We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Niras Bankoc Cultural Hostel

Hostel | 204-206 Maha Chai Road, Samranrach Phra-Nakorn, Bangkok, Thailand 10200

88.6% Overall Rating

197 out of 202 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/11/2013)

Jan Vilinsky thinks…

"good location,walking distance to khao san road,grand palace..... staff is realy helpful,huge lockers"

Read all Niras Bankoc Cultural Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

For guests arriving after our front desk hours of operation (BETWEEN 7:00 AM-22:00PM), please notify us by e-mail or by phone call prior to your arrival. However, we have 24hrs security guard service and no curfew/ lockout. - Delay more than 3 hours, please kindly inform otherwise your bed will be re-opened Cancellation policy 1. Deposit 10% for HostelBooker is non-refundable 2. You may cancel your booking in written mail at least 5 days before arrival, without any charges. Less than 5 days - you will be charged for one night's stay For high season (July, Nov - Jan) - Less than 7 days notice - Full amount charge of every night during high season July, November - January.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bangkok?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bangkok

Merisess Sukhumvit 16
43.35 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Baan Dinso Hostel @ Ratchadamnoen Bangkok
29.42 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Amazing House
4.33 USD

Guesthouse 75.4% 18 reviews
Baan Boran
23.22 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Samsen Skyline Hostel
7.74 USD

Hostel 84.2% 51 reviews
Buddy Lodge Boutique Hotel
49.54 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 90.0% 12 reviews
Nomads De Moc, Bangkok
21.67 USD

Hostel 75.2% 3 reviews
Hotel De'Moc
27.87 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.6%

Overall Rating

197 out of 202 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Niras Bankoc Cultural Hostel'

Atmosphere
86.4%
Location
83.2%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
92.0%
Value
87.2%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 194 of 200 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Charming double room, great location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location,lockers

Disliked: noisy beds,they really ned to do something with them

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jan Vilinsky

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 November 2013 Jan would recommend this property

Liked: good location,walking distance to khao san road,grand palace..... staff is realy helpful,huge lockers

Disliked: some beds are really noisy,and if you want to buy a bus ticket you have to go to bus station which is nearly an hour away

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Michael Ledinger

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

16 November 2013 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly staff, travel desk at the reception was helpful with booking a good trip to tam goc, very beautiful rooms on both stays

Disliked: only one thing: laundry service is quite pricey - the most expensive on our 3 1/2 weeks trip in SEA

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Catherine Borthwick

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 August 2013 Catherine would recommend this property

Liked: Massive lockers

Disliked: Nothing - I wasn't really there long enough!

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Lap Yin Ho

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 June 2013 Lap Yin would recommend this property

Liked: 1. it is CLEAN 2. 24 hr air con ad hotshowering 2. the hospitality of the staff

Disliked: the location is ok but no the best. no BTS station nearby it takes 15 min to walk to khao san road or the grand palace area though you may take bus number 56 ( to khao san rd only)

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christian Brueckner

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2013 Christian would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome location, food market, tempels, 7-Eleven and famous Khao San Road in walking distance!! 24h Aircon + huge lockers in the room, u could probably lock urself in there! The bed is large enough too and it's pretty quiet, just 6 people in one room. They also offer coffee and breakfast downstairs but not included in price. Very very friendly & helpful staff - Thx guys!! :D

Disliked: Christian left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

10 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great Location ! Near to all of the sightseeing hot spots. We walked to most of the places and you can buy amazing, tasty thai food in the night street 'restaurant' just opposite the hostel. We also liked having a small corner shop there.

Disliked: Sorry but we thought the shared bathroom should have had a mop or something there as the shower was in the same room with the toilet and the floor was non stop wet everywhere. ( Water from the shower goes on the floor there is no shower tray.)

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean bedrooms and bathroom, large lockers, large dorm room, helpful staff. Nearish koh San road but 10-15min walk if you know where you're going otherwise could be longer. .

Disliked: The noisy and inconsiderate people in my room at 7am (not the hostels fault). Squeeky doors on rooms and lockers. Aircon was directly above my bed, on periodically but freezing at times during the night. No proper blanket, just a towel like sheet. A little expensive for a dorm in Bangkok in my opinion but was generally a good hostel, you get what you pay for.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are very friendly and helpful. Good size dorm beds and storage for your bags.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sirin lo

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 March 2013 sirin would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, friendly and qualify with price

Disliked: sirin left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place made me feel like home thats why I came back two weeks later again. The staff is more than friendly and helpful. The beds are big comfy and clean. The best hostel I have ever stayed at.

Disliked: Nothing!

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chris Stewart

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 February 2013 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean spacious dorm room, plenty of showers. Good locker space, great value for money.

Disliked: Chris left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

21 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cool but there are other better places

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff and rooms were well worth the money and the stay. The coffee shop downstairs is a great place to meet people and unwind from a long day out sightseeing. I will definitely stay again the next time I'm in Bangkok.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Harrie Dobby

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 January 2013 Harrie would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely loved it here, a great welcome to be Bangkok! The staff are so friendly and helpful, the coffee shop is lovely and the rooms are great. I came here on a recommendation from a friend and would definitely recommend it to anyone else!

Disliked: Harrie left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gianluca Medaglia

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 November 2012 Gianluca would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful with info and tips for taxi and connection

Disliked: nothing

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

nussara salacova

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 November 2012 nussara would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place, good location and nice staff

Disliked: Non

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Shin-Ying Wu

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 October 2012 Shin-Ying would recommend this property

Liked: the old fashion decoration of this hostel made a different experience than regular hostel. staffs are nice and helpful.

Disliked: Shin-Ying left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shinsuke Wakayama

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 October 2012 Shinsuke would recommend this property

Liked: nice facilities and very clean room. I love their hospitality.

Disliked: Shinsuke left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 September 2012

Liked: The other nice guys and friends I met there who also have been taken in by this "cultural" hostel with bedbugs. It was nice to meet them.

Disliked: I had the feeling they are not cleaning the toiletts and water taps. The visitor has to take care of that himself before using it. The Soap at the washbowl seems to be just water foam. How should my hands get clean with that? Doors and those of closets are squeeking as hell so that everybody gets awake in the dorm rooms. And the biggest issue with the hostel was that I had bedbugs in my room. I killed ten of them which bite me all over my body at the first night when I hadnt recognised them. They let change me the room but I found there two of them too. Mosquitos are there anyway in every room. They should really do some insect controll there.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Merinda Backway

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 August 2012 Merinda would recommend this property

Liked: The best Pad Thai place across the road! plenty of good showers relaxed homely place

Disliked: VERY difficult to find, taxi drivers had no idea, i would suggest printing out a map with directions before going. wasnt much of a party hostel if you are in to that. a little far from the modern department stores and train but good for the older tourist attractions

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Fiona Morgan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 July 2012 Fiona would recommend this property

Liked: its in a good, the street its on is a great little street, good place to meet people

Disliked: the halls aren't air conditioned, the rooms are, bit small

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Un ambiente muy tranquilo en él centro de bkk

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Richard Mann

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 July 2012 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel has freindly and helpful staff. There is a good coffee shop on the ground floor. The hostel has good facilities and is comfortable.

Disliked: The rooms are very small. The hostel is ver, very hot inside during the summer months! Though to be fair the rooms are ok as there is A/C

The property's response is...