HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of The Overstay Bangkok

Hostel

100m before Charan Soi 40, Bangkok, Thailand

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 52%

Facilities 64%

Location 65%

Safety 66%

Staff 85%

Value 80%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Games Room
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Meeting Room
  • Nightclub
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Pool Table
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 18:30

Policies

  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bangkok?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 52%

Facilities 64%

Location 65%

Safety 66%

Staff 85%

Value 80%

Showing 1-10 of 21 reviews

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 80%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jan 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:

Liked: Grafitti

Disliked: Cats everywhere

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: This place reminds me of a share house I used to live in. There's a really cool sense of community here, all the staff are living there and rarely seem to leave. Lots of graff and artworks of varying quality all throughout the building. The bar's open 24/7 and the pool table's free.

Disliked: The most effective way of keeping the rats away seems to be the gaggle of cats roaming the place. You get used to the smell after about half an hour

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very original

Disliked: It was quite far from the centre of Bangkok and difficult to find because of road works.

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very friendly staff. Cheap to stay there.

Disliked: 17 feral cats live in this hostel. Two are pregnant and one was in heat during my stay. Don't touch them because they're all covered in fleas. On my way out I couldn't leave because there two cats having a cat fight on the staircase so I kind of just had to wait it out.I didn't feel safe here because of the drugs. It is not unheard of for Thai police to barge into hostels and do searches. If that had happened during my stay a lot of people would have gone to jail. While I had no drugs on me I was still concerned about something happening that could get people in the hostel in trouble and therefore me in trouble too. If you are planning on staying at the overstay you need to be aware that risky activities do occur here.Also: The kitchen REEKS of urine. Reeks.

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The people here are amazing, from all corners of the globe.And all are happy to chat about anything

Disliked: Nothing really..

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Friendly staff, good fun, great decor!

Disliked: Could have used air con, but not really a problem.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Relaxation / spa

Liked: Really good staff. 45min relax walk to the khao san road.

Disliked: Sometimes sucks that you have to walk 45min. You can go with a scooter if you want.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals, Relaxation / spa, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The vest plase in Bangkok

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It was pretty cheap, the vibe is like a Berlin squat

Disliked: The smell and that people were always trying to open the our room door cause they were thinking it was the bathroom

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Everything.

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability