HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of The Overstay Bangkok Hostel

100m before Charan Soi 40, Bangkok, Thailand

Atmosphere 83%

Cleanliness 53%

Facilities 66%

Location 63%

Safety 67%

Staff 88%

Value 83%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Games Room
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Meeting Room
  • Nightclub
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Pool Table
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 18:30

Policies

  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bangkok?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 83%

Cleanliness 53%

Facilities 66%

Location 63%

Safety 67%

Staff 88%

Value 83%

Showing 1-10 of 20 reviews

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 May 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: good vibe friendly staff

Disliked: extremely hard beds most with no ladders to get to top bunk very far out of city staff weren't very helpful on how to get around

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating


11 Mar 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: I really liked the Atmosphere at this Place! The people are so nice and the staff also. I just booked for five nights but stayed 11. Its just 6 baht to the Khao San road by bus 203 and takes only 14 mins to get there. If you like Art and cats its def. The right Place for your stay!

Disliked: --

Customer would recommend this property

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 80%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jan 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Liked: Grafitti

Disliked: Cats everywhere

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: This place reminds me of a share house I used to live in. There's a really cool sense of community here, all the staff are living there and rarely seem to leave. Lots of graff and artworks of varying quality all throughout the building. The bar's open 24/7 and the pool table's free.

Disliked: The most effective way of keeping the rats away seems to be the gaggle of cats roaming the place. You get used to the smell after about half an hour

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very original

Disliked: It was quite far from the centre of Bangkok and difficult to find because of road works.

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very friendly staff. Cheap to stay there.

Disliked: 17 feral cats live in this hostel. Two are pregnant and one was in heat during my stay. Don't touch them because they're all covered in fleas. On my way out I couldn't leave because there two cats having a cat fight on the staircase so I kind of just had to wait it out.I didn't feel safe here because of the drugs. It is not unheard of for Thai police to barge into hostels and do searches. If that had happened during my stay a lot of people would have gone to jail. While I had no drugs on me I was still concerned about something happening that could get people in the hostel in trouble and therefore me in trouble too. If you are planning on staying at the overstay you need to be aware that risky activities do occur here.Also: The kitchen REEKS of urine. Reeks.

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The people here are amazing, from all corners of the globe.And all are happy to chat about anything

Disliked: Nothing really..

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Friendly staff, good fun, great decor!

Disliked: Could have used air con, but not really a problem.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Relaxation / spa

Liked: Really good staff. 45min relax walk to the khao san road.

Disliked: Sometimes sucks that you have to walk 45min. You can go with a scooter if you want.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals, Relaxation / spa, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The vest plase in Bangkok

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability