We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Penpark Place

Guesthouse | 22 Soi Samsen 3, Samsen Road, Sampraya Pranakorn Bangkok, Thailand 10200

82.6% Overall Rating

179 out of 195 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/02/2015)

"Room was really basic, but was clean and quiet and good value. Friendly staff. Roof top terrace was really nice - you can see the river (just!). Only fifteen minute walk to the river ferry pier."

Read all Penpark Place reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Common area / room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bangkok?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bangkok

Khaosan Baan Thai
7.39 USD

Hostel 90.4% 384 reviews
Sam Sen Sam Place
9.45 USD

Guesthouse 85.8% 62 reviews
Smile Buri House
11.82 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Khaosan Immjai
10.34 USD

Hostel 95.7% 94 reviews
Born Free Hostel
7.56 USD

Hostel 96.5% 239 reviews
Amarin Inn Guesthouse
7.98 USD

Guesthouse 84.1% 184 reviews
Back Home Backpackers
10.05 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Nouvo City Hotel
31.52 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.6%

Overall Rating

179 out of 195 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Penpark Place'

Atmosphere
73.6%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
74.4%
Cleanliness
84.8%
Staff
88.0%
Value
85.6%
Safety
85.6%
Refine your results Showing 157 of 191 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Alistair Hudson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

05 September 2011 Alistair would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really really helpful 'boy' was a really nice young man who couldn't do more for us, the hostel staff did our laundry which was great! the reception had 2x pc's for residents to book places to move on to after their stay

Disliked: the ground floor room we stayed in had ants coming from the bathroom into the bedroom, had to clean the floor multiple times to get rid of them, also because we were on the first floor we could hear people cheking in reception and going up and down stairs, which led to sleepless nights. Finally the hostel stated it was near Khaosan rd, which was 10mins walk however you would get hassled by Tuk Tuk scammers all the way there and back.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good clean room with tv and aircon. Ten mins walk to kao san road. Can't complain really.

Disliked: Only 5 tv channels! Its a solid place to stay.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, quiet and very clean and it looks like they are adding more all the time

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

01 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best value for economy

Disliked: None

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved this hostel! Very clean and the staff is friendly. The more expensive rooms are excellent. Flat screen TV, shower and air conditioning. These rooms look like hotel rooms. Not a party hostel.

Disliked: Nothing. Maybe it isn't a very good place to meet other people when you are traveling alone.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Hans Damgaard

As a family with children

City break
Family Holiday

25 July 2011 Hans would recommend this property

Liked: Clean rooms , quite lokation , nice roof-terasse with good view

Disliked: -

25.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very close to khao san and river so can get a boat from there to anywhere... served breakfast which was less hassle when you are hungry in the morning. had a nice communal area but for some reason people didnt want to mix...(just my experience)

Disliked: does not serve lunch and dinner... there were few places nearby so not a big problem but would have been handy some times.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was really nice, clean, and spacious. The staff are really help and friendly. I enjoyed my stay in this hotel, I highly recommend it.

Disliked: none

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly and helpful staff. room was fine. shared shower and toilets, but seemed well maintained. few minutes walk to near attractions, several places to eat nearby. i'd stay again!

Disliked: nothing to really dislike.. not really a place to meet other travellers, so if you're looking for a social scene, this is probably not the place for you

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aimee Atkinson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 June 2011 Aimee would recommend this property

Liked: We had the deluxe room and it was like a hotel room. Had a big plasma screen tv, king size bed, and great shower (with good temperature and water pressure....always important!) Great location, near enough to Kao San Road but far enough so you can get some peace and quiet. Friendly staff with a very helpful tour desk lady. Also has an awesome rooftop chill out area where you can read your book and relax and look out over bangkok.

Disliked: Nothing really.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicholas Frost

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2011 Nicholas would recommend this property

Liked: all good

Disliked: nowt

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the busy Khao Sun road and other attractions, but quiet and calm. Great if you don't want to be in the middle of the tourist's crowd. big room (i stayed in single one), quite clean bathrooms. very friendly and helpful stuff.

Disliked: very loud rooster was waking me up in the morning ;)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, excellent staff, nice breakfast.

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rhiannon Christie

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2011 Rhiannon would recommend this property

Liked: Great, quiet location, wonderful friendly staff who are not out to rip you off only to make your stay enjoyable and easy. Single room was great, good bathrooms, lovely lounge/ diner and garden. Free fast internet all day and night. Safe, sacure and quiet and very spacious. Loved it. Only suggestion I could think of to help them is maybe to try doing their own meals - a few simple thai dishes, as they cook throughout the day and it always smells lovely. They do have an all day breakfast menu though so all good!

Disliked: Nothing I can think of!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great staff. nice rooms. good location.

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: quit but close to busy places

Disliked: nothing

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 June 2011

Liked: It was in a quiet location.

Disliked: The staff offered no compensation when they made a mistake on my bus booking.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

26 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great place to stay. really quiet spot in the centre of the city. taxiride to silom rd not more than 70 baht.

Disliked: none

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Rachel Gerling

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

23 May 2011 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: clean

Disliked: over priced for what you get

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

16 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good

Disliked: nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference

12 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was located close to many restaurants.

Disliked: Most of the facility is outside.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Rannoch Yule

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

19 April 2011 Rannoch would recommend this property

Liked: Clean rooms and more of a hotel than a hostel, with all the basics. Location isn't great but not bad at the same time.

Disliked: Nothing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Joe Stokeld

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2011 Joe would recommend this property

Liked: Lots of different types of room available for fair prices Good breakfast menu They let us stay around after check out to wait for bus!

Disliked: Shared bathrooms occasionally misused by other guests

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean in a quite area and no far from grand palace

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

DIPANKAR CHATTERJEE

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2011 DIPANKAR would recommend this property

Liked: The best and cleanest place to stay in Bankok everything is so close still at a peaceful corner of the city Very safe real value for money

Disliked: Nothing Nothing Nothing