We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of At Hua Lamphong

Hostel | 326/1, Rama IV Road, Mahaphruttharam, Bangrak Bangkok, Thailand 10500

84.0% Overall Rating

348 out of 361 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/04/2015)

francesca jones thinks…

"Brilliant location next to the train station, twin room was in need of a touch of paint but the dorm was amazing and both were very clean and gave you a clean towel every day, most definately…"

Read all At Hua Lamphong reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 22.28
  • Luggage Room USD 0.56

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bangkok?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bangkok

Bangkok Centre Hotel
27.92 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Cozy Bangkok Place Hostel
7.45 USD

Hostel 93.6% 589 reviews
Loftel 22 Hostel
8.38 USD

Hostel 80.7% 4 reviews
Shadow Inn
2.79 USD

Guesthouse 65.7% 35 reviews
New Empire Hotel
11.17 USD

Hotel 2 star 67.8% 61 reviews
The Chilli Bangkok
7.79 USD

Hostel 81.8% 28 reviews
Chinatown Hostel
14.52 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Oldtown Hostel
6.42 USD

Hostel 89.6% 33 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.0%

Overall Rating

348 out of 361 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'At Hua Lamphong'

Atmosphere
77.6%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
84.8%
Staff
86.4%
Value
82.4%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 303 of 354 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa

21 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: With elevator just fine

Disliked: No elevator

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

pierrine dodi

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 February 2011 pierrine would recommend this property

Liked: excellent location, clean, safe, well maintained and quiet

Disliked: everything OK

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Karin Schelhas

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 February 2011 Karin would recommend this property

Liked: it really is right by the main train station (and metro), which is also connected by shuttle to the airport. the staff were super helpful. when I had trouble with my flight and actually arrived a day late, they kept my bed and didn't charge me for that night. the rooms and bathrooms were very clean and nice as well. everyone gets a free towel and a locker and the 6 bed dorm had an ensuite bathroom with 2 showers and 2 toilets. I also didn't think it was loud in the room even though the building is on a big road, but our room didn't directly face the street. all in all, I found it very good value for money.

Disliked: no free internet time, but that's quite common.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in this hotel as backpackers, the quality was excellent for the price. Beds and rooms were comfy and included all the necessary facilities. The wifi was fast and the computers in the lobby for 10baht for 15 mins use were handy if you needed to sort out photos etc. The cafe in the hotel was a fair price and the food on the whole was very good. The best hotel we have stayed in so far whilst backpacking.

Disliked: Due to Bangkok not having a true city centre it was a little bit of an effort getting anywhere, the metro doesn't really run to any of the main attractions however the express boat from dock 3 (about 10 min walk from the hotel) provides a cheap solution, as did haggling for tuk tuks around the station.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break

15 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything, extremely helpful staff, location perfect, very very cheap, clean rooms, nice restaurant/bar, free internet

Disliked: I liked everything, highly recommended

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very close to underground and other areas like little india and the golden buddah

Disliked: stairs

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thomas Brumby

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 February 2011 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: Wifi on general was good however found it unreliable. It is located near to a little cheap food shop and right next to the train station perfect for travels moving around thailand.

Disliked: Wifi sometimes unreliable.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ava Nouhet

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 February 2011 Ava would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice, clean hotel near Hua Lamphong metro and trainstation. Wifi is free, but using the computers in the lounge costs 10 bat per 15 minutes. Wifi did not work really good as everywhere when a few people use it at the same time. Not much to do in the neighborhood, but easy to access by metro.

Disliked: Extra charges for using computers, no restaurants/shop around.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: To be honest, I didnt spend much time IN the hostel since Bangkok is such an amazing city to stroll around, but everything is fine in there! Its not the best place to meet people probably, since everybody is out during the day. @Hua Lamphong is perfect to explore Bangkok! Its amazingly central, the staff is helpful, and no closing time, come here to enjoy the city!

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location was perfect! very clean!

Disliked: there was no safe available.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendiness,and good restaurant.

Disliked: The single room is small.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location near Bangkok Train Station. Good location for backpackers. Easy access to the MRT Station.

Disliked: There's nothing I dislike.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Leong Wai Hoong

With my spouse / partner

Shopping

06 February 2011 Leong would recommend this property

Liked: Cozy cafe & friendliness staffs!

Disliked: People walking the steel staircase in 3.00 am in the morning!.- So noisy & inconsiderate!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, friendly and helpful staff, amazing food (still raving about the pad Thai), right next to the station, quiet. Will definitely come again, thank you @Hua Lumphong

Disliked: Not a lot of other people staying there so didn't really meet anyone

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Located next to Bangkok central station, although away from the main backpackers region (probably a good thing!)

Disliked: NA

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

29 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: @ Hua Lamphong has a great location. It is a 10-second walk to the subway station, a 3-minute walk (albeit a dangerous one) to Bangkok's main train station, and a short tuk-tuk ride to the Grand Palace. They have many books and brochures to help you choose your sightseeing destinations, as well as many staff to help you with any problems. The room we stayed in was immaculate, the bathroom was very clean, and we felt reasonably safe.

Disliked: The only real problem with this property was the lack of solid security. If you wished to leave your bags at the hostel, the only location was in the foyer, in a place that is easily viewable from outside and reachable by anyone who would wish to mess with the luggage. Also, the "security" door that separated the rooms from the entry was almost always left ajar, even though it required a key to open the door. These are small concerns, and shouldn't be a decisive factor in determining whether to stay here or choose somewhere else. They are just general concerns that we had during our stay.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Samuel Mathews

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 January 2011 Samuel would recommend this property

Liked: Really clean, with a great cafe, free wifi and right by the metro.

Disliked: Nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ruth Hamilton

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Shopping

26 January 2011 Ruth would recommend this property

Liked: location great, close transport outside, mattresses and pillow comfortable, clean. air con fantastic, locked locker each was good, and funny tuk tuk drivers outside

Disliked: all the stairs to the upstairs dorm, esp with heavy bags

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Amber Parker

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

18 January 2011 Amber would recommend this property

Liked: It was a convenient location right next to the train station and the subway. It was clean and had a great restaurant. It was a relaxing place.

Disliked: Everything was great.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great all round hostel, clean, friendly atmosphere... etc

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Would definitely recommend this hostel to stay in. Great location, great staff and good value for money.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Safe and secure, Cleanliness

Disliked: no

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Brandon Magnuson

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 January 2011 Brandon would recommend this property

Liked: Clean n friendly. Really close to station

Disliked: Nada

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

07 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location for public transport, room was nice & staff are friendly & helpful.

Disliked: The only thing I can think of is more English channels on the TV but I had to think hard to think of anything to put here.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to get to from airport by sky train and mrt. Clean as a whistle with great rooms, hot showers and comfy beds. Nice little cafe and sitting area. Easy walk across the street to book trains out of BKK. 10B for 15min internet machines in cafe. Nice walk at night to street vendors in Chinatown. One of the best places we've stayed in Asia. I completely messed up my arrival date because of overnight flights and they did not charge me for my missed night(but kept the HB deposit which was fine with me as it was completely my fault). Would stay here verey single time in BKK no question about it. Loved it!.

Disliked: nothing