HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Niras Bankoc Cultural Hostel Bangkok Hostel

204-206 Samranrach intersection, opposite to Thipsamai padthai shop , Phra-Nakorn, Bangkok, Thailand

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 92%

Facilities 85%

Location 82%

Safety 95%

Staff 94%

Value 88%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Card Phones
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Steam room
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Washing machine

Important Information

For guests arriving after our front desk hours of operation (BETWEEN 7:00 AM-22:00PM), please notify us by e-mail or by phone call prior to your arrival.
However, we have 24hrs security guard service and no curfew/ lockout.
- Delay more than 3 hours, please kindly inform otherwise your bed will be re-opened

Cancellation policy
1. Deposit 10% for HostelBooker is non-refundable
2. You may cancel your booking in written mail at least 5 days before arrival, without any charges.
Less than 5 days - you will be charged for one night's stay

For high season (July, Nov - Jan)
- Less than 7 days notice - Full amount charge of every night during high season July, November - January.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bangkok?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 92%

Facilities 85%

Location 82%

Safety 95%

Staff 94%

Value 88%

Showing 21-8 of 8 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nice place, good location and nice staff

Disliked: Non

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: the old fashion decoration of this hostel made a different experience than regular hostel. staffs are nice and helpful.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your comments. It's great to know you liked our vintage style and unique decoration.
We were happy to help you enjoy Bangkok and hope to welcome you both next time.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: nice facilities and very clean room. I love their hospitality.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you very much for your visit.It's also very nice to welcome you in Bangkok.
Wish you have good trip back to Japan.

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The other nice guys and friends I met there who also have been taken in by this "cultural" hostel with bedbugs. It was nice to meet them.

Disliked: I had the feeling they are not cleaning the toiletts and water taps. The visitor has to take care of that himself before using it. The Soap at the washbowl seems to be just water foam. How should my hands get clean with that? Doors and those of closets are squeeking as hell so that everybody gets awake in the dorm rooms. And the biggest issue with the hostel was that I had bedbugs in my room. I killed ten of them which bite me all over my body at the first night when I hadnt recognised them. They let change me the room but I found there two of them too. Mosquitos are there anyway in every room. They should really do some insect controll there.


The property's response is

We really understand sarcastic review with exagerated content from your anger. We were truly sorry and accepted that you got bitten by unknown insects.However,we took it seriously without question for your comfort to offer you the new room immediately by that night.We called pest control to check too.We were sorry that by this effort, it failed to satisfy you.
To be fair,the most disappointing is you just made up more negative and untrue content to ruin our property in "dislike" section.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Helpful with info and tips for taxi and connection

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you very much for your review. We are really grateful for your appreciation of our service .
Hope to welcome and help you again in Bangkok.

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The best Pad Thai place across the road! plenty of good showers relaxed homely place

Disliked: VERY difficult to find, taxi drivers had no idea, i would suggest printing out a map with directions before going. wasnt much of a party hostel if you are in to that. a little far from the modern department stores and train but good for the older tourist attractions

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your comments after left us for one month.I understand that your scoring might be not based on the overall experience .We are sorry that our character might not fit to your preference as night clubber and modern shoppers.As published on the boooking site, we are clearly positioned as cultural hostel and perfect match for real travellers enjoy local scene and historical places.

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: its in a good, the street its on is a great little street, good place to meet people

Disliked: the halls aren't air conditioned, the rooms are, bit small

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for the comment and it's a pity that you only spent one night with us and a few hours in our hostel.Arrived late and leave quite early in the next morning.
Hope to welcome you next time and hope you will have a chance to enjoy our property more.

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Un ambiente muy tranquilo en él centro de bkk

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your comments and hope you liked our upgraded Ensuite room .

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: clean and safe city hostel. walking distance to all tourist hotspots (15min.).bedlight+plug+locker. dvd rental.

Disliked: all good, just want to let you know there is no direct access to city/skyrail as hostel is in old city. best is to arrive by taxi

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you very much for the perfect score and both visits.It's very kind of you .
Hope to welcome you again next time!

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 May 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Staff are really nice! They have a lot of address cards written in both Thai and English, which are extremely useful because most of the Taxi drivers can't really understand English. The whole place is clean and relatively quiet. :P

Disliked: Well, location. It's at least 20 minutes' walk to tourist attractions (aka temples), almost impossible to walk to nearest train station at this heat.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your comments. Regarding location, sorry that you misunderstood , we would like to clarify agian that truthfully our location of the old city is ideal for temple. At least three key temples ( The metal castle, The golden mount and Wat Ratchanadda ) are our neighbourhood and just one block away only 2 min walk while main temple is not far and located in the same area.For train station , sorry that we are not located next to the station but only 5 MIN by taxi.

Check Availability