We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Overstay

Hostel | Charan Soi 40, Bangkok, Thailand -

66.9% Overall Rating

23 out of 41 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/04/2014)

Emma Kleinschnitz thinks…

"It's cheap, the people are nice, the staff is helpful and the best part is when the AC finally turns on at night. Wifi works perfectly fine, surprising, considering all the people!"

Read all The Overstay reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bangkok?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bangkok

Thaicozy House
12.71 USD

Hostel 79.5% 37 reviews
Phra Arthit Mansion
17.46 USD

Hotel 2.5 star Not yet rated
Khaosan Baan Thai
7.24 USD

Hostel 92.5% 332 reviews
Penpark Place
9.24 USD

Guesthouse 86.9% 183 reviews
Amarin Inn Guesthouse
8.32 USD

Guesthouse 80.1% 167 reviews
Sam Sen Sam Place
9.86 USD

Guesthouse 87.0% 57 reviews
Viengtai Hotel
29.58 USD

Hotel 4 star 89.4% 126 reviews
Steve Boutique Guesthouse
10.02 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
66.9%

Overall Rating

23 out of 41 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Overstay'

Atmosphere
74.4%
Location
68.8%
Facilities
63.2%
Cleanliness
51.2%
Staff
74.4%
Value
71.2%
Safety
64.8%
Refine your results Showing 33 of 36 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Josef Neudeker

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2014 Josef would recommend this property

Liked: Everything.

Disliked: Nothing.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Emma Kleinschnitz

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 April 2014 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: It's cheap, the people are nice, the staff is helpful and the best part is when the AC finally turns on at night. Wifi works perfectly fine, surprising, considering all the people!

Disliked: It always depends on your standarts and expectations. Overall it's okay for 2 bucks a night! Takes a while to get into town. Yesterday no taxi wanted to bring me back! It's filthy, the kitchen is unbearable and the toilets/shower are hot. Beds are hard!

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Natalie Ainscough

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 April 2014

Liked: The room was spacious, there is a bar within the same building, the paitings around the building are very cool.

Disliked: It seemed to be in the middle of nowhere, didnt feel very safe walking around this area, the place was dirty and very smelly with flys all over the place.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

FRANCESCO MARTINENGO

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

12 March 2014 FRANCESCO would recommend this property

Liked: staff, very kind, atmosphere nice and funny

Disliked: nothing to dislike, every things was good.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Domagoj Vidakovi?

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 February 2014 Domagoj would recommend this property

Liked: this is really laid back hostel, you feel living with group of friends in squat, but they provide all you need, extra points are free pool and great roof terrace and great price, getting there is pretty easy once you figure it out,...street name can be confusing cause our taxi driver did not now, and we were 20 meters from hostel in clse by street,...se print outg the map or something, after you check in you just need a 203 bus to khao san road, or even can walk 20 minutes

Disliked: Domagoj left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are super lovely and really helpful, it's got it's charm that's for sure!

Disliked: Beds leave a lot to be desired, but hey, it's like $3 a night so deal with it..

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Chris Finch

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 December 2013 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: You'll love this place or hate it, its perfect for hipster type travellers, artists and musicians. But other people may want to get straight out. Think of it of more of a hipster bar club with some beds upstairs.

Disliked: Never felt that my stuff was safe.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

yohann bonhomme

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 November 2013 yohann would recommend this property

Liked: Just amazing, had to stay one night finaly stayed like a month! great place , great people!

Disliked: yohann left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

IOANNIDIS KOSTAS

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

21 November 2013 IOANNIDIS would recommend this property

Liked: Posetive atmospher the single room i had was good, bathroom also with hot water.

Disliked: Not in the center

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Lucy Waller

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2013 Lucy would recommend this property

Liked: We just loved the atmosphere and character, live music, jam sessions, the many tiny cats, the lovely Thai ladies cooking food outside, the closeness of Kao San Road and the fact that Thai people actually hang out here as well and can give very good insider tips to first timers.

Disliked: It was a bit leaky when it rained, but we personally didn't really mind, others might though!

The property's response is...

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 February 2013

Liked: Overpriced

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is CHIIIIILLLED. Has to be the most laid back place I've ever stayed. So if you like hostels and you like them to take it real easy then its a great place.

Disliked: Nothing really. Does what it says on the tin. Like I said.. If you like SUPER chilled out, this is the place.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

harta kesuma

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 January 2013 harta would recommend this property

Liked: u pay what u get

Disliked: nothing

37.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

24 December 2012

Liked: They had a rave on which was good and reggae night with a band

Disliked: They played jungle and happy hardcore music extremely loud until 5.45am even when the party had finished. I got no sleep at all, total waste of time coming here but The partying was fun

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

peter michaud

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

20 December 2012 peter would recommend this property

Liked: Everyone here is real. Its a truly fiun place to stay. Well situated in a part of the city where you can walk to all the sites but not so close as to keep you up at night.

Disliked: peter left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

14 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, artistic, good music, free pool table, reasonable priced drinks.

Disliked: the noise from roadworks directly outside was a nightmare.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

gloria nocera jijon

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 October 2012 gloria would recommend this property

Liked: We had a great time at the Overstay, nice atmosphere and laid back people that made our stay unforgetable. If you are looking for a place where you can feel at home and have fun at the same time, then this one is a perfect option.

Disliked: gloria left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

eloy vera

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 September 2012 eloy would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, good party, good location, awesome rooms if ur looking for something diferent just overstay! Eloy panama

Disliked: Nothing

37.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

ankit goyal

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 March 2012

Liked: nothing much except it was cheap

Disliked: there was extremely loud music throughout the night, while I'm an easy sleeper and could sleep anywhere my gf had a horrible time. The place has character but is completely un kept, dirty and dingy and smells disgusting. you would be better of pitching a tent in the middle of nowhere.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Elida Marques Dreer

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

25 February 2012

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: I definetely won`t get back there. The place is awful and the worst is that I was stolen in the second day, someone took my things in a 'private' room while I was sleeping. Also, I booked by the website for two people and the guy told it was full already, even knowing we've booked before. That is why we came to other room.

The property's response is...

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 February 2012

Liked: It was certainly very unique - with each room having a different design, has a bohemian feel to the artwork

Disliked: They didnt honor my booking I booked a dorm (one month in advance) when i got there they had given all the dorm beds away and I had to stay in a single room (150baht) at the increased price ad there was apology for my dorm bookin being honored. The room had dirty sheets and the bathrooms were highly unclean.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: laid back hostel and cool staff, the art on display is really cool.

Disliked: a bit noisy sometimes because of construction outside

51.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Overstay is very unique, with the people who stay there being the highlight. If you're interested in meeting friendly, interesting, well traveled people, this is a great place to stay. On the other hand, if you want a place with any sort of creature comforts or semblance of cleanliness, steer clear.

Disliked: A bit hard to find, and incredibly neglected in terms of its rooms and the general state of the building.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was really great to help us about how travel in the city! The value for money is good comparing to hotels in Bangkok.

Disliked: the cleanliness is not top in the bathroom and hallway...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

01 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: price

Disliked: cleanliness