We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Lub d Bangkok - Silom

Hostel | 4 Decho road, Suriyawong, Bangrak, (Silom Area) Bangkok, Thailand 10500

88.9% Overall Rating

334 out of 345 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (05/06/2014)

Petri Olkkola thinks…

"Started my holiday from this hostel and it was a really great choice, ended up staying 2 more nights due to good atmosphere. The Bar at hostel was really good place to meet other travelers. Room was…"

Read all Lub d Bangkok - Silom reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.54

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

We will do Pre-authorization Charge on your card within 7 days after you make the reservation online.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bangkok?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bangkok

The Blast Silom Hostel
10.79 USD

Hostel 74.3% 3 reviews
Sunflower Place - Silom
13.25 USD

Hostel 91.5% 90 reviews
Silom City Hotel
20.80 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
13 Coins Surawongse
16.95 USD

Hotel 3 star 76.2% 3 reviews
Mile Map Hostel
8.47 USD

Hostel 86.4% 165 reviews
O'Nidra House Hotel
10.79 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
We Bangkok
9.24 USD

Hostel 91.8% 130 reviews
Nine@Silom
11.71 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.9%

Overall Rating

334 out of 345 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Lub d Bangkok - Silom'

Atmosphere
90.4%
Location
81.6%
Facilities
88.8%
Cleanliness
96.0%
Staff
90.4%
Value
85.6%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 304 of 328 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and clean. Helpful staff

Disliked: Expensive.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

minwoo kim

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 August 2014 minwoo would recommend this property

Liked: Very Clean and live environment.

Disliked: Music was blaring till midnight while I was there. Staff was very unhelpful and very stingy with everything.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Petri Olkkola

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 June 2014 Petri would recommend this property

Liked: Started my holiday from this hostel and it was a really great choice, ended up staying 2 more nights due to good atmosphere. The Bar at hostel was really good place to meet other travelers. Room was nice and chilly after staying out at the heat of Bangkok.

Disliked: Petri left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything is new and clean. nice beds, good shower and cheap price! and all the staff are very helpful :-) but i think this hostel is more suitable for those who travel with friends...

Disliked: the common area is big but not very good for making new friends... but maybe it's just because of the people, nothing to do with the hostel (?)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I thoroughly enjoyed this hostel. the atmosphere, the cleanliness, the staff were all so lovely! if I get the chance to come back to bangkok, I will choose to stay at lub D without a second thought.

Disliked: NOTHING

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was really clean and comfy and the atmosphere was friendly

Disliked: The wifi wasnt working in the building when i stayed there

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really clean, felt really safe, comfy beds, nice staff

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping

22 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location with many activities that I can participate in.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jennifer Richardson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 May 2014 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel! Welcoming and clean! A great intro to Bangkok and for the first part of my south east asia adventure. Easy to get to from the BTS train and it is within walking distance to popular Silom RD and to the Myanmar embassy. For anyone staying in Bangkok to get their Burmese visa this is a great hostel to stay at!

Disliked: Jennifer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ian Doherty

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2014 Ian would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff and good value for money.

Disliked: Padlocks are not provided for the lockers and the rooms are very dimly lit.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

WEIHUA WANG

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 May 2014 WEIHUA would recommend this property

Liked: good location, clear, and nice bathroom.

Disliked: no, everything is good.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kelly McGrath

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2014 Kelly would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff at check in desk and tour desk, gave me good advice about what to see and how to get around.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kelly McGrath

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2014 Kelly would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel - clean, welcoming and fun. Had a good vibe through the whole place. Ladies in the ladies dorm, just be aware you have to carry your bag up a few stairs - but you get a hair dryer and straightener in the bathroom!

Disliked: Nothing really. I heard there is the same hostel in Siam Square though, so if I went back, I would probably stay there instead just for the slightly better location. But otherwise, nothing to complain about!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicola Stephen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2014 Nicola would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and a nice atmosphere in the communal areas. Would stay here again if ever in Bangkok. Good value for money, especially liked trying out Thai food for free in the bar one night.

Disliked: Only being allowed to connect one device to the wifi in our room at one time. We stayed in a twin private room but couldn't connect on both of our phones at the same time.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, secure and welcoming, only downside is the location isn't brilliant and the wifi connection can be temperamental. Otherwise I would definitely stay here again if I was in Bangkok.

Disliked: (above)

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Dinko Pervan

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2014 Dinko would recommend this property

Liked: It's a nice, clean and safe hostel with great atmosphere. Located in the busy Silom area, you can catch sky train and be in any part of Bangkok in no time. Staff is great, always helpful, with lots of suggestions what to do in the city. Definitely a recommendation for travelers who want to meet new people and enjoy Bangkok at its top!

Disliked: Dinko left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 April 2014

Liked: The bed was comfortable.

Disliked: When you pay for one of the most expensive hostels in Bangkok, you understandably expect certain things. Like functioning internet--so you can plan your trip and make bookings, or even just to let your family know you're all right. Unfortunately, the internet at lub d does NOT work. They have enough bandwidth for maybe one average connection. However, hat bandwidth is allocated to everyone in the hostel. As a result, waiting for a page to load is like watching paint dry. But that's something I'd be willing to forgive. Unfortunately, there are more salient criticisms to be made. Like the unfriendliness of the reception staff. Upon checking in, I didn't get so much as a hello, let alone and smile. They just sat there and stared at their computer screens. Yup. One staff member helped another guest, and three sat there and played Tetris, for all I know. Eventually I was helped. Oh, the environment is very sterile and antisocial, and silom road sucks. Be prepared for tuk tuk drivers to harass you on every street corner. 0/10 would not stay again

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good staff, clean, nice facilities, cheap food at the restaurant across the street and at the night market. 5-10 min walk to BTS.

Disliked: Have to make a little extra effort to meet people since everyone is on a computer and not much bar action when I was there. Maybe they could organize some activities.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, nice hostel, clean, safe

Disliked: I think it is difficult in this hostel to get in contact with other travellers, it is quite big. They should organise perhaps a pub crawl.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Super helpful, clean, lots of space to socialize, excellent facilities, the only way to improve it is by putting a chocolate on my pillow :-)

Disliked: One of the more expensive hostels.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emily Bishop

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

26 February 2014 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: Twin room, spacious, great amenities. Property had lots to offer - food, drinks, social or chilled out! Something for everyone.

Disliked: Nothing!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kaya Day

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway

25 February 2014 Kaya would recommend this property

Liked: The facilities were great, really top quality for a hostel. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly too. The room itself was wonderful, much better than just a standard hostel.

Disliked: None. It's a bit far from the main part of the city, but only a 10 minute taxi ride or so, and you still are surrounded by a lot of things to do anyway.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good organized, clean, friendly

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Davide Martinini

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 February 2014 Davide would recommend this property

Liked: clean room, excellent service, not to far from the BTS Station,

Disliked: you have to take the bts pretty much every day but Bangkok is so big that you might have this problem anywhere