HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of At Hua Lamphong

Hostel | 326/1, Rama IV Road, Mahaphruttharam, Bangrak Bangkok, Thailand 10500

82.3% Overall Rating

334 out of 346 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/02/2014)

"Excellent location. Food available all day. Clean towels every day. Lift available for bags."

Read all At Hua Lamphong reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 24.68
  • Luggage Room USD 0.62

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bangkok?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bangkok

Bangkok Centre Hotel
36.64 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Cozy Bangkok Place Hostel
8.23 USD

Hostel 93.9% 527 reviews
The Ambassador Bangkok Hotel
37.03 USD

Hotel 3 star 82.0% 10 reviews
Shadow Inn
2.75 USD

Guesthouse 65.0% 27 reviews
New Empire Hotel
12.34 USD

Hotel 2 star 67.8% 61 reviews
The Chilli Bangkok
12.19 USD

Hostel 83.8% 24 reviews
Chinatown Hotel
12.96 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Woodland Inn Hotel
9.87 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 57.9% 35 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.3%

Overall Rating

334 out of 346 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'At Hua Lamphong'

Atmosphere
74.4%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
80.0%
Cleanliness
84.8%
Staff
82.4%
Value
81.6%
Safety
85.6%
Refine your results Showing 296 of 340 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break

26 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location, helpful staff, and the best shower we got in Thailand.

Disliked: Ummmm..... can't think of anything.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Richard Costello

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

25 March 2011 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, adjacent to Hua Lamphong Railway Station, MRT & China Town. Only a few minutes walk to river boats giving easy access to many places in central Bangkok . Will definately stay there again.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Francisco Ocampo

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 March 2011 Francisco would recommend this property

Liked: Location and the hostel which can be a hotel already at very reasonable price.

Disliked: None

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Whitney Ledyard

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

22 March 2011 Whitney would recommend this property

Liked: Very Very Very convenient location. The food is pretty good- we were happy with our meals. Nice to have a decent spaghetti! Good cable tv- and the a/c was awesome. towels , soap and shampoo provided

Disliked: Bit creepy around the hostel at night due to the train station traffic- but safe enough i think. The hostel is pretty much LItterally behind the underground metro Hua luampalong- just go out through the exit marked for the City hotel and its just left turn and then its on your right. breakfast isnt included but we were happy to pay due to the food being good!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

21 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: excellent location,nice breakfast room

Disliked: complicated printing facility via internet

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

20 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Right on metro line. Fan-tastic restaurant- adored everything I tried. Comfortable common room, friendly vibe at cafe downstairs. Staff extremely helpful.

Disliked: N/A- a great stay.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael McKenna

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

16 March 2011 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Location, close to main railway station and metro yet fairly quiet was very good ps no 53 bus will take you to night market and Grand Palace area. Staff were friendly and helpful. Slightly more expensive than othe areas of Thailand but good value considering in capital city.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christopher van Straaten

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

14 March 2011 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: It's very central, very clean, meals there are very good and cheap, and the staff are helpful.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrei Tchernov

With friends / other travellers

City break

11 March 2011 Andrei would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and safe! Close to train station

Disliked: far from city

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to the train station, yet I didn't feel unsafe. Convenient to get to from the MRT station. Friendly staff. They can arrange day tours (i.e. floating market) for you. The rooms were very clean. There is a little cafe/restaurant on site that's good. Internet was 10 baht for 15 minutes.

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jeremy Woodard

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

10 March 2011 Jeremy would recommend this property

Liked: Great location for my needs - close to the railway station and walking distance from the main sights. Great food in nearby Chinatown. Clean rooms, secure.

Disliked: Connection of the key tag to the power in the room meant that the refrigerator was off when you left the room, so no cold drinks when returning to the hotel.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Early

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 March 2011 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: very clean, pretty quiet for being in such a great location.

Disliked: nothing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

XiaoXiao Feng

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 March 2011 XiaoXiao would recommend this property

Liked: It had a vey modern feel. A nice place to chill downstairs and upstairs in the TV room. The security was def good - had your very own door swippy thing - just like hotel! Staff are very helpful, they wrote down in thai and english to places i wanted to go to and to explain that i'm a vegetarian.

Disliked: Although wireless internet was free, to use the computers it was a hassel to pay 10Baht per 15 minutes. It was far from major tourist attractions, so be prepared to spend a bit of money with taxis and tuktuks.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jonathan Fuller

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 March 2011 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: Great location right across from the train station. If you are taking a train to Chiang Mai or anywhere in the north there couldnt be a better location. The rooms were good size and very clean. The staff was overly pleasant and accommodating. We were taking a night train and they held our bags free of charge and lets us use a shower shortly before leaving. Really a great place.

Disliked: nohting

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

01 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location by the train station was very convenient for an early morning train

Disliked: Room on the 4th floor with no lift

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is fantastic, especially if you are arriving or leaving by train as it's just opposite the train station. You do need to cross a busy road but unless it's very late at night you can use the MRT underpass, so it's not a problem. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the free wifi was good and the rooms themselves are hotel quality rather than our usual hostel rooms! They have a shared area with a TV, but I barely saw anyone using it.

Disliked: It would be even better if they included breakfast, but you can't have everything I guess. Also, whilst we loved the location, you do need to get a bus to any of the tourist attractions, bars, restaurants and shopping areas. If you want to be in the middle of the hustle and bustle then this isn't the place for you.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was very clean, new, close to metro

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Isn Phillips

With my spouse / partner

City break

23 February 2011 Isn would recommend this property

Liked: Easy location to get to & travel on from with bright clean (if 'compact'} room. Good hot shower, loo & cold water sink are ok. Good restaurant facility with nice atmosphere & good food & choice.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike with the hostel but ladies/girls especially need to take care walking in side streets nearby where there are quite a lot of guys sleeping rough - I guess that happens near most big stations & the streets here seem much safer than, for example, an American city like Washington DC which is real scary after dark even for me!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa

21 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: With elevator just fine

Disliked: No elevator

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

pierrine dodi

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 February 2011 pierrine would recommend this property

Liked: excellent location, clean, safe, well maintained and quiet

Disliked: everything OK

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Karin Schelhas

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 February 2011 Karin would recommend this property

Liked: it really is right by the main train station (and metro), which is also connected by shuttle to the airport. the staff were super helpful. when I had trouble with my flight and actually arrived a day late, they kept my bed and didn't charge me for that night. the rooms and bathrooms were very clean and nice as well. everyone gets a free towel and a locker and the 6 bed dorm had an ensuite bathroom with 2 showers and 2 toilets. I also didn't think it was loud in the room even though the building is on a big road, but our room didn't directly face the street. all in all, I found it very good value for money.

Disliked: no free internet time, but that's quite common.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in this hotel as backpackers, the quality was excellent for the price. Beds and rooms were comfy and included all the necessary facilities. The wifi was fast and the computers in the lobby for 10baht for 15 mins use were handy if you needed to sort out photos etc. The cafe in the hotel was a fair price and the food on the whole was very good. The best hotel we have stayed in so far whilst backpacking.

Disliked: Due to Bangkok not having a true city centre it was a little bit of an effort getting anywhere, the metro doesn't really run to any of the main attractions however the express boat from dock 3 (about 10 min walk from the hotel) provides a cheap solution, as did haggling for tuk tuks around the station.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break

15 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything, extremely helpful staff, location perfect, very very cheap, clean rooms, nice restaurant/bar, free internet

Disliked: I liked everything, highly recommended

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very close to underground and other areas like little india and the golden buddah

Disliked: stairs

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thomas Brumby

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 February 2011 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: Wifi on general was good however found it unreliable. It is located near to a little cheap food shop and right next to the train station perfect for travels moving around thailand.

Disliked: Wifi sometimes unreliable.