HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Niras Bankoc Cultural Hostel

Hostel | 204-206 Maha Chai Road, Samranrach Phra-Nakorn, Bangkok, Thailand 10200

88.5% Overall Rating

196 out of 201 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/11/2013)

Jan Vilinsky thinks…

"good location,walking distance to khao san road,grand palace..... staff is realy helpful,huge lockers"

Read all Niras Bankoc Cultural Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

For guests arriving after our front desk hours of operation (BETWEEN 7:00 AM-22:00PM), please notify us by e-mail or by phone call prior to your arrival. However, we have 24hrs security guard service and no curfew/ lockout. - Delay more than 3 hours, please kindly inform otherwise your bed will be re-opened Cancellation policy 1. Deposit 10% for HostelBooker is non-refundable 2. You may cancel your booking in written mail at least 5 days before arrival, without any charges. Less than 5 days - you will be charged for one night's stay For high season (July, Nov - Jan) - Less than 7 days notice - Full amount charge of every night during high season July, November - January.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bangkok?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bangkok

Merisess Sukhumvit 16
43.93 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Baan Dinso Hostel @ Ratchadamnoen Bangkok
29.81 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Amazing House
4.39 USD

Guesthouse 75.7% 12 reviews
Baan Boran
23.53 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Samsen Skyline Hostel
7.84 USD

Hostel 88.3% 40 reviews
Buddy Lodge Boutique Hotel
47.06 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 90.0% 12 reviews
Nomads De Moc, Bangkok
21.96 USD

Hostel 75.2% 3 reviews
Hotel De'Moc
28.24 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.5%

Overall Rating

196 out of 201 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Niras Bankoc Cultural Hostel'

Atmosphere
86.4%
Location
82.4%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
92.0%
Value
87.2%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 193 of 199 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway

18 January 2012

Liked: The man working at night was amazingly friendly and helpful. Comfortbale beds is also a plus! The rooms are very quaint and nicely decorated.

Disliked: It is very loud here. You can hear all footsteps, doors closing and opening, cars in the streets, everything! It made it vey difficult to sleep. It was far too expensive for what was actually provided.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything about Niras hostel is amazing. It's in a great location, the free breakfast is super tasty, the people are nice, there's free water, they let us use their computer for free, and the rooms are GORGEOUS. I would stay there again in a second if I ever go back to Bangkok. One of the best hostels I've ever stayed in

Disliked: There was literally nothing I disliked about this place. It was awesome all across the board.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly stay, WONDERFUL SHOWERS, clean and cozy!

Disliked: Metro was 20 minutes away by foot and it was REALLY hot, so I ended up taking cabs everywhere.

The property's response is...

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Joanne Smith

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 January 2012

Liked: not a lot

Disliked: we booked a double room way expensive for what we got. was new to tahailand so never realised the prices now that I have travelled am shocked at the price that they charged for one night for a double room. staff poor at giving correct information. quite a walk to main backpack area. poor atmosphere

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The property was clean and safe! The staff aimed at being helpful and friendly. The location was great for forrays into the older side of Bangkok.

Disliked: Beds were a little on the very firm side.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, friendliness of staff, coffee house

Disliked: The water in the shared bathroom was not all that hot for showers and the bath mat was often dirty.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Colby Kennedy

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 January 2012 Colby would recommend this property

Liked: This place was seriously good. Every member of the staff was incredibly helpful and gave useful information that I didn't even think to ask for. They were great! This place also had great cake, coffee, tea and atmostphere. The bed and rooms were big and comfortable too. The location was fantastic and you could easily get to wherever you wanted, but could have a good night's sleep as well.

Disliked: Not much.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Luis Goncalves

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 December 2011 Luis would recommend this property

Liked: Tidy, clean and quiet. Comfortable rooms, nice bathrooms/showers, nice common areas and extremely friendly and helpful staff. It's only a 10 min walk from "the action" (Kahosan Rd & Co). Not one of the cheapest, but you get what you paid for. Would come back for sure.

Disliked: Luis left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tomas Geukens

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 December 2011 Tomas would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful personnel

Disliked: the street is a little bit noisy sometimes, earplugs are nice to have :)

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robert McGraw

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

23 December 2011 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: It was so wonderful there. The staff was so awesome, nice and helpful--they even translated into Thai the places we needed to go so we could just hand the taxi driver the address. It was very clean and unique. Good beds and secure lockers in the dorms. Away from Ko San Rd. but only about a 10 minute walk from there. The building was old and beautiful with teak wood everywhere. Great food right across the street. Excellent DVD selection--free too. We ended up staying here for 11 days total. We will definitely go back next time we are in BKK.

Disliked: Nothing at all.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hugo Raimundo

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 December 2011 Hugo would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels i stayed in. It was everything very clean and tidy. There were plenty of bathrooms for everyone, well equiped with shower gel and shampoo. The common rooms were very cosy and nice, the lobby is also a local café where you can try the local coffee. Everyone was very helpfull and managed to give us all the information we needed. The location is also very nice. It is very near to the old quarter, 10min walk from Kahosan Rd. and near the Giant Swing, Golden Mount and some Wats. I even got back for one last night at the end of my trip!

Disliked: Hugo left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is one of the best hostels I have ever stayed in. The lobby looks more like a nice cosy café than a hostel lobby due to the coffee bar and the cakes. The dorm is very clean and modern. The lockers are huge. The bathroom facilities are more than clean and are decorated in an Asian style. I loved it and would always return.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

miguel adell almazan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 December 2011 miguel would recommend this property

Liked: nice hostel, great staff, very clean, good atmosphere, good location

Disliked: that i've been just one night as i have to go back to my country

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

alexandre correia

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 December 2011 alexandre would recommend this property

Liked: This is a really coozie place, friendly staff and Cool Atmosphere surronding the building. Genuine Bkk style not only for tourists.

Disliked: alexandre left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bazin Xavier

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 December 2011 Bazin would recommend this property

Liked: Really helpful people in this not so easy city for a first time. Nice place and atmosphere ! Big beds ! Clean !

Disliked: Nothing !

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really Clean, great staff, always friendly and willing to help. I stayed in the spacious all girls dorm with comfy beds, Wifi reached the dorm on the 3rd floor which was handy. Gorgeous bathrooms, clean towels for free and toiletries in the bathroom for guests. Nice lounge room downstairs with huge selection of movies, also a great cafe where you can meet other travellers, I was delighted to find they had Twinings English breakfast tea! :) Also it's no more than 20 mins walking to quite a few main attractions in Bangkok and there's a night market with cheap food just over the road.

Disliked: Nothing.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

24 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels I have ever stayed in by far. Beautiful room, cosy & relaxo atmosphere, they have DVDs & books in the chill room, great coffee, it was very clean and the staff are FANTASTIC. Most facilities like washing etc available, and the location was perfect for my boyfriend and I, it was central but not in the midst of the hustle & bustle & noise of the Khao San Road area.

Disliked: Nothing.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, close to Khao San Road and across the street from a busy night food market. Clean and comfortable.

Disliked: It was really quiet. Didn't meet many people. But then I was there in the off season and during the floods. On the plus side it did mean having a 4-bed dorm to myself.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emily Rostamlou

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 October 2011 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: Honesty of staff, gave great advice, good english, very friendly. It's beautifully furnished and looked after, clean, good location a 10min walk from koh san road.

Disliked: Nothing.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, environment and friendly staff

Disliked: Nothing!

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anett Wilfert

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 October 2011 Anett would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere and the cozy common area as well as the café in the front! 24 hours reception is perfect. And if you do just a short trip you can even leave your big backpack with them!

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

51.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

rodrigo barreira

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 October 2011

Liked: The best is the location, becouse the rest was really bad.

Disliked: No internet (computer broken) cockroaches mosquitos not very clean Very, very expensive

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, very cool atmosphere. Good location, about a 10-15 minute walk from Khao San road. Staff was perfectly helpful.

Disliked: Not a whole lot. If you want to be right by Khao San road or some other attractions, this may not be the place for you, but overall it was a pretty cool place.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Charlotte Huffman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 October 2011 Charlotte would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was very clean and well-maintained; it felt more like a home than the typical hostel. I met a lot of other travelers there who I ended up hanging out with during my stay. There are lockers in every room which was helpful. Cute coffee shop in the reception area, very friendly staff and lots of great food vendors in the area. I highly recommend it.

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Bromberg

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 October 2011 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that it was actually AWAY from the craziness of Khaosan road, but still close enough to walk there in 10 minutes; the same for the Golden Palace and other important sites. The staff were REALLY nice and helpful, the entire hostel was spotless, beds and lockers are big and new. They have a good lounge area, and I love it when hostels have free soap and shampoo in the (also very clean) showers! It's the little things that count. Good coffee too!

Disliked: Nothing!! I'd definitely stay here again.

The property's response is...