We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Penpark Place

Guesthouse | 22 Soi Samsen 3, Samsen Road, Sampraya Pranakorn Bangkok, Thailand 10200

85.6% Overall Rating

165 out of 180 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/06/2014)

Hazel Leslie thinks…

"Air con was amazing!!!! Lovely garden. Quiet and peaceful but close to buzzing city life."

Read all Penpark Place reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Common area / room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bangkok?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bangkok

Khaosan Baan Thai
7.27 USD

Hostel 95.4% 324 reviews
Sam Sen Sam Place
9.90 USD

Guesthouse 87.1% 56 reviews
Smile Buri House
12.38 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Khaosan Immjai
10.83 USD

Hostel 92.7% 68 reviews
Born Free Hostel
7.92 USD

Hostel 96.7% 220 reviews
Amarin Inn Guesthouse
8.36 USD

Guesthouse 80.1% 167 reviews
Back Home Backpackers
9.28 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Nouvo City Hotel
28.88 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.6%

Overall Rating

165 out of 180 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Penpark Place'

Atmosphere
78.4%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
77.6%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
88.8%
Value
88.0%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 148 of 177 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Daniel Langbein

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 February 2012 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Wir haben das Hotel vor Reiseantritt über hostelbookers.com gebucht und haben bei der Auswahl einer preiswerteren Unterkunft, vor allem sehr hohe Ansprüche in Punkto Sauberkeit gesetzt. Da war das Penpark Place eines der besseren. Außerdem war uns für unseren zweitägigen Aufenthalt wichtig, dass es nahe der Partymeile "Khao San Road" liegt. Das Penpark Place liegt etwas Abseits einer Hauptstraße in einer Sackgasse. Der erste Eindruck war meinerseits relativ Verhalten, was aber auch mit meiner typisch spiesbürgerlichen deutschen Erwartungshaltung zusammenhängt. Die Toiletten und Duschen sind auf dem Gang und diese werden von ca 3-4 Zimmern auf den Etagen geteilt! Die Toiletten sind für die hiesigen Verhältnisse sehr sauber. Die sanitäre Einrichtung ist nicht modern und relativ stark abgenutzt, wie aber schon gesagt, reinlich. Nachdem ich den Schock über geteilte WC's und Duschen verdaut hatte, habe ich mich dann auch allgemein akklimatisiert! Die Betten sind einwandfrei und wer wie wir Bangkok nur als Sprungbrett für eine Weiterreise nutzt, der sollte auch eher weniger Zeit im Hotel verbringen. Das Hotel und vor allem das Nachtleben hat uns, mit unseren verschiedensten Ansprüchen (Student/ Azubi/ Selbständiger Kaufmann), durchweg überzeugt! Das Personal ist freundlich und die Ausstattung/ das Angebot eher sperrlich aber dennoch okay. Viele Sehenswürdigkeiten sind zu Fuß erreichbar und ein paar Minuten entfernt gibt es vom 24/7 Supermarkt über Restaurants bis hin zur Partymeile eigentlich mehr als man braucht.

Disliked: Nicht gefallen hat uns, dass die Zimmer sehr hellhörig sind! Wir haben erst gegen frühen Morgen das Hotel wieder betreten und unsere wenigen Stunden Schlaf wurden mehrfach durch Gespräche in Zimmerlautstärke gestört. Diese sind nämlich so deutlich hörbar, dass man sich eigentlich direkt zu seinen Nachbarn in die Zimmer legen könnte! Dies betrifft allerdings nicht diejenigen mit geregeltem Schlafrythmus zu christlicher Zeit! Denn Nachts und Abends ist es hier sehr ruhig!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife

01 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place is just far enough away from Kohsan Road that when you need to get some sleep you can, but if you wanted to go out at night it's just a short walk up the street.

Disliked: No complaints here.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 January 2012

Liked: cheapish

Disliked: hotel chain feel, no towels and no free breakfast

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location, i liked the distance from khao san area, 10 mins walking so convenient but nice and quiet.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very calm, green garden, clean rooms

Disliked: Roof terrace could be cosier :-)

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was in a nice quiet area and walking distance to the main attractions.

Disliked: The room was rather basic but this was fine for one night.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nadezda Gavryusgina

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 December 2011 Nadezda would recommend this property

Liked: Clean place, friendly staff, lot's of food choise around, a good place for massage 5 mins walking distance.

Disliked: Far from bts, but taxi is cheep.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

31 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved this budget friendly,centrally located,clean hostel!It is very close to the nightlife and shopping district and main sites yet provides a wonderfully tranquil atmosphere!The free internet was wonderful!I loved the cleanliness and spaciousness of the rooms!

Disliked: Nothing!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

MIAO HE

Alone

City break

28 October 2011 MIAO would recommend this property

Liked: Clean /quiet/simple room,wifi is good.Valuate the price.

Disliked: Location,near by the river,that's good.But now a flood around it ,I have to move to another place.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The garden was very beautiful and a good place to get a little rest after a busy day in Bangkok. Everything was clean and the people working there were helpfull.

Disliked: During our stay there was a kind of renovation at the back of the hostel. Which was very noisy from morning till evening, you could hear the noise through the whole hostel.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 October 2011

Liked: Initially we liked it until we were made to move rooms. The downstairs area is great , spacious and good for meeting people. Restaurant serves good breakfasts. Near to Khao san road. Clean place also.

Disliked: Initially we stayed here for one night and thought it was fine and good value for money, so we booked 2 more nights on line at the same price. In the morning we were told that we needed to move rooms even though it was the same priced room. We were moved to a damp musty smelling room over a building site with pneumatic drills going etc. I complained and asked to stay where we were. I was told we couldn't and we were shown another room- in the same block , musty and damp smelling with the building site below. I wasn't at all happy. Had we been able to stay in our original room, we would have stayed all week but we checked out as soon as we were able. You had to wear ear plugs in your room unless you kept the windows closed which made the room smell really bad and it was really hot too. Don't stay in the musty smelling block and don't stay until the building works are finished, otherwise it's fine.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

jean Ellerby

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 October 2011 jean would recommend this property

Liked: Clean , nice room. !0 minutes walk from Kao San Rd. Liked the restaurant downstairs and the all day breakfast was cheap and tasty.

Disliked: Nothing particularly

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is good, near the Kawasan road.

Disliked: The Fan's room are terrebile, sharing shower, and no air conditioner, but if you pay more you can take a better room.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Phillip Muhle

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

09 September 2011 Phillip would recommend this property

Liked: top

Disliked: The place was nice and tidy and it had a little green around it which is very nice in bangkok to relax.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

PEK HIONG LOI

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 September 2011 PEK HIONG would recommend this property

Liked: a very basic hotel, room with a fan and a bed, and a shared toilet, nothing else. It's very hard to meet other people here. The location is good, near to khaosan road.

Disliked: nothing much too offer

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway

08 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very helpful staff and great tours on offer room really clean

Disliked: shower

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Alistair Hudson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

05 September 2011 Alistair would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really really helpful 'boy' was a really nice young man who couldn't do more for us, the hostel staff did our laundry which was great! the reception had 2x pc's for residents to book places to move on to after their stay

Disliked: the ground floor room we stayed in had ants coming from the bathroom into the bedroom, had to clean the floor multiple times to get rid of them, also because we were on the first floor we could hear people cheking in reception and going up and down stairs, which led to sleepless nights. Finally the hostel stated it was near Khaosan rd, which was 10mins walk however you would get hassled by Tuk Tuk scammers all the way there and back.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good clean room with tv and aircon. Ten mins walk to kao san road. Can't complain really.

Disliked: Only 5 tv channels! Its a solid place to stay.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, quiet and very clean and it looks like they are adding more all the time

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

01 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best value for economy

Disliked: None

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved this hostel! Very clean and the staff is friendly. The more expensive rooms are excellent. Flat screen TV, shower and air conditioning. These rooms look like hotel rooms. Not a party hostel.

Disliked: Nothing. Maybe it isn't a very good place to meet other people when you are traveling alone.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Hans Damgaard

As a family with children

City break
Family Holiday

25 July 2011 Hans would recommend this property

Liked: Clean rooms , quite lokation , nice roof-terasse with good view

Disliked: -

25.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very close to khao san and river so can get a boat from there to anywhere... served breakfast which was less hassle when you are hungry in the morning. had a nice communal area but for some reason people didnt want to mix...(just my experience)

Disliked: does not serve lunch and dinner... there were few places nearby so not a big problem but would have been handy some times.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was really nice, clean, and spacious. The staff are really help and friendly. I enjoyed my stay in this hotel, I highly recommend it.

Disliked: none

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly and helpful staff. room was fine. shared shower and toilets, but seemed well maintained. few minutes walk to near attractions, several places to eat nearby. i'd stay again!

Disliked: nothing to really dislike.. not really a place to meet other travellers, so if you're looking for a social scene, this is probably not the place for you