HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Penpark Place

Guesthouse | 22 Soi Samsen 3, Samsen Road, Sampraya Pranakorn Bangkok, Thailand 10200

85.5% Overall Rating

166 out of 181 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/06/2014)

Hazel Leslie thinks…

"Air con was amazing!!!! Lovely garden. Quiet and peaceful but close to buzzing city life."

Read all Penpark Place reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Common area / room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bangkok?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bangkok

Khaosan Baan Thai
7.24 USD

Hostel 93.1% 329 reviews
Sam Sen Sam Place
9.86 USD

Guesthouse 87.1% 56 reviews
Smile Buri House
12.33 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Khaosan Immjai
9.24 USD

Hostel 94.6% 70 reviews
Born Free Hostel
7.89 USD

Hostel 97.3% 225 reviews
Amarin Inn Guesthouse
8.32 USD

Guesthouse 80.1% 167 reviews
Back Home Backpackers
9.24 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Nouvo City Hotel
28.76 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.5%

Overall Rating

166 out of 181 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Penpark Place'

Atmosphere
77.6%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
76.8%
Cleanliness
87.2%
Staff
89.6%
Value
88.8%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 149 of 178 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Visiting friends or family

06 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: big room for singer

Disliked: No elevator

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean rooms and a quiet location, but still close to a lot of the sights in the city. Nice garden courtyard too.

Disliked: For the price, there are better options in the area.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Lauren Clark

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 October 2012 Lauren would recommend this property

Liked: For less than $10 a night it was comfortable and clean, and conveniently located.

Disliked: I had to change rooms halfway through my stay, my new room didn't have good wifi access, and my room was never cleaned during my stay.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Joep Zewald

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 September 2012 Joep would recommend this property

Liked: It's a ten minute walk to the backpacker street of Khao San. This is good, because there is always noise in that street. The hostel is clean and the staff is friendly. There is not a lot to do at the hostel itself, but the rooms are fine. So it's a good spot to begin your day.

Disliked: nothing really

48.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Daniel Matthews

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 September 2012 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean, the room was spacious and a good price. Not far to walk to Khao San Rd, in a safe area with convenience stores, a few restaurants and shops around. Reasonably quiet at night and in the morning

Disliked: No elevator, and heaps of stairs to climb if you are on one of the top floors (Like I was). No atmosphere to speak of, very spartan.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Katja Preiss

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2012 Katja would recommend this property

Liked: The location. Easy to get to Khao San Road and other places. Some taxi drivers don't know the location so make sure you pick up a business card at reception with a tiny map at the back. I had an ensuite double and the room is very spacious. Even with the things I didn't like I still think it's good value for money and I would use the hotel again.

Disliked: There is no safe in the room. They want you to leave the key at reception when you leave the hotel, but I always kept it with me. The first night it was quite loud because some backpackers were having a blast downstairs in the common area - not the hotels fault though and the other nights I had no problems at all. The aircon is in a very stupid location and blows the cold air right onto the bed. The shower doesn't get warm or hot so get used to showering with cold water. But that seems to be a common thing in Thailand, although they all use electric showers. Nevermind, it wasn't too bad. The water pressure in the sink was hilarious, hardly any water came out and even washing your hands was a bit of a mission.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 August 2012

Liked: Good hot water Staff is available 24 hours

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Michael Martin

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 July 2012 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location!

Disliked: Breakfast not amazing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Hannah Mulholland

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 July 2012 Hannah would recommend this property

Liked: It's close to alot I travelled pretty much across the city by meter in a taxi only cost me 75b. It's a nice and easy place to stay. Staff are nice and helpful.

Disliked: No aircon. But there is a fan directy on your bed and I didn't really like aircons anyway

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Thomas Montgomery

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2012 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: A 15 minute walk from khao San road, on a quieter street which in Bangkok is really good. Clean for Thai standards, no lockers or safes but leaving your bags in the room was very safe. Overall a nice play to stay and would recommend it for someone wanting a base to explore the city.

Disliked: Very disappointed with airport transfer booked through the hostel for 150 thb as we booked for it to arrive at 10am and didn't arrive until 10:45 and then preceded to pick up the 11am transfers on route to the airport. We expected to be given the service we had paid for, other than that no dislikes about penparkplace!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

06 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a conveniently situated, quiet, clean place with spotless rooms and a pleasant view from the rooftop.

Disliked: The only downsides are that it is difficult to find an ensuite here and the shared bathrooms are smallish and don't stay very clean. And don't expect much in the way of atmosphere; the rooms could be improved greatly by simply adding a bedside lamp to soften the strip lighting.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Charlotte Bell

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2012 Charlotte would recommend this property

Liked: very clean. good food from the cafe. friendly staff.

Disliked: Charlotte left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

20 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Realy clean, generous rooms. Stayed in a double with ensuite. A little bit of a walk from Khao San but close enough (10mins). In a quieter backstreet. Does the job. Not a party hostel if that's what you're looking for.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Timothy Xavier Te

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

15 June 2012 Timothy Xavier would recommend this property

Liked: our room was ginormous (Superior 4 person) two queen size beds over two rooms, and a living room with a couch and a 32" LCD TV. the place is very clean and has a nice garden. the common area isn't the best, as it is a bunch of bench tables and doesn't really encourage interaction with other guests, but the drinks were cheap, so it was alright. rooftop area was great and had a good view of the city, but NOBODY came up there. no staff, no guests. staff was friendly but hard to understand. they were kind enough to let us leave our things for a few days while we went to the full moon party. our stuff were untouched, so pretty secure. 10 minutes walk to khaosan rd. believe me, you do NOT want to stay very near to khaosan since it gets very noisy at nights.lots of places to eat to and from khaosan, so you can grab something to eat on the way there.

Disliked: no BTS or other trains nearby, must take taxi to get to train stations (60 baht to BTS) 10 minute walk to khaosan, somewhere about 4-5 minutes walk a way would have been better, but a good walk after all the chang beers and buckets were good for us anyway!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean modern rooms with good bathrooms, close enough to Khao san to walk but far enough to escape the chaos

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful and friendly staff, tour/travel desk in the reception area. Computers and free wifi. Serve breakfast and ice creams in the downstairs outside area. 10 min walk from Khao San and Rambuttri roads with great markets/bars/restaurants. 8 min walk from river ferry pier, 15bht to get down town via river. Had fan room first night then air con second, both good and clean. Air con twin room had own bathroom too, the air con was awesome after a day exploring in the heat. Taxi cost 280bht from airport, 60bht from hostel to train station.

Disliked: Not a great social area to meet people but you meet people out and about so no problem.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Kara Maxwell

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 May 2012

Liked: I liked that the property was close to all the busy streets, but far away enough that you could get away from the noise.

Disliked: This hotel was pretty basic, the rooms are fine but, they only have a fan in the room which doesnt make much difference so it is very stuffy. We practaically were living on a building site, we got no sleep what so ever when we stayed here the noise of drills and hammers for hours was unbarable. I would not recomend this place to travelers as we didnt meet anyone, it was very quiet.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

JEAN MARC JARAI

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 May 2012 JEAN MARC would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean. Big single room.

Disliked: Sometimes, the comments of the employyes.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Mikala Robinson-koss

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 May 2012 Mikala would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, big room with bathroom. Air con and WIFI worked great. Nice outdoor areas with picnic tables, large grassy area and rooftop with sunbeds. This would be the only place to meet people. Location was quiet but only 10min walk to Khao san rd, and there were numerous restaurants along the way.

Disliked: Lift didn't seem to work so if you had big bags you may find the stairs difficult (and hot!) It may be hard to meet fellow travellers- it's more like a hotel. When we asked about getting to the floating markets by public transport they weren't able to help us- they only new about the tour option (that they would book for us).

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was really close to Kho San road and some really good restaurants, the rooms were basic but clean

Disliked: Nothing specific

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

avril fleming

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

17 April 2012 avril would recommend this property

Liked: nice staff near koh san rd

Disliked: bit hard to use public transport from here

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Adam Clarey

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 March 2012 Adam would recommend this property

Liked: Has an open space with a nice garden

Disliked: Could be cheaper

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Koen en Linda

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 March 2012 Koen would recommend this property

Liked: Location was good and rooms where clean. It had what we where expecting based on the internet review

Disliked: It was as we expected but feel it's a little overpriced. But when you want to play it save it's a good place to stay

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: really good value for money, nice spacious room with air con and nice bathroom.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Ok, quiet location.

Disliked: Everything was great, good facilities and overall really clean. No air conditioning in the room, so at night it was a little hot, but overall ok.