We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Niras Bankoc Cultural Hostel

Hostel | 204-206 Maha Chai Road, Samranrach Phra-Nakorn, Bangkok, Thailand 10200

88.6% Overall Rating

197 out of 202 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/11/2013)

Jan Vilinsky thinks…

"good location,walking distance to khao san road,grand palace..... staff is realy helpful,huge lockers"

Read all Niras Bankoc Cultural Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

For guests arriving after our front desk hours of operation (BETWEEN 7:00 AM-22:00PM), please notify us by e-mail or by phone call prior to your arrival. However, we have 24hrs security guard service and no curfew/ lockout. - Delay more than 3 hours, please kindly inform otherwise your bed will be re-opened Cancellation policy 1. Deposit 10% for HostelBooker is non-refundable 2. You may cancel your booking in written mail at least 5 days before arrival, without any charges. Less than 5 days - you will be charged for one night's stay For high season (July, Nov - Jan) - Less than 7 days notice - Full amount charge of every night during high season July, November - January.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bangkok?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bangkok

Merisess Sukhumvit 16
43.14 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Baan Dinso Hostel @ Ratchadamnoen Bangkok
29.27 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Amazing House
4.62 USD

Guesthouse 75.4% 18 reviews
Baan Boran
23.11 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Samsen Skyline Hostel
9.24 USD

Hostel 83.3% 53 reviews
Buddy Lodge Boutique Hotel
58.55 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 90.0% 12 reviews
Nomads De Moc, Bangkok
21.57 USD

Hostel 75.2% 3 reviews
Hotel De'Moc
27.73 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.6%

Overall Rating

197 out of 202 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Niras Bankoc Cultural Hostel'

Atmosphere
86.4%
Location
83.2%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
92.0%
Value
87.2%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 194 of 200 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was everything the website mentioned and more. Ms. Boul is very helpful and accommodating- even before I arrived I had been corresponding with her and she had given some very good advice. The place is clean, the room though small had a bed that was just perfect for 2 travellers. Not skimpy at all. Bathrooms were clean, even the service toilet was clean with handsoap ready. The cafe attendants were very friendly and helpful. I will definitely stay here when I come back to Bangkok!

Disliked: None

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely Place, good Location, helpfull and Nice Staff

Disliked: Showers don't really get warm, but this seems to be a frequent Problem in Thailand

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quirky decor and very helpful staff. The lockers provided meant security in the dorms. A free bottle of water was provided for each day of stay. We did not sample the food or drink at the cafe downstairs, but it certainly looked delicious! You can select from a huge library of DVDs should you want to chill out in their lounge area.

Disliked: If we had to be super picky we would say that the addition of a computer with free internet would have been a bonus. Certainly print out the Thai map provided by the hostel to show taxi drivers, who do indeed struggle to find this hostel.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Much quieter than the Khao San Rd hostels but still close by to everything.

Disliked: I liked everything. Maybe more food options downstairs would be good

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Many attractions are in 5-15 minutes walking distance. So thoughtful and beautifully run (shampoo/bath lotion in shower room, changed my tower every other day without asking, always answer questions with patients, nomatter how busy). I stayed 2 more days. Will return to this place for more Bangkok.

Disliked: nothing.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A really really great hostel! Probably the best I've ever stayed in! Really lovely, helpful staff - gave me advice on where to go tailored to what I wanted exactly with inside local knowledge (& another girl totally different because she wanted something totally different, not just 'off the shelf' advice). Really clean, quiet, pretty. In a great area if you want to see where the locals live - around little local markets, street food right across road & main tourist areas a short walk away. Not the crazy Khoa San road area but easy to visit & not the soulless Sukhumvit road area, but again easy to visit. Would definitely go back!

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was very clean, modern fresh, but still traditional. It was very beautiful.

Disliked: nothing

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything

Disliked: nothing

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Relaxing and tranquil place to be in. Clean. Nice people. 15 min walk to Khao San Road, which to me was perfect!

Disliked: breakfast was average.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Jarrey

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 December 2010 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Its NOT on the Kao San Rd, its beautiful and clean and the staff are super friendly and helpful. What more could you want?

Disliked: Nothing...

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Christian Krechting

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 December 2010 Christian would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful and friendly staff!

Disliked: nothing

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nathan Teixeira

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

07 December 2010 Nathan would recommend this property

Liked: Started my travels thru SE Asia by staying here on arrival to Thailand. The rooms are spacious and meticulously clean... Beds large and comfortable... Bathrooms great! The staff are superb and are extremely helpful helping to point you in the right direction. Location puts you close to everything in old Bangkok while affording you a quiet sanctuary to return too after a day out. Excellent breakfast, amazing street food just out the door, free wi-fi, and warm smiles from the staff make this property worth a perfect rating and returning too :)

Disliked: N/A

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff, good coffee!!

Disliked: Breakfast was average

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Relaxation/spa
Shopping

23 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: If your not on too tight a budget and don't dig the Khao San madness, this is a great place to stay. Friendly English speaking staff even phoned a street vendor just over the road , and had her deliver me some tasty chicken with Thai basil as it was 'very hot out there'! Shoes must be removed as the floor is beautiful dark wood. Room was great too, really quiet air-con.

Disliked: Nothing!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

20 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of the nicest hostels i have ever been!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

FRANCESS DEDIOS

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 October 2010 FRANCESS would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location!! Close to a lot of Temples/Wat; street food; Khao San road; democratic monument;.The Hostel is very clean and we love the bathrooms! The hostel is also a coffee shop and makes the whole place smells so gooooood.The staff was amazing; honestly friendly and helpful. we were upgraded to a much nicer room with same price; provided various DVD selections with a deposit of 100 Baht per dvd. They provide many amenities such as hair dryers, new towels, dvd/tv, mini refrigerator; wi-fi. They have media area where you can find books to read, dvd's or just lounge around.We also liked the fact that they ask you to leave or take off your shoes when entering.

Disliked: absolutely no dislike; we loved everything! ~Francess and Leiyan

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice common room, coffee bar. Room was lovely. Staff extremely helpful and kind.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was very clean and comfortable, the buliding was also really nice

Disliked: it was a bit far from everywhere so you had to get tuk tuks or taxis but they are not too expensive so its not too bad

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

ARTURO ROMERO SANCHEZ

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 August 2010 ARTURO would recommend this property

Liked: VERY CLEAN AND QUIET.

Disliked: ARTURO left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was such a nice place. I loved to stay there. The kao San is just a little walk or by tuk-tuk 5 minutes away. Cost about 30Baht.The stuff was really wonderful and helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Leah Crockett

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 June 2010 Leah would recommend this property

Liked: This is a nice clean hostel in bangkok, its a bit of a hike from the touristy parts of town but really quiet which I found great. Not a party hostel at all but the staff are very helpful and its a great place to stay if sleep is what you are after and a clean place. I would stay here again definately.

Disliked: Leah left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very clean and friendly

Disliked: Stairs were quite steep!!

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

PHUONG BUI

19 June 2010 PHUONG would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were incredibly helpful. Some of the reception staff had trouble with the language barrier, but still tried to help as much as they could which was great. The fact that the place is heritage listed and is 100 y/o required guests to take off their shoes at the front, and it really does pay off in cleanliness and maintaining the integrity of the building. The teak floors and bathrooms were always clean, shampoo and shower gel was provided, which is rare in most hostels. We stayed in a 4 dorm room (2 bunk beds) with a/c, a large suitcase sized storage cupboard that had a lock, and linen/towels were provided. It was a very comfortable, affordable, great value stay.It did have wi-fi, but would have preferred if they had a few pc's they could offer to guests for free, and those that really couldn't wait to use the internet could then have the option to go next door where there is an internet cafe (charges 20baht/AU0.80c).When possible, avoid tuk tuks, being my 2nd visit to BKK I found tuk tuk drivers are more aggressive in ripping off foreigners. They either set a price and will not even consider haggling, or they merely won't take you. We also found this incredibly difficult to deal with especially at night time when most taxis AND tuk tuks set a fixed price for your destination and at times found ourselves stranded because there'd be a price setting stand off because the driver and we couldn't agree on a price. Furthermore, it is impertinent to carry a map of the street the hostel is on. We found most taxis and tuks tuks did know where the street is, especially when trying to get back there. We were later told by staff that most tuk tuk drivers are from the provinces, so most are not familiar with what would be considered smaller roads.Overall the stay was lovely and I would recommend it to friends.

Disliked: PHUONG left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicolas Sanchez

08 April 2010 Nicolas would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice hostel. Very friendly staff, good common area with tv, dvd. Easy place to meet people. Good location. Rooms and bathrooms in excellent condition. Great value for money.

Disliked: Nicolas left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

02 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent staff - they could not have been any nicer or more helpful

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...