HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Penpark Place

Guesthouse | 22 Soi Samsen 3, Samsen Road, Sampraya Pranakorn Bangkok, Thailand 10200

85.5% Overall Rating

157 out of 172 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/04/2014)

"Rooms were clean, 10 min walk to Kaosan Road and nightlife which was great to be able to escape it. Free wifi and computers to use the internet. Hot water always present, clean towels provided. Had cab there within 10…"

Read all Penpark Place reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Common area / room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bangkok?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bangkok

Khaosan Baan Thai
7.25 USD

Hostel 91.4% 302 reviews
Sam Sen Sam Place
9.87 USD

Guesthouse 89.7% 48 reviews
Smile Buri House
13.89 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Khaosan Immjai
10.80 USD

Hostel 94.1% 46 reviews
Born Free Hostel
7.90 USD

Hostel 96.8% 197 reviews
Amarin Inn Guesthouse
8.33 USD

Guesthouse 81.1% 161 reviews
Nouvo City Hotel
42.17 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
New World City Hotel
21.60 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.2% 58 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.5%

Overall Rating

157 out of 172 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Penpark Place'

Atmosphere
77.6%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
79.2%
Cleanliness
87.2%
Staff
88.0%
Value
88.8%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 144 of 169 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very calm, green garden, clean rooms

Disliked: Roof terrace could be cosier :-)

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was in a nice quiet area and walking distance to the main attractions.

Disliked: The room was rather basic but this was fine for one night.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nadezda Gavryusgina

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 December 2011 Nadezda would recommend this property

Liked: Clean place, friendly staff, lot's of food choise around, a good place for massage 5 mins walking distance.

Disliked: Far from bts, but taxi is cheep.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

31 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved this budget friendly,centrally located,clean hostel!It is very close to the nightlife and shopping district and main sites yet provides a wonderfully tranquil atmosphere!The free internet was wonderful!I loved the cleanliness and spaciousness of the rooms!

Disliked: Nothing!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

MIAO HE

Alone

City break

28 October 2011 MIAO would recommend this property

Liked: Clean /quiet/simple room,wifi is good.Valuate the price.

Disliked: Location,near by the river,that's good.But now a flood around it ,I have to move to another place.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The garden was very beautiful and a good place to get a little rest after a busy day in Bangkok. Everything was clean and the people working there were helpfull.

Disliked: During our stay there was a kind of renovation at the back of the hostel. Which was very noisy from morning till evening, you could hear the noise through the whole hostel.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 October 2011

Liked: Initially we liked it until we were made to move rooms. The downstairs area is great , spacious and good for meeting people. Restaurant serves good breakfasts. Near to Khao san road. Clean place also.

Disliked: Initially we stayed here for one night and thought it was fine and good value for money, so we booked 2 more nights on line at the same price. In the morning we were told that we needed to move rooms even though it was the same priced room. We were moved to a damp musty smelling room over a building site with pneumatic drills going etc. I complained and asked to stay where we were. I was told we couldn't and we were shown another room- in the same block , musty and damp smelling with the building site below. I wasn't at all happy. Had we been able to stay in our original room, we would have stayed all week but we checked out as soon as we were able. You had to wear ear plugs in your room unless you kept the windows closed which made the room smell really bad and it was really hot too. Don't stay in the musty smelling block and don't stay until the building works are finished, otherwise it's fine.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

jean Ellerby

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 October 2011 jean would recommend this property

Liked: Clean , nice room. !0 minutes walk from Kao San Rd. Liked the restaurant downstairs and the all day breakfast was cheap and tasty.

Disliked: Nothing particularly

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is good, near the Kawasan road.

Disliked: The Fan's room are terrebile, sharing shower, and no air conditioner, but if you pay more you can take a better room.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Phillip Muhle

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

09 September 2011 Phillip would recommend this property

Liked: top

Disliked: The place was nice and tidy and it had a little green around it which is very nice in bangkok to relax.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

PEK HIONG LOI

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 September 2011 PEK HIONG would recommend this property

Liked: a very basic hotel, room with a fan and a bed, and a shared toilet, nothing else. It's very hard to meet other people here. The location is good, near to khaosan road.

Disliked: nothing much too offer

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway

08 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very helpful staff and great tours on offer room really clean

Disliked: shower

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Alistair Hudson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

05 September 2011 Alistair would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really really helpful 'boy' was a really nice young man who couldn't do more for us, the hostel staff did our laundry which was great! the reception had 2x pc's for residents to book places to move on to after their stay

Disliked: the ground floor room we stayed in had ants coming from the bathroom into the bedroom, had to clean the floor multiple times to get rid of them, also because we were on the first floor we could hear people cheking in reception and going up and down stairs, which led to sleepless nights. Finally the hostel stated it was near Khaosan rd, which was 10mins walk however you would get hassled by Tuk Tuk scammers all the way there and back.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good clean room with tv and aircon. Ten mins walk to kao san road. Can't complain really.

Disliked: Only 5 tv channels! Its a solid place to stay.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, quiet and very clean and it looks like they are adding more all the time

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

01 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best value for economy

Disliked: None

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved this hostel! Very clean and the staff is friendly. The more expensive rooms are excellent. Flat screen TV, shower and air conditioning. These rooms look like hotel rooms. Not a party hostel.

Disliked: Nothing. Maybe it isn't a very good place to meet other people when you are traveling alone.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Hans Damgaard

As a family with children

City break
Family Holiday

25 July 2011 Hans would recommend this property

Liked: Clean rooms , quite lokation , nice roof-terasse with good view

Disliked: -

25.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very close to khao san and river so can get a boat from there to anywhere... served breakfast which was less hassle when you are hungry in the morning. had a nice communal area but for some reason people didnt want to mix...(just my experience)

Disliked: does not serve lunch and dinner... there were few places nearby so not a big problem but would have been handy some times.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was really nice, clean, and spacious. The staff are really help and friendly. I enjoyed my stay in this hotel, I highly recommend it.

Disliked: none

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly and helpful staff. room was fine. shared shower and toilets, but seemed well maintained. few minutes walk to near attractions, several places to eat nearby. i'd stay again!

Disliked: nothing to really dislike.. not really a place to meet other travellers, so if you're looking for a social scene, this is probably not the place for you

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aimee Atkinson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 June 2011 Aimee would recommend this property

Liked: We had the deluxe room and it was like a hotel room. Had a big plasma screen tv, king size bed, and great shower (with good temperature and water pressure....always important!) Great location, near enough to Kao San Road but far enough so you can get some peace and quiet. Friendly staff with a very helpful tour desk lady. Also has an awesome rooftop chill out area where you can read your book and relax and look out over bangkok.

Disliked: Nothing really.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicholas Frost

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2011 Nicholas would recommend this property

Liked: all good

Disliked: nowt

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the busy Khao Sun road and other attractions, but quiet and calm. Great if you don't want to be in the middle of the tourist's crowd. big room (i stayed in single one), quite clean bathrooms. very friendly and helpful stuff.

Disliked: very loud rooster was waking me up in the morning ;)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, excellent staff, nice breakfast.

Disliked: nothing