HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Niras Bankoc Cultural Hostel Bangkok Hostel

204-206 Samranrach intersection, opposite to Thipsamai padthai shop , Phra-Nakorn, Bangkok, Thailand

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 91%

Facilities 86%

Location 82%

Safety 95%

Staff 93%

Value 88%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Card Phones
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Steam room
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Washing machine

Important Information

For guests arriving after our front desk hours of operation (BETWEEN 7:00 AM-22:00PM), please notify us by e-mail or by phone call prior to your arrival.
However, we have 24hrs security guard service and no curfew/ lockout.
- Delay more than 3 hours, please kindly inform otherwise your bed will be re-opened

Cancellation policy
1. Deposit 10% for HostelBooker is non-refundable
2. You may cancel your booking in written mail at least 5 days before arrival, without any charges.
Less than 5 days - you will be charged for one night's stay

For high season (July, Nov - Jan)
- Less than 7 days notice - Full amount charge of every night during high season July, November - January.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bangkok?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 91%

Facilities 86%

Location 82%

Safety 95%

Staff 93%

Value 88%

Showing 31-9 of 9 reviews

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 May 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: nice chilled out hostel away from main backpacker street - Khao San road. Only 15min walk to Khao San and a little longer to river. Nice to stay in a quieter street. Dorm was clean, air con and reading lights. Clean bathrooms. Chill out room with TV. Free wifi. Nice coffee and breakfast in shop downstairs.

Disliked: Hard to get taxi to hostel. Printed address off (english street name) and taxi drivers did not understand. Had to go to tourist info and get them to write the Thai name for the street. Better instructions for getting to hostel needed.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for recent stay and review.Regarding your comments about direction, we are sorry that you had bad experience about Bangkok taxi drivers, most of them have problem to read even Thai map, The printed direction we provided is also Thai and English including names of street and we also have our tel no. for them to call, we are really pleased to answer 24 hrs.
Thank you again for the comment. Hope to welcome you again next time.

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: This hostel has freindly and helpful staff.There is a good coffee shop on the ground floor.The hostel has good facilities and is comfortable.

Disliked: The rooms are very small.The hostel is ver, very hot inside during the summer months! Though to be fair the rooms are ok as there is A/C

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you very much for writing us the good review after 3 months.It's very nice and kind to think about our property.
Hope to welcome both of you next time .

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I really my stay here. The staff are friendly and has a nice atmosphere. The beds are comfortable and there is a big storage locker for your bag. Two common rooms to chill out and excellent noodles across the road. It is a small walk to the main backpacker area but is close to tourist attractions. I would stay here again.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you very much for the kind comments and we were pleased to hear you had wonderful stay with us !Looking forward to welcome you for the second stay in next week .

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great staff, awesome place to meet people, very fun. I will stay here when I come back.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you so much for long stay and the quick review .It means a lot tous.We all are very happy to take care of you and looking forward to welcoming you next time.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It had very good atmosphere and peaceful mood.

Disliked: not nearby public transportation(mrt, bts)

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you very much for the last stay ,your comment regarding our atmosphere and perfect score !

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The interior and the cute little cafe at the front. The cappuccino is so yummy!

Disliked: Rather expensive.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your comments regarding our interior and coffee.Regarding the price, we would like to ensure you that our price is in line with other standard budget accomodation.Hope to welcome you again next time.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great location, great coffee and loved that it offered free movie rentals.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you very much for your recent stay.We are glad that you liked our entertainment facilities .Your rating means a lot to our property.Hope to welcome you again next time.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I stayed one night,the hostel was very nice and clean.Good hospitality manner. The cosy atmosphere and friendly staffs were great! Will go back for sure

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your nice review and perfect score.We 're glad to know you enjoyed your stay with us !

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nice, quiet hostel in good location for different places in the old town and surrounds. Beds comfy, air con in rooms good. Coffee shop in front of hostel nice also.

Disliked: Nil

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for the review.We are pleased to know that you enjoyed several of the signature facilities a, attractions in our area and hope to welcome you again.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location is great; close to a lot of Temples and the "old" part of Bangkok. The facilities are great and very clean. It's hard to believe the building is over a hundred years old; the traditional "Thai" feel makes it very welcoming. Huge lockers available and luggage can be stored in the common room. Food & drinks at the café downstairs are great & the staff is extremely friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Taxi drivers don't always seem to know/understand where it is but the hostel provides instructions in Thai (and a phone number for drivers to call if they can't find the place)

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you very much for the wonderful description of our propety and understanding values of heritage building.
We are sorry about taxi driver problem as commonin in Bangkok that they don't know how to read the map and thank you for your advice for other guests to ask dirvers to call us anytime for directions.

Check Availability