HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Penpark Place

Guesthouse | 22 Soi Samsen 3, Samsen Road, Sampraya Pranakorn Bangkok, Thailand 10200

85.5% Overall Rating

166 out of 181 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/06/2014)

Hazel Leslie thinks…

"Air con was amazing!!!! Lovely garden. Quiet and peaceful but close to buzzing city life."

Read all Penpark Place reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Common area / room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bangkok?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bangkok

Khaosan Baan Thai
7.24 USD

Hostel 93.1% 329 reviews
Sam Sen Sam Place
9.86 USD

Guesthouse 87.1% 56 reviews
Smile Buri House
12.33 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Khaosan Immjai
9.24 USD

Hostel 94.6% 70 reviews
Born Free Hostel
7.89 USD

Hostel 97.3% 225 reviews
Amarin Inn Guesthouse
8.32 USD

Guesthouse 80.1% 167 reviews
Back Home Backpackers
9.24 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Nouvo City Hotel
28.76 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.5%

Overall Rating

166 out of 181 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Penpark Place'

Atmosphere
77.6%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
76.8%
Cleanliness
87.2%
Staff
89.6%
Value
88.8%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 149 of 178 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Lukas Kindl

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 September 2014 Lukas would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, helpful stuff, quiet area, nice comfort rooms

Disliked: some budget rooms are very basic

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hazel Leslie

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2014 Hazel would recommend this property

Liked: Air con was amazing!!!! Lovely garden. Quiet and peaceful but close to buzzing city life.

Disliked: Hazel left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: large place with a nice garden area, single private rooms available, inexpensive, and clean.

Disliked: no ac available in single rooms, very sparsely decorated - only the basics provided.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great

Disliked: nothing really

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fidah Asyikin Mohammad Sukri

With my spouse / partner

City break

06 May 2014 Fidah Asyikin would recommend this property

Liked: The area is so calm, very clean and helpful staff!

Disliked: Barely get the internet connection in my room.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms were clean, 10 min walk to Kaosan Road and nightlife which was great to be able to escape it. Free wifi and computers to use the internet. Hot water always present, clean towels provided. Had cab there within 10 mins at 4am to go to the airport when we were leaving. Front desk staff very helpful. Would absolutely recommend again, especially for the $$$

Disliked: None

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 April 2014

Liked: location, calm

Disliked: old, rather expensive, little comfort

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Martin Rese

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 April 2014 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: Location, clean, friendly staff, quick wifi but onely in the lobby

Disliked: Aircon smelled a little.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

peter brett

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 March 2014 peter would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Quiet. 5 mins walk to river ferry. Excellent coffee in Vespa Café about 100m from main gate, with free Wi-Fi and chilled out atmosphere. Penpark also has a nice outdoor restaurant and a roof top lounge area. Great hostel.

Disliked: They didn't change my sheets or towel during my entire stay, and I was there over 2 weeks.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

edwin mcgurk

Alone

Visiting friends or family

21 March 2014 edwin would recommend this property

Liked: everything

Disliked: nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Zdravko Grigorov

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

06 March 2014 Zdravko would recommend this property

Liked: it was very nice located.

Disliked: Zdravko left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 February 2014

Liked: It's near a lot of the sightseeing.

Disliked: Trail of ants in my room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jenny Martin

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 February 2014 Jenny would recommend this property

Liked: Clean Affordable Location

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great value when compared to other hotels/hostels in Bangkok. Hits a great middle spot, offering hotel rooms at hostel rates, even offering shared bathroom, which are even better value if you're on a tight budget. Very well located, very close to the Ferry Pier and walking distance to Khao San Rd. Has a lovely garden out back.

Disliked: The washing machines there are the worst I've ever encountered. They literally made our clothes dirtier, as well as stained and decolored some items which had never done that before. Look for somewhere else to do your laundry. Our double+shared bathroom room looked exactly like a hospital room, but others did look a bit nicer. Not a big deal, but don't come looking for atmosphere (unless you get a different room). Breakfast (not included) is quite depressing. Definitely get it somewhere else. Had VERY noisy guests one morning around 5am. A guest had to go ask them to be quiet so people could sleep, no one from the hotel did anything about it.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They had many tour options at the hotel.

Disliked: The bathroom wasn't really clean.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

robyn anderson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 January 2014 robyn would recommend this property

Liked: The garden area was nice to sit and enjoy a beer in and the breakfast on offer was really tasty! Also only around 5-10min walk to khaosan road!

Disliked: The air conditioning in the room was very loud.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: it wasnt very clean

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Richard Uren

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 December 2013 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: Clean bedsheets, fairly cheap

Disliked: In my fan room I had a woolly blanket which gave me a sweaty hot night. A simple clean cotton sheet would have been much better.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and clean rooms.

Disliked: -

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

David Cunliffe

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 December 2013 David would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean with newly decorated ensuite room.Shower is so powerful it has to be turned down as it hurts your skin,a first in my worldwide hotels experience! HUGE,comfortable bed and quiet,efficient air con in bed room overlooking beautiful,peaceful garden. Highly recommend this hotel.I have done so (and Hostel Bookers too) to a friend and he has booked in for a few days with friends in 3 weeks time. I'

Disliked: Just the non description look of the place from outside. You wouldn't give it a second thought to consider it from now it looks! Don't let it's pug ugly face put you off though.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Philipp churilov

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 December 2013 Philipp would recommend this property

Liked: Location is great and it very quiet and peaceful even tho its 7 min walk to Khao San

Disliked: There is no atmosphere but for the buck u get a great value Walls are a little thin but that wasn't really an issue

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bethany Bracken

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 November 2013 Bethany would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great, the staff were helpful, it was one of two clean places we stayed in during our entire 17 days in this area of the world.

Disliked: Bethany left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is amazing!! At walking distance to khao San raod, the grand palace. Very close to a river taxi pier too!

Disliked: The common showers were a bit cold...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Evelin Koppel

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 October 2013 Evelin would recommend this property

Liked: The location was good. Its not a 5 star hostel, but good value for money. I would definetly stay there another time and i would recommend it to my friends without any hesitations.

Disliked: I didn`t like the shower rooms. There was no place to left your clothes while showering. The showering facility didn`t have doors, that was a bit odd. We stayed there for 6 days and no one took out the trash. Trahsbins are relatively small, so they were full after the second day.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Herdy Yudhaskara

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 September 2013 Herdy would recommend this property

Liked: I stay here for 3 days, confortable and clean. just 10 minutes walk to backpacker area Khao San Rd.

Disliked: wifi didn't work, the receptionis say that the internet connection temporary down. but 3 days here I can't use the internet.