HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Penpark Place

Guesthouse | 22 Soi Samsen 3, Samsen Road, Sampraya Pranakorn Bangkok, Thailand 10200

86.1% Overall Rating

156 out of 170 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/03/2014)

peter brett thinks…

"Great location. Quiet. 5 mins walk to river ferry. Excellent coffee in Vespa Café about 100m from main gate, with free Wi-Fi and chilled out atmosphere. Penpark also has a nice outdoor restaurant and…"

Read all Penpark Place reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Common area / room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bangkok?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bangkok

Khaosan Baan Thai
7.29 USD

Hostel 91.4% 301 reviews
Sam Sen Sam Place
9.92 USD

Guesthouse 89.7% 48 reviews
Smile Buri House
13.95 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Khaosan Immjai
10.85 USD

Hostel 96.2% 44 reviews
Born Free Hostel
7.94 USD

Hostel 96.7% 196 reviews
Amarin Inn Guesthouse
8.37 USD

Guesthouse 80.8% 160 reviews
Nouvo City Hotel
42.37 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
New World City Hotel
21.70 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.2% 58 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.1%

Overall Rating

156 out of 170 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Penpark Place'

Atmosphere
77.6%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
80.0%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
87.2%
Value
90.4%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 141 of 166 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

lisa cherry

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 April 2013 lisa would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights, the rooms are simple, and very basic. I didn't have air con, and I found it hard to sleep some nights, so I would recommend you stay in air con room. The staff are friendly and the little dog there is so cute, the garden is not used that often, so it is a great way to unwind and have some down time. It's also a 10 min walk to Kao San road./

Disliked: lisa left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Austin Kosslyn

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 March 2013

Liked: Nice building, seemed safe.

Disliked: No A/C in the private rooms.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was opened to answer our questions. I liked that they have a free-internet computer. The location is OK, because that's true, it's near Kaohsan Road (for those who are interested by that) and it's practicle to get the main attractions.

Disliked: The shared bathrooms and showers weren't very clean. Our first room (Deluxe Double - Private bathroom) was correct, but noisy. We don't know why exactly, but it seemed like a fan noise from outside. For our second room (with 2 single beds A/C shared bath) it was maybe overpriced for what we had. 700 BTS.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

wai king Hong

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 February 2013

Liked: It is a big place with a garden.

Disliked: It is too far away from the main road.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

LIFANG WEI

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 February 2013 LIFANG would recommend this property

Liked: 地理位置不错,周边有不少景点,离考山路也不远,安静。

Disliked: LIFANG left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Agata Blachnio

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

11 February 2013 Agata would recommend this property

Liked: I recomment this place!

Disliked: Agata left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

IAN PHILLIPS

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

16 January 2013 IAN would recommend this property

Liked: This is a guesthouse not a hotel but one of the best guesthouses Ive been to in Thailand over the years with very clean bright rooms & loos etc - important if arriving in Bangkok for the first time I think. I was here when the new rooms were under construction and NOW it's a peaceful place to stay! Good sized very clean rooms with basic furniture & comfortable bed. Aircon that works well (& NOT too noisy!). Good size bathroom with everything in good condition and working as it should. Plenty of food places and shops to hand and a couple of temples as well. A 5 minute (or less walk) to the banks of the Chaopraya river if you are like me and like an early morning work-out (or TaiChi session) with the locals.

Disliked: The girl in the tours/travel office seemed more interested in her pooch (with a full coat on in Bangkok weather than advising on travel - although she'd take a straight booking if you knew what you wanted and caught her there. Luckily there are plenty of other places in the neighbourhood Penpark Place is OFF the main road and not the easiest place to get to by public transport (ie metro or skytrain but the boatbus stop is only 5 minutes away). No problem If you know Bangkok & how cheap taxis SHOULD be(!) - avoid tuktuks).

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

BOYA LI

With a large group / tour

Family Holiday

08 January 2013 BOYA would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hostel! Staff is patient and helpful! Lovely common area to drink tea and relax!

Disliked: BOYA left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location

Disliked: -

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

06 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Whilst staying at the property, I experienced a problem with my room. The staff were sympathetic, and acted quickly in order to rectify the problem. Location wise, it was within walking distance of the Ko San Road and I found that it was easy to get to and from here. Taxis/tuk-tuks were readily available in the area and cheap. I found it to be a good base for exploring the city. The internet was free to use and faster than a lot of other places I tried in Thailand. The staff were polite and helpful. The room was clean and quite spacious, the bed was comfortable.

Disliked: I didn't dislike anything about the property, although I found the decor a little bland and perfunctory.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sam Rogers

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 December 2012 Sam would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap single room with fan and nice bed for $10 US, ten mins walk to khao san. Nearest street had good street food and cheap restaurants.

Disliked: Was excepting air con. No atmosphere - not many people around, not a backpacker vibe.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly, helpful staff. Quiet ; good location

Disliked: Didn't dislike anything but it could have done with freshening up

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean rooms, breakfast & refershments at good prices

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 November 2012

Liked: The location is very good. The hotel is very clean and it has friendly service.

Disliked: The room walls are really thin you lose all your privacy and sometimes it's difficult to sleep at night. Also it's a little bit overpriced for the area. You can find cheaper options around.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

CATHERINE TAYLOR

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 October 2012 CATHERINE would recommend this property

Liked: Clean

Disliked: Nothing, all was good

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and cheap, close to Khaosan Road and the river (for the cheap riverboat to many destinations) and very helpful but not push staff. The 50B beers are pretty good as well!

Disliked: Quite a way from the skytrain (70B metered taxi), but that's the same for everything in this part of town.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, friendly staff, great location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Visiting friends or family

06 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: big room for singer

Disliked: No elevator

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean rooms and a quiet location, but still close to a lot of the sights in the city. Nice garden courtyard too.

Disliked: For the price, there are better options in the area.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Lauren Clark

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 October 2012 Lauren would recommend this property

Liked: For less than $10 a night it was comfortable and clean, and conveniently located.

Disliked: I had to change rooms halfway through my stay, my new room didn't have good wifi access, and my room was never cleaned during my stay.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Joep Zewald

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 September 2012 Joep would recommend this property

Liked: It's a ten minute walk to the backpacker street of Khao San. This is good, because there is always noise in that street. The hostel is clean and the staff is friendly. There is not a lot to do at the hostel itself, but the rooms are fine. So it's a good spot to begin your day.

Disliked: nothing really

48.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Daniel Matthews

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 September 2012 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean, the room was spacious and a good price. Not far to walk to Khao San Rd, in a safe area with convenience stores, a few restaurants and shops around. Reasonably quiet at night and in the morning

Disliked: No elevator, and heaps of stairs to climb if you are on one of the top floors (Like I was). No atmosphere to speak of, very spartan.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Katja Preiss

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2012 Katja would recommend this property

Liked: The location. Easy to get to Khao San Road and other places. Some taxi drivers don't know the location so make sure you pick up a business card at reception with a tiny map at the back. I had an ensuite double and the room is very spacious. Even with the things I didn't like I still think it's good value for money and I would use the hotel again.

Disliked: There is no safe in the room. They want you to leave the key at reception when you leave the hotel, but I always kept it with me. The first night it was quite loud because some backpackers were having a blast downstairs in the common area - not the hotels fault though and the other nights I had no problems at all. The aircon is in a very stupid location and blows the cold air right onto the bed. The shower doesn't get warm or hot so get used to showering with cold water. But that seems to be a common thing in Thailand, although they all use electric showers. Nevermind, it wasn't too bad. The water pressure in the sink was hilarious, hardly any water came out and even washing your hands was a bit of a mission.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 August 2012

Liked: Good hot water Staff is available 24 hours

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Michael Martin

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 July 2012 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location!

Disliked: Breakfast not amazing.