HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Niras Bankoc Cultural Hostel Bangkok

Hostel

204-206 Samranrach intersection, opposite to Thipsamai padthai shop , Phra-Nakorn, Bangkok, Thailand

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 92%

Facilities 86%

Location 83%

Safety 94%

Staff 92%

Value 87%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Card Phones
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Washing machine

Important Information

For guests arriving after our front desk hours of operation (BETWEEN 7:00 AM-22:00PM), please notify us by e-mail or by phone call prior to your arrival.
However, we have 24hrs security guard service and no curfew/ lockout.
- Delay more than 3 hours, please kindly inform otherwise your bed will be re-opened

Cancellation policy
1. Deposit 10% for HostelBooker is non-refundable
2. You may cancel your booking in written mail at least 5 days before arrival, without any charges.
Less than 5 days - you will be charged for one night's stay

For high season (July, Nov - Jan)
- Less than 7 days notice - Full amount charge of every night during high season July, November - January.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bangkok?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 92%

Facilities 86%

Location 83%

Safety 94%

Staff 92%

Value 87%

Showing 71-11 of 11 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Oct 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location, environment and friendly staff

Disliked: Nothing!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for extending your stay with us and being wonderful group of guests.We are very pleased to help you enjoy Bangkok and great to know you had good stay with us.The perfect scores mean a lot to our hostel. Have a safe trip!

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Oct 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Atmosphere and the cozy common area as well as the café in the front! 24 hours reception is perfect. And if you do just a short trip you can even leave your big backpack with them!

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you very much for your both visits.It's great to know that you love our relaxing atmosphere.
We really do hope to welcome you next time.

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Oct 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Clean, very cool atmosphere. Good location, about a 10-15 minute walk from Khao San road. Staff was perfectly helpful.

Disliked: Not a whole lot. If you want to be right by Khao San road or some other attractions, this may not be the place for you, but overall it was a pretty cool place.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you very much for your stay.According to your comment regarding location, we agreed with you that our hostel might be more suitable for travellers who enjoy local experience,cultural attractions and key historical sites not typical touristry.

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Oct 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The hostel was very clean and well-maintained; it felt more like a home than the typical hostel. I met a lot of other travelers there who I ended up hanging out with during my stay. There are lockers in every room which was helpful. Cute coffee shop in the reception area, very friendly staff and lots of great food vendors in the area. I highly recommend it.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you very much for your review and being such a wonderful guest.Nothing more wonderful to see the real values of our cultural hostel and pleased to know you enjoy our facilities .Hope to welcome you again soon in the next days!

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: I liked that it was actually AWAY from the craziness of Khaosan road, but still close enough to walk there in 10 minutes; the same for the Golden Palace and other important sites. The staff were REALLY nice and helpful, the entire hostel was spotless, beds and lockers are big and new. They have a good lounge area, and I love it when hostels have free soap and shampoo in the (also very clean) showers! It's the little things that count. Good coffee too!

Disliked: Nothing!! I'd definitely stay here again.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Although it's just only a few days you stayed with us, we were glad to take care of you.
Thank you for understanding and seeing the values of our little hostel.Your review means a lot to our property.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great cosy feel. Lots of old teak floors and furniture. Excellent DVD collection and a little common room for chilling/chatting/sinking a few Chang. Free netbook to use. Great showers. Comfy bed (as long as you like a firm mattress). Close enough to everything there is to see/do in Bangkok.

Disliked: Nowt.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you both for staying with us and wonderful review.
All staffs were very happy to know you have enjoyable time in our hostel and neigborhood of the central old city.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Really good hostel, great facilities and very helpful staff. The coffee was fantastic too, nothing better than a good cup as you're waking up!

Disliked: We had a double budget room which was quite small, enough space for a double bed and about a foot between the bed and door. Not really a dislike but probably should of spent extra as other double rooms were much bigger and even had TV's.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

It's wonderful and fun to have you both as lovely guests.
Thank you for comments and understanding regarding types of our double rooms.
The difference of double budget and others is the compact size and minimal facilities.Although it's cheapest type of our private room, it is comfortable with Thai twisted style queen size bed and decorated with retro furnishing .

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The staff were so lovely. Beds were a really good size.

Disliked: Nothing really

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you very much for staying with us.It's great to welcome female solo traveler like you.
Good luck with your adventure !Hope to take care of you next time in Bangkok.

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nice look and feel to the guesthouse, a lot of attention to decor.

Disliked: The bathrooms could have been a bit cleaner.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you very much for your comments.Regarding cleanliness. Although it's bathroom which you shared with other guests, we will take the comment seriously.However,for next time ,don't hesitate to directly contact our staffs 24 hrs, we are really pleased to assist you.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: It is central to a lot of sights and a quick taxi/tuk tuk ride away from others. Its further of the usual backpackers track but that makes it quietter a night, which is a good thing

Disliked: It was diffcult to meet more travellers

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your comments and seeing our hostel's values.
Regarding your comment about meeting other travellers ,we understand that although at that time dorms were quite full of other travellers , we do hope and really pleased to help you next time to introduce you to others.

Check Availability