We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Penpark Place

Guesthouse | 22 Soi Samsen 3, Samsen Road, Sampraya Pranakorn Bangkok, Thailand 10200

86.9% Overall Rating

168 out of 183 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (06/11/2014)

"Great location! Not too close to khao San road but not too far either. I was a lone traveller and not once did I feel unsafe. Staff really helpful, I booked a lot of the tours through the lady at reception and seemed to…"

Read all Penpark Place reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Common area / room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bangkok?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bangkok

Khaosan Baan Thai
7.24 USD

Hostel 92.2% 331 reviews
Sam Sen Sam Place
9.86 USD

Guesthouse 87.1% 56 reviews
Smile Buri House
12.33 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Khaosan Immjai
10.79 USD

Hostel 94.6% 70 reviews
Born Free Hostel
7.89 USD

Hostel 97.4% 227 reviews
Amarin Inn Guesthouse
8.32 USD

Guesthouse 80.1% 167 reviews
Back Home Backpackers
9.24 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Nouvo City Hotel
28.76 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.9%

Overall Rating

168 out of 183 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Penpark Place'

Atmosphere
78.4%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
78.4%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
90.4%
Value
91.2%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 151 of 180 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Evelin Koppel

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 October 2013 Evelin would recommend this property

Liked: The location was good. Its not a 5 star hostel, but good value for money. I would definetly stay there another time and i would recommend it to my friends without any hesitations.

Disliked: I didn`t like the shower rooms. There was no place to left your clothes while showering. The showering facility didn`t have doors, that was a bit odd. We stayed there for 6 days and no one took out the trash. Trahsbins are relatively small, so they were full after the second day.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Herdy Yudhaskara

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 September 2013 Herdy would recommend this property

Liked: I stay here for 3 days, confortable and clean. just 10 minutes walk to backpacker area Khao San Rd.

Disliked: wifi didn't work, the receptionis say that the internet connection temporary down. but 3 days here I can't use the internet.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jasmin Richter

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

26 August 2013 Jasmin would recommend this property

Liked: Nice Rooms, clean, staff friendly

Disliked: 10-15min walk to Khao San Road

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

David Fombellida Pulido

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2013 David would recommend this property

Liked: Muy limpio y buen ambiente, situacion buena, a escasos 10 minutos de Khao San Road andando.

Disliked: David left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Outside main road which makes it very quiet place to be

Disliked: bathrooms could be in better condition

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a nice and clean hostel with friendly staff. I would ever come again to this hostel. The location is very good to diecover the city.

Disliked: Everything was fine but the rooms in the new part of the building are much more nicer furnutured and are more modern.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean

Disliked: We were not able to adjust the a/c so it can get a little cold.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Lancy Tan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 July 2013 Lancy would recommend this property

Liked: Clean rooms, working a/c, walking distance to Khaosan and other restaurants, secure, travel agency at reception w/ pickup

Disliked: Water heater didn't work! but otherwise happy with our stay.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for money. Clean rooms and bathroom, Aircoon, good beds. Don't miss an amazing view from the top!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

lisa cherry

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 April 2013 lisa would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights, the rooms are simple, and very basic. I didn't have air con, and I found it hard to sleep some nights, so I would recommend you stay in air con room. The staff are friendly and the little dog there is so cute, the garden is not used that often, so it is a great way to unwind and have some down time. It's also a 10 min walk to Kao San road./

Disliked: lisa left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Austin Kosslyn

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 March 2013

Liked: Nice building, seemed safe.

Disliked: No A/C in the private rooms.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was opened to answer our questions. I liked that they have a free-internet computer. The location is OK, because that's true, it's near Kaohsan Road (for those who are interested by that) and it's practicle to get the main attractions.

Disliked: The shared bathrooms and showers weren't very clean. Our first room (Deluxe Double - Private bathroom) was correct, but noisy. We don't know why exactly, but it seemed like a fan noise from outside. For our second room (with 2 single beds A/C shared bath) it was maybe overpriced for what we had. 700 BTS.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

wai king Hong

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 February 2013

Liked: It is a big place with a garden.

Disliked: It is too far away from the main road.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

LIFANG WEI

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 February 2013 LIFANG would recommend this property

Liked: 地理位置不错,周边有不少景点,离考山路也不远,安静。

Disliked: LIFANG left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Agata Blachnio

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

11 February 2013 Agata would recommend this property

Liked: I recomment this place!

Disliked: Agata left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

IAN PHILLIPS

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

16 January 2013 IAN would recommend this property

Liked: This is a guesthouse not a hotel but one of the best guesthouses Ive been to in Thailand over the years with very clean bright rooms & loos etc - important if arriving in Bangkok for the first time I think. I was here when the new rooms were under construction and NOW it's a peaceful place to stay! Good sized very clean rooms with basic furniture & comfortable bed. Aircon that works well (& NOT too noisy!). Good size bathroom with everything in good condition and working as it should. Plenty of food places and shops to hand and a couple of temples as well. A 5 minute (or less walk) to the banks of the Chaopraya river if you are like me and like an early morning work-out (or TaiChi session) with the locals.

Disliked: The girl in the tours/travel office seemed more interested in her pooch (with a full coat on in Bangkok weather than advising on travel - although she'd take a straight booking if you knew what you wanted and caught her there. Luckily there are plenty of other places in the neighbourhood Penpark Place is OFF the main road and not the easiest place to get to by public transport (ie metro or skytrain but the boatbus stop is only 5 minutes away). No problem If you know Bangkok & how cheap taxis SHOULD be(!) - avoid tuktuks).

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

BOYA LI

With a large group / tour

Family Holiday

08 January 2013 BOYA would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hostel! Staff is patient and helpful! Lovely common area to drink tea and relax!

Disliked: BOYA left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location

Disliked: -

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

06 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Whilst staying at the property, I experienced a problem with my room. The staff were sympathetic, and acted quickly in order to rectify the problem. Location wise, it was within walking distance of the Ko San Road and I found that it was easy to get to and from here. Taxis/tuk-tuks were readily available in the area and cheap. I found it to be a good base for exploring the city. The internet was free to use and faster than a lot of other places I tried in Thailand. The staff were polite and helpful. The room was clean and quite spacious, the bed was comfortable.

Disliked: I didn't dislike anything about the property, although I found the decor a little bland and perfunctory.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sam Rogers

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 December 2012 Sam would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap single room with fan and nice bed for $10 US, ten mins walk to khao san. Nearest street had good street food and cheap restaurants.

Disliked: Was excepting air con. No atmosphere - not many people around, not a backpacker vibe.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly, helpful staff. Quiet ; good location

Disliked: Didn't dislike anything but it could have done with freshening up

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean rooms, breakfast & refershments at good prices

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 November 2012

Liked: The location is very good. The hotel is very clean and it has friendly service.

Disliked: The room walls are really thin you lose all your privacy and sometimes it's difficult to sleep at night. Also it's a little bit overpriced for the area. You can find cheaper options around.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

CATHERINE TAYLOR

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 October 2012 CATHERINE would recommend this property

Liked: Clean

Disliked: Nothing, all was good