HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Niras Bankoc Cultural Hostel Bangkok

Hostel

204-206 Samranrach intersection, opposite to Thipsamai padthai shop , Phra-Nakorn, Bangkok, Thailand

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 92%

Facilities 86%

Location 83%

Safety 94%

Staff 92%

Value 87%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Card Phones
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Washing machine

Important Information

For guests arriving after our front desk hours of operation (BETWEEN 7:00 AM-22:00PM), please notify us by e-mail or by phone call prior to your arrival.
However, we have 24hrs security guard service and no curfew/ lockout.
- Delay more than 3 hours, please kindly inform otherwise your bed will be re-opened

Cancellation policy
1. Deposit 10% for HostelBooker is non-refundable
2. You may cancel your booking in written mail at least 5 days before arrival, without any charges.
Less than 5 days - you will be charged for one night's stay

For high season (July, Nov - Jan)
- Less than 7 days notice - Full amount charge of every night during high season July, November - January.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bangkok?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 92%

Facilities 86%

Location 83%

Safety 94%

Staff 92%

Value 87%

Showing 21-11 of 11 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Helpful with info and tips for taxi and connection

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you very much for your review. We are really grateful for your appreciation of our service .
Hope to welcome and help you again in Bangkok.

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The best Pad Thai place across the road! plenty of good showers relaxed homely place

Disliked: VERY difficult to find, taxi drivers had no idea, i would suggest printing out a map with directions before going. wasnt much of a party hostel if you are in to that. a little far from the modern department stores and train but good for the older tourist attractions

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your comments after left us for one month.I understand that your scoring might be not based on the overall experience .We are sorry that our character might not fit to your preference as night clubber and modern shoppers.As published on the boooking site, we are clearly positioned as cultural hostel and perfect match for real travellers enjoy local scene and historical places.

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: its in a good, the street its on is a great little street, good place to meet people

Disliked: the halls aren't air conditioned, the rooms are, bit small

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for the comment and it's a pity that you only spent one night with us and a few hours in our hostel.Arrived late and leave quite early in the next morning.
Hope to welcome you next time and hope you will have a chance to enjoy our property more.

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Un ambiente muy tranquilo en él centro de bkk

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your comments and hope you liked our upgraded Ensuite room .

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: clean and safe city hostel. walking distance to all tourist hotspots (15min.).bedlight+plug+locker. dvd rental.

Disliked: all good, just want to let you know there is no direct access to city/skyrail as hostel is in old city. best is to arrive by taxi

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you very much for the perfect score and both visits.It's very kind of you .
Hope to welcome you again next time!

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 May 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Staff are really nice! They have a lot of address cards written in both Thai and English, which are extremely useful because most of the Taxi drivers can't really understand English. The whole place is clean and relatively quiet. :P

Disliked: Well, location. It's at least 20 minutes' walk to tourist attractions (aka temples), almost impossible to walk to nearest train station at this heat.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your comments. Regarding location, sorry that you misunderstood , we would like to clarify agian that truthfully our location of the old city is ideal for temple. At least three key temples ( The metal castle, The golden mount and Wat Ratchanadda ) are our neighbourhood and just one block away only 2 min walk while main temple is not far and located in the same area.For train station , sorry that we are not located next to the station but only 5 MIN by taxi.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 May 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff were really nice and helpful. Whenever we had a question they did what they could to answer it. The hostel was very nice looking, clean and the standard was high. The atmosphere was very good and it was easy to get to know people as well as relax if that is what you are looking for. I would recommend this hostel to both single travelers as well as couples/groups. The location was great, near to "everything"

Disliked: We found nothing to dislike here :)

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you both for being kind and nice couple. We had wonderful time to take care of you.
Thank you very much for seeing our advantages of location and old city .Hope to welcome you both again next time !

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 May 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It is an 100 years old teak trade house with a lot of atmosphere. Stuff is superb, very helpfull for any needs or questions you might have. You are in the middle of real old Bangkok, the street is full of food hawkers, 7/11, ATMs, everything you need and it is the perfect location for getting to know all the sights as they are in walking distance.

Disliked: It is a bit tricky if you need skytrain as it is not in walking distance

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for you both for coming back to stay with us again and seeing lots of values of our retro style property.
It's wonderful to serve both of you and help you enjoy Bangkok. Regarding skytrain, it costs you around 60 baht to get the station and takes around 15 min to get there. Thank you again for the comments.

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 May 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: nice chilled out hostel away from main backpacker street - Khao San road. Only 15min walk to Khao San and a little longer to river. Nice to stay in a quieter street. Dorm was clean, air con and reading lights. Clean bathrooms. Chill out room with TV. Free wifi. Nice coffee and breakfast in shop downstairs.

Disliked: Hard to get taxi to hostel. Printed address off (english street name) and taxi drivers did not understand. Had to go to tourist info and get them to write the Thai name for the street. Better instructions for getting to hostel needed.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for recent stay and review.Regarding your comments about direction, we are sorry that you had bad experience about Bangkok taxi drivers, most of them have problem to read even Thai map, The printed direction we provided is also Thai and English including names of street and we also have our tel no. for them to call, we are really pleased to answer 24 hrs.
Thank you again for the comment. Hope to welcome you again next time.

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: This hostel has freindly and helpful staff.There is a good coffee shop on the ground floor.The hostel has good facilities and is comfortable.

Disliked: The rooms are very small.The hostel is ver, very hot inside during the summer months! Though to be fair the rooms are ok as there is A/C

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you very much for writing us the good review after 3 months.It's very nice and kind to think about our property.
Hope to welcome both of you next time .

Check Availability