is a bit higher but considering the very strategic location, it still is value of money

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Almost everything except the stairs.

Disliked: No lift.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Aaron Lin

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 July 2012 Aaron would recommend this property

Liked: Good location to catch train to cambodia, great staff, internet cost money to use. Free wifi.

Disliked: lighting was faulty, insects in the room..

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pascal GALLAND

Alone

City break

02 July 2012 Pascal would recommend this property

Liked: Comfort, calm. Very well located: 10 minutes from the Central Railway station and 2 minutes from the MRT station! It is a good value for money particularly as we are in the capital!

Disliked: One person at the reception was not pleasant and helpful.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good for the train station bit thats why I stayed here, so served its purpose well.

Disliked: Nothing to do in near vacinity but does have met very close.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mara Tietzen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 June 2012 Mara would recommend this property

Liked: Really great location for explore Bangkok and surrounding area. Literally across the road from the Train station, it was perfect for the short trips we planned destinations we could reach by train. Very clean and well kept with a really solid cafe that is open all day long.

Disliked: Be careful what you give in for laundry because I got a couple black pieces of clothing back with bleach stains on them.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Antonio Juarez

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 June 2012 Antonio would recommend this property

Liked: Super clean & stylish, REALLY CLOSE to the main rail station, and the dorms are equipped with all kinds of little convenient details that make one's stay really comfortable.

Disliked: Nothing!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good value for money. Cheap and clean and very comfortable. I would highly recommend. The location is excellemt for the national railway station and for the local MRT (underground), but quite far from the actual centre of town (which is not accessible by MRT). They arrange day tours for reasonable prices with local tour companies. We tried one and it was very good value.

Disliked: Only a minor point, but it's best to not use their taxi service to the airport as they charge triple the average rate. Book your own by ringing a local taxi phone number

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was nice the staff is friendly and helpful. Its located right next to the MRT.They also had movies you could rate free of charge which I though was awesome. All and all it was a good place to stay and I would recommend it to someone else.

Disliked: There were no elevators! Can you believe that. It was horrible because my room was on the fourth floor. I just thank God that I didn't have that many bages. But that was very annoying.