HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostelling International Bangkok

Hostel | 25/15 Phitsunulok Road, Si Sao Thewet, Dusit Bangkok, Thailand 10300

81.4% Overall Rating

43 out of 55 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/07/2013)

"It is so clean! By far the nicest guest house I've stayed in for the last 5 weeks. Also the beds are not cramped into the rooms. You actually have space!"

Read all Hostelling International Bangkok reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Common area / room
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bangkok?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bangkok

Trang Hotel
20.51 USD

Hotel 3 star 69.8% 9 reviews
Roof View Place
13.47 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.9% 438 reviews
Hotel De'Moc
27.56 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Nomads De Moc, Bangkok
21.43 USD

Hostel 75.2% 3 reviews
Steve Boutique Guesthouse
9.95 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Born Free Hostel
7.84 USD

Hostel 96.8% 214 reviews
Sam Sen Sam Place
9.80 USD

Guesthouse 87.1% 56 reviews
Smile Buri House
12.25 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.4%

Overall Rating

43 out of 55 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostelling International Bangkok'

Atmosphere
80.8%
Location
68.0%
Facilities
79.2%
Cleanliness
82.4%
Staff
88.0%
Value
82.4%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 41 of 48 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: calm place in bangkok

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is so clean! By far the nicest guest house I've stayed in for the last 5 weeks. Also the beds are not cramped into the rooms. You actually have space!

Disliked: It is not centrally located, and taxi drivers have an extremely hard time finding it .

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

30 January 2013

Liked: I rented a private room, which was quite large. The staff were always very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: The bed was rock solid. I know beds tend to be a bit hard in Asia, but I would have almost rather slept on the floor it was so hard. The aircon in my room wasn't working, but at least they let me change rooms. The hostel was DEAD despite its nice common area. I rarely ever saw anyone there, despite their claim that they were fully booked. Also, the hostel was quite far from everything: 15 min walk to the pier + 20 for water taxi to Grand Palace/Wat Pho and 30-45 mins by taxi to the skytrain depending on traffic. There wasn't much around either. The breakfast was pretty basic: just 2 eggs and toast. Frankly, the room was pricey for what I got.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

29 January 2013

Liked: There was a nice stray cat in the lobby, and that was this hostel's only redeemable quality.

Disliked: Well, first off there were fleas, cockroaches, and mosquitos everywhere, and when i woke up, I had about 40 bug bites on me. The bathroom was built so small that in order to use the toilet, you had to sit at a 90 degree angle. The man running the front desk wouldn't give me change to use the pay phone, and he wouldn't let my use the phone at the front desk. I've stayed in some dirty, grimy, sleazy hostels, but this one takes the cake. This place is trash and I wouldn't recommend it to anyone.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

João Pedro Maia Moreira Dias

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 December 2012 João Pedro would recommend this property

Liked: Nice lounge and confortable rooms. Shower working fine. We didnt manage to try the breakfast because we overslept and the day after left very early.

Disliked: Mattress rock hard.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Work / volunteering

21 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly (elderly) man at reception, even called up the railway hotline without me asking him, and helped carry my suitcase up to the 3rd floor. 1 or 2 computers with free internet, quite a few books. Nice ceiling fan, I didn't want to use the aircon.

Disliked: The matrass was very hard. Tiny little ants in the bedroom.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and really clean. Quiet street.

Disliked: Everything ok, I would almost say the perfect price performance room but the tiny detail - the matresses are stiff as the board.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jeffrey Irwin

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 December 2011 Jeffrey would recommend this property

Liked: Close to many activities, but far away from the noise. Staff super helpful and very kind.

Disliked: Not a thing.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

13 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice breakfast and clean room

Disliked: location:(

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Goupil Alexis

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

22 July 2011 Goupil would recommend this property

Liked: The really kind staff which was really helpfull and polite. We made good friends there.. the rooms were not big luxury, but a good bed, clean linen, clean towels, a bathroom big enough for a shower and a toilet. Breakfast was good. Drinks always available. Cheap. Near the Parliament and the old quarter, without being in a tourist area. So it was very quiet. The buses were really quick to get everywhere.

Disliked: Wifi wasnt working in the third floor, but it was in process. And just one computer for eveybody at the reception.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sharon winspear

20 April 2010 sharon would recommend this property

Liked: very nice rooms clean and tidy

Disliked: sharon left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

07 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: we've had a good time. internet was expensive

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

01 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very good if compare to the price i paid. The staff was friendly.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

YUNJIE CHEN

23 February 2010 YUNJIE would recommend this property

Liked: the room,the breakfast,the lobby.everyting is OK

Disliked: YUNJIE left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

18 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was near a lot of tourist locations, like the Dusit Palace. It was also easy to navigate around and get to the center of Bangkok through buses. The hostel gave directions & a list of buses to ride to get to the destination we wanted to go to.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Claire GRUEL

06 February 2010 Claire would recommend this property

Liked: very nice place. The staff is excellent. The room is good for the cheap price.The location is good: 15 min to go the Grand Palace....But the breakfast is small for 60 baht .

Disliked: Claire left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

William Ritchie

23 January 2010

Liked: nothing, they did work in room while I was out and moved all my posessions.

Disliked: William left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Francis Yuen

06 January 2010 Francis would recommend this property

Liked: Great service with English speaking staff. Even let me check in early. Too far from the major tourist attraction, besides the zoo (which was a 10-min walk away), so quite a few taxi/tuk-tuk rides needed. One other bad thing was my room had bad plumbing, so the bathroom kinda stunk. Otherwise, excellent value for a room here.

Disliked: Francis left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kajetan Glowacki

03 January 2010 Kajetan would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice, really recomended, for short stay

Disliked: Kajetan left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

30 December 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was nice - adequate facilities and clean

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ulysses montojo

19 December 2009 ulysses would recommend this property

Liked: nice place for low budgeted travel

Disliked: ulysses left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

LO EMILY

12 December 2009 LO would recommend this property

Liked: The neighbourhood is fairly quiet which makes it a nice place to have a good rest. (They are now having some renovation work. So sometimes there are noises in the day time. Anyway, it's okay to me.) For question no. 6, I am not sure whether HostelBookers is promoted there, i would like to click 'i don't know'.

Disliked: LO left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Marcelo Eduardo De Souza Raimondi

09 December 2009 Marcelo Eduardo would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff and lots of information stuff!

Disliked: Marcelo Eduardo left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emma O'Brien

07 December 2009 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice rooms, no cable tv as advertised, wifi also temperamental!! We booked extra nights as the room is one of the best we have stayed in. Bit of a walk from Khao San road.

Disliked: Emma left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

18 November 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were very helpful, they seemed like the only people in Bangkok who weren't trying to rip us off. We ended up staying over a week here. About 15mins walk to Kao Sahn, which ended up being good because we were a bit away from the tourist crowd and the area is very quiet (so you're being hassled to buy anything the second you walk outside). Facilities were as described online. Looking forward to coming back at the end of our Thailand adventure to stay here before flying home.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.