HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Niras Bankoc Cultural Hostel

Hostel | 204-206 Maha Chai Road, Samranrach Phra-Nakorn, Bangkok, Thailand 10200

88.6% Overall Rating

197 out of 202 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/11/2013)

Jan Vilinsky thinks…

"good location,walking distance to khao san road,grand palace..... staff is realy helpful,huge lockers"

Read all Niras Bankoc Cultural Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

For guests arriving after our front desk hours of operation (BETWEEN 7:00 AM-22:00PM), please notify us by e-mail or by phone call prior to your arrival. However, we have 24hrs security guard service and no curfew/ lockout. - Delay more than 3 hours, please kindly inform otherwise your bed will be re-opened Cancellation policy 1. Deposit 10% for HostelBooker is non-refundable 2. You may cancel your booking in written mail at least 5 days before arrival, without any charges. Less than 5 days - you will be charged for one night's stay For high season (July, Nov - Jan) - Less than 7 days notice - Full amount charge of every night during high season July, November - January.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bangkok?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bangkok

Merisess Sukhumvit 16
43.14 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Baan Dinso Hostel @ Ratchadamnoen Bangkok
29.27 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Amazing House
4.62 USD

Guesthouse 75.4% 18 reviews
Baan Boran
23.11 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Samsen Skyline Hostel
7.70 USD

Hostel 83.3% 53 reviews
Buddy Lodge Boutique Hotel
53.93 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 90.0% 12 reviews
Nomads De Moc, Bangkok
21.57 USD

Hostel 75.2% 3 reviews
Hotel De'Moc
20.03 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.6%

Overall Rating

197 out of 202 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Niras Bankoc Cultural Hostel'

Atmosphere
86.4%
Location
83.2%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
92.0%
Value
87.2%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 194 of 200 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

pedro montoya

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

15 July 2011 pedro would recommend this property

Liked: all, this is the best hostel i ever been..... really, you don´t be disapointed

Disliked: nothing

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean bathrooms and showers, extremely friendly and helpful staff. We only stayed there for a night, but nevertheless enjoyed our time there very much. Using the internet on their laptop is free, WiFi as well if you have your own.

Disliked: Breakfast not included in the price of every room, distinguishing the rooms beforehand not as easy as desired.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

30 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the way they had respected the old building and kept the Thai charm around the place, while making it modern and clean. Was very welcoming to westerner's a breath of fresh air after some of the places I had stayed while traveling S.E.A.

Disliked: The only problem i had with Nira's was that i was freezing cold all night. I didn't have enough blankets/ hadn't brought my big bag into Bangkok from the airport as i was flying out soon after and didn't have any extra layers to wear. It would have been nice to be able to control the A/C in the room!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Wolfram Demmer

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 June 2011 Wolfram would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpfull staff ( notably the pieces op paper with all things of interest written in Thai and English to show the taxi drivers); nice wooden interior, kinda colonial style; clean

Disliked: our room really small and only had a fake window. But it was also really cheap, so OK value for the price. And AC!

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel! Incredible staff and oh so clean!

Disliked: The price is high, especially when you compare it other options in the same area.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Simeon Allison

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2011 Simeon would recommend this property

Liked: There is everything to like about Niras! The staff was incredible by making sure everybody was taken care of. The hostel is absolutely immaculate! They must have someone behind the scenes cleaning all the time. The cafe' downstairs was perfect for meeting others, planning the day, reading, or enjoying the drink selection. Incredible food across the street, ATM a few doors down, 7-11 right around the corner, easy walk to any place one might want to see. Great DVD selection and room to chill while escaping the noise and heat of the city. My 4 person dorm had huge lockers and it seemed extra-wide beds. I love this place!

Disliked: I wish they had a place like this on Koh Tao!

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Kimberley McGuinness

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2011 Kimberley would recommend this property

Liked: fantastic service, friendly & knowledgable staff.

Disliked: Needs a better-designed common area, and perhaps better promotion of guesthouse- led tours.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful and friendly staff. Tips posted to help travellers avoid the many Bangkok tourist scams. Room was nice. Breakfast/coffee was very good. Great location - walking distance to the big sights but without being right in the hustle/bustle.

Disliked: Was a little noisy with someone nearby watching tv at all hours of the night. Nothing ear plugs couldn't solve though.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great lobby area with a coffee shop and beer. Great location, a 10-15 minute walk from Kho San Road, so you can escape the commotion a bit, but close enough to get there and back easily (walk or a cheap tuk tuk ride). Also, great street food right outside.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fabulous decor, beautiful clean rooms and the best bathrooms I have seen, lovely coffee shop, friendly and helpful staff, great DVD selection, good location. I really loved my stay

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Frank Bolhuis

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 May 2011 Frank would recommend this property

Liked: clean, helpfull staff and quite surroundings

Disliked: nothing

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Jonathan Anderson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 May 2011 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff and very clean facilities

Disliked: Didn't meet any travelers while I was there. But that's expected as it's nicely situated away from the crazy-ass backpackers

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sylwia Ducal

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

16 May 2011 Sylwia would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice and helpful staff, fanthastic thai atmospere, casy room, lovely coffe bar, perfect location.

Disliked: nothing

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

noa ouziel

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

11 May 2011 noa would recommend this property

Liked: I've travelled quite a but, and slept in many hostels -Niras Bankoc have the nicest, most helpful staff I have ever met. The hostel itself is suprisingly classically decorated and the backpackers staying there very friendly. On the upside there's a great bunch of food stands across the street from 3pm to late at night.. All in all - I recommend.

Disliked: The only downside is that it's a 15 minute walk to Kao San, which can be unpleasent by yourself at night and there's no convenient public transportation to the center of town.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Niras is a lovely hostel - clean, peaceful and with a really good atmosphere. It's location suited me fine - a 10 min walk to the Khao San suited me down to the ground. The street market over the road has really good food at excellent value. The staff are friendly and engaging and always provide good advice on how to get out and about. Will be staying here again if I pass through on my way back south.

Disliked: There is nothing to dislike.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Marlene Kemp-Parazelli

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 April 2011 Marlene would recommend this property

Liked: Employees are aware of giving you the best service possible and really want to help you during your travel!

Disliked: You need to tale a taxi for going anywhere! Not the best location.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

rani cheema

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 April 2011 rani would recommend this property

Liked: Perfection! Didn't feel like a hostel, I met more people here then I did in my last place. I loved this Hostel.

Disliked: Nothing, they thought of everything!

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

ANDREA VENTURI

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 April 2011 ANDREA would recommend this property

Liked: clean, nice bar to have breakfast

Disliked: 20 minutes walk from khao san road, steep stairs

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa

31 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very big lockers in each room. Each person gets issued a key for their locker. Super clean.

Disliked: Nothing.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

john prater

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 March 2011 john would recommend this property

Liked: everything

Disliked: No free coffee

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Joe DiSabatino

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 March 2011 Joe would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay, staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Location is good-close to everything, yet away from Kao San Road madness.

Disliked: Only complaint-I went to look for something i dropped under bottom bunk and noticed the floor under bed was covered with a layer of dust about an inch thick-which means I'm breathing that dust at night-very unhealthy. I told them about it.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Coles

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 March 2011 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: very nice little hostel close to center of action( Kao San road-10min walk) and supermarkets and some temples,very clean and staylish,staff are the most pleasant ones we met on our 3 month journey

Disliked: common areas are so small and not adjusted to meet other travelers,if you are looking for fun,this is not place for you but if you wanna rest and chill out,this is the place

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, safe, not righ in the middle of tourist areas. 7/11, internetcafe, food just meters away many cultural/touristic sites still in walking distance

Disliked: Beer, coffee and other drinks rather expensive

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jean Gray

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 March 2011 Jean would recommend this property

Liked: The staff really make this hostel great! They cheerfully answered all my questions. Their advice really helped me have a great vacation. This hostel is a friendly, clean, and serene haven from the bustle and stimulation of Bangkok. It's very well located both for seeing the sights and getting to the airport at the end of your stay. They also serve great coffee!!

Disliked: There was nothing to dislike about this hostel.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: All good; particularly the attentive and knowledegable staff.

Disliked: Nothing. It's not perfect, but it's very close.

The property's response is...