We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Niras Bankoc Cultural Hostel

Hostel | 204-206 Maha Chai Road, Samranrach Phra-Nakorn, Bangkok, Thailand 10200

88.6% Overall Rating

197 out of 202 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/11/2013)

Jan Vilinsky thinks…

"good location,walking distance to khao san road,grand palace..... staff is realy helpful,huge lockers"

Read all Niras Bankoc Cultural Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

For guests arriving after our front desk hours of operation (BETWEEN 7:00 AM-22:00PM), please notify us by e-mail or by phone call prior to your arrival. However, we have 24hrs security guard service and no curfew/ lockout. - Delay more than 3 hours, please kindly inform otherwise your bed will be re-opened Cancellation policy 1. Deposit 10% for HostelBooker is non-refundable 2. You may cancel your booking in written mail at least 5 days before arrival, without any charges. Less than 5 days - you will be charged for one night's stay For high season (July, Nov - Jan) - Less than 7 days notice - Full amount charge of every night during high season July, November - January.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bangkok?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bangkok

Merisess Sukhumvit 16
43.14 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Baan Dinso Hostel @ Ratchadamnoen Bangkok
29.27 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Amazing House
4.62 USD

Guesthouse 75.4% 18 reviews
Baan Boran
23.11 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Samsen Skyline Hostel
7.03 USD

Hostel 84.8% 52 reviews
Buddy Lodge Boutique Hotel
58.55 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 90.0% 12 reviews
Nomads De Moc, Bangkok
21.57 USD

Hostel 75.2% 3 reviews
Hotel De'Moc
20.03 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.6%

Overall Rating

197 out of 202 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Niras Bankoc Cultural Hostel'

Atmosphere
86.4%
Location
83.2%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
92.0%
Value
87.2%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 194 of 200 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Lee Hayward

22 September 2009 Lee would recommend this property

Liked: Very, very friendly staff, awesome coffee which was much, much needed the morning after a late night arrival to Bangkok.

Disliked: Lee left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

21 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were just wonderful and totally friendly! The beds were really big and rooms had a/c. I am really happy that I stayed here.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

21 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice chic design and large comfortable beds!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Richard Evans

20 September 2009 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: Staff very friendly. always keen to make an effort and even show you around the time on occasions. All around a brilliant place to stay but the staff make it!! If we go back to Bangkok there is only one place we will be staying!!!

Disliked: Richard left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Johanna FERRAND

14 September 2009 Johanna would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly staff

Disliked: Johanna left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Helen Richmond

13 September 2009 Helen would recommend this property

Liked: May and the other people were at reception were very friendly and helpful. The hostel is in a really good location. We walked to the grand palace from there in about 20 minutes.

Disliked: Helen left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

11 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place was clean and felt safe but none of the cab drivers ever knew how to find it. I always had to take directions written in Thai.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

08 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The property is a historic building with beautiful woodwork. It's classy and nice. The only thing is there could be more things to do and a better way to meet people.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elodie Quinet

14 August 2009 Elodie would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was really great:AMAZING staff, super location,very clean!!! By far the best hostel I have tried!!

Disliked: Elodie left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

JUAN SANCHEZ

02 August 2009 JUAN would recommend this property

Liked: I found the hostel very welcoming and friendly. The staff were fantastic and all the facilities were always Clean and tidy. I would recommend this hostel to everybody.

Disliked: JUAN left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

30 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place,bit noizy in the evening.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

28 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the very friendly staff made us feel at home. Coming back from the kind of noisy and dirty city to this great hostel was always a pleasure. The coffee is the best I've had in asia so far. The old teak-house ambiance is very calming.The hostel is well situated, so that a lot of attractions are in walking distance.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

18 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were extremely helpful and accomodating

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Markus Goransson

22 June 2009 Markus would recommend this property

Liked: I've stayed at some great hostels during my travels, but this one outshines most of them, especially in terms of the staff, who were extremely sweet, kind and helpful (and had very nice smiles :)) and really did their best to make my stay in Bangkok as smooth and comfortable as possible. The location is great too. It's just a ten-minute walk from the main backpacker areas, which is perfect since it keeps you conveniently close but also comfortably far away from the extreme noise and bustle of those places. Also, the hostel has a very friendly, cozy atmosphere, is spotlessly clean and the cafe downstairs serves some of the best coffee and tea I've ever had. It sounds as if I'm exaggerating in my review but check out the hostel yourself and you'll see I'm not :),.

Disliked: Markus left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hannah Wise

12 June 2009 Hannah would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly and helpful, I loved the coffee shop - it was a really nice place to hang out.

Disliked: Hannah left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cynthia Tong

03 June 2009 Cynthia would recommend this property

Liked: I have a really good time there. The staffs are very helpful.they even teach you how to go to the PATTAYA. Safe as home. You can go to lots of famous temples just by walk. Don't trust other ppl who will guide you to other places when you are heading to grand palace. -_-!!!! Thx Brad (miss u),Thx May(kiss u), Thx all (xoxo) ........... : )

Disliked: Cynthia left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

16 May 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The girls who work downstairs are awesome -- incredibly helpful and friendly. The property itself is super clean, new, and quiet. It's not the craziest place, so maybe not the best place to meet people.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paul Wagstaff

11 March 2009 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: Great Hostel, run by great people. They fall over backwards to do anything for you - whether the shops for some fruit or organising everywhere you can go. They gave me great advice on where and what to do during my stay. I am travelling on my own so it was fantastic to have some personal touch. I have to vist Bangkok 2 more times within my 3 mths and there is only one place i am staying.

Disliked: Paul left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Neal Dixon

03 January 2009 Neal would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is absolutely great. The hostel owners are some of the nicest you'd ever meet. They, as well as the entire staff, bend over backwards to make sure the stay is pleasant. As for the facilities, the entire place is well put together and well taken care of. The beds in the dorms are beyond comfortable.The breakfast, while quite simply, is a bargain. Tasty, but not varied.The location leaves something to be desired if you're wanting to party on Khaosan road. My advice is take the taxi back or pay no more than 45 for the tuk tuk ride back. Niras is still in the old part of the city, which is perfect if you're wanting to check out the temples.That being the case, the location is much quieter, much more intimate.

Disliked: Neal left no negative feedback.