HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Niras Bankoc Cultural Hostel Bangkok Hostel

204-206 Samranrach intersection, opposite to Thipsamai padthai shop , Phra-Nakorn, Bangkok, Thailand

Atmosphere 88%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 85%

Location 85%

Safety 97%

Staff 97%

Value 92%

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Card Phones
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Dryer
  • Express check-in / out
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Fridge Freezer"
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Internet café
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Microwave
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Washing machine
  • WiFi

Important Information

No visitors and joiners allowed in the residential area. According to security , the violation is considered as serious penalties -double charge of room rate.

24hrs service : front desk and security guard to welcome you ,

Check-in begins at 2pm / Check-out time is at 12 pm, If your arrival will be delayed by more than three hours, please kindly inform us otherwise your bed will be re-opened.

no curfew/ lockout.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bangkok?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 88%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 85%

Location 85%

Safety 97%

Staff 97%

Value 92%

Showing 21-30 of 116 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The staff and rooms were well worth the money and the stay. The coffee shop downstairs is a great place to meet people and unwind from a long day out sightseeing. I will definitely stay again the next time I'm in Bangkok.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you very much for your comments. It's very great to see you having great time in Bangkok and it would be wonderful to welcome you again next time.

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife

Liked: cool but there are other better places

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your comment. However, we understand that your low score is based on your preference and you selected us nnot according to our characters but availability.
Our positioning is clearly stated that we are realxing and friendly hostel not the party one.However,
We are sorry that your interest might be not fit to hostel . We are sorry that we have to warn your group in some nights regarding your drunken behaviour and disturbing other guests.
Thank you again for your understanding.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Absolutely loved it here, a great welcome to be Bangkok! The staff are so friendly and helpful, the coffee shop is lovely and the rooms are great. I came here on a recommendation from a friend and would definitely recommend it to anyone else!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you very much for your review and recommendation .This is very encouraging to our team to maintain good service .
Hope to welcome you next time ! Wish you safe and great fun trip !

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nice place, good location and nice staff

Disliked: Non

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: the old fashion decoration of this hostel made a different experience than regular hostel. staffs are nice and helpful.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your comments. It's great to know you liked our vintage style and unique decoration.
We were happy to help you enjoy Bangkok and hope to welcome you both next time.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: nice facilities and very clean room. I love their hospitality.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you very much for your visit.It's also very nice to welcome you in Bangkok.
Wish you have good trip back to Japan.

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The other nice guys and friends I met there who also have been taken in by this "cultural" hostel with bedbugs. It was nice to meet them.

Disliked: I had the feeling they are not cleaning the toiletts and water taps. The visitor has to take care of that himself before using it. The Soap at the washbowl seems to be just water foam. How should my hands get clean with that? Doors and those of closets are squeeking as hell so that everybody gets awake in the dorm rooms. And the biggest issue with the hostel was that I had bedbugs in my room. I killed ten of them which bite me all over my body at the first night when I hadnt recognised them. They let change me the room but I found there two of them too. Mosquitos are there anyway in every room. They should really do some insect controll there.


The property's response is

We really understand sarcastic review with exagerated content from your anger. We were truly sorry and accepted that you got bitten by unknown insects.However,we took it seriously without question for your comfort to offer you the new room immediately by that night.We called pest control to check too.We were sorry that by this effort, it failed to satisfy you.
To be fair,the most disappointing is you just made up more negative and untrue content to ruin our property in "dislike" section.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Helpful with info and tips for taxi and connection

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you very much for your review. We are really grateful for your appreciation of our service .
Hope to welcome and help you again in Bangkok.

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The best Pad Thai place across the road! plenty of good showers relaxed homely place

Disliked: VERY difficult to find, taxi drivers had no idea, i would suggest printing out a map with directions before going. wasnt much of a party hostel if you are in to that. a little far from the modern department stores and train but good for the older tourist attractions

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your comments after left us for one month.I understand that your scoring might be not based on the overall experience .We are sorry that our character might not fit to your preference as night clubber and modern shoppers.As published on the boooking site, we are clearly positioned as cultural hostel and perfect match for real travellers enjoy local scene and historical places.

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: its in a good, the street its on is a great little street, good place to meet people

Disliked: the halls aren't air conditioned, the rooms are, bit small

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for the comment and it's a pity that you only spent one night with us and a few hours in our hostel.Arrived late and leave quite early in the next morning.
Hope to welcome you next time and hope you will have a chance to enjoy our property more.

Check Availability