HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Penpark Place

Guesthouse | 22 Soi Samsen 3, Samsen Road, Sampraya Pranakorn Bangkok, Thailand 10200

86.1% Overall Rating

156 out of 170 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/03/2014)

peter brett thinks…

"Great location. Quiet. 5 mins walk to river ferry. Excellent coffee in Vespa Café about 100m from main gate, with free Wi-Fi and chilled out atmosphere. Penpark also has a nice outdoor restaurant and…"

Read all Penpark Place reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Common area / room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bangkok?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bangkok

Khaosan Baan Thai
7.29 USD

Hostel 91.4% 301 reviews
Sam Sen Sam Place
9.92 USD

Guesthouse 89.7% 48 reviews
Smile Buri House
13.95 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Khaosan Immjai
10.85 USD

Hostel 96.2% 44 reviews
Born Free Hostel
7.94 USD

Hostel 96.7% 196 reviews
Amarin Inn Guesthouse
8.37 USD

Guesthouse 80.8% 160 reviews
Nouvo City Hotel
42.37 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
New World City Hotel
21.70 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.2% 58 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.1%

Overall Rating

156 out of 170 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Penpark Place'

Atmosphere
77.6%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
80.0%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
87.2%
Value
90.4%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 141 of 166 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Hannah Mulholland

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 July 2012 Hannah would recommend this property

Liked: It's close to alot I travelled pretty much across the city by meter in a taxi only cost me 75b. It's a nice and easy place to stay. Staff are nice and helpful.

Disliked: No aircon. But there is a fan directy on your bed and I didn't really like aircons anyway

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Thomas Montgomery

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2012 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: A 15 minute walk from khao San road, on a quieter street which in Bangkok is really good. Clean for Thai standards, no lockers or safes but leaving your bags in the room was very safe. Overall a nice play to stay and would recommend it for someone wanting a base to explore the city.

Disliked: Very disappointed with airport transfer booked through the hostel for 150 thb as we booked for it to arrive at 10am and didn't arrive until 10:45 and then preceded to pick up the 11am transfers on route to the airport. We expected to be given the service we had paid for, other than that no dislikes about penparkplace!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

06 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a conveniently situated, quiet, clean place with spotless rooms and a pleasant view from the rooftop.

Disliked: The only downsides are that it is difficult to find an ensuite here and the shared bathrooms are smallish and don't stay very clean. And don't expect much in the way of atmosphere; the rooms could be improved greatly by simply adding a bedside lamp to soften the strip lighting.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Charlotte Bell

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2012 Charlotte would recommend this property

Liked: very clean. good food from the cafe. friendly staff.

Disliked: Charlotte left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

20 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Realy clean, generous rooms. Stayed in a double with ensuite. A little bit of a walk from Khao San but close enough (10mins). In a quieter backstreet. Does the job. Not a party hostel if that's what you're looking for.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Timothy Xavier Te

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

15 June 2012 Timothy Xavier would recommend this property

Liked: our room was ginormous (Superior 4 person) two queen size beds over two rooms, and a living room with a couch and a 32" LCD TV. the place is very clean and has a nice garden. the common area isn't the best, as it is a bunch of bench tables and doesn't really encourage interaction with other guests, but the drinks were cheap, so it was alright. rooftop area was great and had a good view of the city, but NOBODY came up there. no staff, no guests. staff was friendly but hard to understand. they were kind enough to let us leave our things for a few days while we went to the full moon party. our stuff were untouched, so pretty secure. 10 minutes walk to khaosan rd. believe me, you do NOT want to stay very near to khaosan since it gets very noisy at nights.lots of places to eat to and from khaosan, so you can grab something to eat on the way there.

Disliked: no BTS or other trains nearby, must take taxi to get to train stations (60 baht to BTS) 10 minute walk to khaosan, somewhere about 4-5 minutes walk a way would have been better, but a good walk after all the chang beers and buckets were good for us anyway!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean modern rooms with good bathrooms, close enough to Khao san to walk but far enough to escape the chaos

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful and friendly staff, tour/travel desk in the reception area. Computers and free wifi. Serve breakfast and ice creams in the downstairs outside area. 10 min walk from Khao San and Rambuttri roads with great markets/bars/restaurants. 8 min walk from river ferry pier, 15bht to get down town via river. Had fan room first night then air con second, both good and clean. Air con twin room had own bathroom too, the air con was awesome after a day exploring in the heat. Taxi cost 280bht from airport, 60bht from hostel to train station.

Disliked: Not a great social area to meet people but you meet people out and about so no problem.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Kara Maxwell

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 May 2012

Liked: I liked that the property was close to all the busy streets, but far away enough that you could get away from the noise.

Disliked: This hotel was pretty basic, the rooms are fine but, they only have a fan in the room which doesnt make much difference so it is very stuffy. We practaically were living on a building site, we got no sleep what so ever when we stayed here the noise of drills and hammers for hours was unbarable. I would not recomend this place to travelers as we didnt meet anyone, it was very quiet.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

JEAN MARC JARAI

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 May 2012 JEAN MARC would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean. Big single room.

Disliked: Sometimes, the comments of the employyes.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Mikala Robinson-koss

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 May 2012 Mikala would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, big room with bathroom. Air con and WIFI worked great. Nice outdoor areas with picnic tables, large grassy area and rooftop with sunbeds. This would be the only place to meet people. Location was quiet but only 10min walk to Khao san rd, and there were numerous restaurants along the way.

Disliked: Lift didn't seem to work so if you had big bags you may find the stairs difficult (and hot!) It may be hard to meet fellow travellers- it's more like a hotel. When we asked about getting to the floating markets by public transport they weren't able to help us- they only new about the tour option (that they would book for us).

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was really close to Kho San road and some really good restaurants, the rooms were basic but clean

Disliked: Nothing specific

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

avril fleming

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

17 April 2012 avril would recommend this property

Liked: nice staff near koh san rd

Disliked: bit hard to use public transport from here

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Adam Clarey

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 March 2012 Adam would recommend this property

Liked: Has an open space with a nice garden

Disliked: Could be cheaper

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Koen en Linda

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 March 2012 Koen would recommend this property

Liked: Location was good and rooms where clean. It had what we where expecting based on the internet review

Disliked: It was as we expected but feel it's a little overpriced. But when you want to play it save it's a good place to stay

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: really good value for money, nice spacious room with air con and nice bathroom.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Ok, quiet location.

Disliked: Everything was great, good facilities and overall really clean. No air conditioning in the room, so at night it was a little hot, but overall ok.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice and clean rooms, friendly and helpful staff (which you dont see much in Bkk), good location- very close to Khao San Road.

Disliked: Nothing to complain about for once! :)

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Daniel Langbein

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 February 2012 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Wir haben das Hotel vor Reiseantritt über hostelbookers.com gebucht und haben bei der Auswahl einer preiswerteren Unterkunft, vor allem sehr hohe Ansprüche in Punkto Sauberkeit gesetzt. Da war das Penpark Place eines der besseren. Außerdem war uns für unseren zweitägigen Aufenthalt wichtig, dass es nahe der Partymeile "Khao San Road" liegt. Das Penpark Place liegt etwas Abseits einer Hauptstraße in einer Sackgasse. Der erste Eindruck war meinerseits relativ Verhalten, was aber auch mit meiner typisch spiesbürgerlichen deutschen Erwartungshaltung zusammenhängt. Die Toiletten und Duschen sind auf dem Gang und diese werden von ca 3-4 Zimmern auf den Etagen geteilt! Die Toiletten sind für die hiesigen Verhältnisse sehr sauber. Die sanitäre Einrichtung ist nicht modern und relativ stark abgenutzt, wie aber schon gesagt, reinlich. Nachdem ich den Schock über geteilte WC's und Duschen verdaut hatte, habe ich mich dann auch allgemein akklimatisiert! Die Betten sind einwandfrei und wer wie wir Bangkok nur als Sprungbrett für eine Weiterreise nutzt, der sollte auch eher weniger Zeit im Hotel verbringen. Das Hotel und vor allem das Nachtleben hat uns, mit unseren verschiedensten Ansprüchen (Student/ Azubi/ Selbständiger Kaufmann), durchweg überzeugt! Das Personal ist freundlich und die Ausstattung/ das Angebot eher sperrlich aber dennoch okay. Viele Sehenswürdigkeiten sind zu Fuß erreichbar und ein paar Minuten entfernt gibt es vom 24/7 Supermarkt über Restaurants bis hin zur Partymeile eigentlich mehr als man braucht.

Disliked: Nicht gefallen hat uns, dass die Zimmer sehr hellhörig sind! Wir haben erst gegen frühen Morgen das Hotel wieder betreten und unsere wenigen Stunden Schlaf wurden mehrfach durch Gespräche in Zimmerlautstärke gestört. Diese sind nämlich so deutlich hörbar, dass man sich eigentlich direkt zu seinen Nachbarn in die Zimmer legen könnte! Dies betrifft allerdings nicht diejenigen mit geregeltem Schlafrythmus zu christlicher Zeit! Denn Nachts und Abends ist es hier sehr ruhig!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife

01 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place is just far enough away from Kohsan Road that when you need to get some sleep you can, but if you wanted to go out at night it's just a short walk up the street.

Disliked: No complaints here.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 January 2012

Liked: cheapish

Disliked: hotel chain feel, no towels and no free breakfast

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location, i liked the distance from khao san area, 10 mins walking so convenient but nice and quiet.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very calm, green garden, clean rooms

Disliked: Roof terrace could be cosier :-)

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was in a nice quiet area and walking distance to the main attractions.

Disliked: The room was rather basic but this was fine for one night.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nadezda Gavryusgina

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 December 2011 Nadezda would recommend this property

Liked: Clean place, friendly staff, lot's of food choise around, a good place for massage 5 mins walking distance.

Disliked: Far from bts, but taxi is cheep.