HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Niras Bankoc Cultural Hostel Bangkok Hostel

204-206 Samranrach intersection, opposite to Thipsamai padthai shop , Phra-Nakorn, Bangkok, Thailand

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 91%

Facilities 86%

Location 82%

Safety 95%

Staff 93%

Value 88%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Card Phones
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Steam room
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Washing machine

Important Information

For guests arriving after our front desk hours of operation (BETWEEN 7:00 AM-22:00PM), please notify us by e-mail or by phone call prior to your arrival.
However, we have 24hrs security guard service and no curfew/ lockout.
- Delay more than 3 hours, please kindly inform otherwise your bed will be re-opened

Cancellation policy
1. Deposit 10% for HostelBooker is non-refundable
2. You may cancel your booking in written mail at least 5 days before arrival, without any charges.
Less than 5 days - you will be charged for one night's stay

For high season (July, Nov - Jan)
- Less than 7 days notice - Full amount charge of every night during high season July, November - January.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bangkok?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 91%

Facilities 86%

Location 82%

Safety 95%

Staff 93%

Value 88%

Showing 51-8 of 8 reviews

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 20%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Relaxation / spa, Romantic getaway

Liked: The man working at night was amazingly friendly and helpful. Comfortbale beds is also a plus! The rooms are very quaint and nicely decorated.

Disliked: It is very loud here. You can hear all footsteps, doors closing and opening, cars in the streets, everything! It made it vey difficult to sleep. It was far too expensive for what was actually provided.


The property's response is

We were a bit disappointed that we upgraded your room from standard to ensuite double for free with full facilites and better sound proof,you still experienced with noise from wooden furnishing,probably, our nature of vintage hostel might not suit you.
We're sorry that you're also not content with lost sandals after we helped you to find and provided free ones.
Lastly,we ensured that our price is line with quality hostels.More useful comments,please kindly contact us.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The hostel is clean, quiet and safe. The atmosphere is homely. Most importantly however the staff is EXTREMELY helpful and friendly. We asked them so many questions, but they were never annoyed, but always tried to give us the most exhaustive answer. They really made a difference to our stay there. I would recommend this hostel to anyone visiting Bangkok. Almost everything is within walking distance (Grand Palace, Khao San road etc.) and the area feels safe even at night.

Disliked: absolutely nothing

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your recent stay and seeing every value of our little hostel.All staffs were happy to take care of female travellers like both of you and it's great to know that all advices help you enjoy our city. Your review with perfect score means a lot to us.

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Really easy to meet other travellers-great as it was my first time travelling on my own.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your review and comment regarding sociable atmosphere.
Hope to welcome you again!

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Everything about Niras hostel is amazing. It's in a great location, the free breakfast is super tasty, the people are nice, there's free water, they let us use their computer for free, and the rooms are GORGEOUS. I would stay there again in a second if I ever go back to Bangkok. One of the best hostels I've ever stayed in

Disliked: There was literally nothing I disliked about this place. It was awesome all across the board.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

There's nothing we would like to say more than big Thank to you to share wonderful review with other travellers.
It's great memory of us to welcome both of you. Hope to see you again next time!

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: This place was seriously good. Every member of the staff was incredibly helpful and gave useful information that I didn't even think to ask for. They were great! This place also had great cake, coffee, tea and atmostphere. The bed and rooms were big and comfortable too. The location was fantastic and you could easily get to wherever you wanted, but could have a good night's sleep as well.

Disliked: Not much.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you very much for the perfect score .Our team all was very happy to help you enjoy our city.You were such a cheeful and energetic person .The details of your reviews are meaningful to us. Have safe home to Japan .

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Friendly stay, WONDERFUL SHOWERS, clean and cozy!

Disliked: Metro was 20 minutes away by foot and it was REALLY hot, so I ended up taking cabs everywhere.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you very much for your review.It's very kind of you to give us the wonderful description.We were so happy to give you tips to travel around Bangkok and glad you enjoy our city like a local .You were such a explorer to try something different .Hope to welcome you again next time .

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The property was clean and safe! The staff aimed at being helpful and friendly. The location was great for forrays into the older side of Bangkok.

Disliked: Beds were a little on the very firm side.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your review .However, it seems the rating system might confuse you for scoring .Although the review content is positive ; the lower score of safety, facilities and location shown on your rating that they might not meet your expectation, you may contact us for giving more details .For the comment of bed size, it is the standard double bed queen size and we're sorry that we have no king size bed in our hostel. We are always pleased to improve our service and quality of our hostel.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location, friendliness of staff, coffee house

Disliked: The water in the shared bathroom was not all that hot for showers and the bath mat was often dirty.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed our location ,the facilities and services of our hostel.Thank you for your review, normally all hot water works properly .However, it requires a few minutes to warm it up and we will improve the bath mat 's cleanliness .Your comment is very useful.Hope to welcome your family again!

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very friendly and helpful personnel

Disliked: the street is a little bit noisy sometimes, earplugs are nice to have :)

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

We are happy to know that you enjoyed our service and sorry for the noise from the street in daytime.
Thank you very much for the review.Hope to welcome you next time .

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: nice hostel, great staff, very clean, good atmosphere, good location

Disliked: that i've been just one night as i have to go back to my country

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you very much for the quick review and good rating after you just checked out.We were pleased to hear that the experienced traveller like you had great stay with us.Hope to welcome you next time in Bangkok.

Check Availability